Toyota Hilux updated for 2013 in M’sia – RM77k-109k

Toyota Hilux updated for 2013

UMW Toyota Motor has launched the improved-for-2013 Toyota Hilux at an event held in Kota Kinabalu. Order-taking began on September 17 and more than 800 units have been booked to date.

Enhancements include a dark interior, redesigned front fog lamps and front seat belts with pretensioners and force limiters. The 3.0 G model adds 17-inch alloys, combination leather seats and a six-way power-adjustable driver’s seat.

Engines remain the same 2.5 and 3.0 litre turbodiesels that feature Intercooler VNT and D-4D common-rail tech. As of last month, the current-gen Toyota Hilux has found more than 145,000 Malaysian homes since its 2005 launch, and nearly 18,000 this year so far.

toyota-hilux-improved-2013-a

“The Hilux is the most popular pick-up model by far, out-selling even its closest competitor by a wide margin. Hilux continues to lead the pick-up segment with more than 50% market share in Malaysia,” UMW Toyota Motor president Datuk Ismet said.

UMW Toyota Motor is targeting to sell upwards of 29,000 units of the updated Toyota Hilux next year. The pick-up truck will hit showrooms on October 25.

Individual on-the-road prices with insurance for Peninsular Malaysia are as follows:

• Hilux Single Cab 2.5 (MT) – RM77,105
  • Hilux Double Cab 2.5 Std (MT) – RM87,605
  • Hilux Double Cab 2.5 G (MT) – RM95,005
  • Hilux Double Cab 2.5 G (AT) – RM100,005
  • Hilux Double Cab 3.0 G (AT) – RM109,199

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• frank on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:37 pm

So this is the 4th or 5th facelite for this generation of Hilux?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
    • pretty sure it is the fourth facelift now

• Sam Loo on Oct 22, 2013 at 4:57 pm

What a beauty. So sexy. It looks better than a Bentley Flying Spur or a Rolls Royce Phantom. It is no wonder why when you arrive at a 5 star lobby in a Hilux, all the bellboys and concierge stand up in respect. All run to open my door. No other car commands such respect like the Toyota Hilux. It is the Toyota Hilux that caused Maybach to close down. Their limos could not compete with Toyota Hilux. And don’t forget, Toyota Hilux got the best RV amongst S class, 7 series, Bentley and Rolls Royce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 43
    • why eh 4×4 always brought out black smokes..
      owner never bother to service their truck is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 14
    • OMG…after buy sure “Hailat” then “jialat”

• SUV Lover on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Why still no vsc or traction control ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • Toyota - Moving Backward on Oct 21, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Also the dual airbag and the vintage 4 speed automatic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 31
  • Sam Loo on Oct 21, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Very high RV.

But unfortunately also high in demand from auto theft. Make sure you have triple security.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 68
    • Hell yeahhhh….this is ABSOLUTELY what Sam Loo is waiting forrrrrr!!!! Bring it on dude!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • Hey Sam,
      Don’t shiok sendiri… tell me when this piece of junk is featured in GTA la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Peace on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Time to get one and drive it with Hilux face sam loo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo The Troublemaker on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Wow, I wished there were more Sam Loo that actually bother to show kimchi owners the Hilux.

All used car dealer that I visited last week dun even tiew my 14 month old Elantra.

I feel so ker lian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • ROBERT on Oct 22, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Yes. Make sure fix pedal lock, cable lock and steering lock. Gps tracker is important as well. Plus make sure ask mechanic friends mod the back bumper and spare tyre holder. Not only Hilux but almost all pick up.

• I was looking for Sam Loo, and sure enough he is here with his hilux. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • Beetle Nut on Oct 21, 2013 at 5:00 pm

I suddenly feel the urge to cut off some thumbs, not sure why..

• Denaihati on Oct 21, 2013 at 5:00 pm

although the price is a bit high compared to its competitors, still the best sales due good reliability I guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • Young_Man on Oct 21, 2013 at 5:02 pm

if the brand is Toyota, then you don’t need to waste your brain to think, just go and sign on the dot….8000’s had done so on the new Vios…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
  • Hadi75 on Oct 21, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Improved for 2013….errrr what did they improve ah?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Toyota.. king of facelift. Ptuiiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Spitting, or expectoration, is the act of forcibly ejecting saliva or other substances from the mouth. It is often considered rude and a social taboo in many parts of the world, including Western countries, where it is frequently forbidden by local laws (as it was thought to facilitate the spread of disease). These laws are generally not strictly enforced. In Singapore, the fine for spitting may be as high as S$2,000 for multiple offenses, and one can even be arrested.

• huehuehue on Oct 21, 2013 at 5:24 pm

for me the Colorado is still the best choice for a pickup truck.. traction control,stability control semua all got id get full spec.. The Colorado is somehow cheaper then the hilux… Correct me if im wrong abt the pricing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • batumudo on Oct 21, 2013 at 5:26 pm

I like the word ‘vintage 4 speeder’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Oct 21, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Anybody know what happen to Ford WildTrak? Their website seem “absent” for this model?

• hadi75 on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Ford is not taking any orders on wildtrak….they cant meet the demand….

• Sam Loo 2 on Oct 21, 2013 at 7:10 pm

Why bash Sam Loo? Tell me, which pickup has better RV in the market right now. I’m very interested to know.
    If dont have then u guys are making a fool out of urself when clearly he is stating the truth and u guys just cant accept it. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
    • Sam Loo The Troublemaker on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:37 pm

At least Sam tiew kimchi owners.

All other used car dealers asked me to leave my 14 month old Elantra behind. Dun even wanna offer any value coz cannot sell at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Leong on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Why worry about about resale value.. chances are you wont get to sell it anyway..claiming insurance one can tell you wont get 100% value…so what value you talking about…

• Ford Ranger

• Someguyonthenet on Oct 21, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Still without traction control or cruise control? I can get those from the Ford Ranger at the same or lower price and with a 5 star EuroNCAP rating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Hondaman on Oct 21, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Why do you need a cruise control for a pick up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • Obviously on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:17 pm

Comes in handy for those long distance hauls. Not every pickup goes off-road. Most people use them on the road doing mundane things.

• A lot of owners use their pick-up as their daily runabout. Newer models which have more power and comfort can travel quite well for long range commute thus the need for cruise control.

• All this cowboy or contractor wanabe…..move to thailand la. This pickup is not suitable for city dwellers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • All range updated except the Hiace not updated.Still the underpower engine.Come on Toyota Malaysia,just put the 1KD-FTV into the Hiace.Is that too much to ask for or too diffcult for you to do

• You can count yourself lucky if UMW update to the 2.5 VNT (2KD- FTV). Speaking of which, the Innova should come with diesel engine too. Current petrol-engined Innova is a guzzler.

• I think I see somewhere around the net that the Innova can be fitted with 1KD-FTV engine. U can try google it.

• showmetheranger on Oct 21, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Sorry JQ, UMW is not after customer satisfaction but after bigger profit margin. If people keep buying their products, they won’t change. Looks like under specced car from UMW till eternity.

• benzs on Oct 21, 2013 at 11:28 pm

That rite, current Hiace engine need replacement as my company Hiace own for 2 yrs feel a bit underpower. But doing great! Fuel consumption is good too. Prefer Hilux 3.0 engine into Hiace… That will be awesomeness…..

• Agreed with you but only me and you feel this way look like not enough support to force any changes :(

• Sam Loo on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Saw a Toyota Tundra in Phnom Penh last week.

Dem huge mother of SUV. Meant for North America but gaining popularity in Asia

• Sam Loo 3 on Oct 29, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Correct me if I’m wrong..
      Tundra is a pick up not an SUV..

the North America’s version for Hilux is Tacoma..

• I think everyone is here to see what Sam Loo says or brags about this. Sadly, such a low key speech.. Hahah.. C’mon Sam, u can do better than that, u’re a “celebrity”

• amatku17 on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:23 pm

maybe next year can come with 5 speed gearbox?

• benzs on Oct 21, 2013 at 11:25 pm

Living in Sarawak area sure u will spot this Hilux easily. But still the best pick up ever, look at how Jeremy Clarkson did to the Hilux. Never fail! Beside, Sam Loo says RV is good, that is facts,2nd hand Hilux which age 5 to 7 yrs of this model still selling at rm55 to 65k. Even mileage is high but still running smooth. All of this happen in east Malaysia. Good job Toyota’s….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • i wonder if they have trd version.

• theanswer on Oct 22, 2013 at 9:38 am

yes they have. but in oz. true trd performance. 4.0L V6 supercharged.

• Face lift again, sienzzzzzz…….

• lazyf on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:12 am

Sangat membosankan!

• totti on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:31 am

To beat Toyota sale, you need to know what they have emphasized on:

1) Most roomiest interior space (= comfort) – No truck in Malaysia able to beat him despite the design has been around for more than 7 years. All the new truck design (Isuzu/ford/Mazda…etc) emphasize on engine HP and neglected the interior space. Most urban cowboy needs space (comfort) for his family and not for indo/bangle workers.

2) Reliability – No need to have the most HP in engine. The most important is bullet proof engine.

3) Parts availability – most of the tyre shops stock the common parts and a lot of half cut.

4) Exterior design – ever green design that can last for decade.

As an ex-hilux owner, I do hope some of the manufacturer able to be creative and come out with the extended interior space at the deck area. (Create an extended interior and reduce the open deck by half). This will create an enclose area for big sport bag storage. The aftermarket canopy look bulky and spoil the overall design of the car.

To beat the Hilux in Malaysia, Interior space should be the top priority and not the HP with 6 speed gear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Google before post, my friend.
      Hilux is even smaller in interior compare to new Dmax, Colorado, Mazda and Ranger. 2nd, worst stability for handling. 3rd, KD engines, famous of injector failure. 4th, open up the front hood. Compare the impact steel. The thinnest in its class.
      I prefer SR than Vigo.

• dugong on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:36 am

Thats the problem with toyota fanboys and buyers. THey always think they got the best deal. Never bother to do research and test other models. Hilux getting last place / lowest in almost every category. Be it safety feature,technogoly, power, fuel consumption, space, solidness of body, comfort etc. Only price is the highest champion.

In the end kena scam still don’t know but act like damn smart. Whole world laughing at you la sor chai. Hahaha!

• Sam Loo on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Kimchi SUV ? Most used car dealers will not accept trade in. They will charge the owner for using car space in their yard trying to sell

• Kepunden Parang Skeper on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:23 pm

no improvement on the excessively bumpy & bouncy rear suspension?

• pemilik hilux diesel 2.5g on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Tambah senarai hilux kena hijack. Kenderaan paling laris kena curi dan jual ke negara lain. Berkontena hilux yg dicuri tuggu nak shipped out.

• Sam Loo on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:56 pm

How come pencuri dun wanna target kimchi cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • dugong on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:43 am

Bcos kimchi got better security system and is harder to steal. Hilux using cheapo outdated 80s technology easy to steal in 60 seconds. NOw you see it now you don’t lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Because kimchi will break apart while being shipped and commands no value at all overseas

• sebap kimchi sounds like sedap kot!!!! lol….

• showmetheranger on Oct 22, 2013 at 9:48 pm

For me, hilux is the only product from UMW worth considering. But since its rival is better, I went for Ford/ Mazda twin.

• Sam Loo on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Hilux is by the the pickup that has proven itself to tackle the timber trails of East Malaysia and the concrete jungles of Klang Valley

• aiyaa…y malaysian always prefered toyota..do they know that toyota is the king of facelift?always maintain the same platform..n revise the front n rear bumper..n a bit interior design..like alphard n vellfire..but sell it with diff price..if u buy the new generation u still feel like driving the old generation..n also still maintain with their 4 speed transmission..most manufacturers now used the 6 speed n also double clutch..toyota is the outdated brand..but for me the design is quite cun actually..just the tecnology is not acceptable..if i tell my fren that im driving a toyota..they always laugh at me..because im using the new car with the old technology..so i think they dont even care about customer satisfaction..they always think about their margin n profit..thats y they keep using the same mould for 2 or 3 model..and just declare to the public diff model name..please toyota..wake up..start to chase the current technology..but this hilux exterior design is not bad..but spec wise is too bad if compared to ford ranger..with the price range..better buying a ranger..more affordable with more features..an actually for umw to sell the hilux at this price range actually quitr expensive..becoz they only got this hilux from thailand..the taxes and also the foreign exchange is low compared to ranger import from europe country..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • totti on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:44 am

Google before post, my friend.
    Hilux is even smaller in interior compare to new Dmax, Colorado, Mazda and Ranger. 2nd, worst stability for handling. 3rd, KD engines, famous of injector failure. 4th, open up the front hood. Compare the impact steel. The thinnest in its class.
    I prefer SR than Vigo.
    ——————————–

Friend, not need to google and waste your time.

Try out yourself and sit at the back and see your legroom and feel the comfort on the back seat.you should know better rather than talking the size of interior.

Only Mit triton come close to Hilux in term interior space.

All ford/mazda/isuzu/navara is cramp and suck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • showmetheranger on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Th rear seat on the Hilux is not comfortable as it should, lack of thigh support. On long journey, your legs and knees will suffer.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 23, 2013 at 5:47 pm

The seat on the K5 is most comfortable, after i offered only RM45k for a 2012 2.0 Model.

• Friend, you try first the T6 ranger and Dmax. Latest version and not the previous. It really totally different than hilux. I have tested all of those.

• showmetheranger on Oct 23, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Hilux owners should be proud as other truck maker were using Hilux as benchmark such as VW, ford, mazda, chevy, isuzu etc.
    That is also why rivals are now better than the hilux..

• dugong on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:39 am

No one benchmarks against the last in class!

Better u say Merc use perdana as benchmark for s-class.

• totti on Oct 24, 2013 at 12:03 pm

Friend, you try first the T6 ranger and Dmax. Latest version and not the previous. It really totally different than hilux. I have tested all of tho
    ———————————-
    I have tried out the latest IZusu at NSK last 2 weeks. The backseat is suck with the upright position angle and small back door for ingress.(please adjust your front seat driving position before try at the back, or use a measuring tape to measure from the dashborad toward the back seat (top)then you shoul know the different)

As for exterior and dashboard, I give them a thump up but not the cramp back seat. They still need to learn from Toyota’s Strategy on how to increase their sale.

Big interior is a must for a urban cowboy to bring their family. Not just a truck to produce high HP or 6 speeder.

I am not a toyota supportor despite driving them (company car) for 2 years. I am looking for truck that is bigger (interior) than the hilux and with some interior storage space for bag.

But till today, no manufacturer able to design a truck that can have a interior storage except you intall an oversize canopy.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Wonder why they don’t introduce the Toyota Tundra in Malaysia?

That would more than meet your space requirement. The challenge is the small 2.4m X 4.8m standard parking lots here will not fit this SUV

• cc poh on Oct 26, 2013 at 10:16 am

We want 5 AT

• Carlos on Nov 19, 2013 at 9:21 pm

I’m getting rid of my Wira for a HILUX 2.5 VNT A/T..that much I trust TOYOTA.

• When is an all-new, redesigned Hilux going to come out?

Don

• khinhiong on Mar 02, 2014 at 10:41 pm

May I know is Toyota hilux going to launch a new model this 2014 years ?

• ecu shop monstermax on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:29 am

you all blaming the 4speed autobox..
    the 4speed autobox, or hilux autogearbox is the best gearbox in drag 0-400m compare to navara 5speed, dmax 4speed/6speed..
    once you change the kit that found in valve body from transgo..you feel like driving GTR.. it chge everygear very quickly, but not.comfort lah.

• So nice….so sad becoz i buy before october 2013