Vehicle End of Life policy could be reintroduced

Vehicle End of Life policy

The Vehicle End of Life policy could be reintroduced in the upcoming National Automotive Policy (NAP) revision, The Star reports. An anonymous industry source has told the daily that as a general rule, the policy could see 10- to 15-year old vehicles having to go through compulsory inspections to determine their roadworthiness.

“With the policy in place, consumers could opt for newer cars rather than using clunkers that are way past their lifespan. This would ensure continued new sales but it will only be successful with the right incentives,” he said, adding that the business of vehicle inspections could be extended beyond Puspakom centres to include qualified panel workshops.

The source did not say what would happen to vehicles older than 15 years – until a proper scrap policy is put into place, we are left guessing. The Vehicle End of Life policy was first announced in the 2009 NAP revision, stating a compulsory yearly inspection for vehicles older than 15 years as the first step towards the implementation of a full vehicle scrap policy. This was soon dropped following public protest.

Additionally, the source told The Star that regulations could be introduced for the after-market industry, including workshops, tyres and accessories shops, spare parts centres and car dealers.

The latest NAP revision is expected to be announced at the end of this year. For a sneak peek at what it could entail, read our report on our session with the MAI.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• If the intention is for the safety of public then it’s good. But if this is being abused to increase the sales-so-that-more-tax(or subsidy-can-be-collected, then go die.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 478 Thumb down 3
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 292
      • Jimmy on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:39 pm

It is like mandatorily asking everybody above the age of 30 years to have yearly comprehensive healthe screening in Makmal1Malaysia own by ?whom, fee = RM300, excluding starbuck coffee.
        So there will be 5 million cars for yearly checking in 100 cities = 50 000 cars per city per year, and not forgetting the vehicles from ulu-ulu.
        This is 5 months after May 2013, so there will be more things for my supporters, be it bad or good.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 4
        • Jimmy on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:11 pm

Think about the consequences to the common public, not your pockets nor your friends’.
          Mandatory yearly checking of vehicles aged 5 years and above is like doing health screening for people above the age of 30 years (no health report, you cannot work in case you harm your colleagues in your working surroundings).
          To me, I get bored with my vehicles after an average of 3 years, no problems. But what about the poor, especially those from ulu-ulu?
          What are the proper proven criteria, in black and white with statistics back-up, to determine whether a vehicle can pass or otherwise, or is it done subjectively subjected to the mood of the mechanic inspector or kopi-O ?
          Will there be audit yearly or 3-yearly to see the result of the implementation?
          What happened in developed countries? Do we have their results or statistics? Can it be directly applied to us?

If you implement it on vehicles above the age of 15 years, may be it’s ok. And I will support a full checking every 2 to 3 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
          • Jimmy on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Why not the BN just implement a mandatory checking of all the bridges every two years for every bridge that is above the age of 10 years? No cannot, the bills is to JKR or companies of kronies.
            What about all tall buildings beyond 10 storeys above the age of 15 years? No cannot, those big building a lot belong to my friends.
            Then let me teach you, you can just implement a yearly checking of all houses above the age of 10 years, fee = RM500, to prevent kebakaran elecktrik atau keruntuhan. Contract is to your own companies, then you untung banyak-banyak.
            Or you can force every shop to pay you for the yearly checking of their papan tanda in case they drop down and hit the heads of their customers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 4
          • _xXx_ on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:31 am

so, is the fire sale on? from used car dealers? hahaha…this is another group of ppl that will make hellalot of noise later…

• MAI and MAA bunch of dungus on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:49 am

MAI and MAA are bunch of dungus. Instead of all this drama about Vehicle Life Policy, they should sort out more important things and advice the government that these things are far more important than Vehicle Life.

Firstly, it is the issue of Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years. This is not seen at all. Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years. 4 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Secondly, clean up Puspakom. It is the dirtiest body in town. Everybody knows it. Even to sell a car also, we have to cough out extra RM1000 which will be used as duit kopi for the Puspakom. Lets face facts and not run away from this issue because the poor like myself have a hard time selling our old cars. Recently I sold my car for RM3000 but RM1000 had to be given to Puspakom as duit kopi. So, poor me, I am left with a mere RM2000. Already I am poor, lagi the government rip me off. Not by mere RM50 or RM100, nowdays, duit kopi has gone up so much, it has become RM1000.

MAI and MAA should be looking into all this problems. They are more pressing for the rakyat. It hurts the everyday man like me. This kind of things they are not bothered. Your infrastructure itself is so corrupted, you want to come up with new policies. Sort your home first. Clean up your Puspakom. Its filthy as hell. Everything there is money money money. Clean up Puspakom and the JPJ. These are more severe and detrimental to Malaysia’s growth than worrying about some old car on the road. After all, the percentage of old cars on the road causing accidents are so small and negligable. Furthermore, it is the older people who have old cars and they are mainly deserted by the government. Pensions have grown patheticly over the years that these old people cannot afford anything new.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
          • Low Budget on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Puspakom? I bought a 2nd hand car a few years back, as usual the car must be sent to Puspakom for inspection. I found out that the gear box is half conked even though the car’s health is approved by Puspakom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Low Budget on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Its quite obvious what their intentions are given that the sales of Proton and Perodua can’t be forever growing, saturation point will be reach if most of the car owners keep their cars beyond 10 years. I can foresee there will be a lot of runners and also a lot of under the tables dealings.

• Peugatti on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:39 pm

So I am assuming you are either one of those rich ass faces who can afford a brand new bmw or either you work for the government?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 178
          • Hadi74 on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Arrogant ba#*@rd…….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 2
          • arrogant people they dont work hard, they lie hard and curi publics money hard for them self. Especially BN “penting diri sendiri”. no one can stay rich all the time, one day they will fall, fall hard. we dont want to know what car you drive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 3
          • Only a driver so lansi. What you had today? White rice and plain curry?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
          • kancil on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:58 pm

still stuck in jem behind kancil

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
          • prove it, anyone with internet can say they own an aston martin…=.=

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
          • Monday on Nov 07, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Inferiority complex syndrome ka bro…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
          • Hahaha so many butthurt jealous poor, work hard like cow lah you guys, bye.. I’m flying to Australia tommorow for some shopping. See ya!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 71
          • Harvin on Nov 07, 2013 at 9:48 pm

I think the porsche you have is a die cast model? If i had a porsche cayenne buddy i would not have time to waste to be commenting on this site

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
          • hello crony…how much u rasuah today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • lol
            I earn the money not taking rasuah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
          • Merc85 on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:19 am

Old car doesn’t mean it is not safe as long as you maintain it well. A lot of nice vintage cars round and were well taken care by the owners.

pssss…..usually rich people don’t show off, especially in the Internet.

• So you are trying to say tht you are a COW? how sad, work dlm kandang BN. Dont worry one day public will slaughter you nice and easy make Ramly burger out of your cow-nes. Good job work like a cow. Just so you know cow is dumb.

• Don’t get angry with BN! As he is just driving BM 10 series (BMX) only. What a poor guy!!

• “if you don’t have money for new car, go ride motobike”
        Really? How ignorant are you, this effects everyone, so you’ll be following us riding bikes too, you dumb piece of sh*t
        Also porsche cayenne? bwahahah PICS OR IT DIDNT HAPPEN. Hot wheels dont count.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • jacksonljs on Nov 07, 2013 at 9:51 pm

Even motorbike also NOT ELIGIBLE to own and ride. Every time when i driving on the road, many many time i have lost count how many bikes (even cars) don’t have money to REPLACE FAULTY REAR/BRAKE LIGHTS.

Those vehicles with faulty/non working lights should have taken off from the road before someone or even themselves get killed.

• Jimmy on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Exactly, yearly checking of bikes and bicycyles above the age of 5 years?

• Actually not many ppls that if they can’t afford something then they bought it. Only some doing that. I think most ppls know their responsibility.

• More Important Problems on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:58 am

Vehicle Life Policy is not important. The Government should clean up more pressing matters first. Clean up your infrastructure first from crony practices and corruption, then only come out with policies such as Vehicle End of Life.

Other pressing issues are…

1) Our AP cowboys under declare cars. For example, they bring in a 2010 car but declare to customs it is a 2009 car. So they pay less tax. Quite a lot of AP cowboys do this. It becomes a big problem when you, as the consumer, want to sell your car later. You cannot!. Government know this but, as usual, silent as a mouse and come out with silly policies such as End of Life policy.

Secondly, because of the AP and crony system, we consumers have to deal with these cowboy AP holders and 2nd hand dealers who tamper with the odometer. Its no secret, 90% of used cars dealers and also grey importers bring high mileage cars in and then tamper with the odometer to show very low attractive mileage.

The government must ensure that all 2nd hand cars and grey imports come with service booklets that indicate clearly the service history of the given car. And it strictly must enforce that if a car has zero service history, AP holders must not import the car in and must strictly adhere to this ruling.

The problem with the whole situation is that the Government gives all the AP’s to their cronies and it is the consumer that suffers with dodgy importers.

These AP holders make a huge profit. Because in overseas, high mileage cars are sold dirt cheap. In UK, the price of a car is based on the mileage on the odometer and NOT the year of make. For example, a 2009 Mercedes E250 with 10,000 miles clocked on it is very much higher in price than a 2011 Mercedes E250 with 150,000 miles on it. The price difference can even be about 20,000 pounds. Unlike Malaysia, it is terbalik.

What our AP cowboys do is very simple. Besides getting hundreds of free AP’s, they buy these high mileage cars, mostly ex-rental cars that have been trashed and bring them to Malaysia, and then clock down the odometer to say, 8,000KM. And then sell for a hefty sum telling you the cars are hardly used or showroom cars in the UK. In reality most of these cars are ex-rental cars that have been trashed over the years by people who rent them and have clocked over 150,000 miles.

Ask any used car dealers or AP dealers and 99% of the time, they tell you the car has no service history or service booklet. Even if the car is a 2012 model and is still under warranty in Japan or the UK, they tell you got no service booklet. Surely if it is still under warranty in the UK or Japan, the owner must keep his service booklet and warraty card to service his car in the UK. Bear in mind most cars in the UK have 5 years warranty. So, if the owner in the UK does not give the warranty booklet or service history, something smells fishy.

Bear in mind that most of the AP holders and 2nd hand car dealers buy these cars so cheaply and their profit margin on these cars are nothing less than RM100,000 per car despite the AP holder paying the government duties and taxes. And these AP holders get hundreds of free APs per person.

The government also must ensure that the buyers of these grey import cars are able to contact the respective previous owner in Japan or the UK to verify the mileage claim and service history. Because of the Data Protection Act in the UK for example, even with your VIN or chasis number, the dealership in the UK will never reveal any information on the car you newly bought in Malaysia, despite you being the new legal owner. And the AP holders know this. AP Holders themselves most of the time don’t tell you who they bough the car from.

The government should be looking at more pressing things such as the above. End of Life policy is so insignificant when the whole car industry has so many problems involving cronyism and corruption, practices which affect 30 million consumers who end up getting a raw deal and paying more for their cars. Government should…

1) Ensure ALL grey imports and 2nd hand cars come with service history and their respective service booklets.

2) Enable the owner to verify the mileage claim on the odometer with the UK counterpart or directly with the UK owner. Here, the AP holders in Malaysia is merely a middle person or an agent assisting you, the buyer buy the car from the seller in the UK. If it is a 2nd hand local car, the buyer must be given the full service history. As mentioned above, it is not just the AP cowboys who tamper with mileage but our 2nd hand car dealers also do the same. It is so alarming because the majority do tamper with odometers. And Government knows this.

Bear in mind that a car that cost RM300,000 may cost you an additional RM100,000 in parts replacement if the parts are worn out if the car has already done over 100,000KM. And in most cases, the parts have already worn out badly. But you thinking it has done only RM8,000KM on the odometer made you decide it was such a good buy in the first place as you thought it was hardly used.

So many people have fallen for this trap. After few months, gear box rosak and the they have to cough out another RM100,000 to replace the gearbox.

Most AP holders send the cars to the AutoSpa and refurbish the cars to a brand new state. No matter how bad a car can be they just change the tyres and let the AutoSpa work magic. The next thing you know, the car is so shiny and brilliant despite having clocked over 150,000 miles “secretly”.

Many owners of luxury cars here get a shock when they send their cars to the authorized dealership for that particular brand for service. For instance, Porsche. So many owners get a shock when they plug in the propreitory Porsche diagnostic machine into their newly bought Porsche and they see the car has clocked over 150,000 miles when in actual fact, the AP cowboy told them that the car only clocked 10,000 miles only. There have been cars even showing to clock 300,000 miles on the machine even.

Most owners usually don’t send their AP bought car to the respective dealerships because either the brand dealership don’t recognize grey imports or if they do recognize grey imports, the Welcome Package is too expensive to pay.

These are more compelling issues government should lobby for. They know about such issues but chose not to do anything about it. Come out with less important policies when bigger problems exist and swept under the carpet. Why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Aerro on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Clearly govt always find creative ways/excuses to cekik rakyat and force us to buy Proton and Perodua…NAP – Never against Proton&Perodua…!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 5
      • it doesn’t matter wat car u buy… G still owns u…
        i.e. tax on import cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • efrny on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Please refer to MAA info on vehicle duty. Local cars also have been taxed high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • alldisc on Nov 07, 2013 at 8:06 pm

actually come to think about it… by clearing old cars will make room for lowering new car prices.

example if proton preve is to be sold at 55K instead of 80k, then what will happen to used values of 2012 persona?? 2003 waja?

1997 wira?

i am hoping govt have some suprises up its sleeve…. though hard to restore faith in the current G.

• alamak on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:12 pm

G never intend care rakyat, malaysia car price too high even patrol as well, plus rubbish public transport and PROUD safety environment…good job

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
    • klata-klata on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Malaysian pays high taxes every purchase of a new car. To help make ends meet, many keep their car well as long as possible. Will incentives to scrap an old serviceable car be comparable to the additional taxes incurred to change?

Should we promote a throw-away lifestyle/mentality/culture to support the motor industry? Isn’t the motor industry already a big and rich industry? What is the average household income of Malaysian? The people in this blog is not representative of the average Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • Thunderous Kitty Chan on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Good job! As car affordability drops, you will see less and less cars on the road, reduce traffic fruit jam!! Only rich ppl can drive ^^

• Das Auto on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:12 am

New vios should be scrapped too since its using more than 10 yr old engine n gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • Most consumer do not know tht, they thnk everything is new, basically they just change the body only. Same goes to Hilux.

• karils on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:03 am

very straight forward comment for the G to react, still if not also go die

• This is a good policy but not doable in Malaysia, putting corruption aside, car prices are too high.

The idea is newer cars are safer, more fuel efficient, less likely to break down and etc.

Unless car prices are 50% cheaper, I think the general public have to ‘swallow’ this new policy if it is implemented.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 181 Thumb down 4
    • powershot on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:15 pm

set end-of-life cap to 15 years. reduce car price by 50%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
      • powershot on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:10 am

If cannot reduce that much. reduce overall car price to 30%. For car owners who are scrapping their old cars & replacing them with a new one; give them an incentive such as 40% discount or something

• Chris on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Sooo…. my parents are retiring next year, no more regular income. They paid off their car loans and house loans, all my siblings have left home and live far apart and is having a handful just to support our own life. Now the old cars need to be scrapped?

I guess I’ll send my car home for them, and I’ll switch to kapcai…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 201 Thumb down 3
  • abuya123 on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Anti BN…. Your meal are ready… Please bash it now

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 16
  • amfin on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Again with this BS.Like this la, gomen want to RE-introduce this, stop the nonsense AP/Duties/Taxes/Proton Protectionism/Monopolies by GLC & the FEW chosen ones THEN only introduce.If not again like I said many times AKU TIPU & Barang Naik.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 5
  • farghmee on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:27 pm

public transport tip-top, baru cte.

else,

shut up.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
  • Alfred Chan on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Pls chop antique cars from Dato-Dato, Tan Sri-Tan Sri first.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • Such a stupid action to protect proton. Old man:”I dont have a job and i dont have money to buy new car. But if BN “force” me, what to do, must find cheap saga sv la”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • helli on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:38 pm

If they want to protect proton, why proton also been on high tax?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • kerata_lembu on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Yahoo! Now we can all have new cars!…oh wait, what was I thinking? Better invest in a good pair of shoes and start walking to work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Agree with this policy… I can stand next to a Euro 5 diesel bus and breathe the tailpipe exhaust as it accelerates away from a traffic light and smell nothing, it’s completely clean.

But a 10 year old badly maintained small car… belching black smoke that you can smell for one entire block… probably worse for the environment and health of the citizens than 20 of those buses.

No point car and bus companies spending billions on R&D on more cleaner vehicles if older cars are allowed to remain on the road well past their intended life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 55
    • klata-klata on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:28 pm

There are well maintained 30 or 40 years old Mini, Beetle, Saga-1 or 130Y that easily run more economical and cleaner than your average car. These engines are easy and inexpensive to overhaul if necessary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Hadi75 on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:36 pm

No point of having a euro5 diesel engine if the fuel is still stuck at euro2m……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • buy cheap plotong also need 9 years to pay full.. if buy premium car like vios then rugi lah want to scrap after 10 years.. what a joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Singapore had the same rule, so you hardly see any old cars on the road. But with their public transport, ppl can live without a car. And with their salary and currency value, ppl could probably afford a new car in 10 years time

Can malaysia be the same?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • somebody will tell you to move out south soon. well if this goes on, no need to tell, migration will increase… those with option will not stay anymore. Do i have an option ? what to do ? work harder ? taxes + gst already miserable enough. now freaking high car price with tolled roads and no proper public transport. !@#$%^&*()_ barang naik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • .Should come out with pro and cons. This policy is okay if our gov give BANTUAN KERETA RAKYAT SATU MALAYSIA(BKRIM)..10k to 5k rebate to exchange 10yrs old skool car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • magpie on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:31 pm

NO! at LEAST 50% rebates!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • kekeke on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:21 pm

Don’t ever hope for Bantuan rakyat,
      BN give you once, but suck you back by other way in long run.
      Then you will end up with “PENGEMIS Yang KERING KOTANG”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • not everybody can keep changing car every 5 to 15 year. do you expect ppl to keep continue paying loans sampai mampus?

• Henrick on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:39 pm

This will only work if the cars is affordable and cheap in total cost of ownership. It will not work with our high car price,petrol,tolled roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • carnoisseur on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:39 pm

for all the population who still drive their old faithful cars …..even you cannot live a simple debt free life if this is implemented because they want you to spend on new cars ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • m4a1 carbine on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Well car taxation in Malaysia is freaking high (we are the 2nd highest most expensive new car in the world)…This is a way for the BN and umno to eat money again… Other than that it is a stupid protectionism and monopolies by the stupid mahai devil ( dr:M) and his stupid umno party to enjoy money……..

So vintage car owner how? A friend of mine owns a 50 years old beetle and a 1965 alfa romeo Giulia and a 1956 Morris Minor…Do you think he feels sad after scraping his old car?

I drive a 1984 toyota celica, need to scrap later? I have great sentiment for my old car man!

SAY NO TO SCRAPPING

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
    • sonic31 on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:29 pm

Agree, my parents work as a hawker and drive their faitful car (wira year 97) even it give problem but the maintains is cheap and easy to find spare-part.
      But we only can maintain own daily expenses from the store and now add scrapping to add our burden. BN taking money from the poor!!!

SAY NO TO SCRAPPING !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Ash Menon on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:44 pm

“This would ensure continued new sales”

Well wouldn’t YOU love that, you little toadstool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • Mike Dude on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Lower car prices and we are happy to scrap our junks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • 4agze on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:50 pm

get ready with popcorn..

• Black Dog on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:51 pm

It’s a good policy but as in all policies in Bolehland, the intention is good, but the implementation is F**K!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • intermilan on Nov 09, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Allow me to improve your statement.

The publicised intentions is good,

But the real secret intentions is evil and the implementations is boon for cronies, pemakan rasuah et al.

The end to end system, policy n processes will ensure the rakyat got frack kiri kanan front back n atas bawah all the time!

• I’am loving my 20 yr old Saga and you’re not taking it away!

OK lets get serious, having recently been to hulu
    Selangor, there were many folks still happily driving their pre-90s car, everything raging from the original Saga, to Morris Minor(thou there was a beautiful Mk 1 Escort). My point in this is, not many people can afford newer makes now and some (me included) are still happy with their old car and see no intention changing it. Cars are expensive and as my regular mechanic would tell me, old cars are easier to fix(thou more problematic) than newer digital ones.

So until our income average gets any higher, I struggle to see the feasibility in this. And personally old cars are more lively to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • queeze on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:45 pm

HOw about limiting older cars in suburb area only. In city only newer cars are allowed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • It is a good effort, but like I said some people can’t afford new cars and this problem not only extand to the rural/small town areas. Places like Kepong and Selayang still have large quantities of old car like and people who are not in the situation to change it….or rather they need two cars in the family but can only require to buy one new model….I mean my family is in the same situation.

• whitefox on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:53 pm

drive 100km or faster with insane driving skill kill more than an old car.

plus annual inspection is troublesome.

should make it like 10 year old first check
    15 year 2nd check

than for 15 year above check every 3 year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Danny on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:21 pm

That sounds like lots of checks. And I am sure, if the intentioned is to ensure road worthiness of the old car, we the rakyat will really appreciate our governments concern.

So seeing as how much Puspakom earn all these years from the millions of rakyat buying and selling cars in Malaysia. It is time, puspakom give back to the people and be awarded the duty to give these checks for old vehicles for free seeing as how many of these owners are from the not well to do or do not think it is necessary to purchase a new car every now and then. Isn’t it time people be repaid back by a private company that have profited so much at the expense of the rakyat. So Puspakom to provide free checks. :)

• BadBET on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:54 pm

If old car need yearly inspection to prove it is road worthy, than the insurance 15% loading fee must be abolish. or do consumer still have to pay for inspection fee + loading fee?
    Maybe people are willing to scarp old car as long as the car price is low without tax.
    But still, pay for car installment for 7 or 9 years then have a peace of mind for 1 – 3 years, then have to pay monthly installment again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Many ppl are struggling to make ends meet with the ever-escalating costs of living. If the govt introduces this, it is not helping but adding another burden on the ppl, esp the poor. Cant compare with Singapore because they have good, comprehensive and reliable public transportation, and one can live without owning a car. Here, due to the poor transportation system, even a despatch boy has to own a car (for family use) which he can afford if it is a used 5-8 year old proton bought from a used car dealer under a 9 year loan – and now we are suggesting that he has to scrap it before he pays off the loan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Jeffrey Chew on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:57 pm

This is possible, give us back the 50% excise duty/taxes (cash or rebate on next car) that paid once it scrapped.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Messy on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Why need AP? We collect old car from other countries and make it a rubbish here in Malaysia. Protecting national car? Ask our citizen, who will agree to do this? End of days, who benefit from the AP? Now, got new policy, and this probably another money making mechanism for them again. Poor Malaysia Citizen …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • shoot on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:01 pm

malaysian need the Politician End of Life policy more than Vehicle End of Life policy , those politician need to recycle. puspakom inspection will just let those crony earn from monopoly business.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
  • Jinggo on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:02 pm

We always want to be like Singapork. So, whats the problem? Rilek brader..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
    • RejimKejamGanas on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Kasi gaji sama dengan mereka dulu la brader…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • jinggo on Nov 07, 2013 at 8:19 pm

pelan2 kayuh la brader, kalu wat sekali harung, kroni mana nak letak? rilek brader..

• Kuro Hazama on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:17 pm

if wanna be like Singapore,take it as a whole… don;t take half,and left half… wanna scrap older cars like them,but their brand new price are far lower… when comparing gas price after withdrawing subsidy,we said “oh,our gas price is still one of the lowest in this region”,comparing with Singapore… but when the people compares the salary received,the minister said “if you don’t like,go and live in the jungle”… WTF…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
      • jinggo on Nov 07, 2013 at 8:21 pm

take it as a whole? meaning that restriction on opposition as well? i don’t think so..

• klata-klata on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Singapore has a need to scrap older cars to make room for new cars because of their lack of space. Our Malaysian policy is more geared to selling more cars! Our government could be lobbied by a powerful industry – possibly the biggest.

• klata-klata on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:46 pm

Even wealthy Singaporean (per capita GDP US$61k vs Malaysian US$17k) gets big incentive in the form of preferential tax rate to buy a new car upon scrapping the old car.

• That’s per capita is not the median value

• Did u really mean median, or did u want to say average. If u really mean median, then what is the difference statistically with per capita?

• Faizul on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:03 pm

the policy is a double whammy. it is by no means would burden the general public which must buy a new car every 15 years or so. as compare to today we see that car as old as 20 to 30 years still road worthy provided a proper care being given. secondly it will benefit car dealers whereby it will help boost their sales regardless how the economy is doing.

• klata-klata on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Malaysian household debt at 76% of GDP is a worrying factor and has risen rapidly. Housing and car prices are the biggest culprits and have risen beyond the affordability of most Malaysians given that salaries have not risen much for many decades.

Why must the government make a bad situation worse. The Global economy is weak and will easily struggle for another 5 years. When Western governments talk of QE Tapering the emerging markets like Malaysia staggers. We’re at risk of another 1998-type financial crisis when debts bites. Don’t scrap usable old cars to take up more debt in purchase of new expensive and fast-depreciating models. I think cost of car ownership in Malaysia is even higher than cost of home ownership, so it is the biggest bubble and heaviest Burden to Malaysians.

To hell with the manipulations of the selfish and greedy motor industry, be mindful of the plight of the struggling households. Not now with weak global economy, weak export, weak palm oil prices, higher fuel hikes, pending TNB rates increase, GST, ever increasing car prices, raising house prices, weak Ringgit, etc.

• artworks on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:16 pm

its boosting saga SV sales !

• whysoserious on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:18 pm

You may implement this but please make sure you LOWER DOWN the car price first!

• Loan up to 9 years because of car high price, then after 10 years already past their lifespan.. What a joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Green on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:19 pm

I will be the first one who support.
    IF ONLY all cars and spare part imported = Duty FREE.
    Giving us Langkawi’s price with 15 years end of life policy.

Government can try reduce loan length to 5 years at the same time…
    so, affordability or monthly payment will be same.

Example:
    Vios TRD = RM92,000
    loan 9 years = RM1008
    3.5% interest.

New, 15 end of life, duty free.
    Vios TRD = RM61,000 (langkawi price)
    loan 5 years = RM 1075
    3.5% interest.

then, I will support.
    this will boost Nation car safety, Yet.
    More sales.. new trend will apear: change car every 5 years instead of 10 years. boosting economy.

oops, then will be too much of cars on the road.

no worry,
    The petrol, let it run freely as US price. no need subsidies petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • toyoda on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:33 pm

The only downside, proton would die…

• Keep on dreaming dude…your G would never abolish this blood sucking tax cause they are ” The Known Devil” n ” the stupid “. This is what mahadevil announce before…now everybody can cry…really hard…

• TeacW7 on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Wah, who in this mother earth would want to give up such an easy and yet biggest earning pocket money just for the sake of Rakyat? UMNO is known as the portal for the ministers who wanna get quick and easy cash via songlapping the Rakyats. And seriously, none of them really care about the economies. Country bangkrapt? No worry, ministers edi kaya and prepare to migrate and buy properties on Australia, Switzerland, Cayman Island. Good bye poor and forever squeezed fellow Malaysians..

• raj kumar on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:21 pm

my accord is 5 years old and i wanna use it for another 10 years. having spent more than RM142k including car price and loan interest, insurance, running cost. I need to get my return on liability. after 15 years, the cost is well justified

• wongok on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Since when a car is an investment?

• car like vios is suitable for investment..

• Angra on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:55 am

A car might not be a financial investment, but it is a ‘consumption’ investment because people want to make the most out of it. Fully utilize it as long as it works. Get it?

• What a pathetic…scrapping policy, GST, high toll etc follow developed economies.

Transport infrastructure like third world with slightly developed countries eg Singapore’s MRT BUT forced rakyat to purchase world second most expensive car.

How on earth they can implement this when they never allow even slightest room for price reduction but price hike in automotive sector? Even our motorcycle prices dearer than Singapore. Many not realized.

• The end for our car modification community…Ranging from Civic EF,EG,EK to Skyline, Supra, RX-7 all gone.

• Abg Long on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:33 pm

this is ok if there is a rasional insentive given, car prices goes down, public transportations r very cheap n efficient :)

• bluebird on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:43 pm

So Recon cars will be banned from Malaysia??
    In 2014, say I buy 2006 Estima 120K, loan 7 years, in 2016 I scrap the Estima and continue service loan for another 5 years for scrap metal. BolehLand Boleh!
    How about those old pakcik/makcik in estate? I still see them driving FIRST generation Saga and Kancil around.

• glaze on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:58 pm

they got br1m so they voted the boleh government, why worry? ada br1m kan?

• this will definitely create more opportunities for the PUSPAKOM or whatever inspection agencies to get more “side income” to approve the “disqualified” vehicles to remain on the roads!

• Just A Nobody on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:45 pm

”the business of vehicle inspections could be extended
    beyond Puspakom centres to include qualified
    panel workshops”,
    I’m pretty sure some smartass workshop owner would take advantage out of this, say by gangin’ up with car dealers? You know, probably by stating the opposite of what supposed to be still roadworthy car in the inspection papers, then suggest (racun jangan tak racun situation) to the poor fellow to get a new car from a particular car dealer. Who knows right?

• EDDIE on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:46 pm

HO LEE SHEET….WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN TO MY BABY 300ZX???

• dewaSemut on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Go fly kites Govt!
    I am not giving up my old, loan free car. Period. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • _xXx_ on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:58 pm

dun worry laa guys, it will never materialise. Kg ppl will be the first to make noise…

• government can stay like what?50years ++?why not our car can be driven more than 50years?both oso same maa..will go rusty and lousy but still no yearly inspection done

• thepolygon on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:59 pm

The reason why old cars are around is because we can’t afford to buy new cars. If cars are cheap and very affordable then this policy might work. Else… in exchange of our old cars give us the ability to purchase a new car without the excise duty.

• Sparcov on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Generally, the Government should propose some incentive to the current owner to scrap their cars. Also, it depends whether the owner would like to take that incentive or not and depends the new purchase price. No point giving the incentive while the new car still high selling price. Who want to take it?

I get to know from Thailand, whereby their Government subsidize RM 10,000 for each buyer to change their car to a eco car. Their eco car e.g nissan March can be purchase below RM 40k. So, the buyer only top up RM 30k to get the car.

Can Malaysia also do this? At one time, the incentive to trade any old car was given RM 5,000. that only attractive if the car value less than RM 5,000 at the open market. Again, to buy the new car which cost RM 30,000 for a viva, we still need to pay for the loan.

Financially burden, why should we buy a new car and pay for the loan when the current car e.g. nissan sentra aged 20 years still can go up down Genting as their public taxi?

maintaining the 2nd hand car market price is very difficult in such a way that there is no place to go for those car. E.g europe, Japan scrap their car within certain period of time. But those car will be export to country like Malaysia as Recond car. There’s still a market here.

I suggest,

1. Government incentive for car owner
    2. Reduce car prices
    3. Set 10 years maximum for private car
    4. Set 15 years maximum for commercial vehicle.
    5. Set every years inspection for car more than 5 years old.
    6. Maintain the value for 2nd market
    7. Promote eco car, hybrid, efficient car
    8. Stop replica, counterfeit spare parts

All the above are currently practised by other country.

Comparing to Europe is difficult. While some of us think that to buy a car is cheap there. But in reality, to maintain the car is even more expensive than to buy the car in 10 years time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • saladin on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:29 pm

goverment will not follow any of ur suggestion bcos none of those will give them money.

• Sparcov on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:59 am

Agree. If such a case, they should not propose the scrap car policy if they are not willing to let go certain benefits.

If we are talking developed nation. This is where we should be heading to. Not just political talk.

• skinhunt on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:42 am

the hybrid car not many can afford

• yao fei on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:02 pm

G can stay like what?more than 50years maa..why not our cars?they both just same oso..will go rusty and clumpsy after so long..

• Tokong on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Well, this is how I will do it.

If you were to trade in your >15years car, regardless of any maker, you are entitled to purchase a basic Viva or Saga for RM13,500.

So you are safe and we do our part by providing the incentive for Rakyat. Rakyat first, PnL then.

• jeremy on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:15 pm

Bro..

Pls correct me if I’m wrong , there are no more 9yrs car loan..the new one are cap at 7yrs

• showmetheranger on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:27 pm

There are so many vehicles on the road that is not roadworthy; cars, bikes and esp commercial vehicles.
    For the safety of the public is good but if it is actually to gain profit in the name of safety, then ditch the policy.
    Why not just ‘enhanced’ the existing policies/ rules by proper implementation and enforcement. Even the existing ones we still have to play catch up.

• apalgBNmau on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:36 pm

kalau nak duit cakap jer lah,, xpayah nk berkias

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:44 pm

For kimchis, end of life policy is already self introduced by the face that it has such low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • End of life policy should be applied to the Vios before the kimchis by the fact it can fly,endangering other drivers ._.

• thebugbud on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Good move. Introduce GST then car scrap policy. Lagi banyak tax collection. Poor rakyat still wondering what the hell had happened after 505.

• Cars scraped will be more than car stock available.. imported car cant follow Demand.. only can is peloton and porahdua.. no matter how we rakyat will die in agony.. sob.. sob..

• monkey on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:09 pm

someone will be very rich soon with this rule…. another robbing the rakyat money program

• motorhead on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Go to hel.. I love my myvi.. & now it even better than new (upgraded).. & I want to keep it as a well restored car, even I can afford to buy more cars (ve a Vios dy)

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:29 pm

Something has to give and take here. If you were to enforce this Vehicle End of Life policy rule, perhaps you could provide tax rebates on vehicle purchased once every 10 yrs. Even MM2H has tax exemptions for foreigners yet our own struggling Malaysians do not enjoy any tax exemptions

• Passerby on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:35 pm

what a joke… force us to buy a junk local cars? even a 20 years old Volvo and Merc is far more safer than these lousy milo tin berukdua and plotong

• drMpower on Nov 07, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Why not reintroduce scrap policy? A very good step. Double good whammy i say. One to spur new car sales. Another is to reduce risks, accident risks sourced from not well maintain vehicles.

All u have to do is to ensure your vehicle is passed as road worthy. Doesnt matter it is 100 years old even.

U look after it well, then surely it WILL pass the roadworthy test.

Why all of you stupidos?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
  • Reduce the car first den only talk about scrapping 15 years old cars.
    Which idiot suggesting this? give em a beeach slap.

• Chomp on Nov 07, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Even Japan doesn’t implement compulsory scrap system.

• ae101 on Nov 07, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Either way inspection or force to buy new car will earn big bucks for gomen. Padan muka ko bn supporter!!!!! You deserve this from your faithful leader.

• Hadi75 on Nov 07, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Sell proton at less than 20k baru bole cerita this policy…..

• go-all-the-way on Nov 07, 2013 at 8:31 pm

If u dun hope for anything(something really for the rakyat), later u won’t have disappointment. this is always true until today. Hopeless!

• Another way of getting more money from car taxes, and making poor people suffer more.. They hardly have enough money for daily living, now need to buy new car some more..

• Scrap G first.. already more than 50 years..

• intel CORE inside on Nov 07, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Puspakom under DRB Hicom will be the most happiest bunch. DRB Hicom can only thrive on hand-outs and monopolistic ventures. The fat gets fatter

• hey guys, Rakyat didahulukan… haha.

• Denaihati on Nov 07, 2013 at 9:38 pm

so many car more than 10 years, hope more survey and appropriate decision must be done before the implementation.

• They force people to change new car….this is good in terms of safety measurement.
    BUT the big problem is the tax for new car is bloody high!!! Is this the way they try to improve their “pocket” money?

• protong on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:08 pm

this things is useless when new car sold with no ABS,EBD,ESC and single airbag(saga sv) and same old engine.i hope our government not stupid enough to set new rule without revamp safety policy and environment things policy.rakyat bukan bodoh nk menilai sendiri

• saladin on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:16 pm

what bn give u after election
    1) BRIM for those who deserve. i dont deserve becos me n my wife need to work. cost of living is high.
    2) smart phone rebate. waste public money for worthless thing.
    3) reduce car price…….. YOU MIMPI KA. JGN HARAP LA.

what bn get from u after election
    1) fuel price hike
    2) gst for all goods. i bet all goods will increase around 15%.+ tax. it is chain effect.
    3) RPGT 30%( i want to move out from kl so want to sell. now cannot tax to high and new house price too high.
    4) income tax reduce 1-3%. dosent make any difference. the poor reduce 1% the rich reduce3%.
    5) astro price hike.
    6) electric bill hike soon.
    7) house price hike. construction cost hike due to gst.
    8) sugar price hike.
    9)now force u to buy new car. if not ur old car need to be scraped. my car already 13 years.

this show how smart our goverment is. and show how stupid people who vote for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Must sapu money now, as much as I can, in case 4 years later I have no more chance.

• drMpower on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:24 am

since u turned this into BN vs the world, then lets do duel. i am no BN running dogs, but lets see what u are made of.

what bn give u BEFORE, DURING ,and AFTER election

a. your kids education almost free
      b. the roads and infrastructures. all free. u dont need to dig a hole
      c. medicals. FREE. the one and only in Asia. among the very few in the WORLD. okay give u face, rm1 registeration fee.
      d. the internet isnt filtered at all. u can spread all the lies like ‘house price hike due to gst’. jesus christ what u are smoking.
      e. petrol price at 1ess than 1 USD perlitre.
      f. nearly 60 choices of cars/vehicles at 100k and below
      g. lower car prices. before 2 litre car cost 130k. now proton built one for u. 90k. u like it or dont like it doesnt matter. but it is 90k, 2.0L motor. fact
      h. houses at 250k in KL. have u ever heard or perumahan 1malaysia? living in cave and wear nothing? good gracious me.
      i. low good prices. kedai 1malaysia so that ‘all goods increase 15% chain effect’ is all but bedtime story
      j. they even give u a goddammn house for u to get married.
      k. income tax reduction 1-3%. jesus what u smoking.
      l. electric bill under 20RM is billed as FREE. i enjoyed it. every month.
      m. 4g bandwidth is open for everyone. not a single person is left out. so for those who got phone rebates can now read your blardy shitloads
      n. nearly 100 choice of cars/vehicles at 200kRM and below
      o. they build up productions so that nearly 10million malaysians got jobs.
      p. discounts for vehicles. they dont force u to buy new cars, but they mere ask u to prove your car roadworthyness. if u keep it well, then no problem u can use the car for 130 years
      q. insurances of cars, at very very very low prices. ASDA in the UK, charged the insurances for cars almost the same price for the car price itself
      r. they give tertiary free education. u gotta study and got first class, then ITS ALL FREE.
      s. BN give u retirement plans, monetary retirement plans. they force u to deduct money for your pension years. both government and private staffs
      t. they restructure penang water debt to the extent Chief Minister became big headed and said it out loud ‘it was my success’
      u. import cars are allowed. they didnt stop any outside car to be brought it. although they know people like u didnt have an ounce of patriotism spirit to help proton
      v. they built universities
      w. they helped u growing up. like it or not, u are raised with BN help through its policies. otherwise u may now be someone like a kid in china doing something for rm2 per day
      x. they keep things calmed. u didnt get shoot at, right
      y. they didnt say anything even when u curse to them
      z. they just hope one day u realised how stupid u are by jotting something like above. they always hope big in you. dont continue being a dog like u are now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 32
      • hoochiez on Nov 08, 2013 at 3:22 pm

Your ignorance is revolting. Period.

• thebugbud on Nov 08, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Only people like u that keep corrupted gov happily sitting on their own seat and the rest of the people suffer. We are great full but can’t just be comfortable with what we have, we have to seek improvement and that’s how we can progress. Of the past many years, what have we improve from lowering corruptions? All the wastes should help the nation improve even further and bring us to greater heights.

• drMsohai on Nov 10, 2013 at 4:46 pm

You just redefined the new meaning of stupidity beyond words.

• umnosuxblood on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Please apply that to commercial vehicles 1st. the mercedes lori balaks from 70s still terorizing our road.

• motorhead on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Scrap my cars? Under my dead body. All my cars (3 cars, sold 1, lucky buyer) are 110% well maintained. All put barang baik.

• Please think of something that help the people, not sucking money from them, stupid.

• I’m wondering when i retired and the car hit end of life…. then after retired i ma need to stay put at home? how to afford another car? if my life span hit 20 years after retired…. how to survive without a car…..

really bad policy….

• think on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:32 pm

it is a good move..i would be good to scrap the vehicles after 15 years…But all this move, should be along with reduction in vehicle taxes..If not , pls do not talk about this matter..think

• norman on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:26 am

Like Singapore eh COE system?But its good to have yearly inspection system for cars/vehicles above 10years to prove their road worthiness..i welcome it

• yes.. it is good policy as I’m also using the policy to buy my current MyVi.. heheheh.. save RM5,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • 1st they blamed speed as cause of accidents and try implement the infamous AES, now they said old cars oso unsafe, but old cars cannot drive fast and speeding so they cant isu summon for AES tats why they now came up wit this brilliant idea ask us go buy new car drive like Supima S as ad claimed, 0-100kmh in under 10 seconds

• takNakP1 on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:18 am

Wonder will they increase P1/P2 priced and said ‘tiada beza dengan menurunkan harga kereta import. Beza harga antara kereta tempatan dan import sudah turun.’

• PerdanaEterna on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:46 am

Non-Cronies classic car collectors will hate this, beginner drifter also will hate this, average people will hate this. can anyone kill those old dated minded politicians?

• Mozart on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:30 am

I fully support the idea to keep the road safe provided they do it properly.

• Rakyat is being robbed right, left and center; by violent criminals, politicians and their cronies, unscrupulous businesses and cartels like real estate developers and banks, and the multitudes of frauds and their schemes, even by supposedly security entities. We REALLY are Malingsia then.

• Roy Mustang on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:40 am

Personally I think this is a good move but only IF the car tax reduces where I can get a Honda City for 50k and Proton SAGA for about 20k.

• old dog on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:00 am

so the bankrupcy will double up or triple up..

the latest report already show many people bankrupt due to car loan…15 years? even USA does not imply such rules, in small town area of Sabah and Sarawak, cars running 20 years anytime since the mileage is very low…

Will come to the new Greece! The Bankrupt Bolehland soon, and all cronies will hold all the money..

• totti on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:03 am

Another cronies policy to enrich someone.

Provide alternative like a good transportation system for all the city (like Singapore/hong kong/…etc)before talking about scapping the car.

Vote BN to suck blood.

• norman on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Singaporeans is getting miserable la bro,same old salary just like 6 years ago,COE now between 82-92k how to afford new cars?A new vios cost only sgd38k plus coe ardy 120k and who is in d right mind buy Thai made Toyota with that price?Nowadays i see more johoreans buying import cars and big bikes also

• cyberwarrior on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:12 pm

I think its a good idea to reduce emission and traffic congestion. However, they should consider beefing up our public transport system before implementing such an act, but biasa lah tu, bn always dig hole only when wanna crap, find umbrella only when its already raining.

• dadidu on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:16 pm

lets start our job for every malaysian citizen do our part in comong election kick out umno bn from the government, so promised and fullfil it.

• speechless on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Since when policies made in this country is with good intentions? Always hidden agendas. Plan sounds good today and it gets changed the moment you turn your back. Thats what they do all day long, test water. Line clear, jalan. Too much resistance, back off first. Try again later.

• speechless on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Why not propose optional scrap policy with incentives? Owners themselves decide. Increase insurance premiums as the car ages. UK is implementing this policy. Badly maintained vehicles, rust buckets and unsafe modifications caught on the road should then be instructed for inspection. 11mil cars on the road and more than 50% are 10years old and beyond. So how? Force us all to buy new cars? Just another ploy to suck us all dry. Whatever car you buy, gomen will still make, just a matter of more or less. No transparent plan, please do not support! Annual inspection is ridiculous. Think first before you agree to this. You have no idea how bad it is just to do an inspection. You will be cursing away.

• good idea on Nov 12, 2013 at 2:44 pm

this is good initiative, seriously car older than 10 yrs should be on the road as it tends to break down. government should introduce this long time ago, those cars older than 10 yrs just scrap and give back little compensation. if those complain incur burden then pls dun drive and it can ease the traffic jam as well.

• skinhunt on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:27 am

so we need to pay car instalment until we died. because of the taxes, we need to pay more for the price. VEL is a good thing it will help the traffic, but our income cant afford to change new car every 5-10 year(except proton and perodua). how many people afford to pay for new camry and accord. if you buy a car above RM 100K++ that mean you will lose it within 10 year. ha will done pay tax again again and again.