Citroen DS3 sighted on trailer – to debut at KLIMS?

citroen-ds3-trailer

As hinted at by Naza Automotive Manufacturing COO Roslan Abdul Ghani and a Citroen sales advisor, it looks like the Citroen DS3 hatchback will indeed be launched in Malaysia before the year’s end, quite possibly at this week’s KLIMS13 show. Reader Warren Lee sent us this photo of a wrapped-up DS3 on a transporter, serving as proof that the baby DS, or at least one of it, is already on local shores.

The sole picture shows a black DS3 with contrasting white roof, fitted with large 17-inch ‘Bellone’ alloy wheels. There’s only one exhaust pipe, though, so no, it’s not the hot-ish THP 155 version. It’s likely to be a DS3 VTi 120, powered by a naturally-aspirated 1.6 litre engine with 120 hp and 160 Nm of torque – the same motor you’ll find in a standard Peugeot 208 VTi.

It can get to 100 km/h in just under 10 seconds if matched to a five-speed manual gearbox, or a full second later with the optional four-speed auto. It’s yet unknown which one we will get. Either way, the DS3’s local introduction will complete Naza Euro Motor’s DS range in Malaysia, which currently fields the DS4 (in THP 163 auto and THP 200 manual forms) and DS5 THP 156.

The DS3 was also sighted by reader ApexKit at JPJ Putrajaya. The DS3 there is completely covered up by a protective cover, but the sides expose the alloy wheel design which reveal the car to be a DS3.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sudonano on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:05 pm

This is interesting. But I wonder, at what price would this come in?

• ahmad loy on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:35 pm

..next RM10K to Pug 208.Vti..no mean car..just “lambak” on market to rival with incoming VW Polo Sport 1.6 NA engine from Pekan..our malaysian car market “makin jadi bodoh”..stupid copycat everywhere with.stupid old engine tech..paired with stupid price..bcov of stupid P1/P2! ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • kadajawi on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Good question. I’d be surprised if it were below 100k, as it’s a premium B segment hatchback, above the 208 which is already somewhere around 86k? So… 100k? 110k? After all, what is the competition? The Fiat 500 (do they even sell it? Also the 500 is A segment…). The Audi A1 (180k or how much is it?). The BMW Mini (also quite expensive). The DS3 was always a bargain against those, but pricey against other B segmenters. Somewhere in between then… and in Malaysia I can see them placing it against the Polo TSI.

Then again, 4 speed torque converter? Really? (A car like that can’t come with a manual gearbox. The 120 hp engine isn’t nearly hot enough to warrant a manual gearbox (for enthusiasts), and the DS3 is more of a chique rich ladies handbag sort of car anyway, a fashion statement, so an auto gearbox is a must.

• RM 125k max.

• There goes another desperate effort by Naza to sell cars that people would normally not buy, anywhere in the world :- case in point, Peugeot, Kia, Chevrolet and now Citroen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
    • neutral on Nov 13, 2013 at 12:01 am

have u not seen their efforts are paying off for them?

• Damien on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:14 am

the art of business lah bro. BTW, they make a lot of money doing it what. haha

• thefact on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:29 am

u must be living under a cave dude…those 4 brands no one buy anywhere in the world? oh sorry..u probably just talk to your ah beng frens who thinks a vios with old tech is still better than any other car on the road……

• borabora on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:12 am

just because people like YOU wouldn’t normaly buy these cars, doesn’t nessecarrily means ALL people wouldn’t

• just came back from paris.
      i can tell you 90% of car on the road are either peugeot,renault or citroen.
      another 10% is merc and VW.
      see only 7 toyota throughout a week. prius as taxi.
      and 1 honda (civic euro)
      DS is much commoner on the street than toyota or any japanese or korean made there.

• Lee- you are wrong. In other parts of the world these car makes are selling well. Please read more newspaper yeah?

• intermilan on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:27 pm

if its CBU, like all other Citroen’s sold by them, the asking price could be around RM120K-RM125K.
    Which is a hell lot more than it’s sibling, the 208.

• CKD. Already asked one of their sales consultant. Price range RM120k-RM125k max.I think better than 208.