Honda N-WGN and N-WGN Custom for Tokyo show

honda-n-wgn-1

Say konichiwa to the Honda N-WGN and N-WGN Custom. The Japanese carmaker is bringing these tallboys to next month’s Tokyo Motor Show, where they will sit alongside the S660 Concept roadster, a crossover based on the new Jazz and the NSX Concept, amongst others.

No details have been revealed so far, but the pair are clearly a part of Honda’s new N-Series kei cars (three so far: N Box, N Box+ and N-One). We wonder how they will be positioned with regards to the N Boxes, as both N-WGN and N Box are mini MPV-shaped. The N Boxes have sliding rear doors and the N-WGNs don’t, though, so perhaps we’re looking at something bigger than the N-One but smaller than the N Box.

honda-n-wgn-13

As you can see, the N-WGN Custom (top pic, foreground) gets a different headlamp and grille assembly, an aggressive-looking front bumper with fog lamp housings, a different rear bumper, side skirts, thin-spoked sports wheels and a tailgate spoiler.

Inside, there’s a three-spoke steering wheel and a simple, uncluttered dashboard with lots of cubbyholes. The Custom’s interior is the dark-coloured one, featuring metallic trim on the dash, air vent and door handle surrounds, fabric/leather mix seats and an upgraded instrument panel that features a rev counter and white backlighting for the multi-info display.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• safety first on Oct 24, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Lovely Kcar but talk about test crash rating…

• Sam Loo on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Honda is only good at making kapchai motorcycle. Coming out with designs like this is silly and won’t sell at all. This car RV sure to drop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • alvin on Oct 24, 2013 at 5:41 pm

Mini Vellfire

• Denaihati on Oct 24, 2013 at 9:45 pm

so cute, nice dashboard for N-WGN Custom.

• Chris on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:06 pm

No big fan of MPVs before, but this has to be the nicest looking kei-car I’ve ever seen. It looks like a miniaturized version of a bigger car.

• pokmang on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:28 pm

love to see if this cutey car can turn into mpv…freed doesn’t attract me at all

• Almost like Mini VellFire … with no sliding door. Another option car to buy …

• totti on Oct 25, 2013 at 9:04 am

Has been driving for Produa kenari for 5 years and love it.

This car look better the kenari (inside out). If selling at below RM 45K, the respond should be good.

• jibby on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:05 pm

45k? that’s about the same price as kenari bro. go home man, we live in bolehland. keep on dreaming for this car to be below 45k…

• Peter Griffin on Oct 25, 2013 at 9:54 am

I would certainly buy this K-Car. Looks great

• Polo Saga on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:00 am

Nice design.

• Hindaa on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:11 am

No rear view? must be ugly. haha~

• madhopper on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:24 am

45k? unless the sun rise from the west.

• fendy on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Honda freed.. is that you….?

• Sam Loo on Oct 25, 2013 at 3:41 pm

Want me to show you a Toyota Hiace a few years later? You’ll be thanking me.

• Autoexpert on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:27 am

For your info., all Honda cars models have much better RV than a Toyota anytime. You as a used car dealer should know better!