Tax incentives for hybrid vehicles in Malaysia may not continue into 2014 for CBU imported models

toyota-prius-audi-a6-hybrid

It seems the matter regarding the extension of hybrid and electric vehicle incentives beyond the end of this year isn’t such a straightforward matter. Last month, a report alluded that the upcoming NAP would see the continuation of hybrid vehicle incentives beyond the end of this year, despite no mention on the matter in Budget 2014.

Now, various insider sources have intimated to us that imported hybrids and EVs are not likely to enjoy the same incentives as those that are locally assembled – in fact, the upcoming National Automotive Policy (NAP) revision might not provide significant incentives for the CBU imports any more, if at all.

While the current full import and excise duty exemption for hybrids and EVs – initially announced in Budget 2011 – will run up until December 31, 2013, they are likely to continue beyond that date only for CKD locally-assembled models, according to the sources.

If the exemptions stop completely or are drastically revised for imported hybrids and EVs, we will almost certainly be paying a good deal more for them come next year, and there’s the likelihood that the plug may be pulled on some models altogether, given the lack of competitive pricing.

hybrid instrument cluster

Hybrids that qualify on the current exemption front are the Toyota Prius and Prius c, as well as the Honda Insight, Civic Hybrid and CR-Z. All are imported units, as is the Audi A6 Hybrid, which gains full exemption as it resides just under the 2.0 litre and below capacity ceiling. Meanwhile, the Honda Jazz Hybrid is currently the only hybrid vehicle that’s assembled in Malaysia, with the CKD Toyota Camry Hybrid set to follow soon. As for commercially available EVs, there’s the Mitsubishi i-MiEV and soon-to-be-launched Nissan Leaf.

One of the sources added that the current exemptions stand for any particular hybrid falling under the 2.0 litre exemption ceiling as long as it is a 2013 model (or before), meaning that even if the car is registered in 2014, it will still be fully exempt from import and excise duties.

Another states that all registrations have to be completed by Dec 31, 2013, failing which things are then subject to a new structure, whatever that may be. With 2013 nearly up, that doesn’t leave much time for potential buyers of these imported hybrids if the latter scenario is the one that plays out.

Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) CEO Madani Sahari revealed recently that locally-assembled hybrids and Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEVs) will enjoy more favourable incentives, whereas those that are imported will be subject to some conditions. Until the NAP revision is presented at year-end, what these conditions are is anyone’s guess. The announcement of the revised policy cannot come soon enough to end the conjecture.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• HYBIRD on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:37 am

Suck here suck there… Left nothing but bones.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 49
    • it is similar wat thai and indo do….if car maker want LCGC incentive they must build car in their country..y cant boleh do the same?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 39
      • Am i wrong here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
        • Why must we beg? on Nov 09, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Why must we beg our very own government for vehicles to save us money? If a government does care for its rakyat, it should be a natural thing for the government to encourage hybrids for the rakyat to save fuel and money. Does not matter CBU or CKD.

Why should the rakyat plead and beg the government to save money? Since the local car manufacturers never bothered to come out with hybrids, we Malaysians have no choice but to look at CBU hybrids. Proton gets hundreds of million in ringgit in grants every year to do research and development and until today, they have not even given us a hybrid. Malu betul. Take so much of tax payers money and still every year running at a loss, sucking the tax payer dry. Enough of feeding the fat cat directors with big pay packets and 7 series limo cars.

Using hybrids would mean lesser fossil fuel being burnt as people get double their mileage. The government should encourage hybrids whether its cbu or ckd in order to protect the environment. Why should people beg the government to promote cleaner air? Isn’t this a natural thing for most decent governments to do? Rakyat don’t have to ask this, a government should do this without the rakyat begging the government.

If government cannot give us CBU hybrid cars, at least promote diesel cars. Isn’t it a natural thing for any government to give us Euro 4 diesel which emits very little emissions and give us double the mileage? Why must we beg for this? Today’s lorries, busses emit thick poisonous sulphuric diesel smoke into the air which suffocates the rakyat. The government knows this. The ministers know this. They need not be told. The Environment Minister himself should be insisting on Euro 4 fuel so that the rakyat don’t get choked with dirty diesel fumes which eventually run up the government’s hospital bills.

But it seems, the rakyat of Malaysia must beg the government for the right to breathe clean air. This is utter nonsense.

The MAI and MAA are supposed to be government bodies advising the government on car industry matters. But they also seem to be fat cats earning big pay and not doing anything for the rakyat and the public. They seem to advice the government how to make money of the rakyat and squeeze the rakyat even more. The public want cars that save money and that can only be 1) Diesel Cars 2) Hybrid cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
          • Najib where is the 30% price reduction? on Nov 09, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 4 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is Hybrid, CKD or CBU. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
          • Proton have EV cars in the pipelines, you never read?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • Nazib on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:17 am

Reduce car tax after they won the election? Woah bro.. you actually buy that shit huh? If a word from nazib can be trusted.. pig also know how to climb onto a tree.

• Can someone from the industry verify this news? This is gonna stir up the second hand hybrid market, and new hybrid’s subsequent year RV

• Soon in future, we left nothing except fool

• perodua on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:58 pm

You are wrong. Bone also they want it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • What the F is this ?? on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Wow … all this speculative news going on the our beloved Govt isn’t even saying a word in the Budget when they very well could have…

HOW BLOODY INCOMPETENT,

This MADANI fella oso, like another typical DUMNO Crony, no power yet only good at talking SH*T !!

MALAYSIA – TRULY ASIA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • HYBIRD on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:38 am

Suck here suck there… Nothing left but bones

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 53
  • Maybe want to push up local car sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 65
    • MoFaz on Nov 08, 2013 at 3:04 pm

it’s to force the manufactures to build their factories in Malaysia.. at least CKD the cars here… or perhaps Proton already get their REEV cars and Exora ready for production….?

• Aerro on Nov 08, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Yes after seeing how others price hybrid car, Proton is thinking RM90K EV car price is OK or not…best of all only few Honda/Toyota Hybrid CKD car here…HA HA HA…keep the playing field as small as possible for Proton YEAH!!!

• I don’t want to sound bias or politic. But facts keeps telling me that BN really sucks…and you know it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 215 Thumb down 64
    • everyone who isnt working for those clowns knows it, we dont need this breaking news to tell us that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Sakai on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:46 am

Most important is to reduced the car price and also abolish all the tax imposed all the CBU models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 52
  • Polo Saga on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:51 am

The understanding is very simple, just change this f*cked-up corrupted government.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 68
    • too bad, when we had a chance, but many idiots decided the latter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • abuya123 on Nov 10, 2013 at 5:19 pm

You sure? How if no changes? PR also have their cronies as well as BN

• downsys on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:59 am

I keep saying, most important is to improve public transportation, not necessarily reduce car prices. Reducing car prices will only increase traffic congestion, which makes a Porsche move as fast as a Proton in heavy traffic.

Anyway, we’re not ready to have a CKD only policy for hybrid incentives seeing as the options are extremely limited (read: just one – Jazz) at the moment. Perhaps in 2015.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 16
  • no more govt sweet candy on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:01 pm

tat the way govt suck more Automobile industry money.lets us suffer 3 more years plus and together we collapse BN.Whoever can be govt,but BN name pls get out from our clean country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 58
    • sam loo on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Like = disapprove BN, Dislike = support BN, so far it’s 15 vs 25

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 191 Thumb down 52
      • magpie on Nov 08, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Sori, neutral here.. Enjoying the view from atas pagar. ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
  • So if i went and booked my Audi A6 Hybrid now, and with the existing waiting list, how the expect me to fork out the extra then? Prospective charging? That’s unfair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 56
    • klata-klata on Nov 08, 2013 at 7:20 pm

I’d not put my RM400k on an A6 Hybrid until I know that the Distributors will still desire to sell & support this complex machine or just forget it leaving the few owners high & dry on their own without reliable service & parts.

• Sam Loo on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Jeez! We are so f***ed up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 57
  • honest on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:22 pm

Fuell cell vehicle will roll out in 2015
    Hybryd will be a technology of the past
    Just by petrol vehicle that is fuel efficient such as preve 7 speed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 58
  • Black Dog on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Why don’t they wait till 30th Dec to announce it? F**ked up, Bodoh G!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 26
  • mr_em on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Typical, typical… always announce the revised policy at the last minute…

this Govt policymakers think car manufacturers don’t need to plan ahead and think the business can adapt to the changes overnight, is it? If you want to encourage CKD assembly of EEV vehicles then say so upfront… and give the manufacturers a realistic timeframe for transition… is that so difficult to tell?

and guess what? If there is public outcry they will flip-flop and change again…

Witness when they last proposed Vehicle End of Life policy etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
  • Mamatwhyla on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:50 pm

This show our gov dont give a sh*t about environment and pushing green cars.

When they lack of money to fund their wasting spending appetite, they will sacrifice anything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 21
  • sudonano on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:56 pm

In other words, it is as good as saying no more tax exemption.

We only have one CKD Hybrid, the Jazz Hybrid CKD. And even on that CKD model, it was only RM4900 less. And we lost 4 extra airbags, cruise control, auto wipers, rear discs which in total cost more than RM4900. I highly suspect the Camry Hybrid CKD will face the same.

So indirectly, it is as good as saying, tax exemptions on kosong hybrids la. Time to line up at the Honda showroom to grab that CRZ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 17
  • takNakP1 on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:15 pm

if 50% of potential ‘just want a new car’ buyer stop buying for 3 months, this should send them a clear message, who are the boss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
  • it sound like Proton want to introduce hybrid/EV car. Then it is time to hike up the price of other hybid/EV car to make Proton Hybrid/EV look affordable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
  • Just A Nobody on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Calm down guys, calm yourselves, put that weapons down (that would be your keyboard) first. They haven’t announce the new NAP yet. Later we bash kaw2 when it isn’t like what we hoped it would be after they presented it alright?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • hybridowner on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:16 pm

so what will happen to existing owner of CBU hybrid if we want to sell? Price will increase too? Or demand will slow down?

• your bro on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Expected guys, In Bolehland. Dont expect the car price will reduce, never ever. All we gotta do is work hard and save. Dont trust a single word when the G said wanna reduce something that benefit us. Unless its reducing subsidy, then its sure 100% true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 20
  • So much complaints, who is driving Hybrid car here?

• praus on Nov 11, 2013 at 4:12 am

Noone because even small kancil-alike Prius C already is near 100k!

• RedCRZ on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:45 pm

As a current CBU hybrid car owner, should I be worried?

• dewaSemut on Nov 08, 2013 at 3:23 pm

To me it’s a good move to spur Malaysia’s local EEV industry. However, it should not be immediate lar, coz it will be disadvantageous to car companies and also consumers especially.

If it is immediate, I would presume that the upcoming Proton’s global small car will feature a hybrid option.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Spurring the local EEV industry isn’t as simple as cornering the players. In the end, it has to make good business sense for carmakers to assemble or even market their cars in any country. An energy efficient vehicle may look like any other car, but servicing equipment and tools may differ, and they will have to invest in meeting these. The will also need to plough in money for parts that differ.

Just because you remove the tax incentives won’t force them, especially when the market for such cars are still small. The Malaysian EEV market is still in its infancy.

Best thing to do is to have A CLEAR PLAN (logic, eh?) on where you want the carmakers to head. Suggestion: give such cars a 5 year exemption as per current scheme, but after that gradually impose tax in bits, again over 5 years. The first five years will be a good period for carmakers to judge the market, and develop a green cal culture in Malaysia. Over the 10 years, the market would have strengthened and demand would be more realistic and projectable.

• ayamxxx on Nov 08, 2013 at 3:49 pm

if im a hybrid owner, i will be happy. cz theres potential that my hybrid car price will not affected very much as the hybrid Tax is excluded for next yr car

• Ohh god.. wat wil hapen to my dear land.. petrol up sugar up house up car never go down yesterdy tell to scrap old cars today some more insentive remove salary stil 1990s also x naek2 gst bla bla bla.. here G rip me apart.. i dont hev anythng anymore.. take my soul also.. take it.. i will tell my fmly to migrate smwhre in corner of the world.. just leave them alone.. pls.. they are all i stil hev left..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • this is an opportunity to make money. quickly go buy a prius now and for the 1st time in history, you can actually make money by selling your car at higher price next year when the tax is lifted!

• tkhengong on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:27 pm

I see it as a move to bolster the financial strength and monopoly of no. 1 crony in Malaysia who owns practically every consumer and non-consumer items – land and sea transport, sugar, telecommunications (broadband) etc. The car companies includes Proton, Audi, Volkswagen, Honda (now you understand why exemptions may be removed for imported Hybrids/EVs)?

• Stupid Govn’t
    Stupid Govn’t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • fckBN on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:10 pm

might as well don’t give, sohai

• ortega on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:43 pm

can somebody explain…. no import and excise duty on these hybrid cars, but why still so expensive when 30% import duty and 70% excise duty are exempted…. shouldnt the cars be much, much, much cheaper????

• that’s why all i am asking for xmas is a 1l ecotoec fiesta in blue :)

• Painter on Nov 09, 2013 at 7:06 am

Really sucks when Paul Tan doesn’t regulate the comments on his blog. We got too many political blogs, why smear this blog with such thing too?

My sensible comment would go like this: Better ASEAN countries have some sort of agreement where cars produced or part-produced in ASEAN countries be given full or partial tax exemption. We have to stand united against the mighty China, much like Eurozone is a balancing economic power against the US

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • DicHead on Nov 09, 2013 at 9:49 am

Europe is about to bankrupt. Stand up against china? How? Use keyboard?

• Paultan no suck.. u suck.. nobody force u to comment here.. go awy.. wat a macai.. shuuhh..

• The spare parts become more expensive in future, how the battery price in it future, follow the promise price or adjust the new tax structure price, this we want to know, this is serious story and will pull down the resale value.

• daniel on Nov 09, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Thank you, government.

Yours Truly,
    Nobody

• Brainless_leader on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Why can’t we have consistent policies with more long term policies for our automotive sector? One minute they say hybrids are tax free, another minute they change their mind saying it will only be applicable for locally assembled versions.

I don’t see any other country who has a gov who constantly tinkers with their automotive policies with no long term planning.

But in the end, the blame goes to ppl who vote them in.

• Ridiculous_policies_stupid on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Why can’t we have consistent policies with more long term policies for our automotive sector? One minute they say hybrids are tax free, another minute they change their mind saying it will only be applicable for locally assembled versions.

I don’t see any other country who has a gov who constantly tinkers with their automotive policies with no long term planning

• Jeff Wong on Nov 10, 2013 at 1:27 pm

We need to change government to have cheaper car. Car will never be cheap if umno still in power. Wait for another 5 years…….

• Jeff Wong on Nov 10, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Hydrid said is tax n duty free. Bullshit….
    Take an example Honda insight in US is only rm 60k +++
    Whay in Bolehland is rm100k….
    WTF

• Hunn Tan on Nov 11, 2013 at 4:20 am

You cannot just convert the currency like that. As one said Altis gets more expensive because ringgit gets weaker.

(Still, Altis is overrated overpriced outdated 90’s car in 2013)

• jeff wong on Nov 10, 2013 at 2:38 pm

We r buying cbu hybrid car at ckd car price… the umno told u is tax n duty free…. wtf

• old dog on Nov 10, 2013 at 10:05 pm

4 years later, BN will say we will reduce CAR price in the next 5 years! and many people will still believe…the promise before GE always got people HOPE to believe…another of our life also wont change…mark it down.

• hybrid owner on Dec 04, 2013 at 11:26 pm

so many complains…
    hahaha..
    i got hybrid..
    seriously no complain..
    u all buy 1 laa.
    later make complain..
    kakakaka..