W222 Mercedes-Benz S400 Hybrid spotted in Malaysia

w222-my-1

We haven’t seen the W222 S-Class at JPJ Putrajaya yet, nor is Mercedes-Benz going to be at KLIMS13 so we aren’t likely to see it there, but nevertheless the car has been sighted on this trailer by reader Kuu Jiun. Although these images aren’t hi-res, we’re informed that the bootlid badge says ‘Hybrid’.

The W222 S400 Hybrid is powered by Mercedes-Benz’s 306 hp/370 Nm 3.5 litre CGI engine that you will usually find in the S350 CGI, but here it is mated to a 27 hp/250 Nm electric motor, integrated between the engine and the 7G-TRONIC PLUS gearbox. Combined fuel consumption is rated at just 6.3 litres per 100 km, compared to the S500’s 8.6l/100 km.

The only other hybrid in its class sold in Malaysia is the ActiveHybrid 7L, which has a massive RM940k price tag. However, given Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s tendency to CKD the entire S-Class range (for the W221, even the S500 was CKD), there just might be a chance for the S400 Hybrid to be offered at a more interesting price tag.

Mercedes-Benz S 400 HYBRID (W 222) 2013

There could be a possibility for the government to offer incentives for an CKD hybrid S-Class as part of the NAP revision, which is expected to give priority to CKD hybrids. After all, the government has offered partial exemptions for BMW’s ActiveHybrid 3 and ActiveHybrid 5 even though they are fully imported.

The S400 Hybrid is one of three hybrid models for the W222 S-Class. The other models are the S350 BlueTEC Hybrid which combines a 2.1 litre turbodiesel engine with the same 27 hp electric motor, and the S500 Plug-In Hybrid, which combines a 3.0 litre twin-turbocharged V6 engine with a more powerful 60 hp electric motor and includes plug-in charging capability.

There is still the issue of what model will replace the popular entry-level S300L in Malaysia at the RM600k to RM700k price point. Mercedes-Benz has not revealed any entry-level engine yet, with the ‘smallest’ petrol engine we’ve heard of so far is the twin-turbo 3.0 litre V6 in the upcoming S400L model, which we expect will take the place of the W221 S350L CGI here in Malaysia. Will the 231 hp/300 Nm 3.0 litre motor in the current S300 be continued?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jilbaber on Nov 11, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Hmm..wonder when the non-hybrid variant gonna come..I aiming for that

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:37 am

Malaysian government like their rakyat to use fuel and waste their money. They want the rakyat to have less purchasing power to buy good food and clothes for their children. They are happy you are poor. That is why they make Hybrid cars availability so hard. 2000cc ruling also so difficult. Now, they want to say hybrid that is ONLY ckd is tax exempt.

https://www.facebook.com/SamLooRV

• Is this the new elantra?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • NIEKO on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:56 pm

FYI your Elantra cant even match this cars looks let alone its Huge V12 Power, just face it your Elantra is just a normal C segment car .so there is no point in you trying to Praise the Elantra…And to my dear Toto The only reason your elantra has ABS,EBD,SRS, and SRS Airbag is Because Most of all Safety feature are from Mercedes(The S Class) if you don’t belive me you can always Google it ok….
          and Remember:
          Mercedes Benz ,The Future of Automobile

• Sam Loo on Nov 11, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Why import this junk to Bolehland? No tax exemption sad since above 2000cc.Good luck Merz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
    • Do you read until the end?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • qwerty on Nov 11, 2013 at 5:59 pm

People who usually plan to buy an S-class don’t really care if there is tax exemption eh?

And, having no tax exemption doesn’t mean it’s a piece of junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Jimmy on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:23 pm

When Sam Loo says a vehicle is a junk, that vehicle immediately automatically becomes one, good evening to our God — Mr Sam Loo.

Our readers’ imagination:
      Mr Najid comes out from a Vios.
      He comes out from an S-class.
      He comes out from an Ahbeng-styled V12 AMG S-class.
      He comes out from a R. Royce.
      He comes out from a Ferrari when visiting Mr Obama.

Toy vehicles are for display at garage to show to friends when they visit our house. It is for weekend drive, for fun, and, to fulfil our desire to own them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Junk? Dude, can u afford it? With buyers of this categories, they know what they want and they have been the customers of this marque since they were young. So they wont bother about the price at all or at least doesnt mind the price tag. If u have to ask the price, then perhaps…. U cant afford it.

• diuniamachaohai on Nov 11, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Another garbage by DRB robbers, not sure when Jibby & Co. are gonna bring in affordable hybrid or EVs to Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Why No Clean Diesel? on Nov 11, 2013 at 5:54 pm

When are we getting clean diesel? The best engine here is the S350 BlueTEC Hybrid which combines a 2.1 litre turbodiesel engine.

Why does the Malaysian government want us to use more petrol and waste more money? I now drive a Ford Focus Diesel and I get close to 1000 KM on RM100 of diesel. 90% town driving.

If there were more diesels here like Europe, Malaysians can save billions per year on fuel.

When are we getting clean diesel? Most Asian countires now got clean diesel except Malaysia. This what happens when the government controls the main oil operator, Petronas. There is no incentive to tell Petronas to come out with clean diesel. Better for the rakyat to spend more on fuel because more taxes goes back to the government.

So sad that we export our sweet crude. Our sweet crude in the finest and best in the world. Then we import dirty low grade fuel back for the rakyat to use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Fahmi on Nov 11, 2013 at 9:14 pm

I beg to disagree.. With advanced technology, even dirtiest crude oil in the world can be refined to high standards, doesn’t matter where the crude oil comes from…. Its our refining standards that are low that it can’t even meet Euro 4 standards… Gov better do something to increase our fuel quality, petrol or diesel alike, its very sad that bad fuel quality hinders development and marketing of clean engines here…

• donnyck on Nov 12, 2013 at 12:36 am

the car will lose one fold each year

• heybadigol on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:32 am

Strange that the first sighting in Malaysia, is of a hybrid model, which is not expected to be the volume seller. If the hybrid is here, than the normal S Class might be around too. Come on we need more people to be on the look out and take some pix.

• Wow, S400 Hybrid. That fast? Seems like Malaysian market is growing. But Hybrid, hmm, abit skeptical though. Most of S-class entry level engine are Hybrid. S350 BlueTec Hybrid, S400 Hybrid, and highest is S500 petrol.

• Anton Sevidov on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:08 am

Can’t wait to see this car on the road!

• as for Malaysian market

S400 Non Hybrid is confirm so as S400 Hybrid and as for S500 it will be Fully imported. The first unit seen is a CBU unit for JPJ to test. Expected to be launch in Dec but rumors said it will be postponed to MArch-April in the Formula 1. Thats what rumors said.

• Wow, then Malaysian market won’t be having a RM650k S-class. Unless S400 price in the range since its a 3 liter engine instead of 3.5 liters. Anyway, Im planing to change my f10 to this beast, most probably will be getting S400 petrol.

• Heng Guo Wei on Nov 12, 2013 at 4:26 pm

S400L Hybrid is expected to be launched in December at a price of 920k and CKD production of S400L and S400L Hybrid is expected to start only in August 2014.

• snakeguy on Dec 02, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Again it is a nice car, but if Heng Guo Wei is right with the pricing, it is a rip off of those who purchase this car! What a waste of money.

• aqilzahari on Dec 06, 2013 at 2:46 am

It will likely much better to buy the car when it will be produced as a ckd next year. So start saving if you dare to purchase it. To date, the 2014 s-class is still the best car to such people like me.

• TOMtom on Jan 21, 2014 at 3:54 am

I saw one at OneWorld Hotel. Too bad the picture did not turn out nicely.

• What an awesome machine. i want LGE discount!

• ASHRAF on Sep 18, 2015 at 11:14 pm

IF COMPARED TO THE EARLIEST MODELS OF S CLASS DURING THE 1990S, THE W140 IS STILL THE BEST AND KING OF THE ROAD UNTIL NOW.ITS THE GREATEST VEHICLE EVER BUILT ON EARTH BY MERCEDES.NOWADAYS THE BODY SHAPE IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT.THEY DONT HAVE OPTION LIKE LONG WHEEL BASE OR SHORT WHEEL BASE.NOW EVERYTHING HAS BEEN KEPT SIMPLE.
    S CLASS IS ALWAYS SUITABLE FOR GREAT2 FUNCTIONS AS WEDDINGS,CORPORATE DINNER AND SO ON..PRINCESS DIANA DIED IN OF THESE S CLASS MACHINE.VERY SAD