2013 Mazda Biante launched – SkyActiv-G 2.0, RM146k

Mazda Biante-1

The 2013 Mazda Biante was officially launched by Bermaz today, making its debut alongside the facelifted CX-9 SUV at the ongoing ‘Mazda Motorshow’ at 1Utama. The eight-seater MPV – a direct competitor to the Nissan Serena C26 S-Hybrid – arrives here two months after its Indonesian debut.

The Biante, which is a fully-imported CBU unit from Japan, is powered by a SkyActiv-G 2.0 litre mill. The normally-aspirated lump has 149 hp at 6,000 rpm and 190 Nm at 4,100 rpm for output numbers, and is mated to a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission.

The Biante has been around since 2008, and was originally meant only for the Japanese domestic market. Now that it’s here, we’re getting the facelifted version, with the high-roof offering dressed with a new front bumper and grille, bringing it in line with the rest of the Mazda family look. The exterior rework also brings about new rear LED combination lamps.

Mazda Biante-14

In terms of standard equipment, the 1,664 kg vehicle comes with dual-powered sliding rear doors with an anti-pinch feature, an i-Stop idling stop system, keyless entry/ignition (with a turn knob starter switch), front/rear parking sensors, paddle shifters and a four-speaker audio system.

Also on, front fog lamps, fully-automatic air-conditioning with second/third row AC vents and a Nanoe Ion generator. As for safety kit, there’s stability and traction control, four-wheel ABS, EBD, Isofix points on the second row seats as well as dual airbags, and the Biante rides on 16-inch alloys wrapped with 205/60 rubbers.

Plenty of configurations in terms of seating arrangement in the 4.71 metre-long people mover, of course, including a ‘Living Mode’ layout, where sliding the second and third-row seats to their rearmost position offers the second-row passengers ‘limousine-like room’, as the company puts it.

Four exterior colours are available for the Biante – Aluminium Metallic, Radiant Ebony Mica, Jet Black Mica and Crystal White Pearl Mica. As for pricing, the Biante SkyActiv-G 2.0 goes for RM145,719, on-the-road without insurance, which is much lower than that earlier seen in ads on oto.my.

If the cloth seats aren’t to your taste or feel, there’s always the option to dress them up in leather for an additional RM4,800.

[scribd id=183829175 key=key-eadgqcfr0ei2vy6td4r mode=scroll]

[scribd id=183829190 key=key-ij4r6fy72zl068fjg55 mode=scroll]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ai yaa on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:17 pm

So far for new mazda, this is the only reasonable price . Whats the comparable size? If same with nissan serena hybrib, then u should forget it. Too small

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
    • John Tan on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:45 pm

More or less agree with you. The serena looks good on photos, but in really life. It just looks… not right. Hopefully this Biante does not have that weird look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • AutoFrenz on Nov 14, 2013 at 12:14 pm

This category is meant to be ugly…tall and thin for no reason…just look at Toyota Noah…even ugly…not to mention Honda Stepmother…errr Stepwagon…even uglier…but I think Biante is the most beautiful compared to the other three…Serena, Noah and the evil Stepmother…errrr Stepwagon…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • Jimmy on Nov 14, 2013 at 1:47 pm

2D doesn’t tell the truth in this vehicle.
        7 airbags will make it another deal of the year 2013. Perhaps customised option at RM6k. Better than previa bronze.

• sudonano on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:22 pm

This or the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid?

I think I’d go with the Nissan, although they both get 99% same kit and nearly the same price. Somehow, the look of this is a bit… funny….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 31
  • Iskandar on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:24 pm

compared to the Nissan Serena – this does not seem to have cruise control. even the Mazda 5 and the Mazda 8 does not come with cruise control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • zalendo on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:31 pm

actually i think cruise control is not use for city life and for me is not important on highway also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
      • Iskandar on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:16 pm

cruise control is essential especially for balik kampung trips or if your trips involves a lot of highway driving. firstly – it can save your fuel bills, secondly – it also saves you from AES or saman ekor (provided you set it within the prevailing speed limit for that particular stretch).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
        • magpie on Nov 13, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Gua musang or Grik hway cannot cruise ctrl. Too many twist n turn. So, yeah, I can understand why ppl dont need it for balik kg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • frenzyaustin on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:51 am

What you say is like I don’t need air bags as I don’t crash my car every time.

• magpie on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:55 am

Frenzyaustin, what I meant to say was, u can hv bangbus in a biante with cruise ctrl and abs.

Duh..

• Wilson on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:17 pm

honestly, the cruise control for Serena Hybrid can only be set at a maximum of 108km/h. don’t believe it? trust me…i am currently driving one. quite disappointed with it….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • SpongeBOB on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Now in paultan’s list to do : comparison between Biante and Serena

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 1
    • Green on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:08 pm

+ Real life fuel consumption @ KL.

• frenzyaustin on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Also highway. Most MPV are for highway.

• Fukuoka on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:37 pm

According to the Japan JCO8 test standard, Biante’s fuel consumption is 14.8 km/l while Serena is slightly better at 15.2 km/l.
          According to Japan’s Top 30 monthly sales, Serena is the most popular MPV in the list since years ago while Biante never make it into the chart.

• 2 airbags ? nono

4 speakers only for big mpv ? nono

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • Bimmer on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:42 pm

I thought from the side view it looks a bit like the ugly fiat multipla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Ren Kockwell on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Wow Biante. Reminds me of a famous Fiat. Yes, the Fiat Multipla. Remember that hideous thing called multipla?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • I didnt expect this from Mazda:The side profile looks ugly to me..
    And the weight of more than 1600kg, is rather heavy for a 2.0 litre N.A engine…
    This car though fitted with skyactic engine, the platform and the rest are older tech…unlike the new cx5, m5 and m3, which were developed from fully skyactiv tech…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Darren on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Serena S Hybrid has better power output as it get assistance from its electric motor as well as better fuel consumption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 46
    • bro, u still dont know that the serena s “hybrid” has no electric motor in it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • zalendo on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:25 pm

is it? only for saving fuel while idle stop? but i know toyota prius has motor

• nice_biante on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:54 pm

what a nice car with the superb attractive price. buying mpv this car must be the first choice….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
  • jolly_idiot on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Serena beater. Luckily I own an Estima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 61
    • jolly_idiot on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:47 pm

my estima is 1.6 litre, more fuel efficient this biante….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 41
      • zalendo on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:31 pm

estima got 1.6? u sure not ? my 1 is 2.4 Year 10. Due to its weight my estima pump petro like drink water @_@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Majuperak on Nov 13, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Estima 1.6 ? You must be referring to your Exora which you changed the emblem to Toyota Estima just like some Vios and Camry even Alphard owners who changed their emblem to Lexus ….. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
          • jolly_idiot on Nov 13, 2013 at 11:29 pm

The real jolly_idiot drives a 3.5L estima. Fake always cheapskate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Contender on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Oh you own Estima, you mean the 8 year old re-cond with fake mileage ? Oh yeah, very much better …. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • thedarkside on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:23 pm

how come this car is not using the new design grill?is it because its been in the japan market since 2008? on the good side it gets the new skyactiv engine. i guess maintenance wise must be easier for biante than serena in the long run. fuel consumption might also be on par with the serena hybrid. paul tan please do comparison between both models fast2!tq

• frenzyaustin on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:44 pm

It’s hideous because they forced KODO into it, pre facelift looks much better IMO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Mazdas are generally very attractive cars and very pleasant to look at, very sporty in general, and since its rare, its quite cool as well…
    Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaand they f*cked up with the styling on this one.
    I would rather look at najib’s face than this…
    on second thought i would rather look at this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
  • Very comparable with the Serena. Both are big, versatile MPV with a reasonable price tag. difference are that the Serena gets a very warm and motherly design while this gets a design even a mother find hard to love(-opinion may differ-).

• motorhead on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Biante RM149K… Mazda 3 RM139K.. I cannot digest. Don’t understand.

• Saw this fugly in Bali 2 weeks ago not much on the road compare with Suzuki APV and avanza

• blublibla on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Sorry to say but this MPV is friggin’ ugly.I’d take the Serena over this if I were you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • TongHoi on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Will go and see my own eyes then only decide it’s better than Serena hybrid or not but from the picture I’m quite like it. Will be on my list now for the MPV type….cheers.

• Norman on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:04 pm

Nice for big family but the heavy weightwill definately reduce the low end speed.By the way price also quite reasonable for a cbu 2.0 car

• TongHoi on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:09 pm

This is the MPV I want it. For me is more nicer than Serena.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • zalendo on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:23 pm

i agree with u . for me serena only suitable on white color . the darker color not fit for the rear tial white led light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • zalendo on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:18 pm

my opinion is mazda import this car to answer toyota estima not serena in term of the spec and size. try look at the black biante it will more comfortable for u.

• Looking at Biante and Serena, I will go for Serena.
    I think mazda try to force kodo design into this 2008 model become facelift & the result is not so good.
    In my opinion kodo design only work on all new design model like latest mazda 6, 3 & cx-5 which is so handsome & beautiful.its just my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • I was at 1 Utama today and I have to say the MPV looks better in the metal, photos don’t do justice to it.A lot of “corporate” looking people were attracted to it. Saying that 2 airbags is a big let down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • MPV_Lover on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:44 pm

From the demo car, I noticed that the windows on the passengers seat plus the third row are original privacy-glass from Japan. Wonder if Mazda is able to secure an exemption letter from JPJ since they import as an authorized agent rather than grey. Nobody wants a new car which windows have been replaced by don’t know who using don’t know what. Those made-in-China after market window has the property of undulating surface which resembles the Elite highway towards KLIA. Look at it for a few minutes will bring vertigo for sure. It’s a sad sad situation where Singapore and Thailand have long approved to use privacy-glass on passenger car. Malaysia only allow rich or famous or G-related or gangsters to have dark tint while leaving law-abiding citizens to suffer from tropical glare , scorching heat and snatch-theft at the traffic light. WTF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • i oso want to give 2 cents on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:19 pm

paultan.org, please if you could arrange, do a head-to-head comparison amongst biante-serena s hybrid thank u in advance.

• jeff wong on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:32 pm

This mpv not so handsome compared to serena. To me, serene oleri not so good looking but compared to this, the serena becomes handsome. I think that iswhys serena so popular in japan and hong kong …….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Denaihati on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:45 pm

very nice interior and nice price for CBU. look like very comfortable for family car.

• Look nice to me peformance specs not too bad.however compared with serena the rear seat cannot be folded sideways.it is very convenient and practical to have seat folded sideways becoz it give u more space. U can put bicycles at the back.u can also have a picnic in a serena by the beach without having to put up tent like I did.the fuel consumption not as good as serena even with I stop as on paper.i thi nk in real world it will b less.serena said 15.2 kml on JC08 but I get at 13.5kml. This mazda said 13.4kml(JC08 saud only 12.4kml so where mazda malaysia get thier fugure?) so real world real malaysia road conditions it will b less than that .in summary serena is more practical and adventurous and more family friendly.

• My bad I was wrong about fuel the consumption. Its JC08 is 14.8kml.close to serena.the 12.4kml was previous version.anyway looking at biante I prefer serena for its practicality. U get more space from more seat configuration. Actually u can place a honda ex5 at the back of a serena which I dont recommend. Serena is truly peoples minivan.

• zalendo on Nov 13, 2013 at 11:36 pm

base on my experience , we cant actually achieve the fc shown by car builder if we r not driving at highway and makesure no traffic jam. lol

• ..and u need to drive below 100kph ;) only can achieve the official FC figures…unless u are driving a modern diesels car.

• makspain on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:48 am

should buy the black one to cover the side ugliness

• toysan on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:03 am

Hmm Mazda must hv hired Toyota n Nissan car designer to come up with the design. If look carrfully, front portion like previous Toyota Vios, and rear look like Nissan Elgrand. Probably should hv called ToySan, instead of Biante.

• Mpv is not for daily/city use. It is for weekend/long journey, on highway. So, auto cruise is very important. With regard to fuel consumption, all the figures given are estimation. Depends on many more variables ie: speed, loading etc.

• Tai Wai on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:08 am

i jus had 1 complaint~y not dark color interior?? if said to show more classes, i wan dark rather than this~more leceh on interior cleaning

• zalendo on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:32 pm

cause this is typical cbu jp car. jp mostly like beige color instead of dark color. dont know why

• Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:47 am

Beige is nice and pleasant, plus it will blend well with wood trip interior

• Proton on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:23 am

Proton Exora Bold the BEST actually. Trust me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • zalendo on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:34 pm

yaya but dont go for cfe for exora if dont believe me try google exora cfe problem. will get u excited :-)

• THEDEAN on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:05 am

Wow. Just when you thought MPVs cant get any uglier, this comes rolling in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • jeff wong on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:51 am

Serene looks bettet compare to this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Roddy on Nov 14, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Biante use Multilink Rear, Serena use torsion beam.
    Hmm.. PT really should compare this two.

• oblong on Nov 14, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Standard OPTIONAL accessories @ RM6,000 for the 3 item only which include in car sales price…so greedy lah car distributor nowadays.

• Hari Kumar on Nov 14, 2013 at 12:53 pm

Over all Serena will be the better choice as its proven in japan itself, besides the better resale value, serena’s main plus point is the centre seat which can be adjusted to become an armrest or a centre console for the driver, in malaysia i’d rather throw my bucks on a Nissan than a better looking Mazda. Just my 2 cents worth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • What’s with the super tall centre head rest at the last row and the Ford Focus rims? gosh, were the designers drunk when they do up the sketches?
    They did it right for M3-6 but this?
    This was not what i’ve expected from Mazda…

• Ugly,hideous, bla bla bla designer no good, car lousy

If u all are so good y not design a car,see how it turns out

• ugly, better buy 2013 Honda Odyssey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • tommyyeoh on Nov 15, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Wondering why mazda has its own motor show elsewhere rather than in klims. This motor show is really a failure so many brands are missing this year even our so call national motor car is absent. First of all pwtc is not fit to be a full fledge exhibition it is so old and you have walk so far away to go from hall to hall. This motor show clearly reflect the state of our automotive industry right now. Compared to Thailand and Indonesia motor show they are years ahead.

• Mybufo on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Both Biante and Serena equally spacious. Serena only 5-6cm longer while Biante is a few cm wider. For same price, Biante comes with Pioneer audio system with navi and dvd monitor at the back of the 2 front row seats and reverse camera. For Serena,got to pay extra RM3k for audio system that is Tan Chong oem some unknown brand and tan chong gps map which I heard is not updated and inaccurate.Serena don’t have spare tyre and give tyre repair kit. I prefer having spare tyre as I experienced twice tyre punctured by 4-5 inch long screw/nail on our roads. I don’t think the repair kit can repair such a big hole. I test-drived Serena, feels wobbly during corners and over bumps. Haven’t got the chance to test-drive. Biante but tested the Mazda5 mpv and loved the handling immediately. Guess Biante would inherit the same handling. In terms of looks, Serena looks boxy at the rear. If you compare the rear of Serena and Nissan NV200 van, they both looked the same boxy shape except the former has side and rear windows. Seating wise, the Serena middle seat at second and third row does not have headrest, means not comfortable for adult or tall child. Biante have headrest at middle seat both second and third row. Another issue on Serena seating, the 2nd row side seats only have 1 arm rest which is the middleseat converted. If you are sitted at either sides of 2nd row and the middle seat is occupied, you have no arm rest at all. Biante have armrest for both side seats at 2nd row regardless middle seat is occupied or not. Serena steering wheel does not have audio system controls although original Japan spec have. Biante steering wheel have audio control and also manual gear shift pedals.

I know all these for sure because I went to the Biante launching roadshow, then immediately to Nissan showroom to compare and then back to roadshow to place booking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • car2siast on Nov 16, 2013 at 12:14 am

-Serena hybrid price rm149k
    -Biante price rm149k incl insurance

serene got full tax exemption because of hybrid.
    Biante no tax exemption…

so little difference in fuel consumption between both..

Feels like nissan is fleecing customer with the pricing.. when the fact is its only a auto start stop system with extra battery, just like biante and audi a4.

Or am I wrong here…

• Mybufo on Nov 17, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Yes I think Serena is overpriced and underspec compared to their Japan model.

• I guess if u r into style and better comfort for passengers biante is the right choice. If u r into convenient and practicality maybe serena is better. I think type of people who would buy biante are those without small kids and travel in style.no need to take bicylcles in weekend and picnic gears.serena is for those who seek a little abit of adventure and daily pratical use.weekdays send kids to school and dining out in city while weekend going for picnic and cycling somewhere rural. Serena really the right choice for those purposes.Just my opinion.

• Hi, I just return from madza show hse.
    Retail price with insurance only cost RM149,781.70
    I’m gonna to get this. Just put up 1k for booking fee.
    Surprising find the width is only 30mm narrower than Estima.
    I test drive serena today. When I sit on the driver seat at Serena, I feel uncomfortable. It can’t fully hold my butt.

• Iskandar on Nov 17, 2013 at 10:44 am

is it really skyactiv or the older tech DiSI engine?

• most ugly car on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • hanssen on Mar 24, 2014 at 12:29 pm

vell 2.4 has better FC than this engine…proved cause i drive one. 8.3-8.5 km/l highway

• I like bante but the car without the centre console. Not comfort. Can install

• I need advice when can I buy the centre car console for biante

• I almost bought a Biante because of the impressive Skyactive technology but later when I read about GDI(Gasoline Direct Injection) engine where Skyactive is one of them(direct injection also), I change my mind. Carbon residues will built up on the valves and if unlucky you may have your valves clean up every 10,000km or sometimes 30,000km and this kind of service is costly and perhaps will be done by not so experienced or qualified local mechanics. Am i right ? Can anyone comment on this issue to clear my doubt ? Thanks

• Just came back from Mazda showroom. Advertised – Mazda3 and Biante uses skyactiv tech engine. EEV – energy efficient vehicle?