Four-door Toyota 86 sedan up for production – reports

Toyota_86_sedan_rendering_Theophilus_Chin

While the Toyota 86 Convertible has reportedly been put on the back burner, Auto Express says that plans are on the way within the company to introduce a longer, four-door sedan version of the keen-handling 86 sports coupe. Citing an inside source, the English publication claims that the model has been given the go-ahead for production.

According to the report, the base rear-wheel drive platform will be stretched by around 100 mm to accommodate the two additional doors, while the front will supposedly inherit the blade-like Toyota grille used on the 2013 Vios and 2014 Corolla. A speculative rendering of a Toyota 86 sedan by Theophilus Chin is shown above.

As rumoured before, there could also be a hybrid variant of the 86 utilising a toned-down version of Toyota’s new sporty Hybrid-R technology, which was recently showcased on a 400 hp Yaris-based concept. Paired to the standard 200 hp ‘Toyobaru’ 2.0 litre boxer engine, between 250 to 270 hp and up to 15% better fuel efficiency are on the cards.

Whether with or without a convertible, sedan or hybrid variants, there’s no doubting that the regular Toyota 86 coupe is already a cracking sports car, both on the road and on the racetrack. The two-door is on sale here in Malaysia for RM243,000, or just over RM247k if you prefer it with a Subaru badge.

Toyota 86 Coupe

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• pay >RM9 then u get Renault Megane RS Red Bull Racing RB8. Why 86 then??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
    • chaerul on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:44 pm

handling bro…handling is the keyword. its RWD vs FWD. the megane might have more horses but the 86 I reckon is more fun IMHO :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • namanama on Oct 25, 2013 at 9:55 am

know what,it’s the most fun entry level sports car.even Jeremy Clarkson impress with 86/BRZ.

• Sam Loo on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:10 pm

This car RV sure to be very good. Nobody beats Toyota RV. Come to me if you want to buy this Toyota in the future, or else, you can buy many Mazdas, BMWs, VWs that are all going for half price in my yard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • Autoexpert on Oct 27, 2013 at 11:58 pm

Just in case you have forgotten, Honda’s RV is always better than Toyota. Honda’s RV is still the number one in the land of “Boleh”.

• Luqman_HKM on Oct 24, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Finally!! A car that is RWD, good handling and practical. I hope they have the hybrid because the normal 86 here…. EXPENSIVE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • GT86-h? on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:20 pm

sorry to bust your bubble but it seem that the govt. will some impose import tax on imported hybrid car as well. Hopefully Toyota decide to build the car here like what they did with the Camry although i highly doubt it

• gtmaniac on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:01 pm

This will be a Corolla AE82 GT sedan of the future. Produced at the same time with the AE86.. though it was FWD.

• But please name it other than 86 because it will ruin the iconic identity of the 2 doors coupe.

• Polo Saga on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:25 pm

So why not six doors?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • Charlie on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:32 pm

in bolehland everything is expensive especially car

• aku cina on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:49 pm

engine toyota or subaru? combine tech?

• Jimmy on Oct 24, 2013 at 5:52 pm

No longer a sportscar look, but Persona, bad move.
    4-door sedan with RWD at similar price tag: IS for Toyota fans, in case you miss it.

• Coooooool…. looking forward to the production model, but I doubt the styling if they really install the Corolla/Vios grille in front…

• I love this car a lot, hopefully they will still focus on the driver part and not the passenger.

• stanleychua on Oct 24, 2013 at 7:26 pm

in other word this is just a RWD version of Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Eddie on Oct 24, 2013 at 8:07 pm

4 Door toyota 86 at roughly Rm250k? (A bit too exp for Malaysians) or a stripped x de-tuned ver for roughly Rm150-Rm180k

• heybadigol on Oct 24, 2013 at 8:25 pm

Best news of the year, thus far!! But it needs a power upgrade, c’mon ToyaBaru. It wont be as practical as 3 series (the 86 is much lower & more compact inside), but who cares, if the rest of the family only goes in there once in awhile. The fact that it only runs on RON97 wouldnt matter either.

• Maverick2091 on Oct 24, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Sigh… why? Nothing better to do is it, Toyota?

• sam boo on Oct 24, 2013 at 9:34 pm

K guys, according to my research confirm this one got vy2 high RV. Its toyota maa… u don’t had to worry, just buy if can afford.

• neemfa on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:07 pm

Fail.. 86 no longer for purists and enthusiasts.. auto ‘box and 4-door?

• Toyota 86 grand coupe!

• Grammar Nazi on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:27 pm

It should be “between 250 to 270 hp and up to 15% better fuel efficiency are on the CARDS” No?
    Or was that pun intended?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Yes, it’s as you say it should be. Fixed.
      Thanks mate :)

• Good marketing skills Toyota….. Make a good 2 door, now make a 4 door… Boost sales if toyota
    So it’s like a corolla GL KE70 with a rwd 4age in the 80s, or maybe a Toyota Altezza?

Workable. But will it be like a rwd Subaru “non turbo” imprezza also?

• 02100 on Oct 25, 2013 at 8:01 am

better buy bmw 125i.

• Anti Nation made cars,espcially Potong on Oct 25, 2013 at 8:49 am

This is the best rumours so far i heard in automobile industries. Make it happen soon, this car is briliant with 4 doors.My current 2 door GT86 rear seat almost fit only shopping paper bags and my sub-woffer.

• Is it gonna be RWD for sedan? or it will become like those days AE86 & AE80 relationship.

• I have driven the 86 for a week. Handling wise it is sweet, almost identical to that of my z4 E85. Power wise it is super poor. You got to rev like hell to achieve the most out of it. I have rev through each and every gear at the autobahn barely over taking some Audi A3 2.0 TDI (150hp).
    At 200kmh, the wind noise is super loud (partly due to high rpm at 200kmh).
    Generally, i didnt quite like the 86 due to poor built quality and weak power delivery. Handling wise i give it 8 out of 10.

• In the case of Toyota, if the concept is cool it will never take off. Only the ordinary ones will go to production. Not to mention the actual production design deviates so much. So. Frustrating!