AUDIO: Honda’s 2015 Formula 1 engine fired up

http://youtu.be/431h20gvm3M

Even Formula 1 is buying into the downsizing club, moving from the the current 2.4 litre V8s to 1.6 litre turbocharged V6 engines next year. You’ve heard the 2014 Mercedes-Benz AMG V6 F1 Power Unit in action and read about Renault’s Energy F1 system, now cock your ears for Honda’s 2015 F1 power unit. Honda is pairing up with McLaren starting from 2015, when the British team will migrate from Merc.

Honda will be in charge of the development, manufacture and supply of the power unit, including the engine and energy recovery system, while McLaren will be in responsible of the development and manufacture of the chassis, as well as the management of the new team, McLaren Honda.

honda f1 04

“It’s exciting to hear the cry of our new born Formula 1 engine for the first time. Our engineers are working hard to develop the engine and we are all looking forward to the start of the 2015 season,” said Manabu Nishimae, president of Honda Motor Europe Ltd.

Honda says that the opportunity to further develop these powertrain technologies through the challenge of racing is central to its decision to rejoin F1. Participation under the new F1 regulations will encourage even further technological progress in both these areas. Plus, a new generation of Honda engineers can experience the challenges and thrills of operating at the pinnacle of motorsport.

Honda will base its European racing operations in Milton Keynes from June 2014. Like what you hear?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kudos Honda. But the engine sound like crying baby. peace :-)

• Sam Loo on Oct 22, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Honda engine sound not like crying baby but sound like human fart. Especially when you just at some potato. What sounds great is the Camry engine, so soothing to your ears. Not only Camry sounds nice, it has better RV than Honda. Honda is still honda. they are only good making motorcycle ie kapchai. Yes, a Honda is the kapchai from Boon Siew. They are not good making cars, unlike Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
      • Samuel Tong on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:29 pm

When people are discussing about forklift, first thought will be Toyota.
        Though, while people are talking about F1, people will mention, does Toyota ever appear in F1??? Of course i do know that they did take part in previous years but they were struggled to get the both drivers & constructors championship points.
        It was such a shame, T & you.

• Samuel, thanks for the words. You got my thumb-up.

Sam Loo, you are sick.

• saifulazlin on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:20 am

More sedate. Less roar. But yes, I like it!

• mayonis on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:23 am

the sound not as roar as previous. maybe need to go to track to hear the real one.

so how about lotus? dont want to use campro 1.6 CFE?

just joking :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Chris on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:12 pm

It makes me miss home. Reminded me of my mom making fruit juice with that fruit grinder thingy.

• subzero106 on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:21 pm

that engine sounded like a power tool sander…

• benchot on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:31 pm

bunyi merdu giler beb..cam masa amy search muda dulu boleh jerit sampai nyaring..steam sial..

• hafizrahim on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:35 pm

previous one is better..

• Someguyonthenet on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:59 pm

R.I.P Earphone users. Towards the end it is like someone making a melody out of it.

• Johnny on Oct 22, 2013 at 1:17 pm

A moment of silence for..

• Denaihati on Oct 22, 2013 at 1:50 pm

personally, current F1 engine sound is more excited.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Sounds like my Moulinex blender.

Unfortunately, with turbo chargers on board muffling the otherwise raw and unadulterated engine mayhem, looks like there will be a aural atmosphere in this season’s F1 will be a little underwhelming.

• air_freeze on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:30 pm

love the turbine sound..

• heybadigol on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:35 pm

I hope they are hiding the real sound somewhere so that rival power unit makers can’t guess the configuration of the engine. Cos that sounds like a very loud lawnmower. The Honda 1.5 litre V6 turbos from 1985-1988 sure sound a heck lot better. Come on Honda, you can do better than this.

• hello on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Oh wow, Honda are now making household vacum cleaners.

• hello on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:20 pm

this sounds better

• thebugbud on Oct 22, 2013 at 8:55 pm

old days F1 engine rev pass 20k then slow to 19k then 18k, the new 1.6 turbo is 15k i think. damn missed the high pitch engine noise. now.. is kinda anti climax

• astroguy on Oct 22, 2013 at 9:04 pm

hmmm other than honda, are there any japanese or korean engine manufacturers in F1? last time Toyota joined for a while then gave up because they are too slow hahaha..
    and honda previously won so many F1 championship..

and what about koreans? their cars are so good from outside…but engines and gearbox are only good on papers… when you drive sucks big time..

• hello on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Clearly you don’t know shits about F1. You’re here just to low ball.

• Ramun on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Do u think by using very powerful engine can win race?

For record, toyota joined F1 as Toyota. Not just give their engine to other team or even title sponsor. They build the car, design the aero package by their own. Lotus pun pakai engine Renault. Same goes with Red Bull Racing using 3rd party engine. Our very own Caterham also using Renault engine.
      last time Honda still in F1 during Jordan Honda team pun takde la hebat sangat.
      Anyhow new era of F1 will use smaller engine displacement aided with electric powertrain (correct me if i am wrong). It is a fair game.

• rally_fan on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:27 am

you totally ignored honda’s. Done on purpose? or you really didn’t know? Honda’s most exciting F1 years are already legendary, with Mansell, Piquet and Ayrton Senna winning both the Drivers’ and Constructors’ World Championships when they were supplying engines to both Williams and Lotus. You also totally ignored Honda’s relationship with Mclaren after that and again Senna and a frenchman named prost…culminating in arguably, the most successful f1 car in the history of the sport, the MP4/4. With Mclaren, honda again claimed both Drivers’ and Constructors’ World Championships.

• Mugilan on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:04 am

Sam Loo why do you even exist ?

• Astroguy on Oct 23, 2013 at 5:36 am

Long reply but not answering the question hehehe
    We are talking about engine here.
    I am a professional mech engineer and i used to design aerodynamic wind tunnel testing abroad
    So i f”c$king know what i am talking about

• torquealot on Oct 24, 2013 at 8:40 am

This forum needs hardcare Toyota fanboy joker like Sam Loo to cheer us up…..BTW the only Japanese brand ever won in Formula 1 is Honda, this proves without a shadow of a doubt their prowess in racing engineering !

• Brandon Downing on Mar 20, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Who gives a rats about how load they are or how they sound… This is F1 and it is finally the pinnacle of technology and motorsport again.
    Not 1950’s technology..
    If I had a Prius that sounded half as good as this and could light up tyres at 160km/h I would be a happy man..
    Cant wait to see McLaren and Honda together again next year..