SPIED: Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class spotted in Malaysia

cla200-malaysia

Hot on the heels of the A 45 AMG’s local arrival, MBM looks set to introduce yet another sexy offering soon, as reader Ezal has spotted a black Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class on the NKVE. Could the baby CLS four-door coupe make its Malaysian debut before the year runs out?

The sole picture available doesn’t tell much, but clear to be seen are the upsized 18-inch bi-colour twin-spoke alloy wheels, full-LED rear lamps (optional in some markets) and Mercedes’ Urban equipment line, which adds the exposed exhaust pipes and black diffuser-like bumper cut-out. Also visible is the Night Package gloss black window frames.

While the model designation badge is out of view, it’s safe to assume that this is the base CLA 200 variant. Following the pattern set by the local A 200 and A 250 Sport pair, the higher-powered CLA 250 should be fully kitted out with the AMG Sport exterior package, which includes an all-around bodykit, lower sport suspension and 18-inch AMG wheels.

Like the A-Class it’s based on, the CLA 200 is powered by a turbocharged 1.6 litre engine with 154 hp and 250 Nm, while the CLA 250 gets a more serious 2.0 litre turbo four that makes 208 hp and 350 Nm. Both are equipped with Mercedes’ own 7-DCT dual-clutch transmission, and can get to 100 km/h in 8.6 and 6.7 seconds respectively.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• finally!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
    • YucKS !!! how come this Benz looks almost like a Korean car. What the…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 74
      • Vios is ah beng on Oct 25, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Both have no Resale Value,but Kimchi RV is a bit more than this euro,Vios better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 36
        • Sam Loo on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Don’t waste your time buying this car now. Come to my yard in 1 years time, I will sell you this car for half the price. That is the RV of Mercedes. You want good RV, its only Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 50
          • glaze on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:53 pm

ok make sure u have a unit one year later with half of the price for sale, I’ll buy it from you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
          • hazelnuts23 on Oct 25, 2013 at 3:59 pm

I beat Sam Loo’s offer, I give you 40% of its original value.

• Jimmy on Oct 25, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Who cares?

• Walau i rather drive a Mercedes than a good RV poor man car Toyota lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
        • Jimmy on Oct 25, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Who cares?

• Mercedes introduce new model faster than Cameron Highland river water flow. Not a very sign, they may be at the last stage of survival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • side profile of the grey model looks kinda cute/funny. front nose too long from front wheels

• Obama on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:13 am

Dayum girl!! This is sexy!!

• Osama From Hell on Oct 25, 2013 at 3:39 pm

This car is so sexy that it will be a good car for suicide bomber.

• Mini CLS… nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Vios is ah beng on Oct 25, 2013 at 12:26 pm

CLS and CLA is nice,and it will not nice when you trade in your no-RV-junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • People who buy merc or bmw not care RV ! they are the people who earned some money and wish to buy them self a gift or treat themselves good for the achievement

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
      • Jimmy on Oct 25, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Who cares?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • azrai on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:23 am

In the US, this CLA cost RM38k after USD=RM conversion. The price of a non SV Saga, or the P2 Viva Elite price!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 61
    • Stop talking nonsense.It is priced USD 30000 in the US which converts to just below RM 100k if converts directly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Anonymous on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:38 am

From what I read, in the US it cost roughly USD 30,000. So it can’t be MYR 38K after conversion. Nevertheless it’ll still be cheaper than what it’ll be priced in Malaysia.

• qwerty on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:40 am

Why do people still post this kind of comment when they clearly know this is not the way things work in Malaysia.

If you’re trying to say things like we have lousy government etc, this is not the place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • azrai on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:32 am

Sorry for telling the half baked story and equivalent. What I mean is do not convert the currency. People in Us earn lets say USD4k per month, while their merc is only USD30k. Meanwhile in Malaysia people earn RM3k per month, and the cheapest 1.0 Viva is RM38k. Sorry for thinking I’m talking nonsense. Even politicians talking nonsense nowadays. I don’t even says it is the G who fluctuated the price. What I’m trying to highlight is the power of Ringgit and the value od ringgit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
      • Sorry to say that even if it’s affordable for average Americans to buy this car, they will think many times to buy one. Maintenance and running costs will be very expensive.

It is more economical for them to buy a cheap Toyota/Ford/Chevy, and spend more on property + household items + their family.

Because they’re not idiots like us. We tend to spend more on cars/phone/gadgets + unneeded stuff rather than isi rumah and family. Then complain everything is expensive.

I still agree to your opinion about the power of Ringgit. But then again, “ukur baju dibadan sendiri” lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
        • audiorganic on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:23 am

That is very true. Same like in england & australia. They dun spend so much on vehicles like us in Malaysia. Even some doctors ride mountain bike to work. They more into isi rumah + family. For them car is just a transport to get them from point A to point B. Which is it’s suppose to be.

• can you guys just stop talking nonsense by converting dollar for dollar? every country has different taxation systems. so, just stop. you’re not making logical comparisons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • underskinned on Oct 25, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Have you ever thought of taxation in the USA? You pay both federal and state taxes which varies from state to state, and you may end up paying 40% of your income to taxes.

I’m not saying things are better in Malaysia, but comparing the car prices and incomes are hardly the big picture for the cost of living there.

• 3pointed_stars on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:26 am

Anyone know the indicative price for CLA200 and CLA250?

• CLA200 = RM218888
      CLA250 = RM268888

• I did visit the showroom to enquire about this, the sales woman estimated around 250k to 270k.

• blackbox on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:37 pm

For an entry level front wheel drive sedan? They can go to hell. Better buy 3 series, at least a proper RWD sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Obama on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:12 am

Already told you, USD 30k = RM 95k.
      Ooops in US there is no such thing as CLA200, this one is too lame for a big man like us The American.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Wilsin on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:13 am

The price should be between RM210k-230k. Just my guessing base on it price in singapore.

• Wilsin on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:14 am

For CLA200

• Hondaman on Oct 25, 2013 at 12:05 pm

It is 190k sing dollar over there, should be more than rm300k for CBU unit. Curiosly CRV is selling at 170k sing, over there but it is CBU laaa

• Mercedes_or_not on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:47 am

I was told the CLA 200 should be in the RM 300k price range and the CLA 250 is around RM 340k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • kingston5 on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:54 am

Very Nice.

• Hasan on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:05 am

Saw this pretty car news on my newsfeed. My heart skipped a beat. Literally.

• jolly_idiot on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:06 am

It look great outside but really cramp inside.

• who cares about rear passengers? those doors are to make the in-laws and the parents’ happy only. it is a driver’s car. if you want space, get a b-class.

• King Khong on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:16 am

CLE is the next ??

• Sam Loo's nephew on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:24 am

my uncle sam told me that if we need to ask for the price then we can’t afford it..unless it is vios, no need to ask, just go and sign…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • im going to smoke all the beemers and audis with my CLA AMG soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • You smoke to much of weed? Try to smoke all beemers with your FWD 1.8l lame inline 4 monkey, you will masuk longkang first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Razibar on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:51 am

Is this going to be CKD?

• seancorr on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:54 am

Bring it on! CLA finally arrived here…am just guessing the price will be around the RM230k mark looking at other country pricing scheme. This car oozes style but I think the rear passengers who are around 170cm tall will be suffering at the back.

Next up – Audi A3 maybe at at around RM200k?

• xatomic on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:54 am

Still a FWD..

• spongewai on Oct 25, 2013 at 12:17 pm

i believed this Merc CLA can beat our current Merc C-Class if the price estimated RM300k below

• But, wait till next year the all new C-Class is even more exciting and beat CLA is all round from practicality and refinement. CLA is pretty much the same as A Class (its just not refinement enough) , judging by price gap i bet 2014 C Class (CKD of course) will be worth buying…

• drrif on Oct 25, 2013 at 8:57 pm

Exciting ??? All these C class, CLA, CKD, CBU are boring. Porsche Macan ? yes this one is exciting.

• Pat San on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:04 pm

I remember reading somewhere that this is the cheapest Merc MB ever produced, so this should be cheaper than the A, B, or C Class right? Can anyone correct me?

• Would love to see it here in Malaysia… It’s supposed to be in the same category as a Honda Accord, Toyota Camry, etc..

• What category? C-segment? D-segment? Interior is even smaller and crampy than our average Preve/Civic/Altis blablabla.

Should be in “For Rich Guys Only” category.

• Damn hot!!! Hope they will bring cla 45 amg also:-P

• Anyone here bought A250 or A45 here?

• Dr Mamak on Oct 25, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Front wheel drive tak main la.

• Proton Forever on Oct 25, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Proton Suprima Sport much sexier and nicer. More power and accessory also cheap. For owner of Suprima, he will feel safer and won’t get “parang” by gang 36 or gang 03 or whatever gang.

Long live Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • sam loo's grandpa on Oct 25, 2013 at 8:33 pm

My grandson once said that buy cars no need see styling, specs, pricing, performance, comfort etc., just care about the resale value can already. .. he say like this much better. Grandpas like me are consumers who consider more on brands and of course the rv…

• daniel on Oct 25, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Uncle ah… go and buy your camry lah ok? Dont talk cock here… Mercedes is bringing this model to Msia because they dont bring here for nothing. So uncle ah, before I submit this comment, please remember that toyota’s rv higher is because their retail price is also higher than others one ok? In the end, its still the same~

• john mat on Oct 26, 2013 at 7:06 am

CLA 250 will not be in Malaysia. Only CLA 200 in CBU pakages.

Indicative price is around RM 240 to 260k.

It is good to see this model in here since this baby CLS is more sporty looking .

• Ryryry on Nov 04, 2013 at 5:01 pm

Why u guys are saying cla250 won’t be here? Wats the reason?

• My guess is that the price will be as follows :
    CLA200 : RM 228,888
    CLA250 : RM 258,888

And then when the new c-class C200 launched next year, it will be slotted about the CLA250 at RM 268,888. And the C250 at around RM 290,888.

• Tpffeeman on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Only the CLA 200 and CLA45 AMG will be available in Malaysia.

• klangboylty on Jan 19, 2014 at 11:37 am

I would buy something I like rather than RV in consideration. When we buy new car, we will not think at first of resale when buying at the same time. Too contradicting. . Buy something you like and enjoy many years to come rather than buy a car on heavy influence on RV but don’t enjoy owning and using it..

• ok