Proton Suprima S launched in Indonesia – Premium variant only, priced at Rp 275 million

proton-suprima-s-launch-indonesia

The Proton Suprima S has launched in Indonesia, its first export market since its Malaysian launch in August. Like the Preve, which launched there in June, the hatchback is available in the country solely in Premium trim, with the same specs as the Malaysian Premium variant.

As such, features include 17-inch seven-spoke wheels, Proton’s seven-inch Android-based touch-screen system with navigation, rear LED light guide, DRLs, hill-hold assist, and park assist with front parking sensors. There are six airbags, ABS and ESC with traction control, while inside there are leather seats, engine start button, shift paddles and cruise control.

“With the introduction of the Suprima S in Indonesia as Proton’s new star, we hope to capture the hearts and minds of car lovers and convince the Indonesian public that Proton remains committed in meeting the demands of customers and to continue producing a variety of products that offer driving enjoyment and satisfaction – and most importantly, cars that are safe, of high quality and value-for-money,” said COO Hisham Othman.

The Proton Suprima S costs 275 million rupiah (approx RM77k), making it cheaper than the Preve, which retails for 285 million rupiah (approx RM80k), on-the-road with insurance. Fire Red, Tranquility Black, Solid White, Genetic Silver and Atlantic Blue body colours are available. Also introduced at the launch was a new variant of the popular Proton Exora MPV, called the Exora Star FL, which gains new front and rear bumpers and lamps.

Other overseas destinations for Proton’s newest hatchback, as revealed in our interview with deputy CEO Datuk Lukman Ibrahim, include Thailand, Australia, the UK and South Africa. See our string of Proton Suprima S-related posts – including our comprehensive reviewhere.

Prices converted at time of publishing.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• _xXx_ on Oct 31, 2013 at 12:41 pm

IDR275M=MYR77k. So it’s RM3k cheaper. WTH is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
    • preve there much higher though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Proton Half Price in Arab on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:36 am

Have you ever wondered why ALL the models in the Proton line are sold for half the price to wealthy Arabs in Dubai, UAE and Arab countries? Their own people in Malaysia, Proton don’t care in Malaysia to give cheaper price but Proton supports wealthy Arabs. Go and do a google search, every single model is sold for HALF the price to weathy Arabs in the whole of Saudi Arabia and UAE. We all know Saudi people earn far more than any Malaysian earns in Malaysia. Even a nurse in Saudi Arab earns RM20,000 per month. Yet the Rakyat of Malaysia and Proton want to kiss the Arabs and worship them by selling our cars for half the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • _xXx_ on Nov 01, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Doesn’t make sense. Why would wealthy Arabs want to drive Proton cars? Who would care whether the cars are sold at 1/2 price or not?

• So what, only wealthy arabs buy cars? Or you want to say all Arab people are rich enough to buy luxury cars? Go google, there are still proton cars running there. LOL

• don’t be stupid la. We all know Protons here are taxed heavily by the govt also. We all know Saudi Arabia have cheapass taxes. Therefore it is not Proton’s fault that Saudi prices are very cheap.

Jangan bangkitkan isu lama la. What does Proton have to do with our salaries? Complain to govt/your boss la, bukan Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Alifz on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Do you know that all car sold in Malaysia need to pay excise duty including P1 and P2?

• K Singh on Nov 01, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Hello Dato Lukman,
        All our Proton cars are sold for nearly half the price in Saudi Arabia and the whole of UAE. Why are we subsidizing rich Arabs? They earn far more than the average Malaysian. We are Malaysians. Your own citizen. You should be selling to us cheap. Charity begins at home. Give first to your own people, and then, if there is ample, we can give to the whole world.

If you are selling so cheap to rich Arabs, you must be making a profit. Otherwise no business will sell at a lost. You have been selling in UAE for years, so trying to penetrate foreign markets at a loss should have been over long long time ago. If you are selling it at a loss still, you have to answer not only to your shareholders but also to every Malaysian because it is our tax payers money that is used to protect Proton. The hundreds of millions of ringgit in grants the government gives you also comes from our taxpayers pockets.

So why are we selling our Proton cars so cheap overseas? The Arabs GDP per capita ie the earning capacity of each Arabs is many times more than the average Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • This is year 2013 i am shocked to read such comment. I believe you never pay any tax and you believe proton control the tax. lol

• Pontiac on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Its rm 79,750 la mangkok

• Sampah! not even worth 1 sen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 48
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 01, 2013 at 2:28 pm

You are right. Proton is sampah. Only poor people buy this car. Upgrade your lives and buy a Toyota, much better quality and better RV. Don’t be a loser in life and still buy Proton. Most Proton buyers normally just upgraded their lives from motorbike to car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
        • hahaha on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Malaysia’s Ministers also pakai Proton Perdana maa..don’t judge people by their car. Apadehal…kereta bukannya boleh bawak ke lubang kubor pun!! COCKY!

• piss off on Jan 25, 2014 at 1:50 pm

that is why your comment got sooooooooooooooooooooo many dislike

• HOW ABOUT EAST MALAYSIA? EVEN MORE EXPESIVE…WHERE IS THE 1MALAYSIA?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • pirlo on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:24 pm

all car sold in east malaysia are expensive. everyone knows that. proton kat shah alam, perodua kat rawang, vw and merc kat pekan, toyota kat shah alam, honda kat melaka, naza kat gurun. logistic?

• Joe Radzif on Nov 01, 2013 at 8:49 am

How about the logistic to Indon?

• pirlo on Nov 01, 2013 at 3:50 pm

how about indonesian vehicle tax structure?

• o.k..if u say so…then how about the oil n gas? did ppl at Swk & Sbh got special price? did u really understand, what is 1 Malaysia means? means we as a rakyat Malaysia we should be in equal on everything ma…if sbh n swk is diff. country then I got nothing to say la..same country man..that the point lo even after the tax the car still cheaper the ppl. buy at sbh n swk..that is my point man…is that clear for u?

• And pls. told me that Jarkarta, Indonesia is more near to Sabah N Sarawak ya…

• And pls. don’t telling me that Jakarta are more near, compare to Sabah n Sarawak..ya…

• pls. pirlo think twice before say something ya..we r under one roof ya..

• I haven’t been to Indonesia but is Rp5 million alot? Because that is the price difference between the Preve(still with 4 airbags) and this…..so why is it more expensive here again compared with our local Preve?

Anyways, 7 units of Preve was sold during the launching ceremony in Indonesia, that is a very micro number compared with the possibilities(cited because of the unknown brand the pricing), but proton is by all means not aiming for a high number(if I am not mistaken, about 200 units a year) But at least they are optimistic. Do hope the Suprima sells.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawa on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Macam lah so exclusive like exotic Alfa Romeo or Maserati only care to sell few units. Delusional like hell!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • If u read in*** news portal market share for hatch in garuda oni 1-1.5% which translate to 400-500 unit annually..

• Still no left hand drive Proton for continental Europe? Where cheap cars like Dacia sell like pisang goreng?

Is it so difficult to design a LHD car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Roy Mustang on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Its not hard to design LHD car actually. But to design with minimal manufacturing cost increase compared to RHD is the main concern.

Deswai proton car now all put signal stick on left side.

• Personally, it would be a loss if they build a LHD car if the market for the RHD car is no good. I’m not saying that this car is no good. It’s really good for the kind of price that they have to offer. But you must remember, the EU regulations of emission test, crash test (EURONCAP, not ANCAP), redesigning RHD dash to a LHD, engine position layout is different from RHD. These are among a few criteria that any car manufacturer should consider. Proton is not known in EU, so they have to study the market trend as well. Also, they should do something with the fuel consumption. It’s kinda bad, but not too bad. Could have improve the fuel efficiency, as EU would buy fuel saving cars.

• Proton already have many LHD units made la. There’s some Suprima mules running around EU. They still wanna test and retune the ECU/TCU. Driving style is very different there. Not to mention the super cold freezing temperatures. Gotta train those international staff/technicians also……..

• So how much is it in Ringgit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • komarad on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:15 pm

that’ll will be RM77k…ok la tu..

• just worked it out – about RM78k.

• kadajawi on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Indonesians have Toyota at a cheap price. Like Thailand, the Altis is about RM75,000. The Honda Civic is about RM75,000 too. Same price as Thailand. Which Indonesian in their right mind will buy a Proton when they can buy an Altis or Civic much cheaper?

Ooops, are we Malaysians being cheated? We are paying RM120k for the Altis and RM115 for the Civic.

Money goes to BN to buy more voters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 60
    • armandd on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Cheated? YES, by Toyota and Honda Malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
      • I believe T and H Malaysia are not really keen to sell their cars as per current price. They and others are “forced”.

• I call that BS. If that’s so, why Kia can sell new Picanto with full specs + tons of airbags at Myvi prices? Kia Cerato at Inspira prices? Not to mention China cars….

T and H love to suck our money. But Malaysians are so blind, always point fingers at govt.

• kadajawa on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:57 pm

RM90K Preve in Indonesia…”better buy Vios” the Indonesian buyers said…or why settle for less, just get Altis or Civic there lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • Altis lousy suspension
        Civic lousy sohc engine
        Vios lousy spec

Preve or suprima is the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • nzainN on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:22 pm

SEEMS LIKE NOT SELLING WELL HERE IN MALAYSIA…JUZ SAW FEW OF IT…FOR ME SUPRIMA IS A NICE CAR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
    • Maybe because other future owner are still waiting for their cars to be delivered. I’ve seen quite a few already on the road. Blue and White, surely without Test Drive Unit sticker on its doors.

• smokey on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:35 pm

why is it cheaper than preve, when the suprima > preve??

• Jason on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:36 pm

I not even seeing any Suprima S OTR since it launched!!! whatabout talking to oversea market??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
    • dah ko duduk depan pc,dlm gua..memang la xnampak.
      keybodworior!boo!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Many of them already running wild in my village area in Rembau. Yes, in a freaking village.

Close your PC and get a life la.

• Sam Loo on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Potong, we arefed up to see this, putting efforts to sell this piece of crap & junk for 25 years, which will not make money, but sucking rakyat’s money.
    Spend this money on those Bertam victims, which is much more meaningful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 48
  • Uih? Same price in bolehland? So means we are no diff with other country? Yeah.. gud job.. if u knw wat i mean..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • congrats proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • junjun on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:47 pm

ayoo…kenapa tidak masuk thailand dulu ma, thailand punya market lg bagui punya ma..sana indo byk guna mpv punya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • kadajawi on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Proton has always been a failure overseas. They never learn their lesson. So much of stock is wasted every year and because nobody buys, after while, they sell at rock bottom prices ie 70% off. This happened in the UK.

So, instead of wasting money trying to show the world you are happeneing, save money and reduce your car prices to your own Malaysians. Every single market you fail big time lah. In Malaysia, you laku because MITI controls the prices of other non national cars. So, people got no choice because you are the cheapest.

Better Proton give we Malaysians cheaper cars, Hundreds of millions are spent overseas to maintain dunggus who man branches that see ZERO people walking in. All those dunggus are given luxurious apartments to stay, good remuneration package ie even branch manager in the UK get about 6000 pounds per month.

You better save the money, channel it to Malaysia and give Malaysians cheaper cars. The Saga can be sold for RM25k if this is done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 36
    • kadajawa on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Still cannot sell give free lah to everybody! Charity to all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • What kind of pessimist are you?

also, you’re wrong. The only thing that stopped Europeans from buying Protons is the lack of introduction and marketing of new models and lack of new cleaner engines. Exora CFE, Preve and Suprima still not introduced there (along with CFE engine which is Euro 5)

Europeans need cheap affordable cars. They have emissions tax, more taxes blablabla, and fuel prices that made running costs very expensive. They can buy fancy cars, but many/average Europeans can only afford to run small Toyotas, MGs, small Fords, small diesel VWs, and small Vauxhalls in the long run.. Mini also still considered luxury.

Proton has a massive advantage/potential there. We already know Proton sell cars with prices one segment lower compared to other brands, and with Euro 5 CFE, they will have low running costs/taxes. Protons also still using old-fashioned, non-integrated parts, which made DIY part replacements very easy (Europeans love fixing cars themselves, coz labour costs there is freaking expensive, even for minor service!)

Proton must react fast, fix their fit/finish issue, and repeat the same formula when they enter EU market in the 90s (Top Gear called them “fastest growing carmaker at that time”, then flopped in 2000 because Proton become syok sendiri with the Waja).

Increasing market volume to overseas is THE ONLY WAY for Proton to reduce their prices further and recover RnD costs.

• sheikh zaid on Oct 31, 2013 at 2:10 pm

cheaper in Indonesia but more expensive in Malaysia.. Proton in Malaysian national car or indon punya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
    • Someguyonthenet on Oct 31, 2013 at 3:13 pm

throat-cutting their countrymen for more profit since they have the import taxes on their side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • armandd on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:06 pm

I think you’re hallucinating. It’s clearly stated that Preve costs RM80k in Indonesia. Suprima S is sold at only RM77k, more or less the same as in Malaysia.

• ali rusli on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:52 pm

U tak faham-faham lagi bro… Harga dia orang jual di Malaysia ni sepatutnya lebih murah dari Indon… Kalau di Indon dia orang jual Rm77k, di Malaysia sepatutnya kurang daripada Rm77k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • pirlo on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:29 pm

aku betul-betul berharap govt BN will explain in public how vehicle tax structure operates in malaysia. so that, we malaysian can judge who earns big, either the manufacturer or the authorities. not by claiming, ok kami dah turunkan harga proton, perodua, vw, peugoet without explaining what had been deducted.
          i thought rafizi already explained about the malaysian vehicle tax structure.

• Rafizi forgot to tell ppl about bloodsucking guys like Toyota and Honda and many other brands which sell cars with ridiculous profit margins! But then ppl very stupid, always point fingers to govt and tax.

• Enthu on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:58 pm

its selling at 82k in Malaysia.

Look who’s hallucinating here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Lutfi on Oct 31, 2013 at 2:27 pm

275000000rupiah / 3527.80 rupiah

RM 77,952

• cheap car for poor people. no wonder they sell at indon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • kadajawa on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:04 pm

If still cannot sell in Indonesia don’t worry, can give free Modenas bike too!

• Veneno on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:08 pm

stupid.. so, why the hell Lambo, Ferrari, BMW, Merc, Audi enter Indonesian market..??

• ali rusli on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:48 pm

How come selling price at Malaysia and Indonesia same? Should be cheaper here in Malaysia ma, since it is locally made here. Not need all those transportation fee, taxes and many more…. How come? Betul-betul tak faham.

• ben yap on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:50 pm

there is no shipping cost or so in malaysia but the suprima is more expensive. it means proton is ripping off malaysians again with higher sales margin.

• pirlo on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:19 pm

please understand first how car tax operates in malaysia. local car manufacturer also can’t escape from paying excise and sales tax, same like those CKD and CBU from asean region. except, CBU from out of asean, need to pay extra import tax.
      when GST applied on 2015, we will be expected the demolishing of sales tax, hence, a little bit of lower selling price but the amount not that significant.

• norman on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Dun compare price,there Toyota are king so must sell a bit cheaper,now proton sales in Indonesia and Thailand slightly increase by another 8%

• ismail on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Suprima S lauched since August till now I have not seen a single Suprima S on the road yet! Not even a single one of it but I had already saw a few new vios. I personally driveva preve and it saddens me on Suprima S poor sales…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • samala on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Don’t know what’s going to happen to Proton..

• Maybe will become best selling taxi model in Indonsia

• carguy2000 on Nov 18, 2013 at 11:10 pm

for being taxi is a proud things, being taxi means it reliable, good in petrol, built to last, hardworking with little complain.

• you’re not seeing any suprima s on the road is maybe because you’re not living or driving in the kl during rush hours. no pun intended bro. i saw the car quite alot with old WY’s plates and the current W __ A/B/C/D (lately) mostly white ,blue and silvers. havent seen any red.

• RM80K segment car buyers are no longer foolish to buy Proton lah. They’re highly educated above RM5K income, they will never waste a single cent on Proton that is such an insult to their intelligence!

• silvia13 on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:58 am

Ibu Ibu dan bapak bapak yg kerja cleaner di proton akan beli kereta ini sebab mereka bangga sepanjang kerja di Proton dan bila balik nanti bawa uang 300mil.
    Tentu ada yg membeli tak payah lah sibuk sibuk nak hina kereta buatan proton.nak compare kan harga dan last sekali salah kan kerajaan…
    For me that is good start from proton to tackle market in indonesia.Now indonesia market become bigger and bigger compare tu EU country.
    WE have ASEAN group relationship so that can help Proton to enter all ASEAN country first like Indonesia,Brunei,Thailand,Singapore and coming soon Laos.
    Suprima S really good car if you go and test drive it.Dont comment without know nothing…

• News like this just reinforces and reminds us that we get f**ked from the back constantly by Malaysian automotive policies.

• Suprima s is expensive please revise price

• lovescars on Nov 05, 2013 at 2:10 am

All I read is bitchin’. Politics should stay out of car forums la. Not happy with Proton do not buy la. Not happy with car prices then don’t buy la. No demand, price drops.

Talk is cheap ok. Dare to sacrifice to see a change? Talk big only smart la … No money go work harder ok. Talk as if can be CEO of Proton.

When I din have much, I drove a Kancil. I loved my car. When I had money, I bought a BMW brand new.

Even with a BMW I will not knock our Proton and Perodua brands. I enjoyed owning Perodua cars. I see how Proton has improved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5