Proton ‘Pandu & Menang’ contest: Preve LE to be won

proton preve le

Proton has launched its Pandu & Menang contest, in which Malaysians will stand the chance to win daily and weekly prizes which includes a 42-inch LED TV, electrical gadgets and cash, worth RM400,000 in total.

The contest runs until December 17, and Malaysians and permanent residents of the country with a valid IC/passport and drivers license are eligible to participate. To enter it, you’ll simply need to head over to a Proton showroom to test drive any Proton model and fill in the test drive form.

The contest is divided into two segments – one is via SMS, where participants will need to answer two questions correctly and respond in the fastest time to win the daily prizes. The second portion of the contest invites participants to take a creative picture with the Proton test drive vehicle and upload it on Facebook to win the weekly prizes.

proton preve soft lilac

There’s also a grand prize of a limited edition Proton Preve, but only SMS contest participants who place a booking and register a Proton vehicle within the contest period will be eligible to be in the running to bag it.

The Proton Preve LE, unveiled during the launch of the Pandu & Menang contest last week, is a limited production run of 100 units. Available only in Solid White, the RM79,688 car features an all-new bodykit, leather seats, 17-inch R3 alloys and a full complement of six airbags.

The automaker also unveiled a brand new colour for the Preve last week. The shade, called Soft Lilac, is targeted towards female buyers, the company says.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Handsome car!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 13
  • so im gussing proton is going to make the preve for another 15 years before they axe it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 62
    • Hard times for Proton kah? Ha Ha Ha

Cannot convince people to buy, then offer gifts for a test drive? Silly joke by Proton!

What’s next? Buy one free one? Wakakaka!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
      • That is thousand times better than greedy stingy blood sucking companies who sells outdated overpriced crappy overrated cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Loo on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 164
    • Im so cute on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Wah ! Why so arrogant baby ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • superman on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Sam, we may not be all proton supporters but your comments are just too much to digest. come one man, Hulix against a Sedan??? are you ok?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 0
    • Look at the first 3 letters in the word toyota and you will know what TOY ota is all about..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • If we Malaysians aim higher in life,nobody will care ’bout your Hilux. Its not like we spent the whole day in the forests. That bodystyle stayed unchanged since 2005,man that seems low class. So stop trying desperately to get that Hilux of your yard ._.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • sawit boy on Oct 21, 2013 at 4:21 pm

err… we use Hilux to angkat kelapa sawit here ini Sabah..and err Hilux a very common truck here.. Nothing to brag about..hahah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • dude, i’m sick of your rv bullshit, do you think the hilux that you sell is so good ah and can you please stop trolling at korean and proton post, please…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • nanashisan on Oct 21, 2013 at 6:19 pm

hi sam, I want to trade my 7 year old Toyota Avanza with the used CX-5 in your yard. offer me best price pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • ben yap on Oct 21, 2013 at 6:55 pm

ou better sell your hilux fast. else it will be hilat soon.

• flat_tire on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:10 pm

can you give one of those preves for free then..? since it’s a low class car.. it’s probably worthless for you to keep it anyway..

• u guys are feeding sam’s need for attention. just ignore him.

• screw those CX-5’s and your Toyota. Give me a free Preve please lol.

• U siao ah?! yes maybe ur Hilux but as a valet guy i wont bother Hilux or this car lah both r cheap too!

• SamLooKurangKasihSayang on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:47 pm

Dude, whether you love attention or just mentally disabled. The way you trolling can be seen as gathering attention. Childish attention seeker’s attitude detected from every post you made in the section comment. Graduate from your yard, get a friend(I mean real friend), get a wife, screwed up your life a little bit and DEAL WITH IT.

• are you malaysian?

• mofisa on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:13 pm

The Soft Lilac colour is quite nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Denaihati on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:35 pm

great grand price and attractive contest, don’t miss it.

• Does this comes with free motorbike as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • proton deserves a gold medal.
    http://theage.drive.com.au/new-car-reviews/proton-preve-new-car-review-20131019-2vt67.html

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Robot Boy on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:25 pm

One of my friends who is a supplier to Proton told me that early this year he saw a very nice blue colour preve in proton shah alam plant which was driven very silently on the grounds and had a very nice body kit and new rims as well as a special designed bonnet he said it looked very nice specially with that colour. i believe the LE uses some of the design factors of that blue preve. Me and my friend wonder what was that car he saw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • azrai on Oct 21, 2013 at 4:58 pm

So this is Suprima S sedan actually.

• Steve web on Oct 21, 2013 at 5:45 pm

When sales is not meeting target that’s when all the face lift and promotion comes in to boost market share. Proton must be doing really bad in this case with preve.
    Good luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • ruffstuff on Oct 21, 2013 at 6:19 pm

This is not obviously to boost preve sales. This is limited 100 units only.

• Alson P on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Steve, if they want to boost Preve sales, will be Preve SV variant(similar to flx SV)…. Reduce the price(10-20%)….

• policeman on Oct 21, 2013 at 6:24 pm

How to know if a car is good?
    The chairman will be driving the same model.

How to know if a car is bad?
    A bunch of goofy looking people pose by it while sticking their thumbs up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Go see the report of the Hilux facelift posted at the same date today. Some goofy looking people are giving a thumbs up as well ._.

• fireman on Oct 22, 2013 at 1:10 am

not quite so…
      A developer that builts low cost houses doesnt mean the developer’s big boss has to live in one…
      Same goes to a car company that might be making budget cars for budget users, that doesnt mean the company’s big shots have to drive one…

• policeman on Oct 22, 2013 at 8:29 am

Exactly my point. if it’s good, bossman will have one.

If it’s rubbish for some poor people, there will be goons thumbing up for shots.

• cheapshot on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:27 am

policeman tryin to look smart
      wonder which head did u used
      lol

• Salam1msia on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:19 pm

Desperate move by Proton.
    Even test drive can can win a gift !!??
    What would you expect from a company
    Relying on a recycled engine and facelifts time after time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
    • Tell that to Toyota , more than 10 years old engine still under hood and same old 4 gears

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Alson P on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Relying on recycled engine?…
      Did you mean they buy all proton used car, take out the used engine and put in new car….
      nonsense…
      defamation….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • Saga BeLum Masak on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:16 pm

No la…. What he means is, take all the old junk car, send it to perwaja, and perwaja will recycle the metal. Then they will send the billet to manufacturing plant.

The manufacturing plant will then transform the recycled metal back to be the engine and Car parts.

Then every single car in this world IS A RECYCLE CAR….!!!

Got it….

• aiseh, mr alson. u know what he means lah. his english not that good. what he meant by recycling is using the same engine model over and over again across many of the car models.

u as an expert english user should understand lah when a fellow malaysian speaks.

• gingt on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Go and see many articles about BMW in PT, and all of them look same!! That’s the best examples of recycle cars!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Proton kerata sampah, saya mau bili lain punya.
      Apa candangan anda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Potong, pls spend money to improve yur bread and butter top selling models like Persona instead of wasting time and money on tis promotion…vely hard to chg wit the same group of people posing with the same gaya everytime

• cheapshot on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:30 am

to Salam1msia..
      other car makers do use ‘recycle’ engine and create facelift.
      do some research..dont try to look smart..but be smart..lol

• tyhvic on Oct 21, 2013 at 11:00 pm

I always wonder how PaulTan feels about the comments made here…
    Too many attack each other rather than having mature discussion.

• west end boys on Oct 22, 2013 at 1:12 am

why make it a limited edition,when they can make a special edition model.

• Low Budget on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Just marketing ploy to increase sales. Add in a few extras and lure some suckers to buy.

• Proton oh proton time to bring out more new models. Looks is one thing but the engine has to be more reliable. The Rakyat will be more happy if they have a reliable engine.

• fresc on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Will wait for NFE engine to come out

• The engine is not as reliable like Toyota’s.. but they are quite reliable, far more reliable than continental Euro engines.. it’s just Malaysians always skipping maintenance checks, repair at unauthorized ah beng shop, complain “OEM spares mahal maa” and use cheap imitation, then treat them like an 80s Toyota engine.

But yea I agree, Proton must build a Toyota-ish reliable engine to meet avg Malaysians mindset lol.

• They should call it “Beli dan Menang” and not “Pandu dan Menang”.

• kadajawa on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:04 pm

It’s correct lah Pandu dan Menang…test drive first to get hadiah…whether you beli or not, that’s different story…but if you got the prize free Preve better sell it off next day…at least got free cash at bank and not depreciate RM10K per year if you keep the car

• no, according to “professor of RV” sam loo it”ll depreciate 50% in a year, lol.

• jamalhussain on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:22 am

Reality hurts, Proton and its crappy CPS cam tak pro
    engine is outdated and with a consumption of
    12 lt/100km is one of the most highest guzzler engines around.
    Even a BMW runs at 6.6 lt/100km.
    Talk about efficiency!!
    Dont live in deniel Proton supporters and just
    swallow whatever pride that is left.
    Where is the Perdana replacement promised?
    Honda already suplying some govt officials
    with the Accord cos they cannot wait!!!

• goggler on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:12 pm

12 ltr/100km? where you got that?
      HAven’t you read the Vios FC test done here by PT. It’s more or less same with CFE/CPS city driving FC

• silvia13 on Oct 24, 2013 at 9:14 am

GOOD JOB PROTON EVERY MONTH WITH NEW VARIANT CAR
    PEOPLE COMMENT EVERYTHING ABOUT PROTON BECAUSE THEY WANT PROTON PRODUCE GOOD CAR.
    AN EXAMPLE THIS VARIANT IS TO IMPROVE PREVE QUALITY LEVEL.
    LOOK AT LAST YEAR COMMENT PEOPLE IN PAULTAN COMMENT ABOUT PREVE:
    1.Engine leaking – solved
    2.Engine Noise (Whinning noise) – solved
    3.Engine Vibrate – Solved
    4.Whistling noise – Solved
    5.RR qtr glass noise – solved
    6.Cabin noise – reduce 2dB
    7.Engine noise when start early morning -solved
    8.Pick up low – solved
    9.under power -solved
    10.no leather seat – installed
    11.17 inch rim – installed
    12.no body kit – installed
    13.curtain airbag – installed
    14.5star ANCAP only for Export – now available for DOM
    15.4airbag – install 6 airbag
    16.CFE – turbo inside
    17.cvt3 – improve to cvt3+
    Info from proton

• izack04 on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:25 am

Preve or suprima need real new fecelift rather than changing the foglamp texture plastic (Dont know what to call that part) and honeycomb grill in the bumper. We all know many company also recycling their tech all over their production line to save cost. But please be more sensible and stylish on the appearence and the crowd surely get the spotlight on you.

• Proton fail again on Nov 04, 2013 at 11:38 pm

those complaints from forum will completely stop you.
    ptoton really fail big this time.

• Proton,tolong guna time chain la…baru org respect..engine n body is ok…kalau korang nak kereta yang lebih baik beli la merc or BMW..!!.