2014 Toyota Corolla Altis coming to Malaysia soon

toyota-malaysia-altis-teaser

Done with the launch of their B-segment Vios, UMW Toyota Motor will now focus on the introduction of their C-segment contender, the Toyota Corolla Altis. The current Corolla Altis on sale has been removed from the Toyota Malaysia website and replaced with an outline of a car with the text ‘coming soon’.

The new generation Toyota Corolla was first unveiled in June 2013. Two different Toyota Corollas were unveiled simultaneously – one is the North American model and another is what at that time Toyota called a ‘Euro’ model, which has gone into production at Toyota’s plant in Turkey.

corolla-us-vs-global

Left: Global Corolla, Right: US Corolla

None of the ASEAN countries including Thailand have received the Corolla yet, but the ‘Euro’ car has been launched in Taiwan as the Toyota Corolla Altis so it’s most likely the car that we’re going to get. After all, our Camry is also different from the US-market Camry.

The new Toyota Corolla is longer and wider than the current generation car, and it has a full 100 mm longer wheelbase, which should translate into greater interior space. Measuring 2,700 mm, the new Corolla has one of the longest wheelbase lengths in its class, matched by the new Nissan Sylphy and the Elantra/Cerato.

2014-corolla-global-dimensions-comparison-2

In Turkey, the new Toyota Corolla is available with three different engines – a 1.33 litre Dual-VVT-i unit making 99 hp/128 Nm, a 1.6 litre Valvematic making 132 hp/160 Nm or a 1.4 litre D-4D diesel making 90 hp and 205 Nm of torque. Engines available in other markets include a 122 hp 1.6 Dual-VVT-i, a 132 hp 1.8 Dual-VVT-i and a 140 hp 1.8 Valvematic. No 2.0 litre sighted so far.

The new Corolla is available with various transmissions – a six-speed manual, four-speed auto as well as a CVT transmissions. The four-speed auto is even employed in the US market car. In Malaysia, our current Corolla line-up uses CVT on all models save for the basic 1.6 litre, which uses a four-speeder.

From the images that we’ve seen so far, the Corolla comes with both reflector lens and projector lens headlamp options, similiar to what Toyota did for the Vios, which reserves the projector headlamps for the highest spec models only. We expect UMW Toyota to do the same with the Malaysian Corolla.

Built in daytime running lights mean UMW Toyota doesn’t have to resort to tacky aftermarket-looking daytime running lights positioned low on their ‘stick on’ bodykit bumper bits. There’s already a bodykitted Corolla Altis in Taiwan called the Corolla Altis Z.

corolla-altis-taiwan-interior

The new larger interior is also new, with minor differences between US and Euro cars. The Taiwanese car follows the US car’s interior in terms of digital clock and air cond vent positioning although it follows the Euro car’s exterior.

Since UMW Toyota has already found it necessary to tease the car, it could mean the new car is coming very soon. Could we be looking at a January 2014 launch just in time to capture the Chinese New Year sales period? It does seem a little fast, considering it hasn’t been introduced in any other ASEAN country.

Thanks CW Yoong for the tip!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wallace Choo on Nov 02, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Prefer Euro version..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 29
    • Petrolhead on Nov 02, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Then VGM is going to roll out the CKD Jetta!
      D Segment: CKD Passat RM170,888 vs Camry 2.5V RM180,917
      B Segment: CKD Polo Sedan RM85,888 vs Vios 1.5G RM88,500
      Next, C Segment: CKD Jetta vs Corolla Altis
      Toyota is going to be GG if UMW keep on ripping us off..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 12
      • dunso on Nov 02, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Yes they compete with each other to reign title of most outdated car of the year. Now 2013 still offer lame auto gearbox and problematic DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 18
      • Yoonh on Nov 03, 2013 at 2:58 am

but jetta comes with problematic DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 13
      • carlies on Nov 03, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Nice car. Finally gives us the ALL NEW feeling. Good job anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
      • But jetta with a jerky gearbox….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
        • Black Dog on Nov 04, 2013 at 11:51 am

Global version: Classy
          US version: Sporty

Malaysian profile? IMHO Classy. MOSTLY sporty & young Ah Beng drivers can only afford Protons

• i agree with u that d gearbox is jerky at times especially from low speed to high speed.

• Sam Loo on Nov 04, 2013 at 5:08 pm

Sui Kwan Euros and rotten cabbages often kwai dai in the middle of the road, Toyota corolla proven its reliability in the past 40 years+, not to mention its RV.

• different view on Nov 03, 2013 at 3:46 am

Personally, I feel that Euro Spec head lamp is overly designed and the front bumper doesn’t match the overall shape. Anyway, the rear view is very much better than the current version.
      Interior design is very subjective to individual, this new design is slightly too “advanced” to me, it may show its age relatively quicker than the conventional type; probably I would be wrong…
      I prefer the new Sylphy design, clean and simple. At least, Sylphy design would last longer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 22
  • daniel on Nov 02, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Paul, the Taiwan version of this new gen Corolla Altis does have Projector LEDs headlights at its highest spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 13
  • The US has a better front but horrible back and the euro is vice versa. I Like the interior thou, very 80s. (-IMHO, our opinions may differ-).Nevertheless, like the Vios, it is a step up from the previous generation in all forms but the engine, which I doubt many Toyota buyers will actually care. Like the interior thou, very 80s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 24
  • If UMW dare,they should NOT mess with the specs list. Otherwise,Toyota is off people’s buying list for good ._.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 10
  • Fahmi on Nov 02, 2013 at 6:02 pm

The dashboard looks like 80’s Toyota with retrofitted touchscreen… The exterior looks fresh for a Toyota, but still Toyota-like…. Should wait for it to come here for test drive, but I don’t expect huge difference between old and new model…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
    • kelvin on Nov 02, 2013 at 9:22 pm

This car has the worst looking interior design ever in automotive history

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 38
      • nttfr on Nov 02, 2013 at 11:30 pm

Are you blind? Its dashboard looks like Lambo’s,got many buttons, big 10″ touchscreen headunit, spaceship alike shape and luxurious like RR Ghost.

WOW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
        • Sorry i can’t see the big HU there. Or is it changed with cheap small lcd screen?

• qusiao on Nov 03, 2013 at 10:45 pm

Cool, I can replace my father’s car dashboard, it’s Corolla KE70

• the best interior goes to the Tesla..period!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Dual vvti and CVT box please.And dont forget 6 airbags and VSC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 9
    • Jimmy on Nov 02, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Not because of interest in Corolla.

When can a Preve beat Ninja King?
      It is when the Preve front hit the side of the Ninja King, when the Ninja King doesn’t care to stop at BERHENTI sign at a T-junction, when the Preve is only 15 metres away.
      The door of Mercedes is thicker than Camry, yes, but it is not thicker than the front of a Viva.
      So, please, stop at the BERHENTI sign.
      (BN, please build speed bumps 5 metres from all T-juntions in Malaysia).

Hey, hey, you are racists.
      This statement I think should be purposely put up to draw attention of the authority so that they pay attention to the speed bumps that I suggest. Come on UMNO cybertroopers, tell your bosses about my suggestion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 81
      • when the hack r u trying to say?~ ninja kung, what 15 meter..mercedez what thicker viva….sgh…..ur english seems to be handicap..but i guess u hv nothing constructive to write..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • glaze on Nov 03, 2013 at 2:48 pm

i have no idea what are u trying to say

what it has to do with preve, ninja king, mercedes, camry, viva, T-junctions, BERHENTI and BN?? Also is the racist about?

I NO UNDERSTAND U ENGLAND

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Proton bashers nowadays no idea to bash. Either giving unsupported cursing words or non-meaningful comments.

Funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Anuar on Nov 04, 2013 at 12:03 pm

good job Jimmy.

• No Preve in the comparison? Come on … those people have tried soooo hard to be recognised and you don’t put them into comparison?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 21
    • grass on Nov 02, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Eh, you don’t know Toyota is usually the crampier Jap cars around? Don’t look at the wheelbase, if you go into preve rear cabin, it’s a tad shy to CAMRY!!

lelelelelelelel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • anpcc on Nov 02, 2013 at 11:35 pm

Go back in your crampy Vios, even cheaper persona is much roomier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
      • Your Exora is also roomier than Alza but sales is so little. Even Toyota sells more Hilux than that turbo mpv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
      • Low Budget on Nov 03, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Cheaper and roomier does not mean more people will buy it. Problem with Proton is they screwed them self up for the last decade or so by shoddy workmanship and also forced to accept inferior parts from the crony companies. It will probably take them another decade (better pray hard) or so to change the perception of many Malaysians that Proton=crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
  • frenzyaustin on Nov 02, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Definitely the Corolla Euro. Malaysian uncle love chrome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 16
  • why must the asian ones look like f8cking sh8t, same with accords

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
    • firts on Nov 02, 2013 at 11:28 pm

Since when big T gives good exterior? After dugong face comes catfish one. Very ffffffffuuuuggllleeeyyyy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
  • Yes definitely the Euro spec. The US one looks a bit too edgy for our Malaysian uncles and aunties. Hope UMW doesn’t rip off too many specs like what they’ve done to the poor Vios (which is already pretty much a bare car and yet they could even… sigh). Not putting in too much hope for that though, as UMW is already infamous for omitting kit from the spec sheet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
    • daniel on Nov 02, 2013 at 9:18 pm

And now after the VW Polo Sedan has been launched, at RM 86k, with better specs, better tech, Vios is barely in the competition…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 12
      • well, not all ppl buying brands.. many ppl has diff taste on looks, u know..

• Caleb on Jun 20, 2017 at 3:35 pm

So? Do you see many Polos on the road?

• Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Nov 02, 2013 at 7:39 pm

IMO the US version has more curves and thus looks much better than the boxy version of the global car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
  • zamer on Nov 02, 2013 at 8:00 pm

still not seeing any colour screen head unit..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • B segment war just started.
    Fast action by UMW group to expedite the launching of altis 2014 in Malaysia. I think Volkswagen put alot of heat to TOYOTA.
    Jetta CKD may expedite also before they loose c segment market share

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
  • Hope manual transmission will be available for Malaysian market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • Borhan on Nov 02, 2013 at 8:52 pm

This altis does’nt have rear air cond vent. I’m waiting for elantra facelift coming next year, or might pick up polo sedan. Malaysia is really hot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • b sensible on Nov 02, 2013 at 10:20 pm

please let toyota know what they’ve missed out! maybe facelift model they’ll incorporate your ideas. hey competition is getting keener now! toyota still want to be no.1. surely they need to improve to maintain their status quo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • No need because most Toyota buyers go for the badge and RV, not the specs. They don’t care if cheaper cars have more gadgets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • tHe^CuLpRit on Nov 02, 2013 at 9:06 pm

1.8l power output looks incorrect.. I assume should be around the current gen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • efrny on Nov 02, 2013 at 11:41 pm

Buy 1.33l one and see if you can smoke those chaplang preve, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • This is car for oldies, they don’t drive it to smoke other cars, especially turbo cars!

• wee teck on Nov 02, 2013 at 9:36 pm

Sam Loo says ESP is unnecessary. Just drive slowly like a uncle, since this is uncle car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
  • yesterday read a comment from paultan: manufacture doing update on engine because too many problems. So this one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • jukon on Nov 02, 2013 at 10:02 pm

Altis 1.8l valvematic – 126hp 170nm. Preve turbo already 205nm, much cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 19
    • Altis on Nov 03, 2013 at 8:23 am

If Both park side by side…. which get more head turn?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • Preve, Toyota always on fugly side, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Saga BeLum Masak on Nov 03, 2013 at 11:06 am

The head turn….. Pretty Sales Promoter….

Kih. ……. Kih……. Kih…..

• True story. Next time please be aware of cars when you stop at traffic lights.

• dino years on Nov 03, 2013 at 10:00 am

The 170nm is probably available only at 5-6k of revs. Screaming engine, anyone?

• bonlx on Nov 03, 2013 at 1:45 pm

yes, honestly speaking. it’ll grunt even if it’s CVT. mind you it accelerates good enough when it accommodates a driver but full load, sigh.

• Preve is so lame, being a turbo car can’t even take over inspira AT 2.0 at pasir gudang track when test 0-100kmh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Loled on Nov 03, 2013 at 10:25 pm

No problem, many tuners around, can put some racechip in summore to smoke until less than 7 secs

• b sensible on Nov 02, 2013 at 10:13 pm

please give us the us version – LE & LE Eco trim variant! oh don’t forget the new seven-speed CVT transmission, no more 4-speed transmission please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
    • carlies on Nov 03, 2013 at 12:32 pm

We are now having 7 speed cvt for Altis in malaysia what.

• emken on Nov 03, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Nothing to brag. 7 speed only like preve. Why not 10? It’s virtual gear after all. And no paddle shifters? Oh ok this is kerata orang tua. No fun driving it.

• carlies on Nov 04, 2013 at 1:04 pm

The current 2.0L comes with paddle shift. If you ask for 10 virtual cvt gear and think that the more the better, you should ask for non-geared transmission which gives you no gear or infinity just like EV. This 7 virtual cvt is design for 2.0L engine with the optimum and most efficient engine output.

Don’t just simply bombard coz you don’t like.

• If Toyota is so good give us dual clutch gearbox. After decades established longer than Proton they can only give CVT? Come on, where is the money (tax aside) they milk from blind buyers, their cars are already overpriced yet the specs still pathetic.

• motorhead on Nov 02, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Please bring the US version.. Look simple & masculine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
  • Majuperak on Nov 02, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Nice one, looks much sharper and up todate with the competition …. now let’s wait for the spec and pricing before we comment further.

• vivos on Nov 02, 2013 at 11:14 pm

Duh, it’s tweaked towards fuel saving not performance and yet real KL Vios fuel consumption sucks. Why would people believe it works on Altis then? Performance sucks, fc also sucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Fugly dashboard, my friends would be definitely reminded by Toyota Corolla KE-70’s!!

• How much you wanna bet it will get 2 airbags only ? Maybe ESC and TRC for the higher spec models ?

The difference between UMW Toyota/ETCM Nissan/Honda MY and Proton/Naza-Kia/Sime Darby-Ford is that one listens, but nobody appreciates and the other can’t give a damn, because they have it made.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • aprilcoco on Nov 03, 2013 at 12:15 am

The complexities of the returning expert program meant that i had to get rid of my toyota camry hybrid. I wish they had this model locally assembled. I have an E class, and ENORMOUS quality problems and warranty issues. I miss the Camry Hybrid, it’s refinement, quality and fuel economy. Hope that Toyota takes over manufacturing just like they did in Thailand and Australia….

• Shockingly beautiful and sporting for a Toyota(euro version).but why the teribble interior? Cant they just copycat BMW??

• showmetheranger on Nov 03, 2013 at 12:33 am

Just my prediction, I doubt it will come with VSC and 6 airbags, not enough profit.Consumer safety can GTH.
    BTW what is the crash rating, Euro or Asean Ncap?
    Reckons the price to be 5% higher.
    TuRD bodykit to be 15K extra at least.
    Rear brake drum, rear torsion beam suspension.
    All parts carry over from previous model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • carlies on Nov 03, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Altis never gives rear drum break since the past few models. It’s all disc breaks.

• But still cheap torsion beam suspension. Only uncles and aunties will appreciate it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • carlies on Nov 04, 2013 at 1:11 pm

This is your own point of view. IMO this suspension gives us the most comfortable sitting experience especially for the long driving distance for the rear passengers.

• Malaysian road condition is bad enough, don’t have to wait until you get your body and head strained from the bad tuning suspension.

• wearear on Nov 03, 2013 at 10:35 pm

What use of brake discs? Drivers are afraid to thrash it around corners nor high speeding on straight lines due to sampan handling. lol

• don b stingy on Nov 03, 2013 at 1:13 am

really hope there will b vsc n 6 airbags, else its just a piece of metal worst than preve

• 2.0 Camry has only 2 airbags while 2.5 Camry comes with 4… So there’s no chance Altis getting 6~

• Still cant believe the 86 cost almost 250K!! WTF man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • In Australia the price of Camry is almost the same as the 86, but here 100k difference. PUI UMW, eat my shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Nov 03, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Why PUI UMW? You should direct your PUI to the Gomen instead. If not b’cos of the inflated ego of our ex-ex P.M. I am sure most of us can afford to buy Toyotas, Hondas, etc,.
      Since I can’t afford Toyota, I can only hope that Proton can improve their quality by leaps and bounds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • bluebird on Nov 03, 2013 at 2:29 pm

In USA, Mercedes C-Class basic model only costs under $30000. Tell me what car can you get with RM30000 in Malaysia??
      Their executive salary $3000 can buy $30000 Merc, our executive salary RM3000, what car to buy with RM30000???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • There is always currency conversion involved. Every countries has its own value. You cannot simply convert it dollar to dollar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • It seems to be European model as seen from the latest clip shot from Chiangmai province.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=LDiypZyXU5o

• EcoDrive on Nov 03, 2013 at 8:13 am

So, which engine they wil use here, either 1.8 DVVT 132hp or 1.8 Valvematic 140hp, but I think mostly we will get DVVT 132hp since Camry here also use 2.0 DVVT 148ps with 4-speend AT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • daniel on Nov 03, 2013 at 8:53 am

Toyota uses VVT-i engines, DVVT is for Perodua

• just name different. the design is the same. they use vvt-i on myvi in other market.

• carlies on Nov 03, 2013 at 12:44 pm

DVVT? Oh please. Too many people just simply bombard Toyota coz they don’t like Toyota and know nothing about it.

The current specs available in malaysia is already 7 speed cvt wt dual vvti. Expect at least remain the same spec or even better spec for this new model.

• But no 2.0l engine. I thought Toyota engineers are too lazy to develop turbocharged engine. They should be sacked!

Another thing dual triple quad DVVT are junks when it gets in real KL fuel consumption. Exactly sucks like Vios.

• love the new look..but the interior hopefully will not be the same.. so 80s looking

• Maserati on Nov 03, 2013 at 9:55 am

Looks like the Sheet-ra-to is getting pushed down and down the list of good cars to purchase before the all new M3 is being released in local market, and thats less than 5 months after its initial launch date, not only the resale value suffers but also the ‘freshness’ in the market.. pitiful attempt by KIA..

lets see what are the best car in this segment out there lately:

1. all new altis – good reviews worldwide, good pricing strategy from umw, going to top the charts for the next 2-3 months
    2. polo sedan – good car with good engineering dna, this car is worth at least 130k
    3. vios – one of the cars which can make the jump to c segment with ease with its awesome resale value and safety features (GOA body is good enough)
    4. Peugeot
    5. any cars but korean made car

and at the end of the list is shit-rato, nothing good to talk about this car

of course this will change once the new m3 2014 is released, topping the charts from every single point of view… can’t wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 40
    • deemer on Nov 03, 2013 at 11:44 am

where got good review, if full load sure underpower. why toyota don’t give 2.0l engine?

• carlies on Nov 04, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Please update your mind by visiting the UMW website if you feel lazy to find out what’s happening out there. 2.0L was launched few years back!

• deemer on Nov 03, 2013 at 11:46 am

polo sedan is outdated car with 4 airbags. no VSC.
      vios can jump to C segment? lol. outdated car liao

• You cannot use M3 for Mazda3. Its 0-100km/h sprint performance sucks big time. Now only hope for i-ELOOP variant for auto trans.

• meh, bigger sized Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • darkermarker on Nov 03, 2013 at 11:09 am

design is ok.

but the price is NAK TAK

• showmetheranger on Nov 03, 2013 at 11:20 am

The interior looks almost as huge as a D segment, credit to some packaging tricks. Hope it is not some Photoshop enhancement.
    No need for Camry then.

• Experienced with proton 10 years ago. Do we still need to go to workshop frequently now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • don b stingy on Nov 03, 2013 at 1:32 pm

ford focus will be a better buy anytime if umw din put in 6 airbags with vsc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • No thanks on Nov 03, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Just wait and see. Will launch with 4 gears. After 1 year cannot sell, only will give free upgrade 7 gears. Same old tactic. But many stupid loyal toyo fans will still buy it
    Thank god polo sedan came out with nice spec spec and price to trash vios. If not they will forever be contempt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • lalor on Nov 03, 2013 at 10:41 pm

Polo sedan also sucks coz no VSC. Gearbox is old enough to be kept in museum!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • No thanks on Nov 04, 2013 at 8:03 am

Err u mean vios got vsc? Their 4 gear engine new?
        Heck even museum dowan to keep their ancient engine.

• ROBERT on Nov 04, 2013 at 12:12 am

If the diesel 1.4 come to Malaysia, I think it would sell well. Since that diesel engine very fuel efficient + cheap roadtax. The emission are environmental friendly as well.

• tkhengong on Nov 04, 2013 at 12:34 am

My enquiry with Toyota revealed booking for the Altis will commence in December. Looking forward to the car.

• happyfeet on Nov 04, 2013 at 8:39 am

Better go for preve/suprima if like this, the mood lights and sunroof are unnecessary. Why not replace it with big screen headunit with GPS and internet? The airbags only 2, is Toyota sure with only 2 airbags in 2013? So lame.

• type j on Nov 04, 2013 at 8:25 am

Wow… Seriously Maserati, u need to really test drive those cars u said, I just test drove the 2014 Corolla LE Plus, 2013 Civic EX, 2013 Ford Focus SE , 2013 Corolla LE & 2013 Mazda3 i SV yesterday n today, u know what, the 2014 Corolla LE plus is the worst among those cars, it had smallest headroom, my head was touching the roof even the seat was in the setup, the suspension was firm, noisy n bumpy ride, the dashboard display placed at the wrong place, bad ergonomic. It got nothing better than the 2013 corolla beside handling, but 2013 Corolla is so boring. Civic, Focus and Mazda on the other hand, feel better n more comfortable to drive n ride, yes I didn’t just drive, I sat at the rear seat to feel the ride too. I ruled out Civic because of its limited headroom, i had just about 2inches above my head. Focus n Mazda give more headroom for the driver. Finally I went for the 2013 Mazda3, I paid 500dollar to lock the car. There were 4 of us looking for a compact car, I chose the Mazda, 1 chose the Civic, 1 chose Passat SE (I didn’t test drive, not in my range), 1 chose the Focus SE 5doors. All of us agree that 2013 Corolla is better than the 2014.

By the way, I reside at North America, so all the cars were US version. And I’m 6ft tall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • hippo on Nov 04, 2013 at 9:34 am

This car looks sportier than my current Altis dual vvti. However the interior of this new car look so dated, i still prefer my current Altis interior. I believe the new Altis should still come with dual vvti and cvt. It’s really a quiet and smooth ride. You won’t regret it while cruising it on highway.

• FULL PRICE LIST on Nov 04, 2013 at 11:47 am

Just recieved a scanned price list from toyota with model line ups. Dear Paultan, please take note :)
    All prices includes insurance.

1.8E RM115,000
    2.0G RM125,000
    2.0V RM137,000

1.8E comes with the standard 2-din radio stack.
    2.0G and 2.0V comes standard with a 7 inch DVD/CD LCD touch screen with bluetooth connectivity, usb, etc.

All models comes with an optional body kit for RM2350 and Navigation system for an additional RM1800.

There are 5 colours to choose from and 4 of them being new colours for the Altis.

Pearl White Crystal Shine
    Silver Metallic
    Grey Metallic
    Dark Brown Mica Metallic
    Attitude Black

Hope this is good info for u Paul! Btw, im just a random guy that some salesguy from toyota sent the list to me. If u want the scanned copy, email me and ill attach it for u! Cheers!

• Wow…i know how they design the steering wheel..

Example,

Toyota Designer:
    Oh yes, i only spend 2 minutes in designing the steering wheel. Wait!! OMG!! CRAP!! I forgot to insert the button on it. Lets cut a whole and put the round button on it. DONE!!! another 30 seconds.

• so when is the launch date again?

• Jonas on Nov 06, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Here have some introduce about new altis in Taiwan.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyxtGHgUUFw&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Please no CVT please.

• Allen on Jan 05, 2014 at 1:54 pm

I MORE LIKE HYUNDAI ELANTRA

• Deric on Jan 17, 2014 at 10:51 am

So, when this new altis will be launched in Malaysia?

• tayyabalich on May 08, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Xilent