2014 Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8E, 2.0G and 2.0V estimated pricelist for Malaysia: RM115k to RM137k

toyota-corolla-altis-2014-malaysia-estimated-pricelist

UMW Toyota has prepared an estimated price list for the new 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis, to enable sales advisors to start taking orders ahead of the cars launch, which we expect to be sometime before Chinese New Year 2014 to take advantage of the festive sales period.

Three models are listed in the price list with estimated prices:

• Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8E (A) – RM115,000
  • Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0G (A) – RM125,000
  • Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V (A) – RM137,000

This listing for the Corolla Altis on oto.my also confirms the above price for the 1.8E. Looks like only two engines are on offer this time – the baseline RM106k 1.6E model from the current Corolla Altis range has been dropped, with the 1.8E model being the new entry-level car. The G model, which used to be a 1.8 with the current range, now has a 2.0 engine.

The current 2.0V model has a price tag of RM132k OTR with insurance, so the new price of RM137k represents a price hike of RM5k. The 1.8G is currently priced at RM123k OTR with insurance, so the new 2.0G model at RM125k is a premium of RM2k, but at least you get a bigger engine. The entry level car is the 1.8E at RM115k, a premium of RM2k over the current 1.8E’s RM113k price tag.

There are prices for accessories listed. There’s an Aerokit Package for RM2,350. Two prices for the DVD-AVN pack – one for the 1.8E and another for the 2.0G and 2.0V suggests that the 2.0G and 2.0V could come standard with the DVD-AVN system with reverse camera, with the RM1,800 upgrade being for the navigation only. For the 1.8E to get the full DVD-AVN system, it comes at a higher price of RM2,990.

Other than that, the estimated price list offers no specs of the car except for the engine size and colour choices – the 2014 Corolla Altis will be available in White Pearl CS, Silver Metallic, Gray Metallic, Dark Brown Mica Metallic and Attitude Black.

Read more about the 2014 Corolla here: 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis coming soon to Malaysia. Thanks Ron for the tip!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ford, VW, kill this before it lays eggs!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 224 Thumb down 30
    • abuya123 on Nov 04, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Will do sir…. Our Polo Sedan incoming

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 24
      • Where is Najib's Promise?? on Nov 04, 2013 at 5:23 pm

This car so expensive. Just add a bit more can get the latest Accord. I saw that day, only RM135 (139 On The Road). After I bargain, got even RM134k On the Road. Try bargaining with UMW, they will kentut on your face.

Real proper D class sedan with proper safety features like VSC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 11
        • dino years on Nov 04, 2013 at 5:58 pm

with the pricing, this miserable piece of metal will almost be fighting with its miserable sibling, the almighty Camry.

Good luck toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
          • carlies on Nov 04, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Nice car. Well done!

Not fair to compare this with Accord 2.0. Same engine size but Altis with higher output/weight ratio. The highest spec in the model compared with the lowest spec in the model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 76
          • @carlies,
            Nice car my foot. At >100k it should’ve 4 airbags at least, 7″ touchscreen headunit, paddleshifters and turbo engine. Not this lame old 90’s car specs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 15
          • carlies on Nov 05, 2013 at 1:08 pm

hulo,

Don’t think our RM is so powerful now. You think >RM100k is as powerful as you able to get all the specs you mentioned in Malaysia? One of the reasons of the price increase is because of the inflation and the shrink of the RM.

No doubt if you can get the better specs as you mentioned in the market for about the same pricing but if looking overall the after sells service, SC availability, repair/maintenance cost/spare parts cost needs to be considered so that’s why UMW comes with this pricing. They are not stupid but they put this pricing because of the Malaysian consumers choice and demand. We as rakyat to decide.

If you feel uncomfortable with the pricing, please go for other brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 89
          • namanama on Nov 07, 2013 at 12:22 pm

hey Carlies,what kind of salesman are you!how rude..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • maserrattiShameLoo on Nov 08, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Carlies and Sam Loo from the same Sam bodoh kindergarden. Sam must be the headmaster of pondon…

• maserrattiShameLoo on Nov 08, 2013 at 7:23 pm

This car is no hope just like Sam loo. Both car and sales man can buang to sampah. One overprice while the very junior sales man only how to talk RV.

• Where is Najib's 30%? on Nov 06, 2013 at 10:10 am

Najib, you promised us 30% reduction in car prices if we voted for you. Now your own GLC, UMW, which is fully controlled by the government, has increased by a whopping RM5000. You promised if we voted for you, you will better PKR’s promise to reduce car prices. We the rakyat relied on your word.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 06, 2013 at 11:04 am

UMW will sell this car for a killing with only 2 airbags and no VSC and outdated 4 speed Auto that drinks petrol like crazy. And stupid Malaysians will buy it and syiok sendiri that they got a good deal and lagak as if it is a 458 Italia.

Hear it from No 1 Toyota salesman….you got conned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
          • carlies on Nov 07, 2013 at 12:36 pm

The current Altis 1.8 and 2.0L is using 7 speed cvt. Get yourself updated and don’t simply bombard coz you don’t like it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • But Altis is still using cheap torsion beam suspension.

• qwerty on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:34 am

Good point! And so is the almighty Hyundai Elantra that is being regarded as the best car in this segment now.

• Jetta can get the job done

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • OMG…i will booked 1…damn nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 110
      • fresc on Nov 04, 2013 at 5:20 pm

I cancelled it after checking the price again

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 8
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 04, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Toyota owners love the company. Every time Toyota brings in new cars, they price them at least 5k more than the old model. It keeps up the RV of the old cars, so when they trade them in, the new car is not that expensive anyway. It keeps people loyal to our brand.

The price has to go up anyway because of inflation. An economy that does not inflate, for example Japan, is called a sick economy. Toyota failed to inflate Japan, but it will inflate Malaysia. So sorry to those whose salaries don’t inflate, find another job. So sorry to those not in the Toyota owners chain, you guys will be shown the Hilux.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 65
          • SafetyFirstWearADurex on Nov 04, 2013 at 7:56 pm

http://www.focus-sport.club.tw/viewthread.php?tid=388975

love your lives more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
          • carlies on Nov 04, 2013 at 11:24 pm

This is even tougher and makes you move all the time.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0i9k_Av2r0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • That is foreign specs, if Toyota ditches out 4 airbags for local cars, how many NCAP stars are still there? 2?

Don’t tell me you don’t know anything about safety. Even Preve now got 6 airbags, 5 stars ANCAP safety rating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • behsong on Nov 07, 2013 at 1:15 pm

damn rich lah u….spend on a piece of cheap crack like that.

• JANJI THE 3RD PARTY on Nov 04, 2013 at 7:44 pm

Dear fellow readers of Paul Tan,

An article such as this – a new car from Toyota, can bring about a few interesting arguments:

1) How backward is Toyota actually moving forward with their new cars …. still a lousy Drivetrain underneath what is known to be the most beautiful Corolla they’ve ever made.

2) Our beloved Government’s continuous shortchanging promise (Ah Jib’s to be exact) to lower price of cars …. seems more like BULL S&*T to a lot of the rakyats unsurprising awakening with the recent increase of price of cars (obviously NOT the CARMAKER’s FAULT)

3) Chinamen out there will still buy this junk over a VW GOLF or Ford Focus anytime, claiming its superb resale (with total disregard of the backward technology under the bonnet).

And the list goes on….

3)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 6
      • True Malaysian on Nov 05, 2013 at 3:47 am

Toyota = UMW
        Hyundai = Sime Darby
        Kia = Naza
        Peugeot = Naza
        Citroen = Naza
        Honda = DRB Hicom
        Proton
        Perodua
        All the above car companies in Malaysia, all run by the same group of people. So no metter which brand you buy, your money still goes to the same group of people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 5
    • Thunderous Kitty Chan on Nov 05, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Bye all, I going to Singapore ^_^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
      • namanama on Nov 07, 2013 at 12:29 pm

lol..Singapore car price is higher than Malaysia.(in the world to be exact) btw..goodluck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • donnyck on Nov 04, 2013 at 1:15 pm

i rather buy a preve and a saga flx se

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 132
    • KLIMS on Nov 04, 2013 at 4:10 pm

I rather buy Civic Hybrid. Hybrid cars are more expensive anywhere in the world. But here, Civic Hybrid is cheaper than Corolla. Also, Toyota only got miserable 3 year warranty but Honda gives 5 year warranty with no conditions. This car is too overpriced considering it is sold in our neighbour countries of Indonesia and thailand for RM70k. Also, I am sure VSC will be omitted again.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 7
      • Where is Najib's Promise?? on Nov 04, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by up to 30% in 5 years? This Altis increase by RM5000. That is a lot. VW also increase all models. Not only we overpay to the Government, all our loans come from Government banks. At the end of the day, we are paying RM200,000 (including interest) for a mere Altis. And in Indonesia and Thailand, this car is RM70k. And yet the Indonesian and Thailand government also charge high tax and excise duties. Maybe we are too high or UMW untung too high. Oh btw, UMW also, like the banks, government company.

In Thailand and Indonesia, Corolla Altis berlambak. It is a normal car there. Even from the Bangkok airport, your taxi also is an Altis. Just normal car. But in Malaysia, people treat it like luxury car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 3
        • promisd on Nov 04, 2013 at 5:22 pm

You say so it’s only taxis in foreign countries, then why you still want to buy it? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
        • LimPek on Nov 04, 2013 at 5:36 pm

That’s no-where car price will reduce!
          Our government need more & more money for mega projects; likes built road at PJ, cost of 13km is 2.2 Billions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
        • glaze on Nov 04, 2013 at 6:21 pm

By the way, including bank interest it wont be hitting anywhere near 200k even with 90% loan and for 9 years with the interest rate for about 2.5% for example.

Yes UMW is earning well, but the people are supporting them, so there is no reason to cut down profit.

U have a lot of options with the 160k (including bank interest) budget, so just look for other options.

I never buy any Toyota from UMW, I prefer the recond units with more safety feature and better built quality from Japan. It is still a Toyota with good reliability!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
        • Janji Ditepati on Nov 04, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Manifesto bukan janji.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
        • Altis is their “seems like” national car for their country.

Our national car is PROTON. That’s why they incraese the price to support Malaysia National Car. Not the import car one. If our national car is altis, for sure the car price will even lower than PROTON.

So, buy our product first. its your money to decide to buy which brand. if the price is overkilling, do not support the foreign car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
          • dreamer on Nov 07, 2013 at 8:05 pm

The difference in value between tax imposed on both ‘foreign’ and local cars are not that big. Please read more.

• dino years on Nov 04, 2013 at 6:31 pm

i think you can almost buy 2 preves with the 2.0v

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Aerro on Nov 05, 2013 at 8:48 am

You spoke like a true loser with RM800 minimum wage!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 33
  • right hand drive on Nov 04, 2013 at 1:27 pm

What are the differences between the previous 1.8G and the new 1.8E in term of fitting?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • bye bye toyota, will go for other car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 16
  • The goons at Proton must be having emergency meeting now to find way to counter this, thinking that they are still an important player in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 40
  • Persona on Nov 04, 2013 at 1:59 pm

you guys should consider Peugeot 408 1.6 turbo.
    163 hp and 240nm@1400 rpm with 6 speed transmission. More spacious than altis and have 6 airbags.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 15
  • daniel on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Wow other regions don’t get 2.0 by far, are we the first batch to use?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • wee teck on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:51 pm

Yes, because Malaysia has more uncle and stupid, brainless people than other region.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 16
  • bluebird on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Overpriced piece of sweet. On what ground is the price increase of 2-5K? ? Because sugar price increase?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 6
  • Toyota - Moving Backward on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Year 2013 still no ESC, LED running light, 6′ screen, auto-cruise and 6 airbag?

Toyota Penipu Scammer!

Please stop rip off Malaysian!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 11
    • Edwin Au Yong on Nov 04, 2013 at 5:23 pm

U sure no running light?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Where is Najib's Promise?? on Nov 04, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Not only that, car comes with ONLY 3 years but Ford, Honda, Hyundai all give 5 years warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • carlies on Nov 04, 2013 at 11:22 pm

You can go for the current Altis if you like the rear break light to be LED. FULL LED.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • current altis is fugley

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • intess on Nov 05, 2013 at 6:24 am

Where got full led? Current altis has round weird design rear lamps. It’s like China made cars which is noone cares to see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
        • carlies on Nov 05, 2013 at 12:46 pm

I doubt you can differentiate the bulb and LED. Please check the current Altis rear break light then only putting your sensible comment here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • intess on Nov 05, 2013 at 4:23 pm

I dun care about the led. The design itself is ugley, no use putting led or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • powershot on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:06 pm

for this range of pricing, definitely mazda 3 will be a better buy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 6
  • nzain on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:07 pm

price over than 100k n doesnt hve LCD ah??…these corolla seems like vios’s dad…LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 5
  • bootupjoe on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Wow….Minyak Naik..Gula Naik..Toyota Naik..BN = Barang Naik

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 16
  • you must have absolutely no self respect and eyes to get one of these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • James on Nov 05, 2013 at 12:03 am

Definitely agree with you. Everything toyota produces nowadays is outdated and overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Aerro on Nov 05, 2013 at 8:50 am

Are you still living with minimum RM800 wage? Kesian go buy second hand Proton lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • Idiotic price… Won’t come to us as a surprise from UMW with shitty specs..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
  • Majuperak on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:16 pm

It is only the estimated pricing, I belief it would be slightly cheaper when launched …. so people please do not place your booking first till they launch the car so they have to lower pricing …. but Malaysians I mean the Toyota fans will book anyway. Let’s see …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • jacksonljs on Nov 07, 2013 at 9:59 am

I echo with your remark. In addition, who knows, the spec might be upgraded later (for subsequent batch) without price increase, one or two inclusion of features (esp. VSC and Traction control, learn from the latest Camry experience) can even become a life saver as well as avoid costly repairs.

• OMG. Harga ini menunjukkan betapa besarnya ego Toyota. They assume that people would still buy their so called “GLOBAL” car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 4
    • Here people don’t use the world global car except Proton. Global sini, global global .. but quality and mentality kampung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 23
      • Blind basher,
        Preve with 5 stars quality ANCAP safety rating denies it all. Please get out from your cave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
        • Get out of cave, get out of cave… You must have missed the last briefing by your incompetent superior that this cave thing cannot be used already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • This corolla makes Toyota a company that has kampung mentality. Only 2 airbags, cheap small lcd HU screen, retard sunroof, weird grill, fugly plasticky dashboard and the list goes on and on, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
        • Aerro on Nov 05, 2013 at 8:53 am

Blind fanboy,
          Redo your SPM exam, enter good university, get RM10K job, buy Toyota OK. Or else live poor forever can only afford to buy Proton crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
          • Toyota is for blind uncles and aunties only. No fun driving, certainly not for youngsters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • heyhey on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:19 pm

if they would have brought in the 1.33 and price below 70K, i’ll buy for fuel economy sake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Someguyonthenet on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Moving Forward? In what way?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • heybadigol on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:25 pm

As much as “enthusiasts” hate the Corolla, people will still buy them. Why? Cos most car buyers (and people who dont follow Paultan, etc) couldnt care less how it handles, or whether it has 4 speed or 5 speed auto, or CVT or FWD or RWD. To them, this is the ultimate white bread (to copy from TTAC’s review – gotta love Dyke’s technical comments): clean & simple, dependable, no fuss, no drama, safe (and not necessarily in the airbag count). And the Corolla also has a huge interior space (apparently will shame a Mazda6, yes 6 not 3), so Toyota have a winner here (for the masses). For people who want something with a different taste & more drama, there’s always the Mazda3 & Focus for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
  • i will buy preve over this.. i can do a lot of things with that extra money.. hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 27
    • Like what? To compensate all the annual leave spent at service centre?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 38
      • essesse on Nov 04, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Old story, sudah basi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • hahaha.. i agree with u .

A good service centre will not burden your time and money, this is goes to TOYOTA. Toyota have a good jod in their service centre for their cars compared to others. this is the value added for Toyota owners. cheap spareparts, less waiting, no fussy work and others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • uttee on Nov 07, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Another T SA detected!!!! Since when T got cheap spare parts? Lol

• I don’t prefer both. i can do a lot of things with that extra money.. hehehe

• Aerro on Nov 05, 2013 at 8:57 am

Yes go ahead wasting your time at Proton service centre keep sending for repair and repair and repair and repair and repair

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • Toyota – Moving Backwards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • honest on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Personally I dont like the front grille.look old fashion
    Hopefully the realy version is gonna be different. I prefer the auris look.better if they could give us the auris hatchback as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • wee teck on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:37 pm

All i can say is OMG….only Z spec got traction control…and it cost rm140 to have bodykit…..who will buy a corolla with 140k? seriously? i thought corolla is suppose to be reliable and AFFORDABLE…
    and why only the rm137k model comes with TCS????? 115k and 125k are not expensive enough???? omg… cant believe that…..140k i can get a JETTA!!! is a GERMAN!!! i dun care the rubbish DSG….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Toyota “Moving Backwards”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 116
    • abuya123 on Nov 04, 2013 at 9:36 pm

After read your speech, I think I want to buy saga sv. Another RM100k, I can use it to buy panadol for you sir….

Car is car. Full stop. We work so hard earned money just want to be slave our car? Hello, you’re clever sir…. think wise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • You said as if only Toyota got those TCS thingy. Even chaplang preve got lor, puih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • jacksonljs on Nov 07, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Honda Civic 1.8 lowest spec also have it (if a buyer so concern about resale value and he/she don’t want a Proton – apple to apple comparison). And to add salt into wound, even small Picanto (latest model) and some B-segment cars also have ESP/ESC, so there’s nothing to boast about this.

• Wilson on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:49 pm

this car better has Rocket Launcher and Heavy Machine Gun for that awful price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • the bn govt promise us to gradually reduce car price around 20-30% in their GE13 manifesto . janji dicapati!! btw new corolla is pretty good looking car better than my passat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
  • Mike Dude on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:52 pm

It’s a.k.a. OVERPRICED!

So, you think you wanna buy this because you do not want to support the national car makers, huh? I have news for you! Half of what you are paying goes to the government anyway! Good luck with your BIG purchase!

• proton is under DRB not directly under gov

• robaba on Nov 05, 2013 at 4:52 pm

While not directly under gov, still heavily protected by it

• benjo on Nov 05, 2013 at 6:53 pm

Protect my foot. Proton cars also highly taxed. Still, it’s cheaper by a segment higher. The thing gets worse when the ‘imported’ car specs have been reduced for malaysian market.

• Good luck to you IF you’re gonna sell with that price ._.

• Obama on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:55 pm

I thought that is a 15yrs old Corolla judging by its interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Lansi prices. Other brands will definitely kill this – for 130k price range, there’s d awesome-specced focus, asx, 2wd cx7, subaru xv, d upcoming mazda3, 2.4 lancer…. & d list goes on. My next purchase soon will never be toyota. Bye2 toyota; my 1988 TownAce cbu japan has served me well – no matter how reliable toyota are, buying them just dont make sense anymore; at least for me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 04, 2013 at 3:34 pm

at 137K this sits basically at the top of all the C segment. Any less than 6 airbags and it would be a laughing stock.

Incidentally thats about the same price as D Segment Honda Accord 2.0 VTI …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Sardin on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Why no TRD version? Malaysian love TRD!! Even RM145k~149k still no problem. RM5~7k for same size darker color rim, 4 pieces body kits and DRL are cheap to us, we can afford that.
    Hope it offers TRD version like Vios did….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • kiddo on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Let’s see how Toyota ripped us off big time this round. For sure they are still lot of Malaysian will rush to buy this car , it’s like knowing BN will screw you but you still vote for them. This is Boloehland!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • setscrew on Nov 04, 2013 at 2:59 pm

The pricing is determined by market demand, when the buying stop, the price hike will too…:-p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • Wow…i know how they design the steering wheel..
    Example,
    Toyota Designer:
    Oh yes, i only spend 2 minutes in designing the steering wheel. Wait!! OMG!! CRAP!! I forgot to insert the button on it. Lets cut a whole and put the round button on it. DONE!!! another 30 seconds

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • oxide on Nov 04, 2013 at 3:19 pm

what malaysians wants in a car: top speed of a lamborghini, take corners like a ferrari, beauty of an aston martin, built quality of a rolls royce and price of a kapcai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 18
  • I believe I had read somewhere in paultan that Toyota sales showed a big drop for the first ninth months as compared to the same period last year. Honda sales is growing and so the other marques. Bye-bye Toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • niuhje on Nov 04, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Still finding my lower jaw! must have dropped when i saw the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • bluebird on Nov 04, 2013 at 3:36 pm

who says there is economic crisis around the world?
    According to dear PM, our economy is resilient, we will not be affected at all, we WON’T even feel any ripple effect at all.
    Economy in Malaysia is very good judging from the price of this Corolla.

• Tokwan Gedebe on Nov 04, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Kia Cerato is much much better than this.Toyota sucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
    • Yes bro,even the 1.6 variant have ESC,6 airbags,6 speed and Traction control.This junk??Looks like it will have 4 speed,2 airbags and no VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • I bet the standard safety equipments are: Dual air-bags, ABS, and EBD for all variant. No additional safety option pack.

• Peter on Nov 04, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Despite I dislike proton’s attitude on quality I rather buy a preve rather than this corrola with almost half the price. Features aside, and considering the progress, competition in current auto industry , umw is actually getting buisness fr uneducated or toyota fanatic customers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • apa boleh buat on Nov 04, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Apa boleh buat
    1. Most Malaysians car buyers will still Buy it because It’s from Toyota, better resale value, less problems, they say.
    2. Toyota umw will only rip in more n more profits and during price fixing meeting, the executives would say, the higher the price the more prime people will value our brand
    3. We can complain and complain Here But noone is doing a roadshow to educate people about buying cars
    4. Most other car companies will also be happy as There’s no price war.
    5. Government still hasn’t fulfill It’s promise to bring down car price 25-30% in 5 years. It’s already 0.5 years from It’s promise. Janji akan ditepatikah? World petrol market dah turun dah kenapa petrol kitatak turun?
    6. I still have to drive my old 4th special edition myvi.
    7. Najib please help me

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • Poorman on Nov 04, 2013 at 4:28 pm

Japanese cars are getting further to reach for many Malaysian nowadays. The gap is just widening poor people like me can just dream on.

• phantomrazor on Nov 04, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Please don’t compare the Mazda6/Focus in term of interior space. Even though how “simple” they are, they are wayyyy wayyy wayyy better than this Altis. You just don’t get it do ya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • barry on Nov 04, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Overprice and under deliver. i would rather go for Honda Accord (2.0),Puegeot 408 (T).
    Bye Bye Toyota, Altis will bea antique just like your big brother Fugly Camry.
    RIP people in Toyota if you think your car and tech is the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Current Altis 2.0V not popular & very less on the road.
    Why go for 2.0CC, people prefer 1.8 or lower for better fuel comsumption & tax issue.
    UMW going to upgraded Malaysian standard of living & life style.

• yorker on Nov 04, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Altis 2.0l: RM137k
    145 PS @5600 rpm
    187 Nm @3600 rpm (have to push pedal hard)

Preve/Suprima S 1.6T (Turbo): RM73k
    140PS @ 5000 rpm
    205 Nm @2000~4000 rpm (powerful flat torque all the way at low rpm, yo!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
    • SamShowMeTheHilux on Nov 04, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Regardless of how premium or high spec offered by Proton, no people would like to risk their life riding in a cheap skate and low quality built vehicle that endangered their lives, yo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
      • yorker on Nov 04, 2013 at 9:42 pm

It’s 5 stars in Australian NCAP safety rating yo! Now with 6 airbags yo! Toyota Corolla with pathetic 2 airbags got how many stars? Only 3? LOLOLOLOLOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • agree with you -SamShowMeTheHilux;

current altis 1.8G still have TRC and VSC only with 2 airbags. Still got powerfull torque.

btw, why need fast car if you still stuck in road due to jammed in every morning? fast car, slow car still the same. we are still late to go office due to the jammed.. hadoi!!!..

• ghana on Nov 07, 2013 at 8:20 pm

More than 100k car still underpower? Now is not 1998 to drive a car that slow. It’s obvious when it gets full load, this is not A segment car which is more towards single city driving.

• carlies on Nov 04, 2013 at 11:34 pm

Seems like need to push the pedal even harder when riding on Preve to get 4000rpm to reach nearly 200Nm where Altis with 3600rpm only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • gengzi on Nov 05, 2013 at 6:10 am

You don’t know turbo engine chars? It can give you constant power starting from low torque, example from 2,000rpm to 4,000rpm whereas japs n/a engine only reaches max at 3,600rpm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • sirnp on Nov 05, 2013 at 6:28 am

I believe you don’t even know what’s turbo engine all about. Torque wise CFE is more powerful than any n/a Jap engine below 2.0l here in Malaysia. Euro 5 compliant engine please, lol.

• halflife on Nov 05, 2013 at 7:23 am

Are you blind? It’s from 2000 rpm till 4000 rpm!

• Aerro on Nov 05, 2013 at 9:01 am

Altis: No turbo so no leaking problem, good FC 16KM/Liter

Preve/Suprima: Got turbo and the risk of leaking problem, poor FC 9-10KM/Liter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • A fully loaded, top-of-the-line KIA Cerato 2.0 liter variant costs 118k (which we already think was pretty pricey at launch).

Thanks to this new Altis, the Cerato’s price now seems like a decent deal. We’ve yet to see the Altis’ spec but I do not have any high expectations. I would literally be in a state of disbelief if UMW even offers a sunroof. Not to mention the Cerato comes with sunroof and its 160hp 2 liter engine will overshadow the Toyota’s 140hp 2 liter which will cost nearly 20k more.

No, I still won’t buy a Cerato over it, simply because you can’t deny the fact that you can buy a 2.0 liter Accord or Optima with just a couple of grand more and you’re getting a proper sized sedan which is a segment ahead. I will never understand those who already ordered the Altis.

You cannot fool us forever UMW, us consumers can only get smarter…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 8
    • James on Nov 05, 2013 at 12:11 am

Sadly many malaysians still worship toyota as if they make the greatest cars in the world. They refuse to admit that they are just buying something that is outdated and overpriced…haiz….

• Aerro on Nov 05, 2013 at 9:03 am

Preve full spec at advanced market like in Australia still selling joke low sales units. Apa macam? Global joke kah?

• One of the Altis owner. on Nov 04, 2013 at 6:01 pm

I’m 26 yrs old now(just to justify I’m not a 30s-50s uncle) and i own a toyota altis 1.8E for 2years(dual vvt-i version) it cost me around RM 113k++. This car only hv 2 air bag, no vsc, no touch screen, no reverse camera, no automatic seat adjuster and bla bla bla, but this car give me NO PROBLEM as well. In 2yrs time i nvr use my air bag yet, i normally drive around 130km/hr on highway i wonder a car with 6 air bags can safe my life or not if i bang on an object. if any suprima S owner tat still alive after bang on some object with 130km/hr pls share ur exp with me and i will consider to change my altis to suprima S. I also do well in side parking or reverse without the reverse camera (nvr bang other ppl when reverse coz I’m a MAN) and i hv NO ACCIDENT at all (my car dun hv VSC). This car gave me a very very smooth driving (CVT is excellent!!), fast response when I put my foot on the acc. pad, and excellent fuel consumption (around 13km/L when I drive around on city and 17km/L on highway), the suspension is comfortable enough for me, but need some improvement on handling and sound prove (when the speed over 130km/hr hv some wind sound came out). Interior and exterior are subjective. A lot of people complaining tat Toyota cars’ are uncle look and ugly, but for me i think the design was awesome!! Altis hv a mature look but not too uncle, Honda Civic too sporty for me. I believe most of the bashers(most of them are salesman i believe) over here dun hv an altis, so what point for u keep bashing this car??(if u are a salesman ur sales increased??) I believe most of the TOYOTA owners loyalty to TOYOTA not becoz of the brand (VG a branded too rite?) but quality. A comment session is for those owners or those who are interested to sharing their info and exp but not an arena for those non-sense bashers to bashing around. Try to respect each other, every brand hv their own supporters, u may give a fully support for those brand tat u interested but dun criticize others’ favorite. Learn to RESPECT and act like an ADULT Malaysians. If anyone interested to Toyota Altis and want to know more about this car u may ask me and i will share my exp with u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 84
    • bojek on Nov 04, 2013 at 7:20 pm

We do respect you and your choice of car. it’s just that Malaysian are getting wiser when it comes to buy a car. The very least you can get when you spend so much are value for money(all the things mention by other posters). We’re not saying it’s not a good car, it’s just not at a good price, price hike some more. The very least Toyota can do is mantain the old price for each spec. If not, more and more wiser malaysian won’t come to Toyota show room.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
    • vincent on Nov 04, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Uncle, have you really tried another brand like Ford Focus? If not, try that, it will still give you comfort and silent ride without any quality issues as well. But you get more for the price you paid for. You need to open your eyes sight, Toyota and Honda is not the only car maker out there. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
      • One of the Altis owner on Nov 05, 2013 at 5:30 pm

I’m ok tat u calling me uncle, a lot of ppl called me uncle after i got married, and I will hv another title next year (someone will call me ‘DAD’). What to do, life goes on rite??LOL. I hv few frens driving Focus (hatchback model) they told me the handling and performance is awesome. I loved all the gadgets and the design (only hatchback type I thk the sedan type is so ugly, dun bash me this was just my point of view), it was superb!! At last i choose altis becoz I need a family sedan car and dunno why i love altis so much after i test drive the car and i bought it. I know altis was not perfect (nothing is perfect, no matter what car u choose sure hv someone will criticize such as low RV la, bad FC la, no reliability la, bad design la, outdated technology la and bla bla bla) but it meet my requirements and most important thing is I love the car. Not bcoz the TOYOTA logo. I dun like the new camry and new vios but i will not criticize it coz i respect others, this is my manners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
        • If you like something without then you are blind. Serve you right to be T victim. Gud luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • Jilbaber on Nov 06, 2013 at 7:51 am

Well in conclusion (including your statement above) you’re just pure blind supporter or just kiasu to admit you’re got rip off. btw I’m in my mid 50’s, a real uncle, or by your standard atuk already..

• One of the Altis owner on Nov 06, 2013 at 12:52 pm

uncle i know u are old enough and i do respect u and hope u will respect me as well, pls dun judge ppl by ur own. I hv 1 toyota Altis, 1 persona and planning to buy a suzuki swift. My fren wan to buy a car around RM 110k-130k and i recommend him to consider Mazda 3 2014 or Elantra. My dad hv omost same age as u but from ur comment i can see tat ur mindset are so different him. Just like wat i said before, learn to RESPECT Malaysians. My dad always taught me, learn to respect. “No matter he is younger or older than u, RESPECT him!! He will do the same to u as well, this is a basic moral”. (this statement was from my dad i just share it out, bashers dun bash me pls…)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • setscrew on Nov 06, 2013 at 7:08 pm

If I may guess, I bet you’re better off call yourself “One of the (Toyota) Altis Salesman”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • autodriver on Nov 04, 2013 at 8:03 pm

No one wanted to use the safety features, but some accidents we can avoid before it happens with help from these safety tools. If accident does happen, the passive safety like airbags will reduce the hazard. Otherwise why most automaker bother to provide 4-6 airbags nowadays.

Talk about VSC, this safety feature is getting more important nowadays. Especially on raining day or wet situation. No doubt driving carefully can minimize the chances of accident, but sometimes it was out of our control. For instance, in KL Jalan Duta corner up to Jalan Semantan. There were at least 6 accidents happened I seen due to lost control on the wet situation and car banged to the side divider. I thought the accident caused due to the driver was driving at high speed in wet condition. But 1 day it happen to me when I was concerning at moderate speed (40-50km/h) and suddenly the car lost power and car getting slower itself. First I thought the engine shut off (engine mati), but when I look at the instrument the ESP (VSC) light was blinking. It means I had lost the traction and the ESP helping me to gain back the control. To be honest without ESP I probably spin or bang toward the divider. I am very lucky to have the ESP saving me.

People nowadays is looking for a value of money vehicle. Please ask those who driving Nissan, Honda, Suzuki, Kia, Hyundai etc, how many of them facing bad quality issues. Not only Toyota but all other automakers are aware QUALITY is very important and they improve the quality over the years. At least my 2 years kimchi Forte not given me any major quality problems (the only problem I met was small irritating sound from driver door and it settled during 1k km service).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
      • Ceratowner on Nov 04, 2013 at 9:31 pm

autodriver,you r right.So far my Cerato 1.6 not have any problem as i only get the car at end-October.City and highway driving around Penang so far so good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • carlies on Nov 05, 2013 at 12:57 pm

All the Altis haters here are funny. A Corolla on the road and proven running perfectly for 20 years you said it’s a lousy car. Some of the peoples here just brought his new Cerato here on the road for few days only then said that his car is perfect and no problem at all. For me, doesn’t make sense. Something proven is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
          • coder on Nov 05, 2013 at 4:27 pm

If you want to talk about reliability, if you want to say 20 years, other cars also running like nissan.

• vermin on Nov 04, 2013 at 9:26 pm

1.You always drive at 130km/h? How about you bump with other car at 50km/h from side? You go die, I want to live. Numbers of airbags does affect the level of safety.

2.Are you God? How can you sure your car won’t skid if you go on slippery road during raining and bump a huge tree? Again, you go die, I want to live.

3.Toyota brand nowadays no different much from other cars, Many recalls, local assembled and parts, you say it’s quality? Quality my FOOT. The buyers are blind buying cars with low outdated specs.

4.Fuel consumption is a joke. You get 13km/l in city, that is nothing to shout about.

5.So other people cannot give comments? Go and calculate the price again. Nothing left with Toyota now, only pathetic badge. They sell overpriced overrated outdated cars. This car might get praises and compliments if it was out in 2004. But this is year 2013, it’s way behind in all aspects. Only fools will be ready to get parted with his money to own this JUNK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • amirad on Nov 04, 2013 at 9:29 pm

2 yrs still quite new. Belum betul2 kenal and cinta. I had my altis 1.8g for eight yrs and so far the problems I had was jammed driver power window and water entry thru’ front windscreen. Both were easily rectified. I am in my mid forties and the car suit my driving my style. Toyota ownership experience has been good so far. Back in 2006, a 4 speed auto, 2 airbags, ABS,EBD and TRC was considered a good specifications. Now, standards have move up. Toyota has a lot of catching up to do. Would I buy another altis? Yes, if it is the new IS. The interior of the new altis seem too cluttered and ‘blast from the past’ for me. Prefer European designed interior, simple and elegant.

• One of the Altis owner on Nov 05, 2013 at 4:26 pm

So lucky tat i found another altis owner. So hard to find a real owner’s comment in paul tan page, most of the ppl in paul tan website are haters or bashers. Last week i go to suzuki show room to test drive the CKD swift (wan to buy a second car for my wife coz she dun like my old persona LOL) and i found tat swift is quite nice and cheap (only 68k + 3k discount). When i log on to paul tan page to find some driving exp and info from swift owners but what i got is only bashers bashing around. I’m not saying tat non-owners cannot giv ur comment but pls la giv some useful and proper info just like wat bojek and autodriver’s replied, they gave better info and respect. Malaysians show ur civilization and RESPECT to others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • I doubt you are an Altis owner, put the drilz here or you only own it in your dream!

lolololol

• carlies on Nov 05, 2013 at 11:16 pm

As I said earlier, it’s very weird. Toyota haters always think that the good comment from the real owners are the fake one and the bad comment is the real one. Many of them just bombard blindly.

• What blind? They compared it with other cars already. Unlike those in articles especially about local made cars in which the bashing is without any proof or comparison.

*waiting for the drilz, popcorn.jpg*

• One of the Altis owner on Nov 06, 2013 at 12:04 pm

U really doubt tat??why I need to do tat??pls read all my comment properly, I’m not promoting Altis at all (no need to do tat I’m not a TOYOTA salesman) i just share my driving exp. Altis is not an expensive or luxury car tat will make me proud(pretend for wat?with a car tat cost around RM100k??). pls go to drive around on KL road, a car around RM 100K is normal la wei….Swt…

• nkh-suck on Nov 04, 2013 at 9:39 pm

130km/h of course it’s ok, even saga SV can do better handling. Toyota handling is like sampan one. You don’t feel planted on road at high speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • pagoda on Nov 04, 2013 at 11:10 pm

my 13years iswara aeroback can do like your altis too. i love iswara. if anyone wanted to know about iswara u can ask me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Whatever on Nov 05, 2013 at 9:00 am

Haha it seems to me you’re a 26yo with a 56yo heart ! Don’t get me wrong I do respect your choice of car but consumers are demanding more today to get the best value for money spent. Also, 5 years ago it’s a norm that a car won’t have VSC, ICE and navi but these days, it’s becoming standard. You won’t buy a car today only to realize that 5 years down the road how obsolete your car is man.

• wussy on Nov 05, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Shhhhhh, he is still finding the button to change channel on his TV, he didn’t know to use the remote control, lol

• One of the Altis owner on Nov 05, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Thx for ur info. At the time i bought my Altis I’m not sure VSC is a norm or not but Dual VVT-i and CVT still consider new. If I’m not mistaken this new Altis in Taiwan come with VSC in all spec, but I duuno UMW will took it of or not when this car come to Malaysia. I’m here not to prove how good Toyota is (they really need to improve their handling my persona are better than Altis on handling), I just wan to share my driving exp. I hope all the users leave their comments with MANNERS and RESPECT.

• bahnt on Nov 05, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Proton bashers cannot see anyone praising proton cars. They will get butthurt, brace yourself!

• Where are the salesman preaching on rv?
    Guys. Time to wake up. They have been shoving expensive Kosong cars down our throat for so long. Take the price here, + interest for 5-7 years. what are u paying in total?
    Now ask urself: why their rv is A BIT higher than others? Bcoz we already paid for it!!!
    Wake up and go to other better value brands already. Mazda exp but at least the specs top notch. Look at their m6 sky active. I would rather wait for m3 sky active than this junk.
    Rv my foot. Don’t even talk about quality. Show kaki patah pic again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • kelvin on Nov 04, 2013 at 6:11 pm

I have been waiting for this car..but after looking at the pricing and the lousy design now I have changed my mind. Sorry Toyota

• keith on Nov 04, 2013 at 6:55 pm

that’s why you do not see new kia cerato in the market compare to the older gen.

• vincent on Nov 04, 2013 at 6:59 pm

People from Taiwan started to feel annoyed with Toyota that offers low passive safety features. Well, at least their new Altis only cost around Rm72k, over heren Malaysians are being ripped off with low spec and high price. Only when consumers spit on Toyota, then they will start to up their spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • autodriver on Nov 04, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Wow, the new Altis 2.0v selling at 138k, 1k more than Civic 2.0 Navi.

I am curious is there many people willing to pay this amount of money to get the highest version. The price is too close to some entry level D-segment Japanese car. Besides, it is just 5k different from a fully loaded kimchi K5 and Sonata, almost same price as kimchi Sportage which are imported from Korea.

If UMW still thinking the badge is the greatest selling point for this new Altis, wait and see what will really happen next. The figure will tell.

• carlies on Nov 04, 2013 at 11:42 pm

It’s not fair to compare the highest spec of the model to the lowest spec of the model. Also the final figure will really makes you disappointed in Malaysia here and even globally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • platte on Nov 05, 2013 at 6:29 am

Why not since the price is really near? The price does matters.

• autodriver on Nov 05, 2013 at 9:54 am

Why it’s not fair I take comparison between Altis to K5 and Sportage since these 2 kimchi models are the highest spec (the only spec).

I can’t take comparison between Altis 2.0v and Cerato 2.0. I believe Cerato 2.0’s spec is better than Altis but yet selling at 19k lesser (Altis 138k and Cerato is 119k). It’s not fair for consumer paying more and getting less in this comparison.

• carlies on Nov 05, 2013 at 7:09 pm

The price was set based on the market demand here and the dealer’s confidence on the brand. If the Korean car dealer in Malaysia confident on their brand, reliability, after sales service …….. why don’t they raise up the price since those cars with better specs? If everything is alright and competitive, they should comes with almost the same pricing wt Japanese car or even more expensive. Remember all the car dealers are not stupid and all of them are blood sucker and always try to get as much profit as possible. Who can be so kind to sell the good spec car with less profit margin? Seems like something wrong with the car or brand and they lack of confidence so that sells at cheaper price trying hard to boom up the sales. But I don’t think it happens here. Japanese car sales well all the while here.

• toiyu on Nov 05, 2013 at 10:29 pm

T has been here for decades, where was all the money gone? They should offer more than proton (tax aside)because they were established long before proton and kimchi. If they cannot reduce the price at least they come up with similar specs with the cerato, not with this crappy one.

• carlies on Nov 05, 2013 at 11:27 pm

toiyu,

Think another way, since Japanese car with expensive pricing here and sales well, which contributes lots of profit to them, why don’t Sime Darby and Naza do the same to suck more blood from people? Don’t tell me they are so kind to prefer a high specs car with affordable price to Malaysian. They have a better spec what and they should be able to sale at least at the same pricing, but why cheaper than Japanese car and at the same time the real sales figure not as nice as they expected?

• Sam Loo on Nov 04, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Corolla is the best C segment car in this world. Proven by its reliability and RV. Say goodbye to both Rotten cabbage and sui kwan euro that often kwai dai in middle of the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 48
    • wembley on Nov 04, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Oh please don’t tell me you can get it much cheaper outside Malaysia. It’s totally different story. Still the specs are low, even if it’s priced same with Cerato

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • PassingBy on Nov 05, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Best? define best with this piece of shit :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • skyjuice on Nov 04, 2013 at 7:54 pm

between sporty corolla and unker corolla, the choose to bring the unker one.. hahaha.. :facepalm:

• drMpower on Nov 04, 2013 at 8:00 pm

hehe. so many people barking promise this that. what if i say he already did whatever he promised. this thing is 140k. okay lah give u face 130k.

preve comes at 80k. okay lah give u face, 90k. thats 40k less than this junk.

since u blame najib because UMW got this out (assuming the figure is not prediction – and he najib has got nothing to do about this but nevermind give u face) at 130k, i am very sure u can compliment najib for getting preve out at 40k less (sure he got nothing to do with that as well. but since u can blame him on something he hasnt got anything with, then very sure u can praise him on something he hasnt got anything with, as well)

stop complaining. if u think this is overprice, then forget it. buy cerato. or whatever u want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • This is not only overpriced, it’s stupiakly combined junk with beautiful adjectives precede it:

3 x “O” = Overpriced , Outdated , Overrated JUNK!

• EDDIE on Nov 04, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Auto…auto…auto…No manual trans? DAMN NOOB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Sorry im late to tell you guys.. THIS CAR IS ONLY FOR THOSE WHO DONT HAVE ANY INTEREST IN DRIVING. TQ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • carlies on Nov 04, 2013 at 11:45 pm

I doubt you’ve driven this car??? You just simply bombard coz you don’t like. Please respect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • I hope Toyota will come up wit an SV version…no airbags, no VSC no EBD no ABS no poblem, I want one…

• sonyman on Nov 04, 2013 at 11:47 pm

yes there is, Altis K. Just like Vios K, but they havent launch.

• sonyman on Nov 04, 2013 at 11:49 pm

looking at this spec and pricing. i think i will go book myself a Range rover tomorrow. No point waiting for this to launch. Probably nothing exciting.

• waiting for a CKD VW Jetta.. possible below 140k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Syameer on Nov 05, 2013 at 12:53 am

Toyota is such an awesome car manufacturer! ‘Mind-blowing specs’ offered at a very ‘cheap’ price! It is unbelievable at how bad the quality of some lower end Toyota nowadays. The recent Vios build quality is just as good as a basic Myvi at almost double the price tags! Hopefully this will not be the case for the latest Altis! Keeping my fingers-crossed.

Well, the people need to stop worshipping Toyota. There are definitely better alternatives out there. I must say that Kia and Honda (an exception for Jazz) have better build quality than some Toyota cars. I would rather buy a Cerato or Civic than the Altis if I am to make an assumption of their upcoming Altis based on their current models. Of course this is just a hypothesis and not the final conclusion; not until I see the real thing here.

• True Malaysian on Nov 05, 2013 at 3:41 am

Toyota = UMW
    Hyundai = Sime Darby
    Kia = Naza
    Peugeot = Naza
    Citroen = Naza
    Honda = DRB Hicom
    Proton
    Perodua

All the above car companies in Malaysia, all run by the same group of people.

• Best value ever on Nov 05, 2013 at 6:44 am

Don’t play play. Umw will slap push start for higher specs, and call it the new altis: best value car ever. ;)
    They did it for vios anyway. Really tak malu

• Aerro on Nov 05, 2013 at 9:04 am

Proton also tak malu. Cannot sell give free motorbike. Still poor sales maybe give buy One free One also lah!

• Best value ever on Nov 05, 2013 at 12:12 pm

To be fair to potong, at least their car doesn’t cost 130k and with more features too…

• ncape on Nov 05, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Proton basher got butthurt. This article has nothing to do with Proton. Ok, you are T fan / SA, ok ok lelelelelelelel

• Honda Accord 2.0,nice car,i-vtec engine,soft touch material dashboard,two screen and only sell RM149……k(VTI-L).Add more 12k,i can get a d segment luxury sedan,why choose toyota altis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • darkermarker on Nov 05, 2013 at 12:45 pm

low spec car with high price tag.

Sorry, toyota. I wont buy your car…

• Do you have money to buy or not in the first place, talk c**k only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • quert on Nov 05, 2013 at 8:14 pm

As a T fan said above, people should have 10k per month income then they can buy T. If T salesman treats me so lansi I would never been there.

• Then go and get the Korean Junk lah. We don’t need customer like you, go and fly some kite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Realist on Nov 06, 2013 at 6:31 pm

…lol spoken like a true butthurt salesman!! Go back to showroom tmr and try con more ppl!! The new generation of car owners won’t fall for you cheap shitty 90’s repacks crap!! GT86 can design so nice, everything else like crap! stop bein so lansi la uncle. Not nice leh~ :p

• libralcl on Nov 05, 2013 at 5:37 pm

115k for bare bone car with 1800cc Toyota Altis vs 118k full spec with 2000c KIA Cerato. Your choice….and now come shoot me XD

• Compare a Toyota with Korean Junk, go and fly kite lah you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
      • wongsak on Nov 05, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Cerato specs are way better than this Jap Junk. Please read more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • carlies on Nov 05, 2013 at 11:38 pm

I prefer to drive more and longer than read more here. Most of the people here just simply bombard coz don’t like. As I read more here, I feel that Korean car is getting worse. Been driving Corolla more than 10 years without major problems but Korean car… ops, i can’t find any history more than 10 years, sent for scrapped i think. It’s all the problem cars not even up to ten years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
        • We don’t need to read anything more than the actual sales figure.
          You can not keep on in the denial mode, go and fly some kite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • dugong on Nov 06, 2013 at 8:43 am

Then you can take this piece of overpriced shit and fly kite together with it. We don’t care!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • Rider on Nov 06, 2013 at 11:06 am

I am not here to praise a Korean or Japanese made but Cerato is out of the equation for comparison. Cerato interior is nothing impressive all hard-core plastic material and seriously I don’t feel comfortable as a passenger.

• libralcl on Nov 09, 2013 at 1:49 pm

If the Altis full specs selling RM118k I will get the Altis u get what I mean?

• carlies on Nov 05, 2013 at 11:31 pm

I’ll go for Altis 1.8L rather than “Cerato 2.0 full spec”, as what the market proven which the sales of Forte 2.0 is less then the current Altis 1.8 on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Korea car is beautiful and high tech.But when u guys drive in high speed,it doesn’t feel nice.The engine sound is very vocal when stress,the steering feel is not quite nice.People who use Korea car before but now use a japan car may know the different.Japan car is more smooth than Korea car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • honest on Nov 06, 2013 at 11:03 am

I drove altis before.fuel efficient.solid & last long engine.worryless.the only setback with the coming altis is the front grille & no vsc in the medium version.toyota please take note.

• toyota_the_best on Nov 06, 2013 at 11:31 am

toyota is always the best, been driving altis for 3 yrs, no big issue so far. the car is quiet, comfortable and the most important petrol-saving. can consider to change to 2.0G and is value-for-money. will never consider Korean car to save all the troubles and the crappy 2nd-hand-value. if i now driving korean car, dun ever think about changing it becuz of the crap 2nd-hand-value. Camry is also short-listed for my next change. TOYOTA, MOVING FORWARD!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • this car drives like crap..even the current mazda3 drives better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • toyotasucks on Nov 06, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Damn regret aft I bought toyota altis. Product failed, sales support failed toyota failed big time!!! No sincerity in doing business at all!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • amirad on Nov 06, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Chill bros. Something with a lighter note. Toyota engaged Brad Pitt as the model for the first gen altis. Secong gen saw Orlando Bloom. Wonder who will be the third ambassador? Hugh Jackman, Chris Hemsworth or what about Scarlett Johansson…?

• harga rm137? lebih baik aku rembat Mazda3 third-gen rm135..

• hmmm..

honda civic
    toyota altis
    hyundai elantra
    proton suprima

which one should i buy?????????

• Sam Loo on Nov 07, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Smart people will choose Sushis instead of rotten cabbages that fetches poor RV and your face will look damn hailat when you’re about to trade-in your cabbage.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 07, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Please buy the Elantra brand new.

Sam needs more supplies of 1 year old kimchis

You would wanna sell it off after 3 months of use as you will feel alienated, bosses will see you as untrustworthy and your relatives will give you a funny look

• toyota is shit on Nov 06, 2013 at 10:27 pm

I have owned toyota all my life. From Corolla SEG to Altis and all I can say is no more toyota for me. Quality is dropping from bad to worse with every new generation and below par, terribly underspec and overpriced. NOT worth paying premium anymore. My neighbours uncle recently crash and lost 2 legs and 1 arm in a brand new XV50 2.5V camry that had no VSC. They dont’t value safety of their customers so why buy from them ?

Now I am happy with my new Passat. Ppl seem to overrate the problems by VW but so far nothing but joy and peace of mind for me. I have made a terrible mistake of not trying other cars before buying earlier. Now I know better and I will never look back on Toyota ever again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo on Nov 07, 2013 at 1:20 pm

lost two legs and 1 arm? nice story.
      Sui kwan euro generally fetches poor RV from time to time due to its infamous DSG gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 07, 2013 at 1:35 pm

How come you are comparing a C-Segment Corolla with your D-Segment Passat?

• dugong on Nov 07, 2013 at 8:31 pm

corolla is priced higher than D-segment cars nowadays if you haven’t noticed! More than accord 2.0 even.

• carlies on Nov 06, 2013 at 10:33 pm

The Japanese brand you mentioned above also gives 2 air bags for the car >RM140k. Seems like you are Toyota haters and blindly bombard here just because you don’t like.

• carguy on Nov 06, 2013 at 10:55 pm

people, please don’t buy this car. Let’s teach UMW and Toyota a lesson!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • 2.0G will be best buy!

• JeremyNg on Nov 07, 2013 at 9:25 am

When Toyota Corolla changed their generation 2 times , Vios just once ! wonder why ?

• Poor Malaysian on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:13 am

RV! RV! RV! RV! Since Malaysian like so much of RV, who cares of the specs, they will even buy it at RM150K. This is why we never have the US version of Toyota, more specs, same price, but not the deal for UMW Toyota.

• As much as i hate all current Toyota designs (after first batch Vios generation), this one actually looks pretty nice. The best looking model than current Camry (damn fugly) and the current Vios.

• medic on Nov 07, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Since Msian care so much about RV,think about this.Toyota charge so much for a low spec car,yet people buy.The cost to manufacture is low,due to no R & D costs,meaning Toyota already made a very high profit.The $ you supposingly save from getting a high RV has already been paid by you when you purchased the car,exc interest.So you are paying for a low spec car upfront.Don’t be conned.

• hot_sale on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:10 pm

i can bravely predict this new TOYOTA ALTIS must be HOT SALE especially the 2.0G. can’t wait for its official launch.

• rocket on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:28 pm

90% of the keyboard warrior here can’t afford this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • geste on Nov 07, 2013 at 8:28 pm

You don’t know us, how could you say that? By the way, who wants this overpriced outdated car?

• UcantCme on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Boy, you better focus on your SPM exam.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 11, 2013 at 4:27 pm

100% of D-Segment kimchi owners will pee in their pants as their cabbages are now worthless

• Hope the UMW give both engine 1.8L n 2.0L come with Dual VVTI with Valvematic ,sure can tapau Civic n elantra Fuel comsumption,Performance n Sales.

• Achong on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:40 am

it’s just another taxi in jakarta and bangkok…

• Maseratti FcukSam on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Sam Loo will soon change his junior sales position to clerk because this under spec and over price car cant sell. Good luck to Sam the junior sales guy and UMW. You are just too proud and u think u can continue to have a good sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • kia rio on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:04 pm

lack of LED combination rear lights spoiled the overall good design

• maserratiShameLoo on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Overprice, old technlogy, lousy junior but old sales man like Sam Loo, how to sell this car ? UMW can just close shop since u like to suck so much of blood.

• Nicholas on Nov 10, 2013 at 2:31 pm

if only bicycle can get me everywhere…

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 10, 2013 at 10:14 pm

Sam only exports Hyundais now.

Business is really great. Somehow, sorhai Sri Lankans pay a premium for used rotten cabbages, only Hyundai’s. Sam has 2 units of K5 stuck, can’t even sell at RM60k.

Dem doo lan

• stupidCarl on Nov 11, 2013 at 9:51 pm

HAHAHA…budak Sam talk bodoh on RV again.Have never seen a liar that boleh bohong cerita same tiap tiap hari. Toyota showroom must be empty and make sales man takda otak like Sam and his another identity Sam pondon Hilux to be so free to talk bodoh story here

• This car range…I still prefer Civic instead.

• danny on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:07 pm

wahlao…Toyota, you’ll become next Nokia!

• Jebatv6 on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:55 am

There’s a great car completely with all safety spec u all damn needed and like it, some more very cheap price like kupcai 60cc. There will be no more headache to think of the design ‘bcoz it’s awesome !!
    No worry please..very high performance, high handling ,very small FC, and lots of EBD, RV, ABC, XYZ, 123 and BLA BLA BLA.. It’s only in HEAVEN.. if u dare to be there..hehehe…

• Be Thankful on Dec 21, 2013 at 11:06 am

Aiyoh yo. You guys be thankful leh. I working in Singapore cannot buy Altis from Malaysia. The Altis in Singapore cost RM325k. Can buy 3 in Malaysia. :-(

• Jackpot on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Langkawi selling Price :-
    1.8E(A) = RM72,029.70
    2.0G(A) = RM77,128.21
    2.0V(A) = RM85,424.61

• Kananei on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:20 pm

its really pissed off to know every new generation car from Toyota there must be a price increase.. the global car prices usually either maintain about same prices or increase the spec (more safety or premium gadgets) to compensate the price increase.. This is extremely annoying!!! Boycott Toyota!!!