Proton Gen.2 bags least expensive-to-own-and-run honours in its class rating in Australian NRMA study

proton gen2

Some news about Proton, from Australia – the Proton Gen.2 has picked up more kudos; the car, in its GX variant form, has been named by New South Wales motoring association NRMA (National Roads and Motorists’ Association) as the country’s ‘least expensive small car under AUD$35k to own and run’ in its annual study of vehicle operating costs.

The Gen.2 headed the top 10 list in the category for the second year in a row. Six of the top ten cars nominated in this segment were Protons – aside from the Gen.2, variants of which were placed first, second, fourth and seventh, the Persona Elegance was also in the list, in third (manual) and sixth (auto).

The NRMA study listed the GX 1.6 five-speed manual variant, the class choice, as costing AUD$115.73 (RM346) per week to operate (fuel costs included), using 40.12 Australian cents (RM1.19) for every kilometre travelled. The automatic version of the GX costs AUD$128.28 (RM384) to operate on a weekly basis.

proton gen2 class

The overall champion in frugalness, meanwhile, was the Mitsubishi Mirage ES, the ‘light cars under AUD$20k’ pick – the 1.2 litre five-speed hatchback costs AUD$93.29 (RM279) to operate weekly.

The results for the NRMA survey were calculated based on annual travelling distance of 15,000 km over a five-year private ownership period, in New South Wales. The pricing formula covers all costs of owning and running a vehicle including vehicle purchase price, depreciation, registration, comprehensive insurance, servicing, repairs, average fuel costs as well as the cost of NRMA membership.

With rising fuel prices and increased pressure on household budgets, the study by the NRMA is aimed at assisting buyers in making informed vehicle purchasing decisions, by providing a snapshot of the real cost of vehicle ownership and running costs.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 30, 2013 at 9:56 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 196
    • Joe Radzif on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:17 am

Salesman ka?
      even want to fight with the old car…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 3
    • zapruder on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:19 am

RV RV RV.. Kalau miskin sangat sebelum beli kereta dah fikir nak jual, baik naik bas je bro.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 13
      • Hazri on Oct 30, 2013 at 11:27 am

haish…kenapa emotional? ade certain group of people yang memang sukakan benda baru..bukan mereka takde duit, tapi mereka cepat bosan and nak something yg updated…tp di malaysia, desire macam ni tak boleh dipractisekan, due to bad market of used car!

only those yang tak ada taste jer akan stick with their current cars for 100 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 108
      • maabas on Oct 30, 2013 at 11:33 am

Abaikan saja komen dia…. Sajer gila glamour….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
    • UltramanSucks on Oct 30, 2013 at 11:49 am

Hello Bro..go googling, just type “VW problem”, the so call german qualities got thousands of problemos, i’ll belive 2 cases in australia where the polo and jetta sudenly lost power in the hway and cause accdents..Some ppl jus dont want to be proud as Malaysian,..it’s okay if u want to give comments… but condemning.its totally differnt cases!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 2
    • azermalak on Oct 30, 2013 at 12:22 pm

There is still a lot of Gen 2 in Australia and somehow they are well maintained and look like new. I also surprised to see Gen 2 almost everyday on the road here in Sydney. This is followed Savvy and lastly Satria Neo. Most lower middle income Australian prefer to buy economical car and low income buy cheap secondhand in auctions but prefer to rent car when going for long distance as car rental is cheap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
    • Heng Lee on Oct 30, 2013 at 1:01 pm

‘Toyota has announced a voluntary recall of some 803,000 cars due to airbags inadvertently deploying — and the blame appears to be spiders inside the air conditioning units. Toyota’s recall notice states that some 2012 and 2013 Camry, Venza, and Avalon vehicles are experiencing problems with their air conditioning condenser unit housing — apparently, condensation and water has been leaking into the airbag control module. In most cases, that’s just causing the airbag warning light to turn on, but a few times the driver side airbag has deployed without warning.’
      http://www.theverge.com/2013/10/18/4852840/spiders-force-toyota-to-recall-800000-vehicles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
      • Godlike Brand on Oct 30, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Impossible!! Toyota is a godlike brand. Mana boleh ada defect!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 15
        • Hahaha on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Hahahah…stupid comments… Come on man, branded cars like VW, Honda and etc got also defect!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
        • Coffe Mug on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:52 pm

I like your sarcasm. Packed with blockbuster touch. Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
        • fpser on Oct 30, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Yup, Toyota mana boleh rosak maaaaa

LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • That’s because they dare to acknowledge the problem and fix it, not to deny it. And they have air bags….

• Vios is ah beng on Oct 30, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Yes,I currently at Melbourne and I can see a lot of Toyota cars.The Vios aka Yaris sedan there not many but I see many many big size Toyota like Hilux,Land Cruiser,Rav 4 and Kluger roaming the streets there.Kimchis and euro junks?Haha can count them using fingers.This shows that the Aussies also want a car that have high RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • DraCoDeLTies on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:27 am

At least P1 can get their names there, bro.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
  • dewaSemut on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:35 am

In Malaysia… MAA kaa, apa kaa should also conduct this studies lah. Good statistics, I must say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Green on Oct 30, 2013 at 11:38 am

Paultan.org started it.

new Vios FC review is the initiative taken..
      More cars on REAL KL fuel consumption should come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • In over-sea or Aust specifically … do they have same mentality as in M’sia that only H & T got good RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • bawakereta on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:58 am

Good job proton! Proton kebangaanku!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 15
  • including Depreciation ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • protroll on Oct 30, 2013 at 11:09 am

isn’t Proton already axe Gen2 since 2012?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • showmetheranger on Oct 30, 2013 at 11:39 am

I wonder why Toyota is not on the list.
    Everybody must be expecting it to be in the top ten at least.
    But the truth is kind of hard to swallow despite the reputation. So keep up bragging the lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • inderaloka on Oct 30, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Just ignore all the negative comments made by people who has a lot of toxic amount in their body and their heart.

As a Proton Gen.2 (CPS) user for 5 years, I hereby approve the above findings by NRMA.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawa on Oct 30, 2013 at 2:53 pm

OK…how many times masuk workshop rosak here there so far? Did you pinjam along just to pay the endless repair bills?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 64
      • i go to workshop(proton servis) for every 3-4 month..BUT ONLY FOR NORMAL AND PERIODIC SERVICE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • inderaloka on Oct 30, 2013 at 4:59 pm

So far, I never had to sent my car to any workshop as I doesn’t needed to do so because there are no problems with the car. I only sent my car to service centers for regular services. Repair bills? I don’t have any.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
      • kenny on Oct 30, 2013 at 6:01 pm

i have a cps manual. 3 years already. not a single breakdown. past warranty after 2nd year. i still service at authorised sc. not a single problem… and the power windows work fine. i’m not the type that believes in opening the door to pay toll. it IS reliable regardless of what people may say and i regularly do 170kph ~ 180kph without any stability problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
      • G2 user on Oct 31, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Gen 2 manual user here..8 year old..clocking almost 200k..no major problem..accept wear and tear..no problem with power window..never repair..accept broken switch(my bad)…got accident 1 time..airbag deployed when it should be..save my face from steering..just need to well maintain the engine..now the engine bit noisy..hydraulic tappet clogged up i think..but still running fine..:D

• i second that. i used gen2 almost 8 years and the car still good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Lee Iguana on Oct 30, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Those nincompoops spreading lies to kill proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • australian prefer the mazda3 than buying a proton. Plus the arrival of the new mazda3 is going to overshadow the suprima s

http://www.mynrma.com.au/motoring/news/mazda-3-australias-most-popular-car.htm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Vios is ah beng on Oct 30, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Mazda in Oz at least have RV.And I saw a number of Mazda in Melbourne.

• golden on Oct 30, 2013 at 5:22 pm

New mazda3 auto trans 0-100km/h sprint performance sucks. The good chance for auto trans is only for i-Eloop variant.

• i have to disagree, early preview of the mazda3 in australia seems promising.
        http://www.themotorreport.com.au/57488/2014-mazda3-review-first-australian-preview-drive

Compare to the preve CPS
        http://www.caradvice.com.au/231533/proton-preve-review/

• amingo on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:31 pm

im driving Gen2 for 7years…no problem at all..only not enough power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • whitefox on Oct 30, 2013 at 4:29 pm

some ppl cant different between wear and tear vs real problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • becham on Oct 30, 2013 at 5:24 pm

For proton bashers, they don’t care, even changing tyres and spark plugs are real problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Can Proton or other people publish the technical specs of Australian GEN 2 along with that of Malaysian GEN 2 specs? Then we can compare apple with apple.

• kenny on Oct 30, 2013 at 6:04 pm

australians don’t get the cps. but they do have all 3-point seatbelts at the back an also rear fog lights. otherwise, it is pretty similar.

• littlefire on Oct 30, 2013 at 9:54 pm

The highest spec got 4 air-bags, Leather seat bla bla bla.. while the rest should be the same..

http://www.proton.com.au/our-cars/gen-2/specs-features/

• bongeks on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:11 am

After 6 years ownership, just maintain normal servicing, replace wear n tear parts and just changed twice central lock module (rm110). Dats all. Expensive neh?

• Roy Mustang on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:35 pm

I want persona SV now by next year.

You hear me proton?

• I’m driving a 1st badge Persona for 6 years now and running 120k on the clock. Never break down nor gave me any probs. The only prob now is the damaged paint due to parking the car under the sun everyday :(

• buibo on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:44 am

my friend’s Gen 2 already clocked more than 300,000 km and still running fine.