Hybrid incentives to continue as set in NAP – MAI

toyota-prius-audi-a6-hybrid

Hybrid vehicle incentives are set to continue beyond the end of this year despite no mention on the matter in Budget 2014 and Budget 2013, reports Utusan Malaysia.

Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) CEO Madani Sahari told the Malay-language daily that the revision of the National Automotive Policy (NAP), which is due to be presented this December, already includes long-term plans for the automotive industry and so there was no need for government Budget announcements in that area.

A Budget is a one-year plan, but the NAP takes the long term into account and so any incentives that are offered will continue for a longer period of time to ensure strong industry growth, he said.

DSC_8252 hybrid

“(Translated) Given that hybrid vehicle incentives are set to expire at the end of this year, the NAP must be announced this year. I expect the government will (announce the NAP) early this December,” Madani told Utusan.

“(Translated) Therefore, the NAP will involve the continuation of incentives for hybrid and Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEV). The public and industry players do not need to worry about the expiry of hybrid vehicle incentives at year-end.”

Madani added that more favourable incentives would be given for hybrids and EEVs that are assembled locally, whereas imported hybrids and EEVs will be subject to some conditions set by the NAP.

The full import and excise duty exemption for hybrid/electric vehicles first announced in Budget 2011 currently runs up until December 31, 2013. For a sneak peek at the upcoming NAP revision and more information, read our report on our session with the MAI.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Green on Oct 29, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Isn’t it means they still get high profit with low taxation given??

It’s time to reduce tax till the janji 20% – 30% price reduce already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • MAI is a JOKE on Oct 29, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Madani and MAI love to talk big. But 2 main issues they try to avoid. The first issue is where is the 30% gradual reduction in car prices his beloved Najib promised the rakyat prior to election? That is in everybody’s minds. It far exceeds any hybrid issue. Najib promised voters that if we voted for him, he will ensure that by 5 years time, there will be a 30% reduction in car prices. Its already 4 months since the election. By now, we should at least see 5% reduction in car prices. But the opposite has happened. We see companies like VW increasing across the board their prices.

2nd issue is the AP crony scandal. As Madani and Mai are part of the government drawing up automotive policies, what is the government doing about the Bumi AP holders selling their AP Permits to the Chinaman? The whole purpose of the AP system is to promote Bumiputera participation in the car industry. If the government is giving thousands of free APs to bumis only to be sold to the Chinaman, what is the whole purpose of the AP system? The AP system has only resulted in cars generally becoming expensive because if our genuine car companies are given unlimited APs (eg companies like Honda, Nissan, BMW and Mercedes) they will be able to drop prices.

But instead, the APs are given to just a handful of cronies, who in turn, instead of setting up business, as set our in the spirit of the whole purpose of the AP system, they just sell the APs to a 3rd party. Each AP is worth about RM50,000. Some get thousands of free APs. So, some individuals are getting millions of free ringgit. All this results in prices of cars increasing because there is no economies of scale for our genuine car companies and our genuine car companies cannot reduce car prices. Only a handful of 20 to 30 AP cronies are getting ALL the thousands of APs handed out free.

The two pressing issues Madani and MAI love to forget. The rakyat want to know, what are you all doing about

1) Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30% gradually over 5 years

2) The AP Crony system. The system is bleeding the car industry.

Forget about coming out with press statements on Hybrids and all that. Car prices are the sole and most important aspect in everybody’s lives. If I can save about RM40,000 buying a Honda Civic 1.8 Petrol, I won’t be thinking about saving fuel with a Hybrid at ALL. Most people pay in Malaysia are ALREADY paying 3 x the prices for their cars (compared to world prices). A Honda Accord and a Toyota Camry is only about RM60,000 sold globally. If I can save money from the price of the car, it would mean far more than saving with a Hybrid Engine.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 202 Thumb down 32
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 142
        • neutral on Oct 29, 2013 at 2:35 pm

in the emirates….a high spec camry is approximately 60k RM….he is not joking

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 25
          • lol that one i oso know…give me 1 asaean country other than brunei than can price camry rm60k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 53
        • Zend3r on Oct 29, 2013 at 3:05 pm

BN troopers spotted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 34
          • sori beb…im not trooper for bngoon n prfag…u can say anything u guys want..im just being myself n im not zombies like u guys….believe oni 1 source n ignore others that does not fits ur believe…

PRtrooper alway maroon anyone who don share their believe..this sick man..this is free country.

u guys just cant handle info correctly…
            those goon/fag above said globally…but most all camry or accord price in whole asean near to boleh price except brunei..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 49
          • In Australia, high spec camry is between RM 60-70k, including all taxes i.e. GST etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
          • To Aziz, i did little research and found out that the lowest spec price for 2013 Camry in Aus is RM102k. Typical PR suppoter probably. Always spouting nensense without evidence whatsoever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
          • KZM confim BN Cybertrooper on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:40 am

So obvious he is a BN cybertrooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • oblong on Oct 30, 2013 at 11:11 am

Sir Aziz,

Price for Camry Altise Sedan [Standard Specs 2.5 Dual VVT-i (lowest specs)] in Australia start from AUD$34,XXX.00 (Full Driveaway a.k.a. OTR price) or equivalent to RM101,553.40. Highest specs is Camry Atara SL which price for AUD$44,400.00 (RM132,692.49) (http://www.toyota.com.au/camry/prices). The price may varied according to area/state you live. Care to explain if 60K-70K price you write for is for secondhand Camry?

• US vs Malaysia Price on Oct 30, 2013 at 11:21 am

I just did some research and confirm, Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US is exactly USD22,235 and Honda Accord in the USA is USD21,955 for the 2.4. Both cars are PURE JAPAN MADE CBU. Even tyres, battery high quality JAPAN MADE CBU.

I don’t know how when it come here in Malaysia it is RM180,000. Somemore ours is CKD, half Made in Malaysia. Gomen say CKD should be cheaper because use Barang Buatan Malaysia. When they CKD the car, they say it will be much cheaper because not only tax is lower, it uses a lot of Barang Buatan Malaysia.

Anyway, it gets worse for German luxury cars. We in Malaysia are being cheated!

BMW 328i
            US$36,500 (RM109,500) Malaysia Price RM300,000

BMW 528i
            US$46,900 (RM149,000) Malaysia Price RM400,000

BMW 535i
            US$52,500 (RM157,000) Malaysia Price RM600,000

BMW X5
            US$47,500 (RM142,500) Malaysia Price RM580,000

Mercedes E350
            US$51,000 (RM153,000) Malaysia Price RM420,000 (In M’sia for only CKD E250)

Jaguar XF
            US$53,000 (RM159,000) Malaysia Price RM500,000

Jaguar XJ
            US$73,700 (RM221,000) Malaysia Price RM1,000,000

Porsche Cayenne
            US$48,850 (RM146,000) Malaysia Price RM570,000

• Singapore vs Malaysia Price on Oct 30, 2013 at 11:45 am

So sad to know that cars are really cheap. No idea why we pay so much for cars. Somemore our pay is so low compared to global pay. Even Malaysian car prices are more expensive than Singapore factoring the fact that Singaporeans GDP per capita is 5 x than Malaysians. In simple words, Singaporeans earn 5 times more than Malaysians. So, a BMW 520i is SGD$200,000, it is actually cheaper for a Singaporean to own a BMW than a Malaysian to own a BMW. Even with COE taken into consideration.

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/opinion/2012/08/16/why-are-malaysian-car-prices-so-expensive/

• Kereta Man on Oct 29, 2013 at 4:05 pm

kzm
          your questions is a typical stupid BN response to all the problems in the country… rather than addressing it you hide it with stupid questions..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 16
          • he gave the stupid question..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 45
          • KZM confim BN Cybertrooper on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:41 am

You cannot talk sense to a BN Cybertrooper. He is only doing this to get contracts.

• So much for BN macai’s today Malaysia is the most expensive country on this planet to buy a car. Thank you macai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
        • farizY on Oct 29, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Kawan, use google as your friend, and search, jangan jadi katak bawah BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
        • oh yeke? on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:44 pm

nk tunggu sampai nk dekat pru 14 ke baru nk start turun? baik x payah mcm tu bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • KZM confim BN Cybertrooper on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:39 am

KZM for years have always talked rubbish. He is confirmed a BN cybertrooper. Probably receiving contracts on the quiet for his work as a BN cybertrooper.

• karils on Oct 29, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Totally agreed with u

• The fact on Oct 29, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Do you know that 505 was just recently over? Please be patient. Wait for the good news in coming May 2014…as per promise, our Belove Prime Minister will deliver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • Khalid on Oct 29, 2013 at 1:08 pm

Madani, don’t wait for your Datukship, do something for the rakyat, make sure your boss Najib keep to his promise of 30% less for cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
    • gov never janji to reduce tax structure before…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 89
      • tokmoh on Oct 29, 2013 at 5:36 pm

kzm ni the menteri that said “govt didn’t increase fuel price, only reduce subsidy” ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • farizY on Oct 29, 2013 at 6:40 pm

But the government did JANJI to reduce car price up to 30% (obviously tiru Rafizi, albeit, half-a**ed), but tinggal JANJI saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
        • farizY on Oct 29, 2013 at 6:40 pm

sorry, BN made that JANJI. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • KZM confim BN Cybertrooper on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:42 am

Cybertrooper, you don’t know what your own employer has janji. Its all over the news, BN memang janji to reduce car price

• Kereta Man on Oct 31, 2013 at 3:08 pm

go back to the cave you crawled out from la.. Of course they made that janji.. typical BN.. Janji for votes then give rakyat capati..

• i want to ask something la to u guys la….if gov do wat u guys want do u guy will cross camp? for most thing u guy hate this gov coz car tax rite?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 92
      • Thanks for letting me know that I’ve made the right vote. To the opposition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 25
      • abuya123 on Oct 30, 2013 at 9:39 am

Spare your saliva bro. Dont waste your brilliant and time it to urgue with caveman and politician supporter. 24 hours of their life always thought about politic, all thing around also must blended with their politic mind.

We live in Malaysia. Full stop. Wanna Camry 60K? Be Emirates or Brunei citizen. But bear in mind, no politic in Brunei. Monarchy. If you dont satisfy with king, feel jealous why king have lambo, why king have more money than tou, you cannot do like in Malaysia, boleh jerit2 maki hamun gomen, posted in web,do mob on street.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • KZM confim BN Cybertrooper on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:44 am

Abuya, that sounds like Malaysia also. Here cannot make noise also.

• abuya123 on Oct 29, 2013 at 12:08 pm

Hah…. mana yang bising-bising semalam?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
  • Only good news so far in this coming budget.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
    • the only bad news in latest bajet is sugar subsidy phase out and some say gst(this good actually)….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 56
      • noname on Oct 29, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Sorry off topic.

The worst news is giving out of br1m. you should teach them how to fish and not feeding them with fish every time. This is why we can never become a high income nation, 60% of Malaysian who are eligible for brim (Refer to The Sun, 28 October 2013) will just wait to be fed. How much can you spend on such? We are one of the joke countries whereby the minority are feeding majority of the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 16
        • oldfaggotinkampong on Oct 29, 2013 at 6:36 pm

We old folks rules kampung vote, BR1M mari mari.

• Jibby the Hutt on Oct 29, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Apa cover line is this, if budget one year plan why jibs can announce gst coming few years later!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 11
  • buying new car in 2014 on Oct 29, 2013 at 2:55 pm

i want cheaper new 320i/320d/c200/a4.. reduce at least 5% next year, i’m ok la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Hilux on Oct 29, 2013 at 5:49 pm

These car low RV,if is even cheaper Japs hybrid Prius,Insight,Serena is OK,at least got RV.

• Guan Yin Ma on Oct 29, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Dude, no need to wait for 30% price reduction for the coming 5 years. IT IS IMPOSSIBLE. Open you eyes , this is MALAYSIA. Maybe , Maybe it will happen when PKR take over BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 16
  • kadajawa on Oct 29, 2013 at 3:21 pm

MAI just a low level macai to PM or its Minister…how can it annouce such multi billion decision without risking to flip flop it later?

MAI should stop protecting Vendor cronies but should protect car buyers rights such as pushing for minimum car safety ABS, Traction Control, 10 Airbags, Minimum 5 Years Car Warranty and Free Service to name a few.

If not then it’s true MAI just a stooges fool as flower decoration for ministry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Denaihati on Oct 29, 2013 at 4:05 pm

hope it will continue and reduce again next year.

• abdullah on Oct 29, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Just open up the market and let the manufacturers compete amongst themselves instead of trying to regulate this and that.

• Not that easy bro. We have Proton, Perodua, their local suppliers, thousand workers to take care of too. We as consumers always think for ourselves rather than its impact to the country. I think the govt is spot on with the decision not to open the market fully.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • keris lawak on Oct 30, 2013 at 12:32 pm

To macai Tada,
        u care abt the thousand workers, but u dont care abt MILLION of Malaysians esp the middle and lower income group of ppl who have to spend their hard earn money on car with substandard safety feature. Close market caused the car price in Malaysia to be one of the highest in the world. House hold debt also one of the highest in the region which partly contribute by the high car loan.

• Our MoT is full of idiots, its less then 2 months to end of the year, the manufacturers need to order CBU/plan CKD production months in advance, they cant do anything until the incentive is confirmed in black and white.

Our civil servants live in la la land….never have to plan, never have to strategise, they think everyone is flip flop last minit like they are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Our hybrid policy is also so stupid, the whole world bases incentives on C02 EMISSIONS not whether its a hybrid or not, cos there are many diesel/petrol cars available by VW and ford that can get equal or Better FC then hybrids.

based on our stupid system, u get cars like the Nissan Serena getting the hybrid exemption when its not a true hybrid, its just got a jacked up bigger alternator, and they call it a hybrid car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • No_money_people on Oct 29, 2013 at 6:26 pm

Better FC than hybrids? Which car in Malaysia can do better than 22km/l (RM84 for 880km).
      The Mitsubishi MiEV and Nissan Leaf? They have tax exemption also!

• littlefire on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:09 pm

Bro.. New clean diesel engine beat those hybrid ass out for FC dude… Besides that, their maintenance also cheaper compare to hybrid due to lesser part to take care.. Please Google it before you comment again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • no_money_people on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:34 pm

What a laugh!!
          Those good fc diesel engine can’t run in our country simply because we don’t have Euro 4 or 5 grade of diesel here.We get Euro 2 diesel here only.
          Stop dream big and comment empty. You are in Malaysia and you don’t have to Google to find it out.

• azrai on Oct 29, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Dear Madani, it should first spelled out in the busget because it is telling the rakyat whether the G will get income from those hybrid duties or not. It is important to know where are the income coming from, and how to spend it. Taht’s why we have Badget tabling every year, and of course this is after those AG report were release to justify every G spending.

• Carl Wong on Oct 29, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Haaa *breathe out*, great if this is finally confirmed, but in December, soo dam close to the dead line this time…!!!

• old dog on Oct 29, 2013 at 8:21 pm

the $$ already direct goes to the cronies…thats why they wont tax back or else those sugar subsi 1b will flow back to the G if they earn back from this hybrid car! LOL…

its simply, anything that G can earn money will not be execute, but everything that flow money from G to cronies will sure executed.

• Damn you Madani….you are not helping at all. You should be dethrone….

• ben yap on Oct 30, 2013 at 12:50 am

Whatever Utusan Malaysia says, it’s hard to believe as they’re loaded with lotsa rubbish and lies.

• Roy Mustang on Oct 30, 2013 at 8:25 am

I strongly believe if our G finally implement low tax on cars, they will surely implement ‘scrap 10 yrs old car’ to make it balance.

Else there’d be too many car.

I drive a 12 y/o car btw.