Toyota 86 sedan concept to debut at Dubai show?

toyota-86-sedan-concept

The rampant rumours surrounding the possibility of a sedan based on the Toyota 86 sports car may not be complete hot air after all – the Dubai International Motor Show’s Facebook page has announced that a concept will turn up at the show next week, with the above solitary side profile shot accompanying the post.

What’s interesting is that the photo looks remarkably similar to an early shot of the 2009 Toyota FT-86 concept – down to the railway station-like background and the five-spoke wheels, leading us to suppose that the new four-door concept will take more styling cues from the FT-86 than the production 86.

So if the FT-86 concept eventually became the production 86 (which it did), it follows that the four-door 86 you can eventually buy could look more like Theophilus Chin‘s recent speculative rendering (below) – less of this bunched-up look and more classic GT-like proportions. We’ll have to wait and see, anyway. Theo also did one based on the FT-86 concept some time ago – refer to the gallery.

Toyota_86_sedan_rendering_Theophilus_Chin

Reports speculate a 100-mm longer wheelbase (making it 2,670 mm) and the same 200 hp/205 Nm 2.0 litre flat-four. There may be a hybrid variant with a toned-down version of Toyota’s new sporty Hybrid-R technology, which was recently showcased on a 400 hp Yaris-based concept. This is said to yield about 250-270 hp and up to 15% better fuel economy.

The road-ready Toyota 86 sedan is expected to surface at the Geneva show in March 2014 before going on sale either later in the year or in 2015.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• KLIMS on Nov 04, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Why never debut in our KLIMS? Is it because our KLIMS is so pariah and just an accessories show and not really a car show?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 06, 2013 at 10:59 am

UMW will sell this car for a killing with only 2 airbags and no VSC and outdated 4 speed Auto that drinks petrol like crazy. And stupid Malaysians will buy it syiok sendiri that they got a good deal.

Hear it from No 1 Toyota salesman….you got conned.

• Nice concept but please name it other than 86. Please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Why?? The name itself has its strength

• Because it will ruin the heritage of the 2 doors coupe. With extra 2 doors, it should be named other than 86.

• Don’t think that it will ruin it. Others manufacturer also did it. For me, I love the coupe than sedan, but from the prices I need it to be 4 doors sedan with the same DNA.

• Henry Ford the XII on Nov 05, 2013 at 9:15 am

Should have name the coupe Levin or Trueno in the 1st place. Then this sedan version can be called Ceres or (Sprinter) Marino.

How do u pronounce 86 anyway?
      Eighty-six or hachiroku?

• Pinky on Nov 04, 2013 at 7:47 pm

And the car will come with 2 airbags without ESC, along with the almighty 4 speed auto when it reaches Malaysia..

• hajime on Nov 04, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Malaysian prefer more ah beng car like vios altis and the latest ahbeng camry..

• hajimemya55 on Nov 05, 2013 at 1:39 pm

sorry i prefer proton suprima s, can beat all listed car above any time

• define ahbeng on Nov 05, 2013 at 8:48 pm

Look at the mod perdana, myvi, saga, then you know what are ahbeng cars. Coz everyone could buy it and be ahbeng.

No doubt there are a lot of uncle drivers for altis and Camry, but there are even more uncles for Mercedes owner, then Mercedes is ahbeng car too?

If it is out of your reach, sorry for you, don’t blame the cars.

• ahleng on Nov 05, 2013 at 9:26 am

yes… you’re right.. they just look for the resale value not safety…

• Johnny on Nov 05, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Correct! Plan to buy and ready for sell? then what for buy a new car?

• rear roofline looks like gtr35
    btw the car front look similar like the old concept that appears in previous KLIMS

• it’s very likely a fake. The body is clearly the original FT86 concept lauched back a few years and that rear window looks as if someone bucket-painted a grey on it. Its definitely a Photoshopped…. Add to that, Toyota and Subaru are in contemplating on the sedan as the latter dosen’t want it but the former does.

And I can’t find the pic on the Dubai Autoshow FB page and the only concept it says that Toyota is bringing is the GT86 convertible.

• jzx100 on Nov 05, 2013 at 6:27 pm

only JDM is good enough…locally assembled car sucks!!….I would love to see our roads with all those fantastic JDM Toyotas…Century, Celsior, Aristo, Windom, Crown Majesta, Crown Athlete/Royal Saloon, MarkII/Cresta/Chaser, Altezza…