2014 Volkswagen Polo Sedan CKD launched – RM86k

2014 Volkswagen Polo Sedan CKD 25

Volkswagen Malaysia has launched its second locally-assembled vehicle – as previously reported, the 2014 Volkswagen Polo Sedan joins the Passat 1.8 TSI as the brand’s CKD models in the country. Assembled in Pekan by DRB-Hicom, the car replaces the previously imported version from India in the Malaysian lineup.

First off, the price – the Polo Sedan now goes for RM85,888, on-the-road without insurance, which is RM14k cheaper than the CBU version that went on sale last year in April, priced at RM99,888.

Both powertrain and drivetrain are unchanged, the 1.6 litre MPI normally-aspirated mill and six-speed torque converter automatic transmission with Tiptronic remaining in place. Output is 105 PS at 5,250 rpm and 153 Nm at 3,800 rpm, as before.

2014 Volkswagen Polo Sedan CKD 8

Likewise, the performance numbers – the car does the 0-100 km/h sprint in 12.3 seconds, with top speed being 183 km/h. As for fuel efficency, the car is claimed to offer 6.5 l per 100 km. Kerb weight is also identical, at 1,182 kg.

There’s additional kit in the locally-assembled version, which is good news. The RCD 210 audio system has been replaced, the Polo Sedan now equipped with a new RCD 320 system with multi-language support, USB and iPod interface, SD card slot, Aux-in and Bluetooth connectivity, though the number of speakers remains at four.

It also gets a Climatronic automatic air conditioning system, rear air-con vents and a new height-adjustable front centre armrest, replete with storage box and a rear cup holder. The seat fabric has also been revised, the previous Metric pattern replaced by a Livon design pattern.

The halogen headlamps feature a different design – they are now shod with bright white surrounds instead of the current car’s black finish. Elsewhere, the rear badge placement has been revised, with Volkswagen lettering residing by the left light cluster, and the Polo insignia has been moved to the opposite side of the boot lid.

Otherwise, it’s all familiar ground. The 2014 car sits on the same 15-inch Riverside alloy wheels and 185/60 tyres. Standard equipment and features includes cruise control, rear parking sensors, variable intermittent wipers, 60:40 folding rear seats as well as height adjustable driver and front passenger seats.

Ditto to the safety kit, with four airbags (dual front and dual front side), ABS with EBD and brake assist and Isofix mounts, as well as Intelligent Crash Response System (ICRS), which automatically unlocks your doors and turns on the hazard lights in the event of an accident, and anti-pinch feature for all four door windows.

The 2014 Polo Sedan is available in a choice of five exterior colours – Candy White, Flash Red, Reflex Silver as well as the pearl effect shade called Deep Black are carried over from the CBU version, while Pepper Grey replaces the dropped Shadow Blue and Terra Beige in the palette lineup.

In terms of build, the locally-assembled Polo Sedan has 40% local content (by value), and VGM mentioned that it has 15 suppliers providing parts for the Malaysian car. At the launch, Dr Zeno Kerschbaumer, MD of VGM, revealed that the Passat has been the best-selling VW model this year, but expects the Polo Sedan to now take over as the volume mover.

Meanwhile, the idea that the Polo hatchback is also set to be assembled locally is pretty much firmed up, bar the shouting – in response to a question along those lines, Kerschbaumer replied that there would be news on this in the coming weeks. A Polo hatch was spotted at JPJ Putrajaya a couple of days ago, not quite a Polo TSI, from what was seen. Whatever the case, might it be that we can expect an introduction at KLIMS13 then?

[scribd id=180451392 key=key-2ilh836cgi4w7k7xiyvk mode=scroll]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ABTguy on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:01 pm

I believe the weight of the car has a typo mistake, it should be 1370 kg instead ? Or 1270kg.

Cannot be 1730kg leh, that is Audi A6 hybrid weight.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
    • Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Oops! That’s the gross weight! My bad – it’s 1,182 kg. Thanks for the prod!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
      • K Singh on Nov 01, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Don’t be fooled. Its not the DSG cars that breakdown non stop. Their Polo with non DSG is also known as kaki breakdown. Go to facebook and read yourself. And customers have to wait 3 months to get anything fixed especially normal parts. See facebook, all customers fuming mad and angry. Anything also they take months to fix. And don’t get excited with their warranty. Its ONLY 2 years. 3 years is insurance based. That takes weeks for approval. Adjuster must come and see, approval takes weeks, and most of the time, not covered. Read again, NOT covered. Because insurance can decide whether to cover or not at their discretion. Suka hati. Don’t believe? Go to facebook and see yourself. VW customers are fuming mad. Even to service the car also must make appointment few weeks beforehand. And when you cross over the required mileage because you waiting weeks for your appointment. VW will tell you, sorry, cannot claim warranty. Because you have crossed over the service interval mileage. You tell them but my appointment given 4 weeks later, they tell you, you should plan in advance. So, their DSG cars can only drive at night but their non DSG cars like the Polo stinks in service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 37
        • anakmalaysia on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:43 pm

Naza salesman detected. These guys are probably paid to say bad things about VW because their 308 and 408 not selling at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 34
          • mr jem on Nov 04, 2013 at 4:24 pm

u should go n read it by yourself at the volkswagen malaysia fb page. at a moment, i tot i was in a proton fb page. lots of complaint and frustration. hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
          • Wisdom on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:34 pm

The engine spec is comparable to my late 90’s Toyota seg. 105ps, 150Nm… huhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • blaster88 on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:49 pm

VW car issues and problems are well known and plastered all over the internet……did you not read about the their legal issue in Australia and the massive recall in MY, SG etc for the faulty gearboxes. Having said that, you can buy one and tell us what you think…smile. BTW, I have a GTI, and it has been pure hell for the last month…

• Keris Jawa on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Gulp!

• thetruth on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Hello Mr Jem, the negative comments in the Facebook are likely from Naza and Sime Darby staff la. You mean you still believe everything thats written here?

FYI, 90% of those writing here are college students and car salesmen. Thats why you can see that they only target best selling cars like Toyota and VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 377
      • it’s unfortunate to see people with this kind of mentality.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 3
        • junaidi on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:32 am

Ironic when you realize how the Volkswagens came about in the first place. Just ignore stupid comments like those bro. Buang tenaga sahaja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
        • kampongkoh on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Agreed. Too many jealous of VW’s success in Malaysia and criticizing them without merit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • blitzboy on Nov 01, 2013 at 1:37 am

You don’t say that. The rich also start from being poor then he/she build up wealth, and sometimes wrong decisions will make them ended up being poor again. For me, I don’t judge or discriminate people of being rich or poor by the car he or she drive!! Now with a car loan, and some income paperwork, anyone can buy a continental car. It is just a matter of how much is the monthly repayment.

Someone may look rich with that expensive looking car , but who knows that car is still on loan and he/she loads of unpaid credit card debt.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 2
      • Roy Mustang on Nov 01, 2013 at 8:14 am

You must’ve born with a silver spoon in your a55 hole.

• Johnny on Nov 01, 2013 at 10:25 am

I smell sarcasm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • hahahahaha… farney la you… hahahahaha

• Brand for brand, and spec for spec, i will take this over a Vios any day.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 282 Thumb down 20
    • sonyman on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:31 pm

i would take this over vios anytime, because in the future this car resale value better than the vios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 29
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Any foreign B-Seg sedan is better than Vios anyway.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 13
      • not true. for a transformer’s fan, vios will be a better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 38
    • Regretted for buying the Toyota Vios. It is just an overpriced Milo tin. Even Milo tin is better because it has Milo in it but Vios is Milo Tin Kosong!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 273 Thumb down 14
    • This Polo is undoubtfully better than Vios, however my suggestion is to wait until Fiesta 1.0 ecoboost launching next year that would be much more interesting to see which the most value buy unit.
      Anyway, my vote goes to Fiesta 1.0 ecoboost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 32
      • zamer on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:00 pm

fiesta design looks like it should not exist

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 5
        • that’s true. unfortunately, the fiesta design went backwards, i felt. the previous gen was much better looking.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
      • fren, pls be realistic a bit and compare apple with apple. an ecoboost fiesta will definitely fall in a different price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • DonkeyKong on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:26 pm

I take it you don’t know the price of the existing Fiesta? As well as the prices of Vios and City?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • Donkey, what you said didn’t compute. Price of existing NA Fiesta is same as this VW Polo Sedan. So do you expect the ecoboost will be sold at the same price since you’re trying to compare ecoboost fiesta with this NA Polo??

I find your comment a bit donkeyish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost has just begin it’s production in Thailand. They would make their way to Malaysia perhaps next year.

That could give some price advantage. But please be mind that this 1.0 EcoBoost engine is quite expensive to build compared to the 1.5 Ti-VCT.

And there should be a manual transmission available as in other markets.

• Here, have my like sir..

• This morning, while having my coffee and browsing PT’s homepage articles, I find that Kia Picanto’s instrument panel is way nicer than this bland Polo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • 1Malaysia on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:33 pm

I’ll take this over Suprima any day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
  • Hukaka on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:06 pm

good value for money,and no DSG problem.
    maybe a vios killer due to price and equipment.
    maybe the reseller price are lower then vios but it’s a Germany brand.
    good move Volkswagen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 4
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Vios killer isn’t quite possible. If there is a Vios killer, City already did that few years ago. It might steal some sales from kitted up Vios but want to uncrowned the Vios, need to launch a tin kosong model start from RM70,000. Almera isn’t a good car but with very low asking price, it successfully threatening Vios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
      • Josh Ling on Oct 31, 2013 at 7:52 pm

i disagree, i think almera is one heck of a car. yes, it may look ugly. yes, it may drive like a normal japanese car, but for the price it is asking, i think it has done more than it should have done already. and if you add in the reliability and fuel economy of a nissan car, no wonder many have opted to buy it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
        • frenzyaustin on Oct 31, 2013 at 8:40 pm

The materials used, the spec and features aren’t on par with others. But with the price I can’t complain too much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • bvc100 on Nov 01, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Funny how some can accept things like this from “someone else” but can’t accept the same fact when they get a cheaper car from “local boy”.

• Agree with bvc.
            They say Campro Engine lousy,but then again even mivec engine Inspira also no good kah?
            Some even claim mivec engine for inspira outdated or rejected by mitsu.
            OMG, it really surprise me the length these Proton Bashers are willing to go to “kill” proton.
            Well they can say whatever they can make up or dream of. As for me Inspira is still a “SMART CHOICE”.
            Good engine, superb handling and what matters most is “VERY CHEAP MA”. TQ DSZ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • theanswer on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:13 pm

good job. ckd but still maintain the cbu spec (in fact better).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 1
  • kingston5 on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Sure the Vios will sell very well here,but then the Polo shouldn’t be too far off with that new attractive asking price and updated features.Quite interesting to see them both competing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
  • Hikaru on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 145
    • Sam Hilux on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Right!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 78
    • My friend’s friend’s friend tried it and say kapcai drives better than the Vios!

Go try yourself la, don’t quote what what your friend of friend said.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 174 Thumb down 6
      • Maybe he has hanky panky session with his fren wife somewhere..umm..fishy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
      • You already said, don’t quote what your friend said…but u also Quote from your friend’s friend’s said “They tried it and say kapcai drives better than the Vios!”…. Why dont you tried and Quote yourself…ahhahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • OMG, you really believe a kapcai ride better than Vios a? Thank you for believing me!

• My uncle’s friend’s friend says that actually a scooter drive better…hehehehehe

• mrniceguy on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:33 pm

WIFE? ok..haha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 5
    • sonyman on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:34 pm

friends wife. sure dont know what is a good car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
    • For ladies maybe la. For men, it might be different

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
      • don’t stereotype pls. we are all educated. some rally drivers are ladies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
        • DonkeyKong on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:28 pm

Some rally drivers are ladies, most rally drivers are men. But most lousy drivers also happen to be ladies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 9
          • I try hard but cannot help it but to call you donkey lah.

How do you define lousy drivers? Are those that get the most summons considered lousy drivers? I wonder if men or women get the most summons.

Pls get some stats before putting out claims.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Is your friend Sam Loo?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 1
      • Yours Faithfully (YF) Sonata on Oct 31, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Nope… it’s Sam’s wife.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • infinity on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:02 pm

I would say that a European car has a very different driving characteristic compared to that of a Japanese car. Vios is a very straight forward car. Step on the accelerator, and it moves. Unlike Polo, which is European, it has the delay “feel”, as it is more composed and rigid. It is designed not to have the sudden surge forward when it accelerates.
      Thus, many will opined that the Vios is a better drive due to the “step and go” characteristic. Personally, I would prefer European driving characteristic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 7
      • um, that’s not an “european driving characteristic”. you’re making it as if by magic european cars have that “delay” feel.

it’s due to the gearbox. google it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
      • the ‘delay’ feel..sounds exactly like my persona elegance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
        • theasnwer on Nov 01, 2013 at 11:33 am

saga blm also like that. most car nowadays already use dbw system. it depends on the ecu for better throttle response.

• sam hailat on Nov 01, 2013 at 10:10 am

The delay feel in european marque is due to the accelerator pedal by wire and not cable type where response is more direct.

The reason why most conti or even kimchi is using pedal by wire, it is linked to the car stability control system. Of course some higher end model can have variable throttle response depends on driving situation.

• Fren, i think you terbalik the two. Those that have DBW (drive-by-wire) has spontaneous response. Those that have mechanical cable typically has some delay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • vios just a little bit better than a golf cart.

• The Vios Leather Seat is not even firmed! I sat on it and felt like it’s sinking:|

• Chris on Nov 01, 2013 at 4:09 pm

Really? That’s what I feel about Suprima’s seat. At least it’s comfy like a soft sofa, while the car isn’t moving.

• why not good? soft is good. ah beng can make love with ah lian in the car mah.

• theasnwer on Nov 01, 2013 at 11:32 am

women always prefer common brand. conti ride feel a bit heavy..but in fact solid. not like tin kosong and light.

• Gary Yap on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:23 pm

So if add insurance, what is the price Anthony?

• will give this made in india car a pass.
    its pretty outdated and old skool tech

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
    • powershot on Oct 31, 2013 at 8:23 pm

now you can say it’s a made in malaysia car

• As opposed to a 10 year old 4AT in a very common car u see on the road?

Right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Visit Volkswagen Malaysia “fanpage”
    and you will see lots of “praises” and “happiness” shared there.

Stupid car with reliability issue.
    Nvr buy a VW unless you got too much time to spend at the workshop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 65
    • Can see that u hv bias with VW DSG gearbox but this VW Polo Sedan come with usual 6-speed automatic gearbox, so pls put away the reliability issue. For a person who never drive a VW pls spare some time and test drive one unit before leaving comment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 12
    • i have a vw and dear lord in heaven after sales sucks major balls. no freebies whatsoever (i only got one lousy keychain), nobody picks up when you call the service centre, when they actually picked up, will take down your details and promised to call back, but didn’t (what’s so difficult about checking a schedule and slotting you in??), and if the stars are aligned correctly and all angels in heaven prayed really hard for you that you actually got serviced, prepare to spend the whole day there. so. bloody. slow. it’s a car service centre, what’s so difficult? people are stupid.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
      • Carnut on Oct 31, 2013 at 7:22 pm

Agree. I have VW and Myvi in the house and P2 gives way better service. I like my VW but their after sales service makes me think twice of owning one in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
      • medic on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:31 am

Come on,i own a Vw for 3 years now…just service last week.Got guard open door for me,fussy free service,refreshments & sandwitches to eat,lepak lepak at nice sofa,can check out MK7 Gti go test drive.Apa lagi you mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • Simon on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:20 pm

This guy by the name of “hah” is probably a competitor car agent. Anytime there’s a story about VW, he will criticize even though it is questionable if he even owns one.

Hah – can you take a photo of yourself with your VW, with car plate to show us? We want to see you for real. If you dont dare, please stop your fraud here.

Please prove you really exist and not just a phantom. Thank you.

• tolonglah kawan on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:25 pm

Of course la the VW fan page is full of negative comments. Its written by people like you, not real VW owners like me!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • victortan on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:38 pm

I think many will take this over Suprima and vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
  • Two Birds and One stone on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:42 pm

I am really worried about the fate of preve and suprima S when come to compete with this brand and this price. Where is my panadol , sayang ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Preve and Suprima S are in a different class, both cars are bigger than the Polo.

• expensive on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Why buy a RM86k VW Polo when you can bought 2 identical look Proton Saga at just RM43k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 53
    • harris murad on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:25 am

not bad a point…

• that is like saying why buy mcdonald’s when you can buy burger tepi jalan. bodoh la statement macam ni.

• Two Birds on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Now showing ! The Return of The Volkswagen !! (In Style )^_^.

• skatax on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:51 pm

I see this as Honda City (the full spec E) I killer:

Price
    HC: 88,430 (w/o insurance)
    VPS: 85,888 (w/o insurance)

Engine
    HC: 1.5 engine, 5-speed
    VPS: 1.6 engine, 6-speed (good news not DSG unit)

Air-cond
    HC: standard manual air cond unit, no rear vents
    VPS: auto air cond with rear vents

Safety
    HC: 2 airbags, no brake assist
    VPS: 4 airbags, with brake assist

Features
    HC: no cruise control, height adjustable seat for driver only
    VPS: with cruise control, height adjustable seat for both driver/passenger

will definitely steal sales from Honda city and all, B-segment sedans in Malaysia. moreover their network dealer almost all have 3S – those super big showrooms like Honda and toyota will secure buyer confidence on the after sales service.

I’m saying this because right now I’m driving a City grade E, if the polo sedan came out in 2008 with this price definitely I will buy this over city. shows how overpriced HM pricing their products today.

plan to upgrade to Honda crv 2.0, test drove it but was completely turned off after realizing the car don’t have reverse sensors. a sub 150k without reverse sensor? HM must be thinking Malaysians are stupid. even the cheap perodua viva have reverse sensors.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 194 Thumb down 11
    • victortan on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:03 pm

totally agree with you bro…
      For that price range, this VPS is a serious contender.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • seriously? no reverse sensor? on a big butt crv? whaaaaa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • foxtrot on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:29 pm

FYI polo sedan don’t have ESP
      Honda City – Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA, AKA ESP)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • honda city got brake assist la

the only thing honda city lose to this polo sedan in terms of safety is the airbag amount. 2 vs 4

and honda city E come with VSA.

i heard they are giving heavy discount for honda city now, you can probably get it for under 85k for E spec

• Yaya, compare with korean hyundai elantra have way much more better, with 6 airbags, tcs n all the safety details n much better specs n design. Japan is failing, contis car are mostly top 10 worse quality in UK n US. I hate KPop but I love kimchi lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Chris on Nov 01, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Went to showroom, they give 8k discount for 2013 models, and if you get your car in January with the year 2014 printed over it for resale value what not, you get 6k discount.

At the same time the salesman tell me new City coming next year, just don’t know when.

• Keris Jawa on Nov 01, 2013 at 1:44 am

I have Honda too, a Jazz. Will be my last Honda.

• theasnwer on Nov 01, 2013 at 12:18 pm

city got la brake assist. nowadays brake assist and ebd come standard with abs. even myvi got brake assist.

• Jimmy on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:54 pm

No matter how solid it is, it still needs 6-airbags, minimum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:56 pm

And ESP of course.
      See what KIA is doing in Malaysia, good move.
      In future, KIA = ‘6-airbags + ESP’, no exceptions when we see them on our roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:23 pm

It does, but at least it is an improvement over the Vios. With the City (high spec) I’d say it is a draw. One has 2 more airbags, one has VSC.

• norman on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Nah european cars only good at low cc turbocharge and jap are good at non turbo low cc,this car performance will be no less same as Persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • frenzyaustin on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:04 pm

A tough fight for higher end B-Seg sedan between Fiesta Sedan, City and Polo Saga.

Polo Saga
    +Rear A/C Vent
    +”German” badge
    +4 airbags
    +Climate control A/C
    -No VSC
    -Looks like Saga BLM
    -Terrible after sales

City
    +IMO best looking in it’s class
    +Has VSC in top level
    +Paddle Shifter
    +Still best interior among 3
    +Best after sales service
    -Dated engine and gearbox
    -Oldest model among 3
    -Performance isn’t as good as other
    -Poor NVH

Fiesta Sedan
    +VSC is present
    +/- DCT gearbox (Very smooth gear shifting, but jerky in traffic jam)
    -It’s a downgrade from pre-FL model
    -IMO Fiesta interior is a mess, look nice when fresh but it feel over mess after time
    -Most hideous sedan I’ve seen on the road, the rear is unacceptable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
  • With due respect to your friend’s wife, I have driven both cars and the Vios is nowhere near as good to drive as the Polo Sedan. Maybe you might wanna drive first before you bash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
  • MAN(STUDENT AUTOMOTIVE) on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:24 pm

VIOS,CITY,ALMERA,POLO SEDAN ARE THE BEST CARS FOR RAKYAT…PLEASE WATCH OUT PROTON PRODUCT BECAUSE THEY MIGHT HAVING MANY ENGINE PROBLEM IN CAMPRO VERSION SUCH ENGINE LEAKING, PISTON CRACKING AND THE OTHERS DUE TO THE LOW COST MATERIAL.BUT I GIVE GOOD COMMENT FOR THE PROTON’S DESIGN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 42
    • Carnut on Oct 31, 2013 at 7:24 pm

Proton good design lousy manufacturing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
      • Carut on Nov 01, 2013 at 8:15 am

Proton both lousy crap in design and manufacturing lah you fool!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • carut-stupit on Nov 02, 2013 at 12:08 pm

These days proton bashers don’t have anything to support their arguments, just use vulgar languages without brain.

lolololol

• Why all these “sedan” cars design look weird compared to their hatchback model.

Fiesta sedan
    Polo Sedan
    Mazda 2 sedan

plus another one, Nissan Almera..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 31, 2013 at 7:34 pm

Those hatchback were design by Japanese and European, and then the sedan was designed by Thai or Indian. 1st world design and 2nd world design can’t match at all. Peugeot 207 is another example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • dude, i agree with u..
      there are something weird with their ass.
      :D

• sudonano on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:50 pm

At this price, you have to say pretty well done for VW, compared too their recent (insane) price increases.

Actually, it is not too bad value. Just that it is sadly missing ESP. If it had ESP, this would seal the City and kiss it goodbye.

Baby steps to more (normal) prices. Good job VW MY.

Now VAG, go solve your DSG troubles or get them replaced with a ZF unit and I’d say they’d have class leaders, in most non-premium segments.

• Syameer on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Considering that it is a German-engineered car, I would say it is a value-for-money buy in that price range provided that you are well aware that some noob will mistaken you are driving a Saga. I wouldn’t say it is a wise choice, but considering the fact that there’re lack of confidence in locally-manufactured car, viz. the Suprima S which offers way better specs at a more reasonable price, or the Korean-compact, Kia Rio, hence the VW is a good alternative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • In all fairness, regardless of the specs on paper or the brand name, for this category, the top choice is still Vios, as reported by the monthly sales figures by MAA.

Very objective and unbiased.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
  • This will put more heat to TOYOTA salesman.
    B-segment war fair begin.
    The next, Jetta CKD may bid Altis 2014.
    C-segment on the way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • bluebird on Oct 31, 2013 at 7:46 pm

In USA, Ford Mustang basic model only costs under $30000,
    Without doing conversion, we can’t even get Saga SV at RM30000.
    Bearing in mind their earning power is much much higher than us.
    And please don’t ask me to move to USA,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
    • paparadzi on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Another “without conversion” comment? Try the figures for Taiwan NT, Japanese Yen or Indonesian Rupiah instead.

• Nicholas on Nov 01, 2013 at 2:17 am

dude… his argument will still be valid… you earn RM3,000 here are the same value as you earn NT30,000 there. And our Altis cost 106k cheapest while in Taiwan is NT646k cheapest (new model).

• kusochan on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:15 pm

their market is also much bigger..

• Heck iphone 5s cheaper in us less than 1k..here at least 2k..without converting money..lol

• thats true, in US after graduate from college u get the 1st job and can buy small house with c segmen car already, like altis of focus. Here postgraduate students salary still hard to pay house rental, plus almost impossible to buy c segmen car

• even cheaper if u live in UK?..even more cheaper if u live in mainland europe?…house there mostly below 300k…..lololol

• This will sure eat up suprima sale also. even tho its a b-seg and a sedan, but with extra 7k u can already afford a b seg german marque, den why not?
    suprima is overpriced anyway…because preve is overprice in the first place. If preve last time rm65k for full spec, maybe suprima sales today wont suffer so badly..

• Redwings on Oct 31, 2013 at 8:01 pm

Still with 5 years unlimited mileage warranty?

• ah beng mau tido,,, on Oct 31, 2013 at 8:12 pm

semua yang kat atas semua shit….guna bahasa malaysia baru nie negara maju.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 64
    • Jimmy on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:28 pm

I like your comment.
      Honda Odyssey Muktamad(in Jepun own word), no need to use Absolute.
      Toyota Harapan, not Wish.
      Proton Siapamau, not Suprima.
      Why not we call it Sekolah Tertinggi Kebangsaan Malaysia.
      Or Sekolah Tertinggi S Malaysia, since there is no substitute words for science.
      Don’t put our gear stick into R position, just to get your support in pilihanraya onmu.
      England has never imposed any international law to force us or US to learn English language. Only people with inferiority complex do. If you are good, people will learn from you, automatically.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • bangang on Nov 01, 2013 at 10:28 am

maju otak udang kau!

• Lee Son Tot on Nov 01, 2013 at 11:26 am

then if follow your wise word, it should be “semua yang kat atas semua tahi”.

• Korean Fan on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:05 pm

Tell me, in any way, interior and exterior this car is better than Suprima.

But Malaysian will usually worship foreign brand even though the interior of this car look so outdated and shitty.

Price wise, also lost to Suprima. Reliability? Someone dare to say VW better than proton?

But still Malaysian will kutuk proton and Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 36
    • Relax, why so butthurt, people have different taste on everything, it just that more people have european or japanese styling preference. But we still malaysian and most of us still eats tasty malaysian food. Problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Kepunden Parang Skeper on Nov 01, 2013 at 4:11 pm

proton salesman detected…hahaha!

• Heskey on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:56 pm

Janji ditepati!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • atong on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:43 pm

this car is totally craps….we want jetta ckd…not this saga lookalike with overprice and 10 years back technology…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
  • kadajawi on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:16 pm

What nonsense again in terms of color choice…

So we get… white, grey, grey, black, and red. 50 Shades of Grey wasn’t asking car makers to offer only different shades of grey! At least before there was white, grey, black, red, blue and brown.

• donnyck on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:48 pm

If u have no PASSION on driving , buy this car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • Contender on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:56 pm

wow, looks like those who bought the earlier CBU unit would be fuming mad …. 3-5k discount when first launched ! Now CKD with better specs ….. normally CKD will have less spec. …..

• I have actually tested Almera, Vios, City and this Sedan as I am looking for a car recently. All the other 3 cars doesnt even come close to the Polo Sedan in terms of handling. Almera is the worst, follow by Vios and City come close. Reason is because of the rigidity of the Polo Sedan chasis. I believe it is well reinforce and feel very solid during conering. Many people are thinking that soft suspension with smooth ride = good handling, pls get rid of these perception. Interior wise, the polo sedan come with soft plastic that you have to feel it yourself. Many ppl here are commenting without even getting near the real product. The cons for polo sedan would be its service and aftersale service and I believe it has the highest fuel consumption among all as well. But this is what you have to pay for if you want a safer and more comfy ride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Aiya… should have taken this rather than my Polo TSI..

Although the Turbo and torque feels so good, but now I feel the need for space..

VW will stay as number 1 conti car in msia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Fuel Cell Phone on Nov 01, 2013 at 3:31 am

Need For Speed vs Need For Space… I like hehehe

• Younger generation these days often make this mistake.They tend to buy car that they want, not the car that they need.

• Hamster on Nov 01, 2013 at 12:25 am

I have already test drive both vios and polo sedan…
    The polo sedan is underpowered and heavier thus it is impossible to be a vios killer because vios is lighter than the polo sedan. But I must agree that it handles better than the vios since it is a continental car and also more stable than a vios lahhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • For me polo sedan is not underpowered but when u compare with vios, it accelerates faster at 1st n 2nd gear. But if cruising on highway, after 110km/h vios becomes really unstable.

• Kent. on Nov 01, 2013 at 8:11 am

Pity those who bought the cbu variant…higher price, lower spec. Thats how vgm treats their early adopter buyers

• Carut on Nov 01, 2013 at 8:17 am

Simply worth it than Suprima just top extra RM6K! HA HA HA Bye Bye Proton the fake European car!

• Polo sedan no VSC, traction control, only 4 airbags..etc. No turbo summore, only can eat vios.

• tict tac on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:01 am

Peugeot 208 is still a better bet…fully equipped with 6 airbags, esp, hill start, digital air con and that gorgeous screen…and most importantly its looks great….

• Neveragain on Nov 01, 2013 at 8:05 pm

Peugeot after 6 month you wish you never bought it. Compared Polo to Peugeot 208, the Peugeot is more expensive to maintain. And parts are hard to get. I have to wait 6 months just to get driveshafts for my 308. What kind of logic is that Naza?

• Martual on Nov 01, 2013 at 11:15 am

Simple question to ask ourselves before give extreme comment between Vios and Polo Sedan:
    1. Are we buying car to show off?
    2. Which area of the car do we prefer, interior, exterior or engine?

Overall I prefer Polo Sedan compare to Vios with ONLY ONE CONDITION, no engine problem.

• nah..very boring looking.. vios 2013 or fiesta looks much appealing.. look wise.. spect so so

• I have not tested the cars yet but I had viewed through comments and even had visited the showrooms. The important things are the services from sales to after sales services. Currently I am driving Nissan Grand Livina, I am also owner of 1992 Proton Saga 1.5S and 1997 Wira 1.5A. I m still looking for a better new car to drive in 2014. I expect a good comments and advise to make my choice right. If you do not know enough the car performance, please don’t mislead me. Thanks for those are giving a good comments. Looking forward to view more comments and comparison.

• azhar on Nov 01, 2013 at 11:41 am

that VOLKSWAGEN emblem on the rear ruined it all!..arghhhhhh

• Polo sedan service interval is 15000 km, could be the highest in the segment.

• Gary Yap on Nov 01, 2013 at 12:23 pm

It might not have the self imploding DCT, but other things will break in the Polo sedan, much more easily than Japanese brands. Ask JD Power.

• vroom vroom on Nov 01, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Wow, nice pictures especially the lenglui models standing next to the car ;D

• adrian on Nov 01, 2013 at 2:07 pm

“as well as Intelligent Crash Response System (ICRS), which automatically unlocks your doors and turns on the hazard lights in the event of an accident”

i wonder if its really useful in our country where robbers intentionally knock/ hit the victim’s car to make it look like an accident. so, in this case, knock the VW, and the car unlocks itself so robbers can hijack…?!?

• Kekeke on Nov 01, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Don’t make it complicated.
      Who dare to do this?
      Knock a Polo sedan, why not target for luxury car.
      Use what car to knock this Polo sedan. Vios? potong Saga?

• hocjey on Nov 01, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Come on proton bashers. Give justification on why it’s designed such way or you only know to bash proton and kimchi.

• Malaysia got Proton, German got Volkswagen.

• Walnut on Nov 01, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Specs aside, in terms of aesthetics alone (yes I’m shallow), don’t you agree that both the exterior and interior design is somewhat conservative and outdated? Even Peugeot is bringing a more modern look…
    The Polo Sedan is decently equipped, but visually there are many better looking cars in the market with similar specs…

• Boring looking car. Strictly for ‘uncles’.

• ohh sucks…now more ppl buying vw & the sc gonna be pack/full! now i need to book 1 mth in advance to get a slot to service my golf & touran….after this, 6 mths in advance!!! vw pls improve ur SC ….currently ur sc cant handle the current volume of the cars…now wt more vw on the road!! its gonna be a hassle….guys, pls get a vios or city instead, this polo is no good…really, a vios or any japs car are bttr…resale value is bttr…go buy vios/city…vvti/ivtec mah! most advance engine in the world….sucks ler like this, servicing gonna be hassle wt more vw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • razakoss on Nov 03, 2013 at 9:26 am

Polo sedan is the worst car you want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • By just looking at the safety specs will put down any potential buyers. They don’t even have EBD. Include all useless specs but not stability control? Total bullshit..

• To haha..by just looking at your post..i knew you know nothing about car and driving.even gave wrong fact.polo sedan do have EBD.dont act like know everything Ok?

• this is a piece of rubbish, new Vios is better than this in all aspect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • http://www.volkswagen.com.my/en/models/polo-sedan/gallery.html
    the price of 85,888* has a * behind and in page
    *The early bird program price for the 2014 Polo Sedan of RM85,888 is valid during the promotional period only.
    does it mean the price will go up after promotional period?

• the price only valid for year 2013, next year selling 89,999. Just visited show room this afternoon.

• This is a total rip off. I’ve already place my booking way before that and now they want to increase price. I’m thinking of canceling my order. This is a very bad business ethic practice by vw.

• I just visited the VW show room around 3pm today and surprisingly few customers visit the show room during this off peak hour. The sales agent let me test drive the 2013 polo sedan, the car feel very light and easy to drive, the suspension also nicely handle the uneven road,should be good for everyday car. what I don’t like are the road noise and the rear view mirror is very tiny!. However The Arm rest is good and very comfortable.I love the angle can be adjust. I think the real buyer will love this car.

• Nett Selling Price is effective from 1st November 2013. Nett Selling Price is inclusive of import & excise duties and sales tax.
    2) The launch price of RM85,888 is valid during the promotional period only.

dont fool peopel lah………..90k ……better buy honda city………..

• Elimo on Feb 11, 2014 at 6:45 pm

I drove a Polo last week from Munich to Berlin (about 600KM)..it is an amazing car although I got 1.2 engine..handling is superb and safety features are remarkable..my top speed was 171km/h. It does a good job without any vibrations..cruise control is funtastic..overall this is a serious car…I will get a Polo either sedan or hatchback when I get back for good!

• Candy White on Feb 12, 2014 at 12:56 pm

I got my PS for a month plus now. The fatct that the car is heavy, which contributes greatly to it’s remarkable stability on road esspecially cornerings, its acceleration is well compensated by the S mode. While normal D gear will give a smooth ride without any jerk and it’s really smooth and quiet. With the aircond off, sometimes I dont even realize the engine is on. My recent trip to KL from Johor i had an average of 5.4L/100km, and before that full tank traveled 805km from Kuantan to KL and back to Kemaman. Overall I have felt the car has given back every penny spent, with bonus – armrest, and knowing the next service is one year away. **This is from a month of daily driving not based on a single 10 minutes session of test drive.

• Candy White on Feb 12, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Anywhere to get the stastistics of how many units sold?

• I would prefer this Polo sedan anytime compare to ugly vios . I saw it on the road , it looks like a full size car and nice looking. Folks buy a car that you like , not the car ugly car , just because someone say so . For instance , now people say Hyundai Sonata is a good car, and not long ago the same people said Hyundai was a very lousy car, and now they say Honda is not a good car etc . this because once the salesmen of Honda sometimes back are now the salesman of Hyundai , understand what I am trying to say? Go and buy the car that you like . go and do the research on the internet, in the US market(the largest market)

• L&G, I was considering to buy a Polo Sedan. i took it for a test drive and really liked it. However i brought up this matter with my foreman. He told me that the VWs have an issue whereby if the car is taken on long distances, the eng oil drops even if your service still has some kms to go. If you didn’t check the eng oil levels in between your service intervals which is 15k, the VW service people blame the customer for not doing so. Anybody faced this issue? I’m real serious about the purchase so I will be eternally grateful for your feedback. TQ.

• just drive 2014 HC & 2013 polo sedan with my elder brother yesterday. i thought i’ll be impressed by HC at first, but unfortunately i didnt feel impressed driving it, more likely an awkward feeling. not until my brother told me to test drive the PS @ glemarie (only a last minute thought to try it) &i t was such a whole new experience driving it. i was not really liking the outside look of PS but driving it was such a satisfaction for me. i feel more comfirtable & confident driving it more than HC. hopefully all the -ve thoughts & comments i’ve been hearing on its service or what so ever all these while are so not true… (my brother drove P2, Proton, Mits,H & T before this & was engineer in automobile co. before this)

• my wife want buy new VW.. please advise me VW ok or not? bcoz i pay this car huhuhu… and i need to know after 1 year this car have problem?

• just booked a PS yesterday after a session of unplanned test drive at jalan ampang. PS was never in my list to be honest. those that make it into my list were the new city, new vios, almeera, suprima. but then i had to go and test drive this PS and suddenly it was on top of my list. i think that should sums it all.

• Michael Eng on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:37 pm

GOOD LUCK, I mean, you really need luck for own a VW car. For example, don’t miss the service mileage + bad luck…..

• caraumun on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:32 pm

I heard there is discount RM199 for VW… is this model included?

• caraumun on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:32 pm

I heard there is discount RM199 for VW… is this model included?

• Michael on Jul 08, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Yes, but if you buy then you gonna in HELL at least for 8 years after 1st year in heaven. Good luck.