VIDEOS: BMW M235i Coupe explained inside and out

By now you’ve probably read our report on the new BMW 2 Series Coupe and M235i, and seen the complete official gallery of Munich’s latest. But words and pictures can only tell you so much, especially when it comes to such an intricate design as this new coupe.

These two videos would complete the story. The clip above explains the design and dynamic attributes of BMW’s first 2 Series, including a demonstration of the coupe’s easy-to-use Launch Control. Getting the BMW M235i Coupe from 0-100 km/h in under five seconds really is as easy as one, two and three.

The Launchfilm below showcases the top-of-the-range M Performance model’s gorgeous looks and handling abilities. Who would have thought that such a desirable model could be spawned off the dowdy F20 1 Series range?

If you still prefer to look at static pictures, enjoy the BMW M235i Coupe gallery below, or check out the standard 2 Series Coupe range here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• lookin-good on Oct 29, 2013 at 6:13 pm

simply hot & gorgeous !

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:02 am

Yes it can look gorgeous but beware. BMW RV drops very fast. A 2012 BMW 520i is about RM250,000. A brand new 2012 520i is 368,000.

A brand new 320d is RM250,000. A 2012 320d is RM180,000

Even brand new (director usage) 520i is now (2013 model!!!) is now RM280,000 with just 2000KM mileage. So, the car can drop RM80,000 with same 2013 year and only 2000KM clocked on it.

Still want to buy BMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Look so much better than those weirdo join together kidney grille headlights!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • frenzyaustin on Oct 29, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Simple, elegance and small, this is the real BMW, ultimate driving machine.

• iwant2 on Oct 29, 2013 at 8:15 pm

I want 2! Bmw please launch below rm200k for base model .

• jolly_idiot on Oct 29, 2013 at 8:45 pm

In your dream. The coupe is higher level than sedan. Don’t hope it can come any cheaper than a 4 door.

• Chris on Oct 30, 2013 at 9:27 am

Unlikely, unfortunately.

Just checked. Toyota 86 cost 24,995 quid OTR, while the entry level 218d is expected to be just over 24k, while the 220i will be just above 25k quid.

Assume similar price, I’d expect the 220i to be 240-250k?

Toyota 86 – 2L NA, 200hp, 205nm, FR, 0-100 7.6sec
      BMW 220i – 2L turbo, 183hp, 270nm, FR, 0-100 7sec

Very very interesting. No clear winner.

• *ORGASM*

• Those rims!!!!

• Overpriced, nothing new. BMW= break my wallet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • paparadzi on Oct 29, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Smaller, and lighter than 4 series, with the same engine. That means better performance. Apart from the 235i, will there be a 228i as well?

So far I’ve been unable to find a 2-series photo with the door open. Just wonder if the door is frameless as it should be.

• Motorhead on Oct 29, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Better than Suprima for sure.

• Ultimate Driving Machine!!!

• Datuk on Oct 30, 2013 at 12:32 pm

let Jeremy Clarkson review this car, the 2 person in the video just read the script

• policeman on Oct 30, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Tak habis-habis dengan BMW. All their cars look alike. Exterior and interior. Muak mata memandang.

• seancorr on Oct 30, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Looks better than the model it replaced in the 1 Series lineup. Here’s me hoping BMW Malaysia will bring in the 220i at a good price without skimping out on features.

The power in the 220i is plenty for me..just need a fun car to drive around.