KLIMS13 to host 4th Kuala Lumpur International Automotive Conference 2013 (KLIAC) on Nov 12-14

kliacThe upcoming Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show 2013 (KLIMS13) is set to host the 4th Kuala Lumpur International Automotive Conference 2013 (KLIAC). The event, organised by the Malaysian Automotive Association and the Asian Strategy and Leadership Institute (ASLI), will serve as a conduit for delegates and speakers to network and create new or strengthen existing partnerships.

The KLIAC is set to run from November 12-14 at the Putra World Trade Centre, three days prior to the opening of KLIMS13, which will be held from November 15-24. A list of conference speakers has been confirmed for the event, with the Minister of International Trade and Industry, Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed, set to deliver the ministerial keynote address.

The speakers of the conference include Subash Bose Pillai, director of Market Integration Directorate, ASEAN Secretariat; P. Ravidran, senior director of ASEAN Economic Cooperation, MITI; Muhamad Madani Sahari, CEO of the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) and Professor Dr Wong Shaw Voon, DG of Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS).

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, meanwhile, will be delivering a special luncheon address entitled Shaping a National Auto Industry: How National Cars can contribute towards Economic Development.

Presidents of the regional automotive associations will also be speaking at KLIAC. They include the MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad; Yoshihiro Yano, VP of International Affairs, Japan Automobile Manufacturers Association (JAMA); K. Achana Limpaitoon, senior VP of the Thai Automotive Industry Association and Vicente T. Mills Jr, president of the Philippines Automotive Federation.

The programmes for the conference include a regional roundtable on Towards ASEAN Economic Community – Impact on the automotive industry and a CEO roundtable titled The Future of Malaysia’s Auto Industry: Where do we go from here?. Other session topics include: Economic Scenario of ASEAN, Energy Efficient Vehicles: Smarter Mobility for an Energy Dependent World and The Safety Dimension: Auto Safety and Road Safety.

The registration fee for the conference is RM1,800 for normal delegates, and RM1,500 for governmental and MAA members as well as those attending in a group (minimum of three people). International delegates register at US$460 for group (minimum three people) or at US$500 per delegate. Students will get a 50% discount from the standard rate of RM1,800 or US$500.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• There’s hardly a month before the show and as of this moment, there is absolutely nothing that is attracting a gear heads attention, at least mine. The absence of Proton can be pardon but the absence of anything from the European or American continent(some frenchies aside) is really disappointing.

Naza, being now the official destributor in the region for some exotics including the illusory Koenigsegg, can bring some interesting stuff to the show and McLaren, since the P1 is in town, can at least prolong the P1 stay and show it off in the show. Those will be great show stopper like the Enzo/Zonda/Carrera GT of the 06′ show. But as of now, the outlook looks dismal.

• KLIMS is a DISGRACE on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:48 pm

KLIMS is one big joke. I have travelled all over the world and seen International Car shows. Our KLIMs is the ONLY one that has no new launches, no prototypes, nothing educational and its full of marketing companies trying to sell
      1) Car Shampoo
      2) Motor Lubricant
      3) Car rims
      4) Car tyres.

Go and learn from the Birmingham International show how to do an International Car show. Then they keep all cars locked up. Like dogs we see the car from outside.Like that, better I go to Naza Automall ont he Federal highway on a weekday and look at the cars there. Free and no need to waste my money buying tickets.

Instead of calling speakers like Dr Mahathir, the sole person that has caused ALL our cars to be super expensive with the introduction of his brainchild Proton, better all the peakers ask one thing important….where is the 30% reduction in car prices promised by Najib before the election. 30% is supposed to be given gradually over the period of 5 years. By now, we should be seeing at least a 5% reduction in car prices. But we see car prices going up pulak. VW increaded the prices of ALL their cars, for example.

So, ALL the sepakers speaking in KLIMS should not cerita banyak. The public want to know where is the 30% reduction as promised by Najib. We are waiting for that. To most people, car prices are the sole and ONLY important factor when cars are concerned. They are not interested in anything else like networking, shampoos, car tyres and all other nonsense.

Most International cars shows are to exhibit latest cars and technology to the public. But our car show it seems is for big politicians to come and speak. I hope ever single policitican speaking including people like Aishah and Madani who often love to come and give press statements, can give the media an answer as to when car prices are going down as promised by our PM prior to our election. Tak payah cerita banyak banyak.

Lets face it, though we are all car enthusiast who love Paul Tan, car prices supercede all other issues. Car prices are more important than all this renewable energy, EEV, etc etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
      • Sam Loo on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Car exhibition of policticains to come and talk talk talk talk? Half the time, have to wait for arrival and keberangkatan YB. YB always come 2 hours late. So, wait wait wait wait. Talk talk talk talk.

KLIMS is talk talk talk talk talk. It is NOT a car show. It is a talk show. It is a talk show for YBs

• Malaysia Lost to Thailand on Oct 25, 2013 at 4:09 pm

They should talk about how we lost to Thailand. Malaysia was King of CKD before, now, all car companies here want to pull out and move to Thailand to CKD in Thailand. Malu betul. NAP big failure. NAP is to feed the big AP crony cats. Nothing else. Now Thailand is the Auto City of Asia and the world. All because of NAP. NAP cost us tens of billions of dollars and hundreds of thousands of automotive jobs. This they scared to talk in the Budget today nor in the KLIMS show. We could have been the Detroit of Asia.

• Malaysia Lost to Thailand on Oct 25, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Two fairs I will never go to. PC Fair and KLIMS. Why?

For computers, its a mess. Rude sellers. Just go to lowyat plaza, you can bargain and get the same item far cheaper. Much cheaper than PC Fair. So, you get cheaper, without the crowds bashing you to bits.

As for KLIMS, nobody really goes. Nobody with dignity goes to KLIM. But why is it packed you ask?

It is packed because the kutus who hang around chow kitt area, batu road and TAR, they go to KLIMS. This is part of their Saturday outing and hanging around in Bandar. After that, the same kutus go to Merdeka Square to chill out. That is why when you go to KLIMS you can see many kutus and rempits there. Long hair kutus and quite a number of Bohsia girls.

But the organisers think it is a big success every year. Well, if you think it is a success, good for you! As far as I know, most car lovers like myself, don’t bother with loud trashy music and accesories sales.

• KLIAS on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Better to call this KLIAS. Kuala Lumpur International Accessories Show.

Pay so much of money to see car accessories sold to you. No new cars at all. All trying to sell car accessories to you.

• isk isk isk on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:04 am

LEL, no participation from Proton, Suzuki, Mitsubishi, Kia, Alfa Romeo, Fiat, Chevrolet, Land Rover, Jaguar, Volvo, BMW, Mini, Mercedes etc.

It’s not international enough. Now going to host Conference together? Good luck.

• I had been to the last 3 KLIMS and am now smart enough to know we will never get as excited as Indonesia or Thailand one so I will not waste my time anymore.
    For the past 3 events I went, there wasn’t BMW presence but felt like car assessories show. Thanks but no thanks this time.

• along on Oct 25, 2013 at 12:01 pm

“The programmes for the conference include a regional roundtable on Towards ASEAN Economic Community – Impact on the automotive industry and a CEO roundtable titled The Future of Malaysia’s Auto Industry: Where do we go from here?.”

Oh man… Just starting to share and discuss what to do?

Not implement yet, but the talking talking take a very long time…

talk, talk, talk, OK we will revise the NAP
    talk, talk, talk, NAP not yet release,
    talk, talk, talk, still no NAP,
    talk, talk, talk, NAP still nowhere to be seen…
    talk, talk, talk, talk, talk…

Let them talk, we eat pop corn while we continue using our current cars and avoid buying any new cars…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    If we work together, we can win this…

• kadajawa on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:25 pm

More like discussing the failure of Proton and how it burden the rakyat…

• Josh Ling on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:42 pm

it’s pointless and total waste of time if you still have excise duty and all the protective mechanisms in place. talk what?? still wanna say how much malaysia wants to become a hub for so and so in car industry?? cancel all the excise duty first lah!!

• KLIAS on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:36 pm

All speakers and particiapnts got no balls lah. They should ask why is there no reduction in car prices. Election finished to long ago. Nearly 6 months now. No news at all.

• darkermarker on Oct 28, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Proton aint making appearance at KLIMS13 because scared of kena bashed izit??

Anyway, I wont be going to this so-called KLIMS13, since it isn’t about motor-show at all, but car accessories dealers pushing their shampoo, wax, etc to the customers.

Instead, I rather surf the Net to read more about the new cars etc. Watch TopGear on YouTube. hahaha

• KL girl on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:46 pm

the only benefits that brought from these visitors are to getting more business for Pubs, Escorts, or Gambling.

• Joshua Robert on Nov 24, 2013 at 12:22 am

I am thinking to grab some info here before going KLIMS 13 tomorrow, it’s last day. Sigh, none of the comment here is encouraging. Forget about it.
    Malaysia, wake up la..

• Joshua Robert on Nov 24, 2013 at 12:34 am

I am thinking to grab some info here before going KLIMS 13 tomorrow, it’s last day. Sigh, none of the comment here is encouraging. Forget about it.
    Malaysian, wake up la..