New Volvo Drive-E engine family debuts in Volvo S60

volvo-drive-e-005

Volvo’s new engine family went into production at the company’s engine plant in Sweden earlier this year. The new engine family will help Volvo gain technical independence from companies like Ford, with which it currently shares engines.

Details of the first cars to get the new engines have now been revealed. The Volvo S60 T6 FWD will now use a 2.0 litre engine from the new engine family, officially called the ‘Drive-E’ family. The 2.0 litre direct injection engine is equipped with both a Roots supercharger and a turbocharger, with the supercharger filling in the bottom end of the torque curve, and the turbocharger kicking in later when the airflow builds up.

This 2.0 litre engine is mated to a new eight-speed automatic gearbox, which means the Ford Getrag Powershift dual-clutch transmissions have been replaced as well. 0-100 km/h takes 5.9 seconds, thanks to 302 hp and 400 Nm of torque.

The T5 tuning of the 2.0 litre turbo does without the supercharger and relies solely on a turbocharger to do 241 hp and 350 Nm of torque. 0-100 km/h takes 6.2 seconds. This isn’t a significant hike in horsepower over the Ford-based T5 engine available in Malaysia, but it is 30 Nm more torque.

Volvo_VEA_i-ART_06

There’s also the D4, a diesel motor that does 181 hp and 400 Nm, enabling the S60 to hit 100 km/h in 7.5 seconds. It has i-ART technology, which uses pressure feedback from each fuel injector instead of using a traditional single pressure sensor in the common rail.

Each injector has an intelligent chip on top of it that monitors injection pressure. Using this information, the self-adapting i-ART system makes sure that the ideal amount of fuel is injected during each combustion cycle. Injection pressure is 2,500 bar.

The Drive-E engines are all dimensionally similar, so they can be built on the same assembly line. However, the engine blocks use different materials depending on whether it’s a petrol or diesel engine, and while the cylinder heads share some DNA, they are different as well.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Well done to Volvo new develop engine, must be compete with BMW,Mercedes n Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Sam Loo on Oct 28, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Who cares? Volvo got no RV.
    People will buy Toyota over Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 79
    • Sam Loo's Father on Oct 28, 2013 at 7:39 pm

Eh boy, diam la. Bising ah u. Still make me look not stupid enough meh recently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • LeJohn on Oct 28, 2013 at 8:01 pm

Yeah sure. You’d never care because all you’ve ever driven was a 4 speed automatic piece of junk with an ancient engine. I feel sad for you for never being able to own a continental car

• TS.Lim on Oct 28, 2013 at 1:00 pm

2.0 liter twincharged produces 302HP and 400Nm
    why not tune up a bit since other sole-turbocharged 2.0liter engine can made it with similar figure?

• blackbox on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:04 pm

The purpose of twin charge is not about top end horse power but low end torque.

• TS.Lim on Oct 28, 2013 at 10:05 pm

I know about that, similar with VW 1.4TSI with 160HP/240Nm Or higher tune of 185HP/250Nm.
        I agreed that the twin-charged is more likely to make a balance between performance and fuel efficiency, but VW has dropped twincharged engine since the engine involved many additional parts and not cost effective to produce the engine, and other problem like reliability issues too.
        Take this as an example, if a similar 2.0l sole-turbocharged engine produces similar performance with similar fuel efficiency, then what’s the point of developing twin-charged engine? Correct me if i am wrong.

• blackbox on Oct 30, 2013 at 12:35 am

similar engine turbo charge only you might have the max torque at 2000rpm till 3500rpm, but twin charge max torque might start from 1000rpm till 4000rpm turbo lag also reduce. Twin scroll turbo unable perform as twin charge but good enough and cheaper to built and maintain.

• hakimR on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Golf GTI produces around 220HP no?

• TS.Lim on Oct 28, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Golf R and Audi S3 make about 300HP and 380Nm with its higher tune form of 2.0liter turbo engine.

• hakimR on Oct 29, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Correct sir, and i’m aware of that. Maybe the reason of power output differences is due to target audience? ie: Golf GTI vs Golf R. I agree on the balance of performance/fuel efficiency as well as mentioned by you.

• I believe this combination of turbo and super chargers (similar to vw twinchanger system) architecture helps increase fuel consumption efficiency. however, the number of components in the engine did significantly increase. cost n reliability could be an issue.

• ququbert on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Perhaps there’s a balance between efficiency, reliability and power that they’re trying to achieve?

• Sam Loo on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Bodoh to buy this car when its just a Ford. Worse still, now all Made in China. Pay BMW prices but get China made car that is full of Ford parts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 52
    • Sam Loo's Father on Oct 28, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Aiyo boy, told u to shut up earlier d, still make so much noise for what. Now everybody pointing finger at me say I dunno how to teach u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • hakimR on Oct 29, 2013 at 4:39 pm

I guess this guy is really good at trolling, lol.

• Shame Loo Banned on Oct 28, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Here come Shame Loo… Always talk negative, only positive when Toyota appears. This Hilux owner that act he’s driving luxurious car. Pathetic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • whaaaatttt?…didnt vw already dropped this sc and tc combination setup due to cost?

• 302hp from a 2.0 sounds awesome. when will it reach malaysia? I want one!

• loopieceofshit on Oct 28, 2013 at 11:26 pm

Go shove RV down your arse Sam Loo. People buy Volvo not becos of RV. The safety aspect of Volvo is incomparable with Japanese marque. This guy eats shit too much to blabber nonsense here. A typical loser in life.

• niltrams on Oct 29, 2013 at 2:31 am

Yes, VW discontinued their 1.4 twin charged based on cost-effectiveness issues. It doesn’t make sense to produce such an advanced and complex engine for the MASSES, in which cost plays a big part in VW’s profits.

However, what Volvo has done here, is mate the supercharger and turbocharger in their HIGHEST T6 tune, and offer a lower state of tune in the T5 sans the supercharger. This is also a technological show of force that, hey, we can do this too, but only for the discerning few who are willing to pay more for the highest trim engine.

So, nothing wrong with what Volvo did here, which I whole heartedly applaud!

• Nissan produced this kind of technology since 1984. Anyone recall Nissan March Super Turbo? But ofcourse no direct fuel injection and bla bla bla…

• ballball on Dec 04, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Mercedes 2.0 turbo engine make around 350hp..so this junk still the looser..I think this engine will got high maintenance since the engine was equipped with supercharger and turbocharger

• Dolly on Jul 19, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Peercft answer! That really gets to the heart of it!