Infiniti going to KLIMS for the first time, to show Q50

*EMBARGOED* 2014 Infinti Q50

Infiniti will be attending the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show for the first time, and it’s bringing a few models from the new Q-badged line-up to the Putra World Trade Centre this week.

Set to debut on Malaysian soil is the Infiniti Q50 compact exec. The Lexus IS challenger is powered by a 328 hp/365 Nm 3.7 litre V6 that’s mated to a seven-speed auto that features Downshift Rev Matching and Adaptive Shift Control. Other features mentioned by Infiniti Malaysia include Intelligent All-Wheel Drive and an InTouch dual-screen navigation system.

By far the most notable feature of the Q50 is its ‘steer-by-wire’ system, christened Direct Adaptive Steering. Steering inputs are transmitted by electronic signals, with no mechanical involvement (not to be confused with electric power steering).

This makes possible Active Lane Control – using a rear-view mirror-mounted camera and pattern-recognition software, this system reads the road ahead and makes small steering adjustments to keep the car accurately within its lane.

Infiniti will also be bringing the Q70 (ex-Infiniti M) and QX70 (ex-Infiniti FX). The Q70 carries a 218 hp/252 Nm 2.5 litre V6 that’s connected to a seven-speed auto. The executive sedan sits on 20-inch aluminium alloys and sports-tuned suspension.

The QX70’s 320 hp/360 Nm 3.7 litre V6 is also paired with a seven-speed auto. The SUV comes with Intelligent Brake Assist, Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Warning and Lane Departure Prevention, and boasts an 11-speaker Bose Premium Audio System with an eight-inch WVGA colour touch-screen.

Also to be displayed is the Infiniti Red Bull Racing Q100 (RB9) Formula One racer – the car with which Sebastian Vettel won his fourth consecutive F1 World Championship drivers’ title. The machine has eleven race wins and nine pole positions under its belt this season so far.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• diuniamachaohai on Nov 11, 2013 at 8:10 pm

EV charging stations only available at high end shopping complexes. This car is only meant for those rich aunties and fat ros.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Fahmi on Nov 11, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Off-topic, all of the cars above are fossil-fuel powered… Nothing to do with EV..

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:40 am

Better to just close shop. Do you ever see an infiniti on the road? Why even continue your business? If you do see an Infiniti, its always the directors of Infiniti Malaysia driving the company cars.

Infiniti is like Cadillac or Acura. Not to be seen in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Well son, u will have to open ur mind then. Come to my housing area, there are more Infiniti than Audi. And Infiniti are getting more on the road. However, ur claims above of only director of Infiniti only drive the car is utterly bullshit. Of coz, I am talking about Infiniti SUV and Crossover. More and more FX37 & EX 37 on the road. M37 is not so popular but M25 is selling well contrary to local belief.

• Hensemboi on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:21 pm

infiniti is nothing just a glorified Nissan

• Yadda Yadda… Talk all you want but the fact is that Infiniti is a luxury brand. Lexus is oso a glorified Toyota but I respect Lexus as they produced nice luxury cars with great technology. To me, luxury is luxury, mass market is for the masses. unless you are driving super-luxury like Bentley or S63 AMG. Otherwise, please dont bash..

• Jimmy on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Rattling sounds ? source.

• heybadigol on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:27 am

Great that the beautiful Q50 will be gracing our shores soon. But they need to make a smaller engine available here, cos a 3.7 litre engine will have a ridiculously priced roadtax.

While the Q50 looks good (best looker of the class, and just edges out the Cadillac ATS – in my books anyway), handling doesnt quite match the sporty looks. Publications still found the 3 series (F30) & Cadillac ATS top of the class in the handling department (Cadillac had been warning the Germans with the excellent previous gen bigger brother, the CTS). Even the Lexus IS is better handling. Guess their Performance Director (Seb Vettel) came in too late during the car’s design effort, to help with the handling. Or he’s not quite as good as the other F1 drivers who have helped in road car development (Schumi, Senna, etc).

But still what a beautiful car.

• People drive Chery must be proud of their cars “badge”, I keep mistakenly think its an Infiniti on the roads

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:33 am

Seen many Infiniti’s in Taipei, I must say that their design take the real visual to appreciate, may curves that can’t be seen in 2D, but in real 3D view, its kick ass