Honda S660 Concept mini roadster to debut in Tokyo

Tokyo_Motor_Show_2013_Honda_S660_Concept_02

This cheeky little roadster called the Honda S660 Concept will be one of many debutants at the upcoming 43rd Tokyo Motor Show 2013 next month. Honda has released a few pictures and sketches of what it describes as an “open-top sports-type mini-vehicle.”

If it looks familiar to you, that’s because it’s clearly a near-production re-imagination of the EV-STER Concept shown at the same show two years ago. All its body panels and light clusters are now closer to their production forms, but the distinctive and rakish looks have been kept intact.

The interior is all new, and features an actual steering wheel rather than the EV-STER’s experimental twin-lever joysticks. Other than the swathes of exposed carbon-fibre, the white-on-black, driver-oriented cockpit looks almost production ready.

Tokyo_Motor_Show_2013_Honda_S660_Concept_03

Though no details have been released, the S660 badge suggests a kei-class 660 cc petrol engine under the hood. Evolving from the electric-powered EV-STER, it wouldn’t be too far a guess to think that there’s an electric motor somewhere in there too.

Power should be sent through the S660’s rear wheels, as the EV-STER was imagined as a dynamic rear-wheel drive roadster. Consequently, the S660 will revive Honda’s long-running family of rear-drive open-top convertibles that ended with the much-missed Honda S2000 in 2009.

Also announced in Honda’s Tokyo Motor Show roster are the NSX Concept (which will make its Japanese premiere, this time painted white), the new N-WGN mini-vehicle plus a number of production models both on two and four wheels. We will cover the show live, so read about them all here first when the time comes.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 23, 2013 at 11:45 am

A younger brother of S2000? Why not! 660CC turbo charge Kei roadster, must be a hit in everywhere, except HM charge it with 130K because 2 door.

• Sam Loo on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Honda is only good at making motorcycles and kapchais. Yes, the ones from Boon Siew. They have no idea how to make a good car like Toyota. Buy a Toyota for good RV and you won’t regret it. Don’t bother with Honda trash. My yard is full of Civics and Accords all traded in for 70% of its value. Hardly 1 year old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 41
      • ktard on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:11 pm

cerita dingin di hari yang mendung.

• civic fd 2008 1.8 ivtec RV is far more better than toyota altis 2008 1.8 G…go check out in mudah..get ur facts loser!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • sam loo dumb on Oct 23, 2013 at 3:30 pm

dunt be dumb..civic fd ivtec 1.8 2008 RV is far more higher than toyota altis 1.8 2008 ‘old tranny 4 speeder’..go check out in mudah..u loser!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • People who reply to sam loo s comment are making themselves look stupid. Sam loo is merely trying to intimidate u all. Do u really think sam loo doesnt know how good id a honda etc…? He is immune to all ur replies, The more u reply, the more shiok he is. The best way to counter stupid remarks is to NOT reply it all.

• Anyway, i gotta salute sam loo, u do this everytime u feel bored huh..:)

• Josh Ling on Oct 23, 2013 at 7:44 pm

frankly i have no idea why people still reply to his comment. and even dislike his comment. come on la, he’s like that all the time already, don’t bother, get used to it…….and who knows is it the real sam loo posting this or not??

• rogyuu on Oct 23, 2013 at 11:46 am

Please make it hybrid and tax exempted in Malaysia. And price it somewhere between city and crz!

• Chris on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:02 pm

Looking at Honda’s P07A engine info now…

I wonder if they can use that engine, instead of turbocharge it, use hybrid powertrain to boost the power to maximum kei-car limit (63hp?)

Small light car, tons of instant torque, sounds like a recipe for fun.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:53 pm

But the problem is the battery weight cost more than 30% of the weight of the car, excluding the motor. If they have a super light weight battery like super capacitor and use 1 motor system like IMA, paired with turbo-charged 660cc petrol engine. It should be nice. putting out 110HP and 120NM of torque in a car weight less than 800KG, sounds fun.

• rogyuu on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:11 pm

It can be IMA hybrid, as long as its bears a hybrid badge, its tax exempt in Malaysia (until 2013 end, unless the budget 2014 extends it). FR layout, light and agile, sounds fun.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 23, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Not FR but MR. It’s a successor to Honda Beat.

• Chris on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:58 pm

I like the super capacitor idea. But they may have to comply to the kei-car regulation then the maximum power is basically fixed.

Torque is key. I can only imagine a rally car like performance, 300hp but the torque goes through the roof.

• mr_em on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:07 pm

For the first time in so many years since the original NS-X…. a Honda that I could like and the S660 design is also so much improved than Honda’s previous efforts (new NS-X included)… being 660cc I hope it will also be relatively affordable for a 2 seater roadster…

• Black Dog on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:11 pm

This looks good (for my gf). An all electric or hybrid will be very suitable. Of course in Malaysia, a convertible type is a must.

• mr_em on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:20 pm

A few more points I may add…

If Honda could put the right amount of engineering effort into this car as a 660cc hybrid and market it properly, it could be the kind of ‘cult’ car that Honda needs right now… in the age of expensive fuel/petrol price, high duties on normal engined cars etc… Honda could have just hit the ‘sweet’ spot and may this car help revive Honda… as to be honest, Honda’s current effort is rated mediocre at best especially with the current Civic/CR-V generation…

• thepolygon on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Cute. If it comes with a soft top and affordable it might find many homes here in Bolehland.

Of course hard top is best but it’s 660cc, it needs to be light and agile. Anyway we have the full roof CRZ.

• mr_em on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:59 pm

the CR-Z is a bit of a hit and miss, a front wheel drive sports hybrid…

this S660 is like a scaled down NS-X and even the interior looks good with the paddle shifts etc… and this is what the earlier Honda Beat should have been all along… a mid-engine rear wheel drive scaled down NS-X…. no need to say more… I hope Honda tune the ride & handling properly this time round… get a proper test driver and run it round the Nurburgring a few hundred times…

• Got a feeling the design is origin from LOTUS Concept cars

• jazciv on Oct 23, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Rebirth of the legendary Honda Beat.

• heybadigol on Oct 23, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Nice car with RWD too!! Been a long time since there was a RWD Honda/Acura. If only it makes it into production. But where’s the engine? Looks like the front windscreen is too far to the front, so engine is in front of front axle, which is not ideal for weight distribution. So could this be mid engined?

• jazciv on Oct 23, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Rebirth of the legendary Honda Beat

• Sam Loo on Oct 23, 2013 at 8:31 pm

i cant wait this to enter my yard with 70% value depreciation. Honda RV cant beat Toyota RV anytime and anywhere though better than kimchi’s.

• PauKaya on Oct 23, 2013 at 10:54 pm

welcome back honda

• Kerry Phillips on Oct 24, 2013 at 12:14 am

The 660 CC displacement is on purpose. This is the maximum legal limit for the KEI or micro car class and the tax break and parking benefits. Horsepower is also restricted, so they often state the maximum legal limit as the engine’s output, surprisingly at low RPM (wink Wink). If this car is imported to United States, expect a larger engine.

• Crx = crz
    Beat = S660
    S2000 =???

• Nicky on Oct 24, 2013 at 1:41 pm

Will Honda Source the engine from Suzuki, like what Caterham Seven does? 3 Cylinder 660 turbo Charged engine from Suzuki like Suzuki MR which is also a K car? Power should not be more than 63hp? Sounds interesting if Honda S660 mini roadster does that.