Lexus LF-NX to premiere new 2.0 turbo mill in Tokyo

Lexus_LF_NX_concept_002

The Lexus LF-NX concept, which premiered in Frankfurt in hybrid guise, will again be at the forefront of things in Tokyo later this month – the preview form of the upcoming NX crossover will debut a newly-developed 2.0 litre turbocharged engine, the anticipated Toyota force-fed mill.

Essentially, the unit will get its market introduction in the NX when that arrives, as a NX 200t model. The automaker hasn’t disclosed details or performance numbers for the lump, so it’ll probably have to wait till the show or closer to it to see what’s on offer. As for the LF-NX that’s Tokyo-bound, the turbo concept features a front under-spoiler to give it, as the company puts it, a sportier look.

Back to the turbo unit – don’t be expecting to see too much of it in Toyota-based applications. As previously reported, Toyota’s engine and powertrain guru Koei Saga said that its availability within the Toyota range will be limited.

Saga was quoted as saying that he’s unconvinced that turbocharging is a technology that “makes the world better,” and so, the primary route that’ll be taken by the company is of the larger displacement, non-turbo path, utilising larger displacement units running on the Atkinson cycle, as found in the automaker’s current hybrid powertrains. Still, the advent of the new 2.0 turbo should provide some cheer to those who think small but powerful is the way to go.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• This is future, Toyota. Turbocharged your small engine and hybrid it. Clean emission, powerful and efficient. Big engine are heavy and expensive in maintenance parts.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 06, 2013 at 11:11 am

This is just a Toyota lah. Wake up lah Malaysians, you spending BMW prices on a mere Toyota. That is not just silly, its super dumb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Norman on Nov 05, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Follow Euro way small engine with big turbo,even Proton already done with light pressure ones how can big players like Toyota dont follow suit?Im hoping for a Toyota Wish 1.5 light turbo with 135hp/220nm

• Toyota’s biggest problem as a whole is the limited powertrain inventory and lack of commitment to it develope it. So any new engine from Toyota will be a sign of relieve.

As for the design, I just hope they split that overly huge predator grill on the production car, At least into 2 parts with a body penal in the lower middle seperating it. Damn the headlights looks awesome.

• sexy car like vios. but of course vios is definitely better looking than this one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • motorhead on Nov 05, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Wow.. So design so brutal. I like.

• Car_Enthisiast on Nov 06, 2013 at 12:12 am

When BMW Audi Merc and most other Europeans opt to go the compact turbo route, who are you Toyota to say it is a bad idea.

After all,you only know how to make dull and boring cars.

You might as well say the 8 speed gearbox is useless and those pathetic 4 speed autos that you’re still using in some models are the way to go!

• lexus masih nak kekalkan diorg nyer desain camtu sebagai trademark lexus? ingat lawa ke? huduh sial.

• calcutta on Nov 06, 2013 at 3:31 am

lexus designer should be fired

• Lexus try to have an iconic design, just like any other german luxury car. the moment u see the car , u recognize it, is from Lexus.
    Turbocharged engine … maybe from subaru? Then make it hybrid some more.