Malaysia Budget 2014 – no hybrid incentive updates

toyota-prius-audi-a6-hybrid

The just-concluded Budget 2014 speech made by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak contained a fair amount of points covering the transport sector and its related infrastructure, but did not make any mention of the status of the current tax exemption for hybrid/electric vehicles.

The full import tax and excise duty exemption for hybrid/electric cars and motorcycles announced in Budget 2011 is due to end on December 31, 2013. It was presumed that some announcement would be made on the matter in some form in today’s speech, but it didn’t happen, so one wonders what the tax/excise status will be for hybrids/EVs come January 1, 2014.

The silence on the subject is rather telling – it may yet be that the long-anticipated National Automotive Policy (NAP) review by MITI will cover this matter, and soon, because the industry will not be able to conduct proper stock and product planning if the issue remains in the dark.

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_69

We had earlier reported that the government might still dole out incentives, but in a different package. In a recent session with the Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI), we were told that the upcoming revised NAP would see manufacturing licenses and pre-packaged customised incentives given for energy efficient vehicle (EEV) production and investment.

Ever since full duty exemption was given, the hybrid car segment has seen a big boom led by Toyota and Honda. From just 332 hybrids sold in 2010, over 15,000 hybrids found new homes last year, while 8,571 units were sold in the first seven months of 2013.

This could well change. So, the question begs, where to now, and how? We’re assuming that this should push MITI to announce the revised NAP before the year is out, or at least make a statement on the matter. What do you think? Do share your thoughts with us.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• G need money now….they don’t have enough reserved. What do you think….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 11
    • Green on Oct 25, 2013 at 8:04 pm

PKR has built money for Penang and Selangor.

BN on the otherside, Show zero performance on building reserve money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 262 Thumb down 67
      • The fact on Oct 25, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 369
        • Enthu on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Well, please shower us with “Facts” about what the BN was doing with Selangor and Penang’s state gov money on the rakyat? Spend by building his own “castle” like Khir Toyol?

Calling others moron? You seriously need a clean mirror.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 217 Thumb down 46
          • MAA bullshit on Oct 28, 2013 at 9:43 am

What happened to the sandiwara Aishah and Malaysian Automobile Association (MAA) was doing recently trying to lobby was the extension of hybrid tax exemption? It looks now so clearly it was a planned sandiwara between MAA and the Government.

Hybrid cars, what is there to lobby? If a government does care for its rakyat, it should be a natural thing for the government to do ie promote hybrids to save fuel and money for the rakyat. Why should the rakyat plead and beg the government to save money? So, all this lobbying is nonsense. Like I said, looks like drama to excite people and the automotive industry.

Why should people beg the government for fuel efficient cars? Isnt this a natural thing for most decent governments to do? Most people can save half their fuel bills per month. I spend RM1000 a month now. If I had a Hybrid, my bills bill be RM500. The RM500 saved can go to good food for my children. Doesn’t the government want this? Whatever money we save, we can use it to buy better food for our family.

As to Environment Protection, isn’t it a natural thing for any government to give us energy efficient cars which emits very little emissions. Why must MAA lobby for this? Today’s lorries, busses emit thick poisonous sulphuric diesel smoke into the air which suffocates the rakyat. The government knows this. The ministers know this. They need not be told. The Environment Minister himself should be insisting on Hybrid and Euro 4 fuel so that the rakyat don’t get choked with dirty diesel fumes which in turn increases hospital expenses for the Government.

But it seems, the rakyat of Malaysia must beg the government for the right to breathe clean air and to save money using hybrid cars. This is utter nonsense. Government says it cares for the rakyat, is this how you care for the rakyat?

After all this drama, you will see one thing, nothing will happen. We will still be having dirty diesel and we will still be seeing thick black smoke emitting from our busses for the next 10 years.

MAA is nothing but a government puppet. That was all drama for the auto industry to keep it excited before the Budget. MAA’s priority should be pushing the government to honour their 30% reduction in car prices. That is more important than all the other lobbying they are doing. It is the price of cars that have heavy impact on ALL Malaysians. It seems MAA like to blow hot air and cakap besar. But in actual fact, they themselves know, nothing will be done because they in the first place, are told by the government to blow hot air to excite the public and automotive industry. We all know MAA is purely Pro Government and will never do anything to jeopardize government’s healthy coffers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
        • tiadaid on Oct 26, 2013 at 12:12 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 131
          • it’s called efficiency dumbass

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 21
        • Mr Mac on Oct 26, 2013 at 12:32 am

sometimes it falls under whose jurisdiction. not everything falls under PKR if that area is under PKR. furthermore PKR even other opposing parties are still partially funded by the federal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
        • Macai? on Oct 26, 2013 at 1:05 am

Owh pls do some reaserch…PR in Penang is 1st to give money to old peoples and new born babies, and Selangor did gv money to those who are going university…and then BN copycat follow it by giving Br1m…please look at Selangor now, even the state opposition leader also gt allowance…and then look agn at BN’s leaders…the NFC cow case, PKFZ case, ex selangor MB coruption and alot others…when BN lose popularity bcoz of overly corrupt, they started to use racial issue by say tat chinese want to take over power from malays and so on…bt so sad tat thr are some ppls even will thrust that…BN always sy that Penang PR gov ignored malays, bt the fact is allocation for hal ehwal Islam is the highest compared to 50 yrs when BN rules Penang…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 190 Thumb down 25
          • TigerMalaya on Oct 26, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Brainwashed. Half Keadilan Daily, half Harakah. Your own research materials perhaps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 78
        • The fact? on Oct 26, 2013 at 1:19 am

Even the Jabatan Audit Negara aldy shows that how corruption BN is…and they also praised PR state for manage the state money very efficiently…u still not awake?…(pls dont say that Jabatan Audit was bribed by PR kahkahkah)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 18
        • nazrul on Oct 26, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Then how about u TigerMalaya? Half Utusan and half TV3 that both always lose in court for accuse other peoples? kihkihkih

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 9
        • Really? So is the state which BN is spending richer? Bro, BNs uses the money for their own la.. They are creating an economy that is getting slower and slower with spending higher and higher, one day, we will dry out and everyone will die, while they flies to oversea and have a good life there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
          • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Anything purchased by the B.N. Gomen will naik hara instantly, for example a screw driver set will become few hundred RM, a laptop P.C. will become rm 15K or more, plus many more examples, now they want to ‘tarik balik’ incentive for Hybrid Cars.

• just me on Oct 27, 2013 at 2:22 pm

No wonder fool like u continue to drive proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:35 am

The Government made a mistake. They should call me to advice on car matters and RV issues for the Budget. My advice is always good and I am an expert and authority on RV. Also in the Budget, government fail to inform people that only Toyota Prius is the only Hybrid worth buying in Malaysia

• Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Your teenage children also can advise them-lah.

• Olala on Oct 26, 2013 at 1:10 am

Yep. Built money and keep in their pockets. That’s nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 39
      • inderaloka on Oct 27, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Correction: Not PKR but PR.

But I like your comment. :-)

• Storm on Oct 26, 2013 at 10:45 am

It’s good that they did not continue the incentives for hybrid only. As the plan for EEV tax exemption will be implemented instead. In this case VW and Mazda will benefit for their fuel efficient vehicles.

• u guys can brag anything for all u want….all wat fed gov do all bad..u all already sided to other camp…politic has clouded u guys mind. BNgoon and PRfag both r same bull

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
      • Bro, based on facts, no bias here. don’t tell me after seeing all the numbers u still say they are doing the right thing? Do u see the country improving the lately? or stagnant? Countries like vietnam and others are coming up, while we are stagnant, soon we will lose out and investment will go to them not us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
        • abuya123 on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Do you own hybrid car? If not and want it, buy it now before year end. Full stop.

You’re not in supermarket. Can select what you want. For petrol price, you want price like this country, for tax this country, for insurance this country, for parking this country. This is Malaysia.

Can you assure is PR be federal government…. or you yourself be PM, you can do what you wish? And 200% i can assure your behavior will copycat them. Belum naik, komplen macam-macam. Dah naik, tak reti-reti nak turun. Konon orang lain tak bagus tapi tak sedar diri tu tak cerdik macam orang lain.

I dont care about hybrid car because maintenance is so high and none of them priced below RM40k. What I care is car insurance. Instead jerit-jerit kereta yang ko takkan beli, baik ko jerit-jerit insuran yang ko kena bayar setiap tahun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
          • farizY on Oct 29, 2013 at 11:57 am

Typical kampung mentality. While everyone moving forward, we’re still stuck somewhere, nobody knows where.

• Good for current hybrid owners, 2nd hand value increase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 26
  • What about diesel??? Our euro 2M is totally shite. Countries such as Singapore and Thailand non oil producers can provide euro 4 and we can’t.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 6
    • presna on Oct 28, 2013 at 1:54 am

actually if I’m not mistaken the new Euro4 grade fuel is “supposed” to be introduced sometime next year… though not sure if that will bring about another round of subsidy rationalization before the new fuel comes…..

anyhow fingers crossed for Euro 4 next year…. :D at least that should be enough reason for the old buses and lorries to be phased out…

• Black Dog on Oct 25, 2013 at 7:39 pm

This G of ours always delay making announcement for everything at the last minute. Don’t they understand businesses need to plan months ahead? It’s the same with school holidays every year. They’ll only announce towards the end of the year when most calendars are already printed. What Planning?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 11
  • sudonano on Oct 25, 2013 at 7:54 pm

To all those who bought an A6 Hybrid. Congratulations. You have made a whopping profit now. Same for the Prius and Prius C.

As for the rest who are planning to buy a hybrid anytime soon, well, you might wanna start camping outside dealers in line to place your orders on one. Especially for an A6. Time to get used to the 30% import tax and 90% excise tax. Which means the A6 Hybrid will lead to an extra RM 345k in taxes or so, rough calculation from the current sale price of 288k, including the 10% sales tax.

I guess we can now kiss the French hybrids (i.e. 3008 Hybrid 4) goodbye. Diesel here is bad. Now price too. GG.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 14
    • Hondasalesman on Oct 25, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Brand new A6 hybrid ran out of stock laa…

• sudonano on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Apparently you can still book and lock in orders. Need to check with an Audi dealer.

• drMpower on Oct 25, 2013 at 8:10 pm

i would allow them to collect GST range from 6 – 10%, WITH 70% reduction of vehicle related taxes. this is a better and more popular solution. u get back money from GST, and at the same time, got popular votes from reduction of vehicle related taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Jimmy on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Selfish, GST? What about the poors? who used to pay zero income tax? Aren’t they the biggest supporters who voted for BN? Shouldn’t we take good care of them? Don’t bully them just because they are not as clever and unable to understand our dirty tactics.
      So the cleverer one is the one giving 1200 with smile face, berpura-pura baik di depan orang, and collect back this bill secara diam-diam.

Come on lah, the poors don’t really need 0% tax hybrid vehicles nor zero cukai eksais; they just need a 25000 Saga Super SV or a 20000 Viva Edisi Bajet, or a 450000 Exora Big Families.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
  • stupid anon on Oct 25, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Stupid anon. Hybrid car price will drop drop drop. who still wants to buy a second hand hybrid car as spare parts price will increase due to less demand of new hybrid car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 28
  • trawler on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Truth is, gov was waiting for Proton to be ready for the EV/hybrid scene. Gave it tons of money in form of technology grant, which was quickly used up by Proton – not by their in-house development – but sourced out to a British firm Fraser Nash closely linked to Tun M headed by a snakeoil salesman Pakistani by the name Kamal Sidiqui. This company had came out with various EV prototypes – none of which seen the light of the day as they were riddled with so many issues due to use of proprietary but unproven technologies. Of course Honda and Toyota, both producers of legacy systems (petrol engines) aimed for a soft transition from full IC to full EV, settled for a more realistic hybrid powerplants, and had proved successful. But Proton was nowhere near the level of these two leaders. And the country has to wait indefinitely. Endless Possibilities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Mr Mac on Oct 26, 2013 at 12:34 am

bila PKR nak bring this frazer nash and 270++ million grant for this EV project? dulu azmin ali sudah holla. come on!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Carl Wong on Oct 26, 2013 at 2:10 am

Wait forever, never mind..

I am already driving a Honda Hybrid, it’s so smooth and efficient and fun.

Just give us 10 years of hybrid tax incentives extension so our people can continue buying & driving even more advanced Japanese Hybrids with zero import tax………!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • tunda on Oct 26, 2013 at 8:01 am

Nobody will buy Proton EV cars too. Power window also rosak,still wanna dream built EV cars. Joke of the century!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 15
      • hullo on Oct 26, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Proton got EV prototype. The chance of going into mass production is there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • victortan on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Who cares anyway?
    We knew current government = joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 11
  • Polo Saga on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:58 pm

BN is the worst world, if you put a dog as the government still better than BN, at least dog dun take bribe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 26
  • Carl Wong on Oct 26, 2013 at 2:02 am

Why so slow/late??? Please update us the about the hybrid tax incentives extension ASAP………………!!!

• RoKie on Oct 26, 2013 at 2:46 am

My gut feeling is that there will be no extension of the tax exempt for CBU types, rather tax incentives, may not be full exemption, for CKD types.

Thus number of new CBU models maybe reduced greatly, or shifted to CKD, just like what happened with Honda Jazz hybrid.

Re-sell values of existing CBU may or may not be more than their selling price. After all, who wants to pay more for a pre-2014 hybrid ?

On the longer view of our car industry, that may spurs more hybrid players to set up factories / up-stream industries in our countries, and make us the regional production hub, just like Thailand and Indonesia for non-hybrids.

• What happen on Oct 26, 2013 at 5:09 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 174
    • Hypocrite on Oct 26, 2013 at 7:59 am

Stupid fool. Umno cronies also do business with China car companies here. Cakap macam takda otak.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 15
    • Macai UMNO on Oct 26, 2013 at 9:01 am

Dude, u joker? DAP is communist. Dont wish for something you will regret. If DAP is communist, Penang wont be as advanced as now and 3 races mingle together. DAP communist will discriminate and force all non-chinese to move out or impose harsh rules on them. Do u clearly want that? But the fact is Penang is better than KL. Besides, DAP wont rule Malaysia. U think Agong is dead? Chinese will not rule whole of malaysia as we are minority. It wont work. history has proven. So, please do more reading and maybe read more about DAP. Dont bark around here to show your sheer stupidity. i will slap the stupidity out of u, mofo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 23
      • Saypet on Oct 27, 2013 at 11:05 am

Penang is better than KL? Which part? The traffic jam is worse, the town planning sucks and the people are the rudest in the world, especially on the road. Observe how the Chinky bastards behave and see what I mean.

Seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 31
        • Macai Umno on Oct 27, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Yo, yo.. If u wan to determine a race based on one individual, then i can say Malay in KL are also rude because i have seen some individual Malay behave rude to non-bumi.Come out from kampung but act as though they own KL. Dude, btw r u Penangites? If u r not, please shut up as Im a Penangites. Dont listen to half Penang lang who didnt even go bak for mny years. If u ask macai, worst. They will bash Penang like crazy saying Chinese discriminate malay bla bla.. The fact is Malay has always been the minority in Penang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • SUper pro is me on Oct 26, 2013 at 9:03 am

omg what an idiot with PHD – permanent head damage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Samlok on Oct 26, 2013 at 4:39 pm

This is the most brainless comment I have ever come across

• ChRiS on Oct 26, 2013 at 8:00 am

As always, no continuity and consistency(stability) in decision making… Hybrid is one thing, children education is also another thing…

• Perpetual wait. UMNO member get AP at expense of rakyat. Govt give AP to connected people inUmno.AP a piece of paper become $$$$.Rakyat pay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • Uncle Golden Avanza on Oct 26, 2013 at 8:24 am

EVERY decision in the Malaysian auto industry revolves around the SURVIVAL of PROTON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • SUper pro is me on Oct 26, 2013 at 9:03 am

no more incentive is good. dont want to see so many of those useless priushit and inshits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
  • motorhead on Oct 26, 2013 at 9:03 am

GST will apply on hybrid cars.. Single tax apply to all. Except necessity goods.

• Bang again on Oct 26, 2013 at 9:20 am

Based on our gov current financial status, most likely it will not have any tax free of 20% that was promised by gov before GE.

• Bang again on Oct 26, 2013 at 9:22 am

Btw, the tax cut 20% I mentioned is for car

• klguy on Oct 26, 2013 at 1:05 pm

GE is over. what u guys expect….suckers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 26, 2013 at 1:26 pm

All existing Hybrid car owners will gain when they sell their cars.

And kimchis, omg, record low trade in again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Existing hybrid owner don’t be happy so early. Hybrid car volume on the road will drastically drop. Then the spare parts will be limited & damn expensive. Your used hybrid can sell with high price but no market demand.
      Now you are hanging up half way by our BN gorvernment. Good luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • bluebird on Oct 26, 2013 at 3:57 pm

nobody will want to buy second hand hybrid due to expensive parts and batteries, especially once battery warranty is over.
      And less people will buy new hybrid because of no tax incentive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • HybridLover on Oct 26, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Expensive parts? What parts, batteries? That one alone is 7 years warranty,new is less than RM3k, other than that the car has the same parts as any other cars. Oh and I pump petrol every week @RM49++ for full tank, travelling 90kms to work and back.If full tank, less than RM70 which I can use to last drop from the 55l tank for 800+km.
        Which Hybrid owner wants to sell their cars so fast? Think buy property-meh?

• if your new battery is around rm3k, mine is rm200+. In 7 years the max i replace my battery is 3 times, which costs me rm700.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Typical reply of someone who do not own hybrids and got zero knowledge on hybrids…

• glaze on Oct 27, 2013 at 4:20 pm

yes i agree with only one point which is the last point where less ppl will buy new hybrid because of no tax incentive and the car will cost a lot.

but the parts and batteries will not be getting more expensive as the technology grows, you can see Honda posted the old and new batteries price for after few years bringing in hybrid we can see a price cut on batteries. The only thing that will make the batteries cost more is the value of RM dropping day by day

• RejimKejamGanas on Oct 27, 2013 at 7:16 pm

If you compare sales figures, the Honda hybrids are not as popular as the Prius. So while Honda owners may be able to cope for now, it is unknown whether DRB will change the prices of batteries and parts after this this year. DRB did not guarantee that the prices of Honda hybrid parts will stay low. For Prius owners, expect the prices to go higher since their parts come only from Japan. However, this situation may not apply to the upcoming Camry hybrid, since they are planning to CKD it here albeit with possibly lower specs.

• Hybrid Autoexpert on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:17 am

You are forgetting that there are already local assembled CKD Hybrids like Honda Jazz Hybrid. Why are you talking about Camry Hybrid that is not even here yet? Don’t know where you get your sales figures for Hybrids in Malaysia, Honda is still the leader in M’sia as far as I know.

• glaze on Oct 28, 2013 at 1:44 pm

without the hybrid tax exemption, no matter CBU or CKD will still cost a lot more than now. Camry hybrid CKD is not possible if the car cost like 300k.

• Seriously people? I’m damn sure that all of those horrible comments were made by selfish ungrateful people. U guys are a joke, wake up.

• RejimKejamGanas on Oct 27, 2013 at 8:39 pm

You are not referring to this are you?
      https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/1002583_464062633700704_1897839844_n.jpg

• passerby00 on Oct 26, 2013 at 11:35 pm

guys; the coffers/piggy bank is empty – otherwise government will not levy a general 6% gst on every item out there.

whether the incentive continues or otherwise is irrelevant anyway because it will be the same GST experience like Australia after GST intro in 2003-2004 – their economy contracted 3-4 years straight.

save up monies for rainy days – real estate bubble may pop soon with rising interest rates which will also bring a round of default in the market of car reposession too.

• Hybrid car is like automatic transmission car in early 80’s. Not many peoples wanted to buy, but what is happening today?

Wait another 10 years.

• Hybrid car is good for the enviroment and ues less petrol, but malaysia have one of the world lowest price for petrol. so hybrid or not may not have much different for short term run.
    unlike oversea like in china their 93 petrol is rmb8~rm4./ 97 petrol is rmb9~rm4.50. a hybrid car is a very much better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • RejimKejamGanas on Oct 27, 2013 at 7:06 pm

If that is the true market price of RON97, then how come in Malaysia fully unsubsidized RON97 is RM2.90/L?

It is very hard for us to know the true price of our local fuel because of price manipulation by the govt. People should not be paying for high price of vehicles and fuel at the same time. The middle class will diminish and more people will become poor even though they are highly skilled because the their income does not match the living standards. There is no point in hybrid cars if both fuel and car prices are exceedingly high.

• Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:15 pm

The Malaysian fuel price seems cheaper than other countries even after removal of subsidy is because the Gomen did not add any tax on it, unlike many Gomen overseas where petrol is taxed

• nighttrain on Oct 27, 2013 at 10:01 pm

it’s a game of chicken and egg.. nonstop excuses while they send us on a wild goose chase trying to figure out their next step. And as expected, when the NAP comes out, it’s status quo.

• west end boys on Oct 28, 2013 at 1:12 am

our politician are just dumbasses and a big fat liar,doesn’t matter which party,they only care about their pocket money and how to suck money from us,

• benzs on Oct 28, 2013 at 10:37 am

Too bad, no story from our PM regard automotive. Like it say b4, he will give his promise as stated during GE. But nope! Dont fool us Malaysian Mr PM, all this while we been waiting for ur respond. Even budget announcement is alrdy out but no news. Thats mean we r easily being cheated by G sweet words. But not anymore if PM does not change as he promise.

• syafiq on Oct 28, 2013 at 5:05 pm

simple. our current G is too dumb to study.

• Dreamliner on Oct 28, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Cover proton … Proton not getting technology of hybrid… Stupid…

• GST6% on Nov 01, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Anthony,how you look into GST 6%? How it affect CKD cars? eg: everyparts (tyre, absorber, brake pad…) also get tax 6%? How about if CBU also will get tax base on parts or whole car?
    I assume gov will announce car tax reduce for 2015 budget and IF the GST 6% apply as i said, will the car price increase or drop?

• kamaruddin on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:46 am

When we have too many goons running the country economy it is not much of suprise as the government coffer is thinning and the rakyaf are made to burden with all the hikes.