CKD Volkswagen Polo hatch confirmed by VW India

vw-polo-jpj-002

Earlier this week, we showed you pics of a Volkswagen Polo hatchback being tested by JPJ. Snapped by our regular Putrajaya spy Anol Alias, the white hatch has many differences compared to the Polo TSI currently on sale in Malaysia. We detailed the visible changes and speculated that the car in question was a locally-assembled CKD unit from Pekan.

We now have confirmation that the Polo hatchback is indeed being locally-assembled in Pekan, where VW also puts together the Passat and Polo Sedan. Our friends at Indian Autos Blog (thanks Shrawan!) got the word from Volkswagen India, which said that CKD kit shipments from Chakan, India to Malaysia started in July this year, and that assembly at the DRB-Hicom facility started in September.

At yesterday’s official launch of the 2014 VW Polo Sedan, Volkswagen Group Malaysia’s MD Dr Zeno Kerschbaumer, in response to a question on the CKD Polo hatch, replied that there would be news on this in the coming weeks.

vw-polo-jpj-017

The picture is clearer now, but one question left unanswered is the CKD Polo hatch’s powertrain. We reckon that it’s likely to be a non-TSI naturally-aspirated unit for a car that will be priced significantly lower than the current RM114,888 Polo TSI.

In India, the Polo Petrol hatch is powered by a 75 PS/110 Nm 1.2 litre three-cylinder engine, but that engine isn’t coming to Pekan from India – ICB learnt that Volkswagen India only sends out components that are localised in India, and the engine in the Indian-spec Polo comes from Europe.

So the CKD Polo hatch’s engine remains a mystery – candidates include the 1.2 NA three-pot and the Polo Sedan’s 105 PS 1.6L MPI engine, paired to the familiar six-speed torque converter automatic transmission.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• vee-oh on Nov 01, 2013 at 5:40 pm

if 1.2 3 cylinders, can get it below 75K not bad..close to Mirage already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Petrolhead on Nov 01, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Looks like VGM is GAME-ON to battle against the likes of Toyota and Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • What’s is the different of TSI and this one?! Headlights cover colors, taillights shape, double chrome front grille, wheels, side mirrors on the fenders and the interior. the biggest problem is this car is slower than a Myvi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Just don’t understand why d they bring this thing here?! looks cheap and slow! prefer Polo TSI lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
      • Chris on Nov 01, 2013 at 9:23 pm

1. Bring in high end cars, create semi-premium image.
        2. Bring in low end cars affordable by many
        3. ???
        4. Profit!!

• Don’t play play, he got 25 years old german car without NCAP safety rating, only have those brand badge, LOL

• Want to buy a VW, then must buy the CBU one! no money next time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Still made in boleh no quality better get cbu..they suppose made the car in thai or indo or viet n thn export back to boleh…nap no gud..gst no gud..ckd boleh oso no gud…suppose this car sell below rm25k follow world price….apple to apple maa

Lolol…all above not my opinion but u guys opinion i just write it for u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
  • sudonano on Nov 01, 2013 at 6:08 pm

What they need to keep:

6 airbags,
    ESP
    All wheel disc brakes
    Quality

What they can throw (and reduce the price)
    DSG
    1.2 TSi (1.6 MPi should be decent.)
    17″ rims (which appear to be thrown out already)

And put it at 82-83k, and then finish la Honda Jazz. 75k and 2 airbags vs 82k and 6. on the Polo. If the Polo goes beyond the 85k mark, then not so worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • Littlemen on Nov 01, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Hey TSI is great. They should keep it. Its the most fuel efficient engine in the world and powerful too. What would be dropped (as mentioned) is the DSG in favour of the 6 speed auto as mentioned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • sudonano on Nov 02, 2013 at 12:08 am

TSI is a good engine. No doubt on that. Just the cost factor, which is most likely why a TSi engine won’t stay on the Polo CKD imo.

Unless VW plans to do both CKD and CBU. i.e. CKD 1.6 MPi, CBU 1.2 TSi. They are doing CKD and CBU Passat at the same time now I think.

1.2 TSi and 6 speed normal auto?
        Yes please!

• TSI is what VW should keep for its cars..
      1.2 TSI is superb.. fuel economy and good performance..
      if VW seriously want to keep the price low, change the DSG to Aisin 6 speeder, change the 17 inch to 16 or 15 inch.. and stop being so greedy ripping all the profit..

if VW can afford to do all the pre-reg, discounts, rebate, promotion etc, it shows VGM can actually do further price reduction..

• benzs on Nov 01, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Good pricing n very good spec. How bout parts circulation in the market? How bout the reliability for its gearbox? How bout electronic components replacement if occuring damages? How bout the capability to withstand Malaysian weather heat? All question is in my mind when trying to pick Volkswagen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
    • powershot on Nov 01, 2013 at 6:21 pm

how about ‘NO’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • anonymous on Nov 01, 2013 at 6:52 pm

bro, it comes with a 5 year warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Fahmi on Nov 01, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Not sure but I think N/A MPi engines and torque converter auto will have better reliability than tech-laden DSG trans and TSI engine… Polo Sedan 1.6 so far not heard of any issues…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • U think malaysia is the hottest country in the world?

• budin on Nov 01, 2013 at 6:35 pm

Off topic : i just saw unidentified hatch going road testing in putra heights full with camou..any one snap the spyshot? I believe its proton global small car..

• Unforgiven on Nov 01, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Country like India is moving up and forward, with introduction of tsi version, more premiere version.
    Followed by our neighbouring countries.

Country like Malaysia is moving backward, with introduction of lower specs cars, from Polo tsi to Polo NA. From Jazz 6 airbags to ckd 2 airbags.

Congratulation for those supporting it, you guys are still being sucks big time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • and india have the TDI version of most VW….their diesels are euro 4! diesels are the best sellers in india cz they love its low fuel consumption & powerful torque of diesels ….but here in bolehland, we are way behind in fuel quality compared to india….weldan be End

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • mizan on Nov 02, 2013 at 10:07 am

bawak masuk engine 1.2 TDI BlueMotion 75hp 3.4l/100km…but diesel euro4 is a must

• azhar on Nov 02, 2013 at 11:49 am

in UK they still sells a Golf mkVII with 85ps of power..VW is not all bout turbo engine and DSG…they cater to every segment of people..from low income to high income..its a people’s car after all

• Anonymous on Nov 01, 2013 at 7:08 pm

How VW prices this will determine a lot of things. If they hit the upper 70K or lower to mid 80k price range, throw in some good kit to match or even one-up the competition, it could well be a game-changer.

And that’s a big IF right there.

• In Italy, beginners are only allowed to drive cars with max. 85hp for the first two years. Possibly there’s a similiary regulation in the UK too?

• The 105 PS 1.6L MPI engine would make sense.

Why should they offer a different engine in their hatchback?

• autodriver on Nov 01, 2013 at 7:40 pm

After vw launched the new CKD polo sedan 1.6, I don’t find any reason of introducing this Polo Hatchback 1.2 unless it selling “really cheap”. Imagine how hard the engine working as this powertrain comes without turbo and only 75hp to move a 1 ton vehicle. Understand this is mainly for fuel saving purpose, but how many people in Msia care about fuel consumption if they are going for “conti” car. People generally go for Japanese car if fuel consumption is main concern.

Most important thing VW need to be done, is this 1.2NA is proven its fuel consumption comparable with others in its segment. Otherwise it simply failure of removing the turbo kit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • dino years on Nov 01, 2013 at 11:08 pm

yeah its not really cheap but that interior…seriously guys, just reminds me of a myvi. sorry to compare such different cars but thats what popped into my mind. Double the $ for Germany’s Das Myvi? Not trying to bash, understand that lots of ppl would pay double $ for a german machine…i would…if it looked different from a local car.

• Lol, it does not look like a myvi at all. Wear your glasses brother.

• ConfusedSoul on Nov 01, 2013 at 8:45 pm

Seeing they could get inside the car and turn the switch on, I wonder why there is no picture of the engine….

• Paukaya on Nov 01, 2013 at 11:54 pm

if indian made cars are nt bad enuf, now we have malaysian made indian cars

• Every time car companies want to introduce new model/cars they just ask this guy Anon to snap a pictures and post it in paultan and try to get early feedbacks on what to expect from the market….nice moves….and this guy Anon maybe got some pocket money to do the job……. maybe Im right and maybe Im wrong but the possibilities is there

• Without Tsi, there is no reason to choose VW.

• Personally I think it is quite okay If they put 1.6 engine same like the polo sedan.

• VWsucks on Nov 03, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Guys…own a VW then u’ll understand better…VGM don’t even bother about their after sales…their warranty sucks n so goes to their service centre…their warranty is limited to certain items only mainly is engine n gearbox…certain parts is only covered 6 MONTHS!!! Even a power window switch is not covered even though is manufacturer defect…ask those ppl which own it dun get stuck like me with their rubbish…only 1 word for them…SUCKS!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Alvin on Jan 07, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Anyone know when will launch this POLO Hatchback 1.6 CKD in Malaysia?

• Good price for a Polo , more affordable . Once local assembled , I am sure after sales service is no longer an issue.

Those who do not like VW , no one is not going to stop you from buying the ugly vios , or a Honda city . for one thing , buy something that you like , don’t buy something just because other people recommend it .(If they are honest )