Perodua sales up 5.7% for first nine months of 2013

perodua viva s

Perodua sales rose 5.7% for the first nine months of the year to 147,400 units from 139,400 in the same period last year. The company’s first half of 2013 sales was up by 4% year-on-year, so Q3 was a good quarter for P2. The company attributes the improved figures to the introduction of the S-Series in March.

“The Perodua S-Series variants constitute almost 48% of our total sales so far this year with 40,700 sold since it was launched in March. We are truly humbled by the support shown by the Malaysian public and will work harder to ensure that your experience with us is a pleasant one, because here at Perodua, you matter most,” said Perodua COO Zahari Husin.

“Demand for our vehicles is still healthy with nearly 20,000 bookings received in September. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, we believe that we can meet our year-end target of 194,000 units,” Zahari added.

Besides new car sales, after-sales is an important source of revenue for carmakers. Perodua saw 1.42 million vehicles visiting its service centres nationwide over the nine-month period, an increase of 100,000 vehicles compared with the same period last year.

View the launch report, gallery and specs of the Perodua S-Series here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Daihatsu sales*

• No its p2 sales…since sales of p2 does not count as daihatsu sales…but profit goes to daihatsu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • pepek guy on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:52 am

that all are salemans sale..
        damm u oll..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • I meant the car produce that r sold…not people who doing that sales…lol…tak kan doctor jual kot..lolol

• paultan cacat on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:55 am

saleman did the sale..
        saleman win!!!

• policeman on Oct 24, 2013 at 12:39 pm

5.7% increase in morons for the first nine months of 2013.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • Don’t be so happy lah, just bcoz import car is so expensive so ppl have no choice so they choose this kind of stupid cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • benzs on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:39 am

Good job Perodua! Ive been driving Myvi s series for 2 months. So far no issue at all, service is good n fast delivery. After sales service also show good effort, 1st time service was clock at less than 1 hour duration. Nice job! Beside everthing is free for servicing, plus good fuel economy. Travel urban n city average of 14.7 to 15km per liter. Even Myvi is just local car but quality wise is good, of coz cant compare to T brand but jap tech gave me less headache. Will buy Perodua again in future n thks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 58
    • 2 month!! haha!!! on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:50 am

2 months… i think already 2 decade.. ppppffftttt…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 10
      • qwerty on Oct 24, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Swift delivery? Lucky you! I have been waiting for around 10 days for my MyVi to be freaking registered by the SA since the day I settled my loan.

• mokhlisnor on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:58 am

If 2 decades BMW 5 series also kaput mehh

• abuya123 on Oct 24, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Baru 2 bulan…. Lepas 2 tahun?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Chris on Oct 24, 2013 at 3:06 pm

2 years 10 months. The place I got the car is superb, gave me impression it’s the right choice.

Moved to another town far from home. Service center keep try to rip me off, sell me things I don’t need and moderately slow service.

Car start to develop clanky noise when I do fast left turns, otherwise drives normally.

• flat_tire on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:50 pm

i wonder what seems to cause the clanky noise..? coz my kancil also does that when i do fast left turns.. but then again.. i’ve been driving it for like 10 years.. got all sorts of other noises as well..

• Low Budget on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:41 pm

2 months? Too early to talk-lah bradder, you should wait for 10 more months and than talk. My Viva AirCon compressor ‘bocor’ and also the power windows control ‘rosak’ at exactly 1 year old, the only consolation is it does not cost much to fix it.

• mokhlisnor on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:00 am

Ok lorr… My Proton 1 year gave me
        1. Aircond kong 3 times
        2. Regulator pwr wdw kong 2 times

• nzain on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:45 am

still selling well??…hoh the purchased it coz of the look not the price even performance…LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • nenek nzain on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:57 am

so what if selling well?
      they buy using ur “keturunan” money ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • nzain on Oct 24, 2013 at 1:34 pm

well said…perodua bdypart not that good quality n totally overpriced..so u can stand beside them n i can say what ever i want

• bodoh lah paultan on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:13 am

selling well and good..
      jeles ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • benzs on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:46 am

Perodua seems to be improve gradually, even Pmyvi is not stable when u hit 100km n above but the solution is easy. Switch to bigger tire n 15 inch will solve it. Manual transmission is not sluggish at all, just to remember to change ur transmission fluid 1st time service coz afraid of metal partical from the new born gear. After that change it according to Perodua schedule. So far I can say is better n improve. No over reacting sound from every compartment just bouncy a bit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
  • benzs on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:49 am

Even some ppl do hate Myvi due to many of it otr. But is still affordable n less pricey. If compare to P1, quality wise is the main concern n fuel consumption is more than k3ve engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • essesse on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:48 am

Myvi is way lighter than saga. It’s under 1 tonne region with 1.5l engine, sure can save. Weight wise saga is similar with Vios. Do I need to say the Vios FC is good is merely hype?

• mokhlisnor on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:06 am

Saga still using iron cast engine with timing belt.. nowadays they go for aluminium cast which less weight..

• hearthurt on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Then if Saga uses aluminium cast, it can save fuel more than vios. Can compete with myvi, lol.

• Balls on Oct 24, 2013 at 12:42 pm

I dislike Perodua for just having 3 model in their line-up although they are Best Selling Car by Brand in Malaysia.

• mokhlisnor on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:49 am

ya correct.. they shud produce more models and give more options to buyers..

• Sam Loo on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:03 am

Perut-Dua cars are crap. Once there’s a collision, the car just looks like a Milo tin, worse case will be split into two (Perut-Dua). Low NCAP rating. Get a used Vios is much more wiser decision than taking these junk, and better fuel efficiency & lower maintenance. Remember Daihatsu != Toyota, and vice versa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 49
    • dino years on Oct 24, 2013 at 12:29 pm

comparing vios and myvi is like comparing a) milo tin, with b) godiva chocolate tin. both crumple like kertas. Just one is priced like kertas, the other like emas. a

• Sam Loo on Oct 28, 2013 at 11:56 am

I’m comparing between a new Perut-dua car & used-Vios (Year 2006-2007), since they are on the same price bracket, by not taking car segment into account. A used-Vios 2nd gen are still achieving 17.2km/L with 130km/h on PLUS highway, from Penang to Singapore without refuel.

• Chris on Oct 24, 2013 at 3:09 pm

I like roadtrips…

Can Vios give me 22.5km/L on longer trips?

• Low Budget on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:47 pm

22.5 KM/L? Where ‘got road’ man? May be a Kancil or Viva manual can achieve that. Go drive a Kancil out station-lah.

• abuya123 on Oct 25, 2013 at 9:21 am

Dude…. wanna longer trips? Kapchai can offer 45km/L.

Stop try to deny vios capability. Stop comparing small, lightweight tiny car and sedan car. You look not so clever by doing that.

• Sam Loo on Oct 28, 2013 at 11:58 am

Please tell me which car can achieve this rate.

• benzs on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:14 am

Sam LOOk, if ur Hilux is so much better. Drive all the way to genting n ramp it from the hill. See whether ur car will survive. As the hilux slogan is “Tough” then we should all see Sam LOo do the stunt. God bless u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Sam Loo on Oct 24, 2013 at 12:12 pm

Toyota still the best. New Vios easily beat this Myvi milo tin hands down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
      • benzs on Oct 24, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Sam LOOk, r u educated person or just blindly pass exam through under table money? How to compare compact n sedan? Price of 2 myvi = 1 vios. Did u pass your math exam or “MAIN TEMBAK” in exam? No wonder u live in cave coz need to use Hilux travelling there. Perodua > Daihatsu > Toyota. If you condemn Perodua that mean u condemn Toyota as well. WTF!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • mokhlisnor on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:04 am

Myvi and Vios is from 2 different segments. Vios is frm C segment. anyhow Vios taxi at Indonesia also frm milo tin mehh.. i can feel the built quality so soft..

• gingt on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Vios is from C segment? Since when? LOL
          Please read more dude

• mokhlisnor on Dec 12, 2013 at 2:28 pm

sorry B segment. but still diff segment with Myvi.. LOL

• thank you! on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:18 am

thank you so much for giving us the lastest in automotive technology at a fraction of the price of overseas brands!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • azrai on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:56 am

Is it real? It is hardly to see Perodua’s in WYM or even those WxxxA number plates since Proton introduced the Saga SV in July.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Black Dog on Oct 24, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Are u in UK (Ulu Kelantan)? Now Myvi’s with W XXX C are everywhere!

Perodua should thank me too for contributing 1 unit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • otak udang on Oct 24, 2013 at 12:34 pm

Yeah it’s a conspiracy that Perodua make fake sales number and submitted it to MAA to make them become best selling car in Malaysia.

OK are you satisfied now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • mokhlisnor on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:53 am

what for make fake sales. no contribution to the profit at all. Myvi is best selling cars with every single digits plat number.. Unless if u duduk at Ulu Kelantan laa..

• Denaihati on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:59 am

congratulations to perodua and keep it up.

• whoa, I thought the MyComiCal (MYCC) squad banned publishing monthly sales figures from being reported?? anyway, Myvi quality sucks, I know of two Myvis with brooken hinge for the rear lift gate

• dino years on Oct 24, 2013 at 12:26 pm

and i know of millions of recalled toyotas and volkswagons. i know, you know, kawan know, grandfather grandmother know, big deal…

• Low Budget on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Look at it another way, recalls do not really mean bad quality problem, it simply means the car manufacturer are constantly on the lookout to keep improving their quality and protect their reputation, this is why they still can sell cars by the millions even they keep recalling cars for fixing some potential faults, on the other hand have we all heard of any mass recalls by our P1 and P2 company? Does this means P1 and P2 and tip top quality manufacturers?

• Perodua_Nice on Oct 24, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Perodua is really a nice car to own if you have limited budget. It is value-for-money, good quality, equipped with reasonable accessories, nice handling and most important petrol-saving. Seriously I love Perodua much more compared to Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • tinmilo on Oct 24, 2013 at 5:35 pm

ride and handling

saga > vios > myvi

• Low Budget on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Saga is the cheapest 1.3L car with a boot,all Proton legendary problems are still there albeit a bit lesser now, nothing more than that…

• old dog on Oct 24, 2013 at 2:02 pm

those viva driver probably upgrade from bike, and still drive like bike, every small space also squeeze in..

those myvi drive probably upgrade from viva/bike and drive super fast even it is not highway and cut left and right…

can we drive with patience for safety purposes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Chris on Oct 24, 2013 at 3:12 pm

I like viva because it can squeeze in spaces no other car can. Very useful for parking when you know half the population here can’t bloody park. Also very useful for going around crowded neighbourhood with too many apartments where everyone park at the roadside blocking everyone else.

• Sparcov on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:11 pm

previously i also wondering why myvi like to squeeze left and right. until i drove it, I understand now. the visibility is so clear from 4 corners, hatchback and powerful engine light weight really make you drive faster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Sparcov on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Just got 1 1.3 se ivory white. W XXXX C
    Nice and spacious with money that you paid…
    Malaysian tends to use car that are common on the road. which means parts are easily available. Maintenance are lower..New car is a new car, no matter what also better than a used car.

I wouldn’t want to take risk to buy something unusual brand but end up have to pay more for the maintenance and low resale value.

Saga is good, myvi also good. with that price range since saga are cheaper, why not take saga? if afford than take myvi lah….

advertisement also did mention

“Bagaimana dia belanja, terpulang lah”

• benzs on Oct 24, 2013 at 5:10 pm

That rite sparcov, interior is spacious n dashboard design doesnt look awfull for long term sight. Is a good car compare to previous gen Myvi. Those button is really easy to use beside is huge enuf. Unlike those manufacturers who developt small button n it is really hard to spot when driving during nite time.

• fender on Oct 24, 2013 at 5:41 pm

Big dials and buttons look cheap. Dashboard design is so and so. If you want solid built dashboard, go and see Rio’s or Pug 208’s.

The seats are bit hard and high, which mean are not comfortable enough for legs during long journey.

• I am driving a 20 year old Wira and it can sapu corner at higher speed and much more stable than a new MYVI, and for Milo tin testing, just lean on the MYVI door

• protiga on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Perodua in particular Myvi should introduce more colour choice for the buyers. The present range of colours are quite dull with so many alike on the roads.

• Peter on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:56 am

So far anyone heard sales figure from P1. I’ve been waiting this since DRB takeover. Any guess?