Kia Picanto price confirmed: RM54,888 to RM59,888

Kia Picanto Malaysia-20

We’ve given you a roadshow preview, the local specs and a test drive report of the new Kia Picanto, but there’s one piece left in the jigsaw – the price, which has finally been given the green light by the government.

It is now confirmed that the Kia Picanto starts from RM54,888 for the manual and RM59,888 for the automatic, both OTR with insurance. The final figures are a pleasant surprise and are below the estimated prices of below RM60k for the M/T to around RM64k for the A/T.

The spec list is long for a car of this size. Six airbags (dual front, side, curtain) and ESP are standard on this Euro NCAP four-star car. Also included are four disc brakes, ISOFIX anchor points for child seats, four-sensor rear parking assist, auto headlamps, projector headlamps with manual levelling, LED daytime running lights, electric folding side mirrors, trip computer and factory audio with AUX/USB.

Kia Picanto Malaysia-56

The above is across the board. The A/T variant adds on 15-inch alloys (14 on M/T), chrome door handles, front fog lamps, Supervision cluster meter, two extra speakers (total six), steering controls and Bluetooth for the stereo, leather wrapped steering and keyless entry with push start button.

Other smaller additions on the A/T include a sunglasses box, illumination for the cup holders and a large driver’s vanity mirror with LED illumination.

The Picanto is powered by a 1.2 litre Kappa engine with 87 PS and 120 Nm of torque. The four-cylinder CVVT unit is paired to either a five-speed manual gearbox or a four-speed automatic. The first 1,000 customers to book or register the Picanto by the end of November 2013 will be entitled to complimentary IM4U number plates.

Read our test drive report of the Picanto with full gallery here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bungkus la Myvi…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 180 Thumb down 5
    • theanswer on Oct 31, 2013 at 3:43 pm

wake up call for myvi. either lower the price or buck up with more safety spec.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 0
      • Sam Hilux on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 169
        • F U Sam Hilux on Nov 01, 2013 at 12:29 am

please utilize our brain la SH, always praised overprice T in any post, stop it already. your obsessed blinded you from any better options. promote your ‘god’ in other site la wey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 01, 2013 at 2:23 pm

I will soon see this car in my yard. Those who buy kimchi, Mazda and Proton are usually losers in life. They just lose money all the time in everything they do. My yard is full of Mazda CX5, Kia and Preves going for half the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
          • They may be losers in life,but i bet those driving Toyotas are dead ._.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • How come picanto or rio that hav great spec can price within thai make model? Picanto n rio is cbu fr korea rite? Their price include 30% imp tax + xx% excise + 10% Sales tax..where thai model oni xx% excise + 10% sales tax

• ORLY? on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Last time say Suzuki Alto and Mitsubishi Mirage is Myvi killer, in the end they both die first.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 9
    • kadajawa on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Bungkus la Suprima…oh waittt Proton will bring Suprima SV soon…RM50K night market cheap sale spec kosong Mari Mari Mari Beli Hoiiii Mari Mari Beli Oiii Oiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 9
    • If only Mitsubishi can price its Attrage within this price bracket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • This thing is cheap but at least is a import car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • P1 and P2 r cheap and low quality! close shop is the only way u can do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
    • komarad on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:05 am

manual also have six airbags n 4 disc brakes…this is gooooodddd…

• buckzz on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:08 pm

well, its good this picanto use 4 cylinders engine.

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 31, 2013 at 3:10 pm

That price is in the Myvi territory. Does MITI don’t want to protect P2 anymore? With 6 airbags and ESP, this is a goodbye for Myvi..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 12
    • that wat u think which is not true…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 43
      • kadajawa on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:09 pm

MITI not protect Proton and Perodua too? Good news! MITI should not mess with car market since day one lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 34
    • tiadaid on Oct 31, 2013 at 3:27 pm

All the better! MyVi is nothing more than an overpriced tin kosong masquerading behind the so call “Malaysian Toyota” badge.

inb4 Maserati/Sam Loo/SamShowedMeTheHilux saying Kimchi cars are lousy & Toyota is the king of the world

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Hilux on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Yes Toyota is the King of Reliable Cars and Resale Value of the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 80
        • Low Budget on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Toyota may be ‘king’ in many countries but definitely not in Boleh Land. Many fools think that they are buying a Toyota when they bought a MyVi, hey, this is nothing more than ‘Syiok Sendiri’ for MyVi ain’t no Toyota. MyVi sales will be in the stagnant teritory with other brands now price in the MyVi’s region.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
          • Sam Looser on Nov 01, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Wrong…this jokers in myvi think they are driving lexus. I’ve seen so many of them put the L emblem on their pariah myvi already.

• victortan on Oct 31, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Sam, everytime I laugh when you come out to back your toyota or hilux.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Azrriq_1985 on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Everybody is talking like they know everything, my is shit, myvi is overprice…do the they know is bought of model, it is know as sirion, it is nothing to do with toyota, its daihatsu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • johnjjj on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:07 pm

no, actually daihatsu sirion rebadged the new myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • You need bit more studies dude.. Toyota is the grandparent of those Daihatsu & P2.

• wacha on Oct 31, 2013 at 3:34 pm

don worry..most malaysian buta spec..they prefer good looking p2 rather than high spec kia =P

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
    • I think Myvi will still continue to sell well cause people buying this car segment are mostly concerned about things like spare parts,servicing and reliability over safety. Most peoples perception is that korean cars arent reliable and parts are expensive. Oh also resale value.So until the local automotive industry and our economy improves, this is how most peoples mentality will be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
  • Bravo price! It can tapau i10 n mirage sales

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
  • Lindalum on Oct 31, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Value for money =) get mine soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Hilux on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:39 pm

and value for money also when you trade in to Mr Sam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 45
    • johnjjj on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:09 pm

probably u want to wait for 1000 order queue to finish first if u dont want the free im4u plate number

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Penang Playboy on Oct 31, 2013 at 3:21 pm

Finally a decent priced car. If only Cerato and Rio price are lower as well. :(

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:31 pm

If Rio offer a manual or replace with a 6-speed AT. 4-Speed are so yesterday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • CKD?

• CBU

• harris murad on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:16 pm

fuuhh! if ckd the price sure will make the market go crazy.. Myvi, Rio, 206 will face hard time woo..
      IMHO, thanks.

good job kia.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 31, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Most value for money car you can buy right now. The spec put much higher price car into shame and it came with a stick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • 1. The cheapest manual tranny car in Malaysia with stability control
    1. The cheapest auto tranny car in Malaysia with stability control

Period.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 0
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Cheapest car with 4 disc brake
      Cheapest car with DRL
      Cheapest car with 6-airbags
      Cheapest car to have everything.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
      • Jimmy on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:47 pm

KIA is going the right direction; hope other makes will follow. In future, when we see KIA, it is automatically ‘6-airbags + ESP’, no exception. Just like when we see Volvo, we think of a tank solid shell.
        VW should go the same direction in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
        • frenzyaustin on Oct 31, 2013 at 7:44 pm

VW is just selling badge here, nothing to shout about and all their ads just keep using German Engineering when their Polo Sedan is using a Toyota Gearbox (Aisin).

• Uncle Sam on Oct 31, 2013 at 3:33 pm

No RV!!!!!!!!!!!!! don’t be deceived by the price. It has no RV and only fools will get car without RV. For Smart people, get a Honda and Toyota.

What is the use of all those safety features when it won’t even activate? Trust me lar, this is Kimchi’s stuff, those gadget are just for show and will not work properly one. Just like their Korean stars, no substance and plastic. Fail FaIL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 89
    • Jimmy on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:49 pm

And you expect the King of cost-cutting to give you premium functioning safety specs despite ‘premium’ pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • showmetheranger on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Looks like toyota salemen are very worried of the korean’s offering even if there is no direct rival from their stable.
      Could only say about RV and calling other people stupid.
      Safety is not in the list anymore.
      New vios crash rating ????
      Pls compare with this Picanto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Lindalum on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:55 pm

if you look for money earning, you can buy a house. if you looks for investment, you can get some gold bars. BUT DEFINITELY NOT A CAR

• seancorr on Oct 31, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Keyless entry for a super mini…BMW 3 Series and Merc C Class also kalah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
  • Chris on Oct 31, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Living in Penang, narrow road narrow parking. Finally a decently priced small car that’s feature packed instead of a cheap small car.

Easier to park, easier for other people to park as well, and most importantly more room for cyclist to pass or passing cyclist.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
    • Sam Hilux on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Penang ppl normally choose Toyota lor.Come to Butterworth and BM if you don believe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 55
  • vee-oh on Oct 31, 2013 at 3:41 pm

cheaper than Mirage, higher specs than Mirage..wah!!spare parts cheap or expensive this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Tapau Myvi?

C’mon man don’t be joking, Myvi-1.5-lagi-best can easily tapau this little kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 93
    • typical myvi driver…
      always want tapau2 even bmw n merc…maybe ferrari n lambo?hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Colin Wong on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:14 pm

All these kimchi insinuations are really sour grapes. We all know what the Koreans are capable of. This car packs such a positioning wallop that I think it will really raise the game in the local market.

6 airbags? Well done!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • myvi cant even compete against the picanto’s safety feature which is in viva’s class..pathetic Perodua..this really shows how low the mentality of Perodua’s managements are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • calcutta on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:38 pm

until the lagi best lost traction in a corner and crash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • showmetheranger on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:08 pm

The price is actually lower than anticipated. Bravo.
    Tapau or not, simply the best offering under 60K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Yessss.. kill myvi.. kill..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Sparcov on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:09 pm

Myvi is B segment?
    Kia is A segment

Again

like comparing Preve with Vios :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • If you see the car by yourself, the interior is spacious & comparable to myvi.

No big difference in terms of interior space for both cars.

• Sparcov on Nov 01, 2013 at 8:34 am

Yes, I have seen this car in middle east before. Generally it looks great and I do agree that the Kia picanto is the well ahead myvi in terms of quality, material used and design.

By knowing typical Malaysian car buyer, the most important to consider is the running cost, resale value plus part replacement cost. I cannot justify whether the Kia will be much more expensive to maintain compare to a myvi.

But historically, Korean car are expensive to maintain and this is the facts for the previous model of Kia Picanto as well as the Hyundai Atos and I10.

Due to the number of car on the road, I will place my bet on a more common model on the road. Unless, we don’t want to do that, there’s always plenty of choice in the market.

the CKD korean car really need to improve the build up quality.

A bit of history comparing my previous Naza Citra with Kia Carens. Although you can see a huge price different, the quality is the thing we need to sacrifice.

• Low Budget on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:16 pm

OK, MyVi is classify as B segment but it hardly qualifies as one. No boot and also smallish.

• Takatohou on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:10 pm

It is priced so reasonable with manual transmission option. Normally, all the safety features will be omitted for base manual version as compared to automatic version. Kia Picanto for manual transmission still maintain those important safety features and just omit some accessories kits instead. Good choice for manual transmission drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • superdriver on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Can’t help falling in love with this car for that price. Feels like Elvis singing “Can’t help falling in love” to woo a girl. After this car , my dream car is S15 Silvia…haiz, them gurlz just like to my break heart.

• wow…. RM55k…
    Is this a national car? So cheap 1… skip car tax ar? Why vios so expensive 1 ??? Haih… when Toyota starts to learn to offer low price tag car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 31, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Built in Malaysia, logically can consider as Malaysian car.

• superdriver on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Can’t help falling in love with this car for that price. Feels like Elvis singing “Can’t help falling in love” to woo a girl. After this car , my dream car is S15 Silvia…haiz, them gurlz just like to break my heart….so in love can even talk straight now.

• sudonano on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:21 pm

This just drives the nail straight into the Myvi. Perodua must be shitting bricks now. GG Myvi. hello picanto.

• wahaha on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:21 pm

The steering looks funny
    huhuhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • what about fuel consumption?

• iluvkimchi on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:34 pm

If only kia seratus k is cheap like this

• Poor Malaysian on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Come on guys, stop comparing Picanto with Myvi. Myvi is nothing but a rebadged Toyota Passo (removed certain features, left body shape but not engine). After all, this is an import car! CBU! Think of excise tax before comparing it with local cars. I am “happy” to be a Malaysian.

• fknbz on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:40 pm

wondering where is the high beam light :/

• Lontai on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:27 pm

The high beam light is integrated with the main beam light, just like cars with complex-reflector headlamp such as Honda City and 1st gen Myvi, except that this one is of projector type. Most new Mercedes use this type of arrangement too.

• 2 cents, shouldn’t it be in Viva < Picanto/i10/Mirage < Myvi < Rio < Fiesta?

If you could not have enough review, and purely pictures and write-ups from PaulTan, YouTube "Kia Picanto hatchback review – CarBuyer"

• not sure why manual still lose out on some spec like front fog lamps, Supervision cluster meter, two extra speakers (total six), steering controls and Bluetooth for the stereo, leather wrapped steering and keyless entry with push start button.

I want the manual but the auto has the extra specs. 1.2 auto is not what I want……

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Picanto is just a bit smaller than Myvi, but the spec is impressive, with 5 year unlimited mileage warranty too! 6 airbags, ESC, ABS, Brake Assist System (BAS), Traction Control System (TCS), Hill-Start Assist Control (HAC), Speed Sensing Auto Door Lock and Impact Sensing Auto Door Unlock….
    bye bye Myvi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Hope this one doesn’t have delivery problem like Kia Rio, in which we see very little on the road but the waiting period is >5 months!

• This is indeed a good competitor to P2, which is currently top seller in Malaysia and stay in comfort zone too long by just selling 3 model now and no innovation at all. They sit comfortably until another imapact from other competitor then need rescue from rakyat’s money.

• gdntsk on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Saranghae-yo Picanto!

• for those whose interested with this car can pm me. I m at Kuching Branch Sarawak.

• hasif on Dec 07, 2013 at 9:29 pm

im in bintulu, just wondering how much time to wait to get one of this picanto?

• Maserati on Oct 31, 2013 at 7:29 pm

This car is a disaster in the making.

From the outlook, specs, interior design, theres nothing outstanding about it and yet Naza has the courage to charge such a premium price for a milo tin car

Come on Naza, Malaysians are not stupid. Stop doing these, are you trying to increase the rate of death in case of accident?

Unbelievable. Malaysians pls stay away from this and get a Mazda or VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 87
    • gdntsk on Oct 31, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Mr Maserati the Korean car basher, this car will never be a milo tin bcoz of the EURO NCAP 4-star rating. On another note, my family has a 10 years old Atos (1.0 MT) which still gives very good fuel economy (RM50 per week on average in city driving conditions) provided that it isn’t worked out to the max. Surely the Picanto will be a fuel saver while driving in the city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • victortan on Oct 31, 2013 at 8:31 pm

Seriously? Did you read the article? How milo tin this is hen it has Euro Ncap 4star?
      There are many more expensive cars offer less features and safety aspects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • F u maserati go built ur own car.. get out of here. Talking no brain.. malysian nt stupid bt u do.. very riduculously indeed.. GTH..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Certain comments can just show us that you bashed and are bashing blindly.
      Give fair comments and people will trust your future comments.

• Maserati on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:35 am

Everyone is hating me for being blunt, but without substantiation.

Lets have a quick look on the car exterior

The chassis looks exactly like the old picanto which already is an abortion of a design, even a 10 year old myvi looks better and more pleasing to the eyes

The interior, i wont go too much details but a quick look at the seats looks like someone has urinated all over the place, which is likely to be the case if u r the owner of the car and being too embarrassed to drive this toycar out in the public

Safety wise, it doesn’t matter how many stars u get, for a car this size, its a disaster waiting to happen. no amount of airbags or electronic safety features will help u.

fuel consumption, for a car this size to consume as much fuel as a continental 2.0 engine its laughable. looks like they just manage to find the design of their engine from their old warehouse 10 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 44
        • Penang Playboy on Nov 01, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Maserati,

Haha, your review is always so funny. All the items you mentioned above is based on your very own narrow minded view and no substance or valid backing to it. Well, being a clown you are, no one will ever take you seriously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Great specs for the price range. Btw am I the only one who noticed the awkwardly positioned hazard lights button? It looks horrible in the middle of the dash. Others will do just fine ;)

• autodriver on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:34 pm

I saw this new Picanto in showroom last 2 weeks. I like the build quality particularly. The furnishing of the interior is superior compared to other rivals in its segment.

Space isn’t as big as Myvi, so for those who looking for space Picanto not fit your requirement. If space isn’t main concern, I don’t find any reason to bash this car. Keyless push start, auto headlight, 6 airbags and most important is it comes with ESP as STANDARD and selling at RM59,888.00.

I am owner of Forte and I think Kia is setting high spec for any of its models. More competition bring more benefit to consumer like you and me. I don’t care Korean or Japanese, as long as they are battling and at the end consumer get advantages.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Looser on Nov 01, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Exactly. That is what ppl like maserati n sam hilux gang fail to realise. Keep on harping on same RV shit which make ppl sick.
      If tomorrow toyota offer 6 airbag and VSC in their vios at current price I will be the 1st to buy. BUt we all know that will never happen as ppl like sam loo continue to deceive the ppl and toyota can continue shortchanging consumers as they still got lots of blind supporters buying their empty junk.

• OMG that’s hard to believe ! I thought it would be more expensive for sure. o.O

I’m considering buying this Picanto now… but I wanna wait and see how the Proton GSC turns out first. :] I can’t stand driving in my current old Saga, which doesn’t have ABS or even a driver’s airbag. -__-

• Still wanna wait for a Proton junk crap! Move on buy something else lah! Stupid fool you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Denaihati on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:15 pm

from your test drive review “The engine may be working hard, but you hear and feel very little of it, much less than in a Myvi, Vios or City”. not bad. other safety, with 6 air bag and 4 dics brake make it step ahead.

• exxeltx on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Absolutely unbelievable…. 6airbags for this small car plus esc, hill asist? Speechless… Shame on u toyota honda…. Oh ya perodua also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • Shame on Proton also lah. Kalau berani put that all in Saga FLX at RM60K too let’s see which fools gonna buy that crap!

• I was amazed even though with super high tax from government, it still manage to same prize with Myvi but with lots of safety and gadget. The rear brake disk is priceless.

• victortan on Nov 01, 2013 at 1:03 am

hope that the new saga and myvi will come out the better spec than this picanto at lower price…

may be in my dream… but I think malaysian deserve it…

• Joe Jackson on Nov 01, 2013 at 4:40 am

What an unbelievable price and fantastic spec! Finally, a car company that cares about safety AND offers the same safety features in the base model too. Hats off Kia, I am speechless. All the other makes had better wake up and take note, this is how you do it.

• Roy Mustang on Nov 01, 2013 at 8:15 am

I’m sure after seeing this, viva will be insanely cheap and myvi will also add safety features on par with this picanto.

• Overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • victortan on Nov 01, 2013 at 11:58 am

how it is overpriced?
      Please elaborate more.

• I think this person know nothing about car…only want to find cheap car…know nothing about safety features, etc. what a shame

• totti on Nov 01, 2013 at 10:26 am

kia picanto 1.2 kappa engine selling at RM 59K and Myvi 1.3 DVVT engine at RM 46K. Save the RM 13K + interest = RM 16K. Only stupid guys will get a Kia if you compared to big interior Myvi.

Hyundai 1.2 kappa engine is a failure (pricing) and continue with this Kia.

Ask the Ex – kia picanto Owner how much they lost at RV after 2 or 3 years,the high spare part cost and difficult to get parts?

This car should price below RM 45 K if want to complete with Myvi. Otherwise, just another option for buyer.

To justify the above statement, look at all the Kia & hyundai car (sonata/Tusan/forte/elantra…etc). despite having the price advantage for B/C/D segment of car, they are no match for T/H/N.

DDVT is a bullet proof engine as VVTI. This 1.2 kappa nowhere near them. Myvi spacious interior, cheap Parts and parts availability throughout all the tyre shop is a plus points to get a myvi as compared to Kia Picanto.

If want to buy this car, wait for a big discount at RM 10K or get a second hand. This car will sell at RM 30K after a year or 2.

Naza has the big margin to give discount (AP mah) if sale is bad. During discount, your 2nd hand value will drop like a rocket. Just go and check the Hyundai i10 and you should get the answer on resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
    • victortan on Nov 01, 2013 at 2:58 pm

fair point though, but IMO the price gap is due to the extra specs and features.

Also, i don’t think that DVVT is bulletproof as u said. it is just how well u maintain it makes it last longer.

And the most problematic arse pain I have ever encounter for MYVI is the transmission and OD on/off issue. I saw my friend getting older and older because he have to rush to the service centre every 2-3 months.

• showmetheranger on Nov 01, 2013 at 6:46 pm

4 Star euro Ncap is a fact, not hearsay or Asean crash rating.
      That is how good the car is.
      It is a global model and not lower standard
      Asean model.
      In other part of the world, especially T, they offer different model/ spec for the consumers?
      Why? Because we worship substandard products.

• cheapcar on Nov 01, 2013 at 11:15 am

WE LOVE BN…hahaha Pr cybertroopers come attack my opinion now…!!!!!! Easy money easy money…

Reduce car car price…but how about accessories n tyre shop
    Let see…
    Who is profiteer…
    Blame g or businessman

• Nice Picanto on Nov 01, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Nissan should have re-announce this car as the new national car to mock on Perodua. I’ll take this over the sampan everytime. EVERYTIME.

• angela on Nov 01, 2013 at 1:33 pm

have cheap car

• cheapcar on Nov 01, 2013 at 6:14 pm

WOW!!!!
    People here talk on new Kia but Penang government bought new Camry….

RAKYAT always “kena kencing”

Paultan no news about Penang new fleet…???
    Please dont double standard….haha…
    I WAITING THAT NEWS…all about car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 01, 2013 at 6:31 pm

Stale news, friend

http://paultan.org/2013/08/21/penang-state-govt-toyota-camry-official-car/

• benzs on Nov 01, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Not here to bash. My question is the car parts. My friend own previous gen for 4 years. His main concern as mention earlier. Even price is good n car build is good, my doubt is spare parts. I will say this kind of looks is really nice. But hardly find parts if issue arise really let me down. Owning local car will be easier to accomodate with parts. But local quality compare to this little kimchi, all I can say is kimchi quality improved.

• always wanted this to be 50k now that it is, its going to KILL the local companies

• Lontai on Nov 04, 2013 at 10:02 am

Kia Picanto official launching will be on November 6th. – info from Kia Melaka branch.

• UrAverageDriver on Nov 04, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Hi..i’m new to this..juz wanna share my own experience, pre-ordered the Kia Picanto 1.2 AT..hopefully will get it real soon..test drove it, was nice, fun, cheeky & elegant in it’s own way…class A with almost or more than what a class B can offer..try it out…we’ll try to share more later when d car arrives :)

• whitegoh on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Hi, do share us the driving experience you had after owing this car!

• ASENG on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:44 pm

FINALLY DEAD SIGN FOR ALL NATIONAL CAR..LOW PRICE GOOD QUALITY GO GO KIA

• Ray Teo on Feb 17, 2014 at 12:15 am

Dun need to bash… Time will tell sushi car already outdated kimchi is new in technology,everything got pro n con. 1 thing is fact SUSHI is overpriced, this is true whatever u like it or not

• SEAN LEE on Mar 14, 2014 at 3:27 pm

I driving 1 and the review is the car is good. not much to complaint about but take into consideration, the service center need a great deed of improvement. The major complaint always after sales service, the feedback is quit upsetting from major KIA owner. As a smart motor vechicle consumer, will you bough a product and get a feedback is “IS NOT A MANUFACTORING DEFAUL” and end of story??

• Think farther on Apr 17, 2014 at 12:19 pm

kia is expensive for repairs/maintenance. you will cry once it end in workshop forking out quarter or half of your monthluy salary to pay for it

• just ordered one yesterday cant wait for it, delivery is in 2 days, friend has been using one for 5 months he gets very good gas millage around 18km/L within kl, took it for a test drive no sense of speed until around 130 pretty impressive for a small city car