Mercedes-Benz E 400 AMG Sport seen at JPJ – CKD?

mercedes-benz-e400-ckd-jpj-018

Anol Alias has spotted the Mercedes-Benz E 400 at JPJ, clad in the AMG Sport package. At the launch of the facelifted W212 E-Class, we learnt that the E 400 would be the next model to be locally-assembled after the E 200 and E 250. Is this it, then?

Under the bonnet is a new 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 that produces 328 hp and 480 Nm of torque. Transmission is taken care of by a 7G-Tronic Plus auto with a Direct Select shifter and shift paddles. 0-100 km/h takes 5.3 seconds, and top speed is an electronically-limited 250 km/h.

The AMG Sport package gives you an aggressive-looking front bumper, a slightly different rear bumper and side skirts, less chrome trim on the body and 18-inch five twin-spoke AMG alloys wrapped in 245/40 tyres up front and 265/35s out back. The steering wheel gets a dash of wood trim, as opposed to the E 200 and E 250’s full leather-wrapped items.

Hopefully the Mercedes-Benz E 400 will be competitively priced against the Audi A6 3.0 TFSI and BMW 535i, since it will be the only locally-assembled model in that engine displacement range.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Is it really CKD or following Naza’s footstep of doing Semi Knocked Down (SKD)? I think BMW also doing SKD for some of their models.

• Woohoo on Oct 30, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Would still pick the 335i or 535i. They pawn the merc notwithstanding in all terms of handling, ergonomics and acceleration. Those Bimmers can take the Merc on anytime. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 44
    • Simon Hoh on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Until it breaks down, which most certainly will. Have you checked on the worldwide car reliability survey recently? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • boleh made car full, skd or ckd no quality..maa

• ABTguy on Oct 30, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Nice car, fat steering wheel !! :D

• fatchicken on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:00 pm

The girth of the steering really reminds me of certain body part!! nice car with nice price tag, bang for bucks!

• merzcr on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:01 pm

hi,the e400 will launch in malaysia before yr end

• heybadigol on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:19 pm

Nice car. CKD should mean an “affordable” price tag. This is so much nicer looking than the 535i. Yeah BMW better handling, but E Class better ride quality. Considering I spend more time stationary in traffic than at Sepang, then E Class is the better option. But thats just me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Vios is ah beng on Oct 30, 2013 at 4:55 pm

This car low RV.I can see there is a Fortuner WSB 1515,haha that is the CAR,SuperValue and high RV!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
      • Alvien Lim on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Comparing a toyota with Mercedes Benz is foolish. I could turn around and say, Ferrari low RV in comparison with Mercedes Benz higher RV. Silly right? You should make comparison with cars within it’s class and price range. Food for thought.

• Anol Alias ni pakgad di parking JPJ ker?

• ..but he is nice guy. He don’t shoot people, don’t curse people..

• This anond everday hang at jpj so free ah. No need to work ah. Typical minum teh govt staff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • droll on Oct 30, 2013 at 4:55 pm

is this like the merc equivalent to the s3 range? finally mercedes is making non-amg cars that are fast available in m’sia.

• zamer on Oct 30, 2013 at 8:19 pm

this car value at over 400k, in 2 years time, it will be half. this model is aging. 1st introduced in 2010.
    i believe they are no facelifting anymore.

anyway, design wise is better than current look

• farizY on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:59 am

That car looks damn sexy!! Now, if only I could afford one.