2014 Nissan Teana – the L33 makes its ASEAN debut

Nissan Teana

Nissan has given its 2014 Teana its ASEAN debut with the introduction of the L33 in Thailand. The sedan goes on sale in the Kingdom in both 2.0 and 2.5 litre versions, and in five variant forms.

The MR20DE four-pot features in the 2.0 versions (XE, XL and XL Navi), with 136 hp at 5,600 rpm and 190 Nm at 4,400 rpm for output figures. For the Thai market, the QR25DE lump in the XV and XV Navi variants offers 173 hp at 6,000 rpm and 234 Nm at 4,000 rpm, nine horses less than the L33 that Jonathan drove in the US at the Nissan 360 event recently. Both mills are paired with a Xtronic CVT ‘box.

Dimension-wise, the new Teana rolls in at 4,875 mm long (a shade longer than the US car’s 4,868 mm), 1,830 mm wide and 1,490 mm tall, and the D-segment offering sits on 16-inch (215/60) or 17-inch (215/55) wheels, variant-dependent.

Nissan Teana 2

Standard equipment across the board includes push-start ignition and cruise control, and aside from the base 2.0 XE, the rest of the range is equipped with an Around View Monitoring system as well as an Intelligent Transport System (ITS), which features Lane Departure Warning, Blind Spot Warning and Moving Object Detection under its umbrella of tech.

Other safety kit comprises Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC), traction control, ABS, brake assist, EBD, hill-start assist as well as front, side and curtain airbags. The Thai Teana is available in six exterior colours (Fall Blue, Black Star, White Pearl, Brilliant Silver, Grayish Bronze and Deep Iris Gray), and the interior is dressed in either cream or black (the latter for the 2.0 XL Navi and 2.5 XV Navi).

Pricing of the Teana in Thailand starts from THB 1.27 million (RM129,300), and Nissan says its aiming to sell 10,000 units domestically in the first twelve months. Produced at the Bangsaotong plant in Thailand, the car will be exported to more than 30 countries worldwide.

Read Jonathan’s comprehensive test drive report – and view more photos – of the 2014 Nissan Teana here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Nice…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • OMG…use the altima front and rear put on this …just like Teana wearing altima mask…yucksss…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 37
      • Yukio Mori on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:57 pm

different country different name dude. It’s Nissan Altima but rename as Teana for ASEAN market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
        • Sam Loo on Oct 22, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Why buy Nissan? Nissan RV is the worst in Malaysia. Youngsters are the one with money. They don’t want old man’s car. Get a Toyota for good RV. Come to my yard, it is full of Teana and X-Trail. All going for 50% off the brand new price and only 2 years old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 78
          • Fahmi on Oct 22, 2013 at 7:01 pm

How big is your yard?? Where it is located? It must be so big that it is full of “bad RV” cars… I probably want to shop for used car at your shop, so I can buy cheap “low RV” cars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
    • 2.0 only with 136hp? What a shame figures. My 20 years-old civic eg9 at least got 150hp under hood. stock standard. well maintained.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 18
      • Rashuk Khan2 on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:18 pm

Looks like Teena 136hp cannot beat Preve 138HP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
        • klata-klata on Dec 09, 2013 at 10:29 pm

The engine is tune for easy relaxing drive instead of a sporty one, because the torque at 234nm is relatively strong. More torque less hp is the right balance here.

• That’s old engine pollutes much more than newer and higher rated euro emission standard engines

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • I knew it and I’m just mentioned it for the sake of comparison. The point is, this Teana produced so little power compared to its size.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Bob_B78 on Oct 22, 2013 at 1:55 pm

I think its the same engine found in sylphy. This engines suppose have good fc rather than outright power. Outright power is not the main criteria for this segment.

• Even Nissan’s own 1.6 litre SR16VE N1 engine produces 200hp. Gone are the days of 1.6 litre NA engines producing 100hp per litre. It’s all about emissions and fuel saving nowadays.

• Walau eh u keep ur old cheap junk in your garage lah and who care about ur old junk is faster or slower?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • timi988 on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:10 am

Its not all about HP you dumbass, executive car must be fill with comfortness and luxurious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Do not jump into conclusions so fast. Without decent power, what is a luxurious car? Have you seen how much power did Rolls Royce Phantom or Bentley Mulsanne have? They have supercar figures for their engine output. Do you want to get a luxurious car that can’t even catch up in terms of acceleration with a car like Vios or Preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo The Troublemaker on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:41 am

As long as your current car is not a kimchi, you will have spares for many more years to come

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • kadajawa on Oct 22, 2013 at 1:57 pm

If Proton ask permission from Nissan Renault TC Motors to rebadge it as new Perdana, I’ll buy it too…but only with life time warranty lah

• Somehow I got a odd feeling that Teana will overtake Camry become the most popular D-segment car in M’sia one day….Believe it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • Damn, definitely looks better than my camry. And the camry is the worst equiped D segment car in malaysia …

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 7
  • At last nissan catches up with other jap manufacturers in terms of D segment design!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • powershot on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:36 am

a very nice exterior update from the previous model. Even better than the new camry & accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
  • NISSpengAN on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:41 am

Well done Nissan ! Camry n Accord sales will tapau soon !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 13
  • well, another detuned D-segment car

Better than Camry & Accord? I think all are the same no less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
  • Which u prefer
    New Mazda 6 — click Like
    New Teana — click Dislike

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 53
    • Which u prefer
      New Teana — click Like
      New Accord — click Dislike

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 67
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Sam would prefer to trade Sonata. The most profitable and shortest incubation period.

K5, no way Jose

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Sorry not to include Camry cos don’t want to put Camry into deep disgrace…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 7
    • Sorry I just had to do this!

If you prefer a scooter – hit like
      If you prefer a Camry – hit dislike

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 9
  • works on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:57 am

Looks better than new camry and accord..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
  • motorhead on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:00 am

Nissan’s Xtronic gears are impressive.. Never heard any of them fail. Nice looking Teana.. Hopefully Almeera will fllw Nissan new lamps design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • azhar on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:01 am

knowing tan chong..this teana will come to m’sia in 2020!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • RM189888.00

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • GTR38 on Oct 22, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Don’t think so, many TanChong SAs’ are giving 15k discount on Teanas now. Uncle Lim should be getting his factories ready to assemble the new Teanas. If still got stock can send to Myanmar…lol!

• Sparcov on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:02 am

With the entry level of current accord price below 140k, will this nissan competitive when it reach malaysia shore?

this is a nissan maxima in other country?

this car so sporty d segment car compare to camry, accord and optima….my view

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Alex Wong on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:04 am

Looks like the Nissan Altima

• frenzyaustin on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:43 am

It’s Nissan Altima! Just different country with different name.

• Kodo soul Mazda 6 all the way !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • kadajawi on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:21 am

Oh, impressive specs, especially in terms of safety features. I hope it comes like that to Malaysia. That’s already conti levels of passenger protection… a rarity amongst Japanese brands (only the 6 is as well speced in Malaysia, and look at the price tag…).

• frenzyaustin on Oct 22, 2013 at 4:30 pm

I won’t hope so much when it come to ETCM, HM and UMW. Thai spec has much better safety standard in their Honda, Toyota and Nissan. Japanese car is actually safe and their safety feature are on par with other competitors especially from the west. But you know la, Malaysian China man company.

• shawal on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:23 am

Its a good looking car, for many the established brand and looks alone is enuff to sway them , the accord is still top of the group , mazda 6 interior needs a HMI update for the facelift and futher differentiation from the cx5 to make it truly stand out, finally its down to the drive, that itself everyone has their preferences again

The teana slim & sporty profile is a throwback to the jap sedan of the 90’s, i loike it alot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • besides gtr and juke, nissan’s car looks too conservative in their design

• QR25DE? Isn’t that the engine from the X-Trail?

• it will come to Malaysia next year. just not sure what specs.

again, don’t ask me how I know. I can confirm it.

• Nissan-san on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:57 am

Not bad looking actually,in my opinion better than the current Accord or Camry

But surely no better than Mazda 6 Skyactiv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Berann on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:39 pm

Looks nice.. classy look but engine still the same 136hp underpower..

• Colin Wong on Oct 22, 2013 at 1:28 pm

I must say that this is the best looking Nissan I have ever seen. The D-segment is looking really crowded now. It is a buyers’ market with lots of choice. Well done Nissan.

• thedarkside on Oct 22, 2013 at 1:47 pm

nice design….just sort out the engine dept nissan

• wow reminds me of 370z headlight & taillights

• Sam Loo on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:07 pm

Nissan RV is the worst among Jap Brand.

Toyota is still the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
    • Sam Roo on Oct 22, 2013 at 8:45 pm

can we all just ignore this man/woman? dont like or dislike his stuff please. he’s like a freaking cancer. shows up everywhere with the same sh*t about RV!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 23, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Obviously, this bugger is an imposter

Sam just loves to trade kimchis, being the most profitable cars to work on in Malaysia since 2011

• Joanne on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:16 pm

A great improvement. I noticed Nissan has lower hp compared with Toyota / Honda , however it’s tuned to be max hp at lower rpm compared with Toyota and Honda. Not too bad for city driving :)

• Martin Tan on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:24 pm

I saw this car when I was on holiday in Hawaii last month. It looks better in real life compared to photos. I saw quite a number over there, so it looks like the Hawaiians do like it. Didn’t see any Camry or Accord over there. Strange. Did manage to see a few Mustangs (drool) there though. :)

• heybadigol on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:39 pm

The Thai specs looks good. Just hope most, if not all comes to Malaysia. I think the 16 inch rims look silly on a car this big though. Just give it 17 and 18 inch rims when it comes to Malaysia. Then, its gonna look better.

• looks sharp aint it

• NISSpengAN on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Ranking for the Japanese D-segment car, from the best to worst looking, just for my opinion:
    1. 2013 Mazda 6
    2. 2014 Nissan Teana
    3. 2013 Honda Accord
    4. 2012 Toyota Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 22, 2013 at 4:34 pm

1. 2013 Mazda 6
      2. 2014 Honda Accord
      3. 2013 Nissan Teana
      4. 2012 Subaru Legacy

• Still Camry? Prepare to die dude, prepare to die.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LNG7Nm9XDko

• kolejeon on Oct 22, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Tan Chong, where is the new sylphy? damn slow..

• Marko san on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:25 pm

According to my colleague who is working for this new Teana assembly line setup; it’s known that the highest spec has got sunroof, 6 airbags, 17 inch rims, and many more which yet to be disclosed, no paddle shifters though!

• Fahmi on Oct 22, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Nissan Malaysia badly needs a new car model…

• showmetheranger on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:54 pm

I agree, they should bring this in quickly, the new xtrail and new terrano real fast.

• Marko san on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:26 pm

According to my colleague who is working for this new Teana assembly line setup; it’s known that the highest spec has got sunroof, 6 airbags, 17 inch rims, and many more which yet to be disclosed, no paddle shifters though! Price to be confirmed by ETCM i suppose.

• Hmm…y the exterior looks more facelifted than new version????

• Fahmi on Oct 22, 2013 at 7:21 pm

Either this or the Mazda 6… Nissan please just don’t trim down the safety specs, or else this Teana is another ripoff from Tan Chong…. High price low safety, hence Mazda 6 will become the only Japanese “safety first” product here, becomes like Toyota Camry instead..

• Sam Loo on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:03 pm

So many impersonators lately.

I only talk about trading kimchis, and I need a steady stream of sorhais buying them new.

I use a Camry as its the D-Segment with the lowest TCO, and most reliable too.

I love sushi vehicles, as they designed for people that are trustworthy, career minded and winners.

Kimchis are for impulsive buyers that took the cheap skate bait of having low grade accessories that will only degrade trade in value and dampen demand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • timi988 on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:14 am

I always feel that NISSAN TEANA is leading the D segment car ahead of HONDA ACCORD and TOYOTA CAMRY. The luxurious and comfortness interior of TEANA can be compare with others continental car in Malaysia.

• timi988 on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:19 am

base on my experience :
    MAZDA 6 : is just a sporty exterior but the interior, is so not for executive.
    TOYOTA CAMRY : is too plain to be compete in D segment.
    HONDA ACCORD : getting smaller than the last version and still, working harder on the engine than orthers manufacturer.
    NISSAN TEANA : the best of the best D segment car and worth buying every single cents.

• Fairlady on Oct 23, 2013 at 10:30 am

Together with Mazda 6, this is a good looking segment D car. ETCM, are we getting this soon?

• babyboy on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:30 am

nice n fresh car..
    nice spec, engine not like honda/toyota..

• Obviously not as exciting as Optima. Also do think Accord is a better bet. Is 125k a reasonable price n upcoming sylphy at 85k for 1.6. In the PAST, Japanese always priced higher than Korean cars, i think it’s ought to change now to attract and survive.

• TC Nissan M’sia always launch its vehicle one year++ after Thailand & Singapore. Hopeless