Nissan Leaf to be launched at KLIMS – RM168,800?

etcm-nissan-leaf-klims

Malaysian Nissan distributor Edaran Tan Chong Motor have announced the pricing for the Nissan Leaf on their website. The Nissan Leaf is listed with a price tag of RM168,800 on the road, which is significantly less than the RM200k price tag indicated by a research house earlier.

There’s not much other details to go by for now, but as the Nissan Leaf will be officially launched at KLIMS13 later this week, we’ll be back with more details then. As the Leaf needs a special higher amperage charging point to be installed at your house (unlike the i-MIEV which can use a normal wall socket), we need to know details on what the cost of installing the charger is.

fen ev 02

The Nissan Leaf will be the second EV to go on sale in Malaysia, after the Mitsubishi i-MiEV, which goes for RM136k. A Tan Chong subsidiary called First Energy Networks (FEN) has so far set up EV charging stations at Bangsar Shopping Centre, Suria KLCC and Lot 10 as well as Petronas Solaris in Serdang. Learn more about the FEN charging infrastructure here.

We’ve test driven the Nissan Leaf, and you can read all about it here. Even better is the detailed account of Daniel Yap, who was an ambassador for the Nissan Leaf pilot program – he drove the EV for six weeks.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• This price is ridiculous. Even if it is very efficient for not using petrol, that kind of price could have been used to get yourself a cheaper car let’s say a Prius or Insight for example and you still have like RM50k or more left for you to refuel your petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
    • Jimmy on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:29 pm

Zorroz.
      Where is the telescope technology?
      And, technology to cancel rattling sound should it be there.

• BN tipu Rakyat on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:27 am

Malaysians kena con always. Every single oil producing countrells oil to their own rakyat so cheap. Malaysia is the ONLY country in the world that sells oil so MAHAL to its rakyat. Look at Brunei, they give the rakyat oil so so cheap. Double whammy also because the Brunei dollar is at par with Singapore dollar at 2.5. Triple whammy, the cars in Brunei are so cheap also

We don’t need to buy electric cars, especially electric cars costing RM$168,000

And you still have the monkeys voting for BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 16
        • no income tax somemore!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:24 am

This car got bad RV. Buy today, try to sell at RM80k next day also cannot. That is not bad, want to sell also cannot. Nobody wants to buy.

So what money do you really save? Just syiok sendiri tell people I am Environmentalist and I care for the atmosphere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • typical cheapsake Malaysian on Nov 12, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Please check Brazil, Canada, Indonesia, UK, Norway, USA and Russia in terms of their oil production and their petrol price compare to us.

Thank you.

• Roy Mustang on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:39 pm

precisely. 23.8k litre of petrol!

• Mackaroni on Nov 12, 2013 at 12:15 am

not when our jib gor raise the petrol price in the near future again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
        • agamvark on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:38 am

Assuming petrol price increase and average FC for Prius or Insight = 10L/100km, with 23.8K:

Total distance u can travel = 238,000KM
          Assume u travel 20K per annume = 11.9 years

so u are paying 11.9yr of petrol price out front

• tkhengong on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:54 am

Prius mileage for 100% town runs, with traffic jams in between, averages 6.0L/100km. On the highways, driven at average speed of 120km/h it averages 4.6L/100km; driven below the speed limit of 110km/h it can hit 3.6L/100km!

• Roy Mustang on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:55 am

precisely! I dont think many ppl will drive 1 EV more than 11.9 yrs. Especially those who can afford this Nissan Leaf.

Unless it’s just to show he’s environmental friendly, or he just happens to have shitload of extra money in his pocket.

mondai nai~

• Adrian on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Bro, a prius costs RM 140K. that means you have got only RM 28k ++ for your petrol. where you got RM 50K for petrol from? unless prius selling for RM 120K la.. and by the way, even IF you have RM 50K left, your maintenance costs and also your spare part wear and tear? wahlao. now only i know prius dont need to maintain at all..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
      • tkhengong on Nov 12, 2013 at 12:27 am

I have both a 2 year+ Prius and a 5 year+ Honda City. Regular maintenance service for the Prius every 10k averaged RM400+ with fully synthetic oil whereas a regular 5k maintenance service for Honda City averaged RM250 using normal engine oil.

• But the Leaf have batteries that will start losing charge and return less range in the long run. Wonder how much is for a replacement battery pack? And the electric motors are maintenance free for life?

• nano nano on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:11 am

Few months ago in Toyota advertisment, it cost RM7K-RM8K for a battery pack replacement..

• raoul on Nov 12, 2013 at 12:00 pm

But I have not heard off any Prius owner change their battery before even after few years.

• _xXx_ on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:04 am

168k? Ridiculous. I will buy if my petrol bill is RM2k a month…

• only people who have no knowledge about cars think priuses are economical.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • perodua on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:10 am

Only people can’t afford Prius will say this. Prius is economical and safest car is the world.

• gynaecologist on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:55 am

adrian, ur words are poison. 100% confirmed u r tan chong salesman based on ur subsequent comments. takot tak laku and no commission?

• Yeah, and I did include Insight as well. Prius can be Prius C. I was just roughly quoting the 50k price. Now you want to talk about maintenance. I ask you back, 170k Nissan Leaf no need maintenance and cost to charge the battery? If added those together, it will be over 170k already. Furthermore, this electric car is using a new technology which I’m sure it requires a lot of different type of maintenance compared to internal combustion engine. What you brought up has just backfired on yourself.

• steve on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Fuel may run out one day, keep that in mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • sonyman on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:13 am

dont worry, hydrogen fuel cell on its way.

• xavier lert on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:19 am

Yes in 200 years…i’ll keep that in mind

• Thank you for your obvious answer. But do you honestly think it is reasonable to buy a RM170k electric car over here just because that it doesn’t use petrol? For now where the price of fuel is still at an affordable pricing for most people, it would be more feasible to get a cheaper car that runs on petrol than paying a huge sum for this electric car. I’m sure the price would drop and the availability of different electric cars will be even more than now when the time for petrol price to rise above affordable levels has come.

• frenzyaustin on Nov 12, 2013 at 12:03 am

It’s price is really high yet. But what they need now is those technology fans willing to pay extra to keep the EV project going. Look at Diesel 30 years ago, if everyone abandon Diesel, it wont have the technology like now.

• _xXx_ on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:59 am

Be GRATEFUL dude. It’s 32k cheaper now. Apa lagi u mau? LoL…

• I am Pro So Listen on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:17 am

And I will tell you if i buy Myvi then i get 90k savings from a prius. then another guy tell me viva can save another few tens of k.
      Forever no ending debate. Leaf is for high class people. not prius low life.

• Your reason would be valid if the purpose of someone buying a Prius is just to save the cost of petrol for it. But for some people, they want a a larger car with large interior space as well and they want it to be fuel efficient. Does Myvi and Viva fit for this criteria? I think not. But for the reason of saving up money from petrol bill, yes, you are right.

• Ryan.C on Nov 11, 2013 at 7:43 pm

the car is save alot of fuel..(use electric)
    but it’s doesn’t save the money at my pocket.. (pay 168k)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Adrian on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Bro, at the end of the day, when you drive a petrol engine, you are not paying only for your monthly installment but also the petrol costs that comes with it. according to a very reliable Tan Chong source, this car does not require any maintenance, just diagnostic whereby the only wear and tear part would be your tyres, brake pads and probably 10% of your engine parts. with RM10-RM15 giving you a 200km range, isnt that a good deal in the long run? driving the LEAF would definitely ensure a better environment for your kids and mine and to also ensure that they get to enjoy at least similar, if not the same quality we used to breath when we were kids. as future or current parents, wont we want the best for our kids and that includes a better environment for theM?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
      • tkhengong on Nov 12, 2013 at 12:35 am

With a 200km range, it is only good for town use and provided you live near to one of the charging stations. Buying the car at RM168k and only for town use doesn’t make commercial sense unless charging stations are conveniently accessible throughout the country and highways.

• That’s the problem with Malaysians. We all feel that all the 3-4 cars we have at home need to propel us to every corners of Malaysia daily. Mindset will never cope with developed countries where people move not just to save their own pockets, but to actually save the environment. Complain about pollution and haze, but buttache about paying for alternative mobility. Pay for D-segment cars pulak, no complaints.

• tkhengong on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:56 am

I share your concern for the environment. My drive has been diesel previously and currently the Prius.

• Retep on Nov 11, 2013 at 7:58 pm

And we are encouraged to buy electric vehicles with THAT kind of price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • fast5 on Nov 11, 2013 at 9:11 pm

The price being control by the Goverment… BN wont let it own main supply “petroleum” sales go down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Adrian on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:04 pm

Of course la we are not encouraged!!! but then the thoughts of a better environment for my future kids is the motivating factor for me now.. and besides, the price are not fixed by Tan Chong. unless you dont know the fact that the pricing is actually decided by the gov la.. so maybe you might wanna google who actually makes the decision on the car pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • diuniamachaohai on Nov 11, 2013 at 8:10 pm

EV charging stations only available at high end shopping complexes. This car is only meant for those rich aunties and fat ros.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Adrian on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:02 pm

Are you saying that cars above RM 170,000 and above are for aunties and rich people? then mazda has the wrong strategy and target market for their Mazda 6 and Lexus with their CT 200H. those cars cost more than the Leaf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • sudonano on Nov 11, 2013 at 8:23 pm

Hmm, 168800 doesn’t feel too bad, when you consider the smaller and not so good iMiev is 136k.

Too bad not many charging stations in Klang Valley itself.

• What’s the energy cost per km?

• Chris on Nov 11, 2013 at 8:35 pm

I assume for poor souls like me who lives in an apartment this would be off limit due to lack of charging facility?

Big cities need more cars like this to reduce pollution, yet the limitation makes it hard to own one.

• If you think hard enough, a lot of parts in this car cannot be shared with common combustion vehicles. So, if you have to supply an item with uncommon items, wouldn’t cost increase? But then, people don’t think about others, only their own wellbeing. This car may not be for you, but it should be for people who are concerned in making a difference for the future.

• Anti CO2 on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:26 am

Some people can barely cope with current, let a lone future. But that doesn’t mean they don’t care right?

• If demand for such cars increase, so can the cost to manufacture it. Look at our combustion cars then and now. It used to be for the wealthy, now almost everyone can own one. We might not be able to afford it, but we should encourage those who can. At least our country can start moving towards a cleaner future.

• ajo haters on Nov 12, 2013 at 2:35 pm

when you buy leaf, you will get the chargers la… on having to install at your apartment, you can use extension wire from your house straight down to your parking lot (hehehehehe)

• 168K still ok to many ppl , not 200k . i guess nissan learn something or someone from nissan read users comment from paultan !

• wow…still expensive. price factored in the charging station cost? ^^

• suppose the price around RM30-40k oni…since in the US leave price oni $20k..apple to apple comparison said by many paultan market researcher

• Adrian on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Hey bro, good la your currency exchange rate. which money changer you go to? US$ 20K = RM 30-40K?? that means US$ 1 = RM 1.50 – RM 2.00? i also wanna find this kind of exchange rate la.. can give me your contact ar? and btw. can you find me a car that cost RM 30K? even saga also costs more than 30k la.. OMFG. you just redefined the word “stupidity”…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • U must read my comment until the end..then u know..

• Henry Ford The XII on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:52 am

The concept of sarcasm is still lost on many PT readers, kzm. Jangan amik ati yer… hehe

• Adrian on Nov 11, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Hey guys. There are charging stations in Bangsar shopping centre, petronas solaris serdang, klcc n also in Lot 10. The road tax should be below RM90 (petrol car 1.5) and the thing is I also heard that u can also get the charger installed at your home for your convenience. The last time they did the launch of the charging station in BSC full charge would only cost you RM 10 – RM 15 for 200 km of range. So actually yea it does save up alot. I think their website for the nissan leaf should explain more about the usp. And I think Paul Tan did a review on this green machine. If only the price could be lowered then I would have gotten this.The home charger should range about 600 – 1000 ringgit. The batteries as well would cost as much as the hybrid car batteries. The batteries for nissan leaf is divided into several panels so in case of any fault u just need to change the faulty panel instead of the whole battery. Test drive it first. The torque on this car is 250nM. Very high torque for an electric car n the car in reality is a beautiful looking car.

• VoidDance on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:01 am

Hmm… Sounds like a car salesman. Explanation like a car salesman.

Nissan Leaf is beautiful? I must be in hell.

• ajo haters on Nov 12, 2013 at 2:38 pm

full charge will cost you around rm6-7 per full charge

• Adrian on Nov 11, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Hey guys. There are charging stations in Bangsar shopping centre, petronas solaris serdang, klcc n also in Lot 10. The road tax should be below RM90 (petrol car 1.5) and the thing is I also heard that u can also get the charger installed at your home for your convenience. The last time they did the launch of the charging station in BSC full charge would only cost you RM 10 – RM 15 for 200 km of range. So actually yea it does save up alot. I think their website for the nissan leaf should explain more about the usp. And I think Paul Tan did a review on this green machine. If only the price could be lowered then I would have gotten this.

• rally_fan on Nov 11, 2013 at 9:31 pm

what are the reasons one would buy this car? save on petrol? going green? if saving petrol is the reason, you can still buy a car thats only half that price, and still not spend the balance on fuel for maybe 10 years… if going green is the reason, there isn’t much ‘green’ about the way we generate our electricity today.. pollution is goes somewhere else.. i feel the govt needs to give real incentives if its interested to reduce pollution, and also help the public save fuel.. like free parking, or even free toll.. etc. too many factors that is up for debate…

• Adrian on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:56 pm

you got a point but how would free toll and free parking save the environment? wouldnt that encourage everyone to drive more often than they already would? the electric car is a small step to saving the environment. yes hybrids (so called green technology) can reduce CO2 emission but remember the word reduce. electric car like the Leaf on the other hand does not emit any petrol. thus this is not a green technology but the blue technology. i strongly suggest those who has never driven the car to reserve their comments until they have actually tested the car. i am proud to say that i have test driven the LEAF and that is one car that would definitely change one’s perspective once they have driven it.

• I agreed with rally_fan. Whether blue or green technology, this car need car need electricity. How do we generate electricity in Malaysia? >50% is coal. No doubt it is cleaner, but I wouldn’t say it release ZERO emission!! please wake up!!

• Learn Ping on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:47 am

For electricity generation mix, in TNB 2012 Annual Report, is 44.5% Gas, 36.1% Coal, 15.5% Hydro, 3.9% Others. With more solar or other green generation project goes online (thanks to FiT), the power grid will become greener in the future. That makes electric car greener progressively.

• This is because Malaysia is a step behind. But what about the future? There are more ways to generate electricity cheaply and efficiently. Don’t blame the automaker, look at our country instead. Automakers try to make a difference (Nissan and Mitsu) but our government must support it whole-heartedly. But efficiency of burning fossil fuel at our Electric plants is still more efficient than our cars. And emission for electricity generation is more contained than our cars running everywhere.

• rally_fan on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:31 am

adrian.. when i mentioned incentives like free parking..etc, it was within the context of driving an EV. The govt can use it as an incentive to encourage more people to maybe choose an EV..No point also if you build EV infrastructure, but no one buys the cars. likewise.. more needs to be done by the govt to clean up our power generation as well..

• sonyman on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:19 am

tumbs up, someone who knows what is this all about.

if you wanna get millage, i think diesel is the way, if you wanna show off you got money and somehow think of saving the earth, then you can always purchase this car to help fund jib jib wife tabung melancung.

• alldisc on Nov 12, 2013 at 5:24 pm

diesel maybe more economical on the run but it still cant beat a hybrd car with battery powered motor that produces zero emission at certain time during low speed or stationary.

• cskiat on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:19 pm

I thought government is cutting electric subsidy? Still think of buying?

• gdntsk on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Only time can tell whether the Nissan Leaf will be a success because as of late, I’ve never seen the i-MIEV in the Klang Valley & it’s definitely a car for the rich & never for an average Joe. So far, I’ve only seen the i-MIEV in Singapore.

• Ridiculous on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:45 pm

168k???
    I though it was about 70k

if G wanted us to drive greenly, they will lower the price and charge nothing in road tax as it doesn’t emit any carbon dioxide

• Dordi on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Aside from leaf, are Nissan gonna launch new cars at klims?

• danzzig on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:00 pm

RM168k is definitely high. Is it worth to invest a lot of money to a viva size car? This is due to the technology. To encourage people protect the environment, the price should be reduced to more affordable level, e.g below RM60k. It’s just electric motor+battery+control unit as replacement for mechanical engine. Remain, is same like conventional car.Further more, the recharge station should be available in every where since i don’t want to tow this car if i travel outside of city center. I’m sure, in future the cost to possess of this car goes much lower like cellular phone before. For now,it’s better go for hybrid car or MPV which offer bigger space and more cheaper compare to this EV. If you a rich man which have a lot of extra money, and want to try something new, than it is up to you.

• watchutoking on Nov 12, 2013 at 6:27 am

viva sized? what car have u been looking at? the leaf is c segment. same size as ford focus, vw golf, etc.

actually the price is not much higher over vw golf. and u get 250nm torque to play with…

• danzzig on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:27 am

What used 250Nm? If we ride this car in kl than the number is meaningless. If this car is in C segment, better go for the others like civic hybrid, prius or serena. The extra money can be used to refuel the car for 5-10 years.

• fenzo on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:32 pm

Somebody please bring Telsa cars to Malaysia which look awesome than this leaf

• fenzo on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:35 pm

Volkswagen also already have their ev car ie golf

• Duffy on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:40 pm

That is one hell of ugly car. Nuff said

• mother earth on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Adrian the environmentalist…clap2

• victor tan on Nov 12, 2013 at 12:07 am

I doubt its practicality as no auto press ever fully recommend it.
    Top Gear even try to push as hard as they could to show its weaknesses.
    Well, for me this car is ok and forgivable since EV is very new in the market.(but I will not buy 1 unless it’s proven usable and practical.)

• ajo haters on Nov 12, 2013 at 2:44 pm

well proven? well here is the list of the awards, among other awards and recognition, the Nissan Leaf won the 2010 Green Car Vision Award, the 2011 European Car of the Year, the 2011 World Car of the Year, and the 2011–2012 Car of the Year Japan

• bootupjoe on Nov 12, 2013 at 12:14 am

One word to describe “F K ing expensive”…..and not people car at all.

• ajo haters on Nov 12, 2013 at 2:46 pm

have you ever heard of “Big boys toys”? well it is not for average joe car

• think further on Nov 12, 2013 at 1:18 am

Everyone complain it is too expensive. When the fuel price reach RM 4 then everyone will say cheap. the point is, how hard is the fuel price to reach RM 4 per litre?
    Our government is running out of money and the fuel price is at RM 4- RM 5 at most of foreign countries.
    Think further, plan earlier.

• sonyman on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:25 am

i wanna ask, why is the government running out of money when they keep taking our money here and there.

• Richard on Nov 12, 2013 at 2:11 am

RM168 K Leaf use to travel short distance & limited to only 100KM per charge. To me this car is not my primary car. So how many Malaysian willing to invest RM168 K for his/her second car.

Lexus RX450h cost RM525 K or about RM120K more expensive then RX350. Just wonder, how many rich man willing to buy this car in order to protect environment. RM120 K is = 57143 litres or 571K KM for RX350. Say one month u travel 5000 Km or 60,000 KM per annun. So this amount(RM120K) enough to cover owner next 9.5 years petrol money.

For the next 5 years how many charging station will be built if the demand for this car is so so only? If the petrol price goes up to RM5.00 or higher. Then Proton will becomes the next dino. WIll this happen?

To me, Tan Chong is making a big mistake if the price is more than RM100 K for this Leaf. As the nearest competitors is Toyota Prius C and Honda Jazz. I also feel that Tan Chong also no confidence in this Leaf as not many charge station investment in Malaysia at this moment. If Tan Chong has no confidence do you have confidence in this car?

• watchutoking on Nov 12, 2013 at 6:27 am

brother… the leaf is much larger than the prius c or jazz. its c segment, the size is slightly bigger than volkswagen golf leh.

• Richard on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:15 am

If my budget is RM168 K, then my choice is not this Leaf is Lexus CT200H.

Same price but you get some thing beyond Leaf level.

If the price close to Prius. I will choose Prius as Prius can do more than 1 purpose. And Prius can be a primary car. Can Leaf? You can’t depend on Leaf due to 100km limitation.

Wait until Leaf can go up to 300 KM per charge then OK to buy if the price is acceptable.

Can ETCM count you as a client at this juncture or you just like me, wait and see.

• ajo haters on Nov 12, 2013 at 2:48 pm

sorry richard some amendments for your figure, leaf max range is 195km per charge

• old dog on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:30 am

What kind of tax exempted BS? Its around $30K, which is less than RM120K even exchange rate at 4!

http://usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/cars-trucks/Nissan_Leaf/

• Err…it is currently manufactured IN the US. For it to still cost about RM120k compared to us shipping it in, try to calculate and see. it’s excise and import duty free, but not shipping cost and sales tax free.

• behsong on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:33 am

buy this car bye bye petrol, also bye bye my money and start eat grass….

• This is too much!

• Learn Ping on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:03 am

Wow! Leaf is here to save the polar bear and it cost a lot. I believe this is the full spec Leaf comes with a charger at home. May be ETCM could bring in the entry level one in the future and hope that it will be cheaper. Simple calculation shows that, with 68k down payment (which I don’t have now), loan 100k from bank with 0% interest for 9 years, I still need to pay RM926/month. That’s a big chuck of my monthly salary.

• Mike Dude on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:50 am

Where do you think the electricity is coming from? From power station generated by diesel of course. So this electric car is not totally independent of fossil fuel. Understand? Last night I watched Top Gear on TV and this car was featured by Jeremy Clarkson. It takes 13 hours for a full recharge using a normal house wall socket. How’s that? And if you think you can save money, think again. You gotta pay more to save more. Make sense?

• ajo haters on Nov 12, 2013 at 2:51 pm

13 hrs full charge? i learnt it is just 4 hrs to full charge. pls google and search japan website for further information

• Bayang Putih on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:13 am

Gov, nuclear please!

• honest on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:21 am

Just wait for fuel cell technology era

• I am Pro So Listen on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:29 am

the price will come included with charger system at home.
    and malaysia getting the facelifted version with better efficiency.

• I am Pro So Listen on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:34 am

btw all these poor fags like you guys here complain expensive i will buy prius la insight la all those lousy cars. but in actual can only afford proton. hahahhahaa

• UglyNissan on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:37 am

Why nissan always come out ugly car and still many ppl buy it? Such as ALMERAAAAA……!

• why does toyota come up with ugly cars like the vios and still people buy?

• mother of topic about electric & hybrid car.. can they survive and operate in flood area…lot of them use high voltage..as we know,malaysia always have flood..

• ajo haters on Nov 12, 2013 at 2:55 pm

can survive maaa, please google and find it in you tube, they tested the car in flooded area. malaysia boleh

• impractical on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:15 am

In one word I can described “impractical”. No long distance travelling have to worry about battery level and may ended up pushing the car to find a charger. Life is enough headache lets not add more.

• artworks on Nov 12, 2013 at 12:23 pm

most power supply in from TNB is also from diesel and coal . so u tell me is “Green” to use EV ?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_power_stations_in_Malaysia

• half-tank on Nov 12, 2013 at 12:41 pm

The EV intention is good. But lots of work needs to be done still. It is a norm in Malaysia to launch things half (mostly not even that) cooked. Then it dies of natural death. Just like our MSC. Apa nama bragged about it when other nations are still sleeping. Now where are we? sigh…
    Maybe our gomen should consider having a “green tax relief” for our income tax. That might helps a bit.

• that should be the people’s pressure on the government to take more initiative, not about car manufacturers launching their product. you expect TCM and MMC to fill the whole of malaysia with charging stations before they launch their car? then people complain again that the cars come out later than other countries.

• At such price, no only the Leaf is ridiculuos but outright insulting. Everyone have said their mind BUT surprising none of you mentioned that the Leaf have pre-mature battery failure problems still un-solved.

Like the in-famous DSG and also please beware of ECO engines from certain car manufacturer, this Leaf battery is plagued by heat problems. Worse is that Nissan refused to acknowledged liability and now they are trying to force this fugly ridiculous expensive dino to us.

Let me quote Nissan USA press release just recently …

“Nissan executives told a gathering of LEAF drivers in Phoenix on Saturday night that company engineers are currently testing a revised lithium-ion battery chemistry that appears to withstand extremes of heat far better than the cells found in existing LEAF battery packs.

Without an active liquid-cooled battery management system—as found in cars like the Tesla Model S, Chevrolet Volt, and BMW ActiveE—the lithium-ion battery pack in Nissan’s LEAF electric hatchback is vulnerable to heat. In places like Phoenix, that can lead to premature degradation of the battery pack, resulting in a loss of range completely unacceptable to owners. The issue has been a headache for Nissan customer-service headache and a public relations mess.

Nissan plans to start manufacturing battery packs with the modified cell chemistry by April 2014 next year, and will use the newly-built packs to replace existing LEAF battery packs replaced under its battery capacity loss warranty.”

IMAGINE BUYING A KNOWN LEMON, and at RM168,800!
    TCM or Nissan must be crazy.

• nissan really got no brains.

• motorhead on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Ahh.. Nice pricing eh??? Let’s see who want or will buy.. Prrrfttt.. Puih.

• seilo on Nov 13, 2013 at 12:39 am

195km Ipoh pun tak sampai, after that toll back home to charge? go bangsa and klcc only sick

• Nissan Leaf prices (based on the most expensive model from USA, UK and the Netherland):

exchange rates based on FOREX.com on 18Nov2013.
    – USA: Leaf SL USD34840 = RM111366.06
    – UK: Leaf Tekna Flex GBP21196 (before VAT & govt incentives) = RM109177
    – Netherland: Leaf Tekna EUR29082 (before VAT & govt incentives) = RM125366

All the above market offer 5-year warranty. Unfortunately it is 3-year for Malaysia!

It is obvious that the price in Malaysia is higher AND for shorter period of warranty !
    Can anyone tell me who is getting paid for the difference ? Is it Tan Chong, the AP holder or other party ?

In the UK and Netherland, the government subsidiizes the Leaf as a zero-emission car. Price after the subsidy will be 10-20% cheaper! No such luck or subsidy in Malaysia.