GALLERY: 2014 Mazda 3 previewed in Malaysia

Mazda 3 Preview-12

It’ll be at least another three to four months before it makes its local market debut, but you can get up close and personal with the 2014 Mazda 3 right now – a sedan example is currently on display at the ‘Mazda Motorshow’ in 1Utama. The brand isn’t participating at KLIMS13, so this is the only place to catch the car.

The display unit is actually an Australian specification 2.5 litre automatic model, brought in by Bermaz to tease the third-gen 3. In essence, what’s on call looks like a relatively high-spec variant.

Kit on the Oz-spec vehicle includes an i-stop system, heads-up display, Bose audio system, blind spot monitoring (BSM) and an adaptive front-lighting system (AFS), and the interior features faux carbon fibre trim as well as red stitching for the seats, steering wheel and gearknob. There’s no reverse view monitor, tyre pressure monitor and lane departure warning, but it’s still pretty loaded.

Mazda 3 Preview-24

According to Bermaz, the indicative pricing for the Malaysian-bound Mazda 3 is RM139k, and we’ll of course be getting the 2.0 SkyActiv variant of the car, which will be CBU fully-imported from Japan.

The Malaysian market will get four exterior shades to choose from, these being Meteor Grey, Crystal White Pearl, Titanium and Soul Red. Bermaz has started collecting orders for the car, so if you want a closer look at how it shapes up in the metal, you know where to head to – the Mazda display at 1U runs until Sunday. No news on whether the hatch version will debut here at the same time as the sedan.

Click here to view the mega galleries of the Mazda 3 sedan and hatchback.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Wilson on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:08 pm

NICE!!!! especially with the big Tachometer in the centre!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • looks very nice no doubt, but what’s the use of teasing people with a fully loaded spec when you don’t intend to sell that spec here?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
      • abnun on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:08 pm

PT readers, don’t waist your time. This is your dream car. Handling like Beemer, accs and door closing like Merc, ride like Audi, FC like Hybrid, space like MPV. This is car of the year, beats all conti out there. For all of those quality it’s worth 200k! Mazda makes it only 140k so it’s cheap. Buy this car while you can!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 59
        • sepuct9a on Nov 14, 2013 at 12:09 am

Hahaha, exagerating too much like kiddo first time saw ultraman movie show, grow up zoom2 salesboy!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
        • Overpriced Rip Off on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Overpriced rip off. The car is only USD$16,945. It is a cheap car in the USA and anywhere in the world.

Come to Malaysia, it jumps to luxury levels RM139K. Bermaz thinks its a Rolls Royce or a Bentley. Bermaz should price it even higher at RM200,000. That is more suitable.

Bad marketing. A good Honda Accord, proper D class sedan is RM135k. Sure this Mazda3 is doomed to fail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
          • farizY on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:10 am

Blame the government for that.

• Only a simple minded fool will compare prices by exchange rate.

What about shipping cost,storage,handling and operating cost ,government tax and so on?all comes free is it?

And at 135k Accord Vti IS A LOW SPEC LOCAL ASSEMBLED CAR,with only 2 Airbags to offer,outdated engine and gearbox and using previous gen platform

Wanna talk pls use common sense,dun blindly bash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
          • MrJayJay on Nov 15, 2013 at 6:14 pm

Then you go and buy accord lo..

• kambinganas on Nov 15, 2013 at 6:35 pm

FYI, that price is for the basic spec with full safety features. If you want low price full spec belilah Proton. Lupakan sahaja lah kereta CBU.

• Joshua on May 19, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Bermaz maintained the price well. The government excise tax is 300%!!

Honda Accord 135k lowest spec, don’t even have start-stop system, only glamour.What’s there to say.

• Omaigot, so cheap! Let’s buy it now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 51
    • Aaron on Nov 23, 2013 at 4:31 am

(No news on whether the HATCH version will debut here)
      Im like WTF

• venven81 on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:10 pm

the new gen looks pretty nice to me. a smaller version of its bigger brother. i don’t know whether it’s just me but the interior (console and all) looks quite Audi-ish. nevertheless, it’s a handsome car no doubt :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • Raja Lawak on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:14 am

Hopefully Proton can learn one thing or two about world class car design lah from Mazda lah!!!

• I read lots of comments blaming the government on high tax on CBU. I must say that I support it because if it is not done, none of these cars manufacturer would bother to assemble their cars in the country hence, no new job opportunities for some of the citizens. So bravo to Honda etc. for taking the risk. Will switch to one of these brands to show support.

• Very good looking and sporty. Only question is how much is the actual price and how the spec will be. The unit showing here is a fully loaded 2.5L version and seems not going to be same as the one we will get in MY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • nanashisan on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:23 pm

I wish rm139k is for the 2.5 OZ spec and cheaper for other lower variant.
      I wish…

• Kay EL on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:13 pm

The exterior design was pretty nice and futuristic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • TS.Lim on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Very nice outlook!
    Good job Mazda! Zoom ~ zoom

• Looooong awaited Mazda 3!
    one of the most exciting model thus far!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • kobealex on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Not that exciting when they are charging you those sort of figures plus as usual, we do not get the higher specs and equipments available else where…

• Bongcs on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Less excited when its officially launch in MY

• Not excited at all when you don’t have that amount of cash to buy it..LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • This car is simply GORGEOUSSSS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Heard that Bermaz going to bring in the 2.0 spec only. No LCD screen, 16″ rim, no active driving display, no control dial, hmmm..pity us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Can anyone verify? If true, that’s a big let down due to the price they are charging

• webuser on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:17 pm

How long will the Mazda 3 be on show for at 1 Utama?

• mazda…always make my air liur meleleh..

• jolly_idiot on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Why they display the 2.5L instead of a 2.0L? Making people to crave for it but can’t get it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • webuser on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Most likely to test market reaction lor.. Maybe if enough people ask and want it, Mazda might bring in? After all, Mitsubishi did bring in the 2.4L Lancer Sportsback.

• agree. the gap is too big btween 2.5 and 2.0 model.

• Based on previous experience, we never had 2.5 version but the specs for our 2.0 is quite the same since we consider 2.0 as higher specs model here.. so I suppose our 2.0 will be getting pretty much the same specs except for some ‘high-end’ specs that Bermaz might think they can remove without not much complaint from Malaysia buyer i.e. heads-up display to increase their profit.

• What’s wrong with the showgirls? This is so damn wrong!

• the showgirls didn’t show enough flesh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Car with enough proper attraction no need ‘cheap’ sex as additional factor for advertising. And this is the way how it should be. people wanna buy a car not a girls. If you wanna release yourself you could jerk off to FHM magazines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
  • I’m in love..

• Beautiful car…bad pricing. …wait price drop^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Pity us Bermaz only bring in the 2.0 spec only.. It’s not what you see on 2.5 spec

• kobealex on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Its sad knowing we dont get the 2.5l here and also no manual options for a proper fun. so RM 140k for sedan… RM 145k for hatchback?

• overpriced for a Jap car with less accessories..too bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • Obviously you doesn’t know about the key strength for a Mazda car. It’s not about the accessories k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
        • _xXx_ on Nov 13, 2013 at 4:19 pm

omg…I also doesn’t know. Lol

• well..no doubt the SkyActiv engine is powerful enough. Just so pity they didn’t bring in the 2.5 spec with fully loaded accessories. i hope u know that 2.0 spec don’t have that & i’m puzzle they just put a price tag which is close to a D-Segment entry price. well, to be frank, i’m a big fan of this car. Cheers !!

• 2.5l drinks petrol like water, 2.0l auto (without i-Eloop variant) is underpowered. Left only manual for fair performance, that if it’s sold here. I doubt.

• Ahmad Albab on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:24 pm

From the SA; RM140k only for CBU (for 1st 250unit) the rest should CKD. Hatchback CKD only & lunch on March next year.

• Wahlai on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:09 pm

And also from SA, no heads up display, iActivsense, joystick, iEloop and Mazda new multimedia system. Only iStop.

• then why the damn they put the price tag at a D-Segment territory??? total bloodsucker!

• So many options missing. If that’s the case then might as well call it the iMtinkosong.

• inners on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:35 am

This would be tin milo kosong Vios in C segment! lol

• wan to get a manual?..go get a rx7…not everyone is a racer-wannabe like u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
      • kobealex on Nov 13, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Driving a manual does not mean ur a racer wannabe. Its about going back to basic of enjoying a drive. Again, its a personal choice and just a suggestion for an option for the market in Malaysia as Mazda 3 was built for driving enthusiast and not just a point A to point B car.

We dont need ppl like you ill-advising others what they need to get or how they need to drive.

• majority of the ppl will still take auto rather than the manual 1 if both are offered to the market…that’s why most of the cars in malaysia are auto

unless ur living outside kl..in a kampung far far away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • You’ll need the skill set to handle a manual transmission car, once u own one before, you will really know the difference n joy of driving a manual transmission compared to auto. I live in the city, yes jam can be hell but the control n feel of it… Still very syok!

• Well said bro….

• Even if Bermaz bring 2.5 here I doubt many people will buy due to more expensive maintenance and maybe expensive roadtax issue.. Just look at how many 2.4 volvo S4 sold last time and current Lancer 2.5..
      i think 2.0 is good enuf as long as bermaz can maintain the full-spec of OZ (or elsewhere) market 2.5 version specs.

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:38 pm

I thought this new Mazda 3 is suppose to be a hybrid unit? Anyone knows if the Hybrid from Mazda will come?

• watsittuya on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:47 pm

This seems to be the only nicer looking Japs car around for its category. Price it like Civic and we will see a lot of them on our road..

• and we will see more Mazda 3 OTR rather than that Uncle Sam Honda Civic..

• encik boss on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Cool~
    Hope the ckd version will retain all the nice features.

• sudonano on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:00 pm

140k for this spec and the 2.0 Skyactiv, will be mind-blowing.

It looks so gorgeous in the grey and that Soul Red. Thank you Mazda for giving us this beautiful family hatch.

• While the rest said it’s overpriced you said it’s mind blowing? LOL

• sudonano on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:21 pm

“i-stop system, heads-up display, Bose audio system, blind spot monitoring (BSM) and an adaptive front-lighting system (AFS)”.

That’s a lot of stuff you know. Bose is not cheap. So is HUD and AFS.

But if they dump all this out and still ask 140k, then they need the wooden spoon.

• Relax, ORANG KAYA must have to say that..LOL

• Fahmi on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:06 pm

I think Mazda3 have better dashboard design than Mazda6 and older Mazdas, looks like Mazda is steadily improving…. With the indicated price, I can say it is definitely a better choice compared to Honda Civic, Nissan Sylphy and Toyota Corolla Altis, CBU as well, comparable to Ford Focus and Kia Cerato, though for some the price is too near to D-segmenters like Kia Optima and Honda Accord… Honestly though, Mazda need multiple (3/4) lines to be sold though, with smaller engine (1.5/1.6) at a cheaper price and more powerful 2.0 variants, besides 2.2 diesel and 2.5 (Both are low probability, quite unlikely to come here) to capture more of the market than the current Mazda3…

• I found the interior cramp compared with its rivals, but at least you are cramp around some very good materials. If you ever sat in a BMW, the layout and quality feels exactly that, a mini 3er. The techo is a bit too small for my liking but than again, it looks awesome. Personally, style above all-else, is very hard to find a better alternative.

• hakim on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Well there goes my long awaited car. It crushed my heart just by looking at the price alone. Bermaz is getting greedier by day!

I hold on booking any car to specifically wait for this one. But that price is just so dissapointing. My god. Really Bermaz? Goodbye Mazda 3.

I will start to look for another alternative now. It’s been fun waiting for you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Yoong on Nov 13, 2013 at 4:29 pm

because Vincent Tan needs more fund to bring in players for Cardiff

• Me too.. waited for so long, end up with a price tag close to a D-Segment is a big NO NO. So disappointed man!

• lets wait for CKD then and it will price it approx 120k perhaps!

• hakim on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:12 am

I’m not waiting anymore. you can see what happen to our CKD CX-5 here buddy. You know whats gonna happen already.

the CKD version will probably has only 16 inch rim, no bose speaker, no lcd screen, no informative display, no DRL, no LED tail light, only 4/2 airbags. well thats just really s#cks.

• Fahmi on Nov 14, 2013 at 1:36 pm

CKD CX-5 still 6 airbags buddy… Personally I don’t mind losing 19-inch wheels, only thing that I want is Bose audio and DRL/LED, many other features I don’t miss so much… But I understand, most of us want the best bang-for-buck, especially for non-Toyota and non-Honda brand… If gadgets is a main factor Kia Cerato and Optima is a better buy…

• Lpost on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Less that 5 year in business, Bermaz is a newly born vampire to compete with the old vampire UMW.

• kkzoom on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:52 pm

I suggest you wait for future CKD option. You can never have the best of both world.

• I saw a Mazda Biante beside it. Any info about this MPV?

• got paddle shifters?

• this car makes the new vios,corolla altis and camry looks stupid altogether

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • kenot on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:27 pm

nice car. but they cannot put the plat number below the gril like mazda 6. look like spoilt it face.

• Akira on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Yes I agree with you, it kinda spoils the face.

Try repositioning the number plate to the side. Would it have enough space to hold the number plate mounting?

• kkzoom on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:57 pm

there is a reason for doing this. the lower end grill had a purpose. It regulate air intake (close and open)at various speed to give you the fun to drive that mazda is reknown.

• roxas on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:29 pm

beautiful, but too expensive. rm139k is at D-seg teritory..

• rexos on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:14 pm

It’s CHEAP, you don’t look at segments. Many peeople just don’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • Hello.. people who aim this Mazda 3 for sure care bout the segment thing..

• Japan blood line with European taste. Nice

• bluebird on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Come 2014, we will get K-spec Mazda 3, K stands for Kosong at price of 135k. To get fully loaded spec, prepare to add another 10-15k.

• Hokkien Lang on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Hey Hokkien Bluebird,

If you are speculating, “D” la! “D” stands for Diam!

Lol.

• Where is the M3 man Maserati@maseru?
    Sure he will have great comments about this car.
    I am sure you are going to talk like a maseru(tamil word for b**ch)

• Maserati on Nov 13, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Thanks for summoning me. This car rocks! This will put the hyundais n kias to shame. Look at the beautiful interior. This is what we call good, not those cheapo korean junk. And mazda handling? No need to question, this car will drive amazingly.

Obtw Mr John, u talk like a sohai. Its cantonese for idiot.

Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 31
  • _xXx_ on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:50 pm

show us the actual thing laa….having said that why mat sallehs always get good stuff one hah? even buying crappy car also get cheaper price compared to its CoO.

• maznod on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:08 pm

This is cheap enough, apa lagi lu mau?

• u must be joking rite?

• Maserati on Nov 14, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Of course he’s right.

This car has the feature of A4 and BMW 3 Series, but priced only slightly above the normal C segment price range (i.e. 60% of a normal German saloon), what else do Malaysians want? Take it as a gift from Bermas to its loyal supporters.

• i still can accept the price tag if the 2.0 came with fully loaded like 2.5 spec.. if not, 139k is totally insane man!

• Hottie on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:55 pm

Its hot, wish to have the kind of money to splash on it. I like everything of this car.

• paulman on Nov 13, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Wife: Honey i jus shrunk ur mazda6…

• AllisWell on Nov 13, 2013 at 4:33 pm

For tht price, add little bit more can get latest accord.Saw black accord, look awesome even without bodykit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Haha.. i’m totally beg to differ..

• 2014 Honda Accord is a true beauty, go for it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Storm on Nov 14, 2013 at 1:54 pm

But that Accord is not really a ‘NEW’ Accord. Same decade old SOHC engine and same decade old 5 speeder. Even the exterior design is decade old! So its not cheap for a decade old car!

• Will get Mazda 6 anytime with my eyes closed. Accord?? Same engine and transmission from the previous model…. What the hack…..

• kkzoom on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:03 pm

You still don’t get it!! This is a CBU and not a local contents CKD. Compare it with the right segment.
      This segment is a “Driver’s car”. You don’t see Accord in a rally race w/wide, did you?

• What strike me most of the Mazda 3 is the interior; As with the bigger bro the 6, the quality is solid and Euro-like, much better than anything on the price range ,on par with VW and Peugeout. But unlike the 6, whose biggest downside I see has always been that awkward interior, the 3 has one of the best interior llayout in the segment…BIG floating screen safely within view range and a horizontal facing airvents. The Dashboard feels lower, giving you a better, more open view of whats ahead, whereas in the 6, I find it abit restrictive view all-round.

It may cost more than its counterparts in the segment, but sitting in it, you really do feel where all the money goes. Downside to it is that, like the 6, it feels rather cramp inside.

• stupidCarl on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:45 pm

You obviously have not sat at peugeot and VW before. Close the door of Mazda, you will feel that it is like a piece of milo tin. This car is just over price and nothing to shout on its skyactive technology, it is under power, noisy at high speed .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • Fahmi on Nov 14, 2013 at 1:48 pm

At least it is better than real Milo tin (Toyota Vios), even worse, Vios is empty “Milo tin” with 2 airbags, no ESP whereas Mazda is full “Milo tin” with real “Milo goodness” (safety specs, gadgets), I love Milo by the way…. VW Jetta is way more expensive, less gadgetry than Mazda…. Peugeot 408, I like the car actually good safety specs, good handling and power, though it is a bit aging, besides, new 308 is coming around the corner.. And lastly, not to offend you, but your name says it all, buddy… Just saying…

• yea…talked like u hav driven the mazda3 b4..lulz

• vibrt on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:44 pm

Yes I have, proton car is anyday better in terms of ride and handling. I got shocked.

• Bro. You own VW and peugeot before or not? VW, forcefully i will still own one. Peugeot, give me free i oso dun want. Better have proton and perodua. Peugeot is plagued by its unreliability. Put in an 1.6scroll turbo and use from 308, 408, 5008, 3008, 508. Major cost cutting and throat slashing. Summary: French Car Sucks.

• ahmadjohnson on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Looks good, I hope there’s an option for manual transmission

• CHUENG KIM WAH on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:17 pm

A TAD TOO EXPENSIVE AMONG SIMILAR CLASSES FROM TOYOTA & KOREANS! NICE BUT HEFTY….

• Akira on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Erm… In case you didn’t notice, your caps lock button may be faulty.

• Any idea the new Mazda 6 and this Mazda 3 will be local assembled like CX-5?

• Bongcs on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Depan new BMW 3 Series, Belakaing Lexus IS250

• zaidizero on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:02 pm

hatchbacks are traditionally more expensive than sedan type.

• ..but hatchback obviously look like the cheaper version of sedan anytime on anycar.

• I heard and watch review about the latest mazda 3, that the hatchback version is not as spacious as the previous version.

• Wahlai on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:21 pm

With no heads up display, iActivsense, joystick, iEloop. Mazda new multimedia system and an LED DRL (as confirmed by SA at 1U), as much as my enthusiasm on this car, I’d rather pass.. I just don’t want to support this ‘under speccing’ activities by both the car company and probably indirectly by our G due to taxation. The spec is too far off conpared to overseas even for a 2.0. Having said so I wonder how other makes like KIA and Hyundai can spec their cars close to international spec. What a letdown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • That’s a a very awful misrepresentation of a product by Mazda! Thanks for your heads up!

• kobealex on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:39 am

I too second that… as much as all the hype that has been built up internationally about the new 2014 Mazda 3, I guess there is much ado about nothing here in Malaysia.

• agree..what’s the point buying a tin kosong kan?

• ihackerz on Nov 23, 2013 at 11:44 pm

No, it comes with Full SkyActiv.

• Next time, ask them not to display Aussie Spec in Malaysia cause it hurts to be teased like this.

• RyanS on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:12 pm

CBU sexy car with Bose speaker !

• inderaloka on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Civic contender.

• alberttee on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:15 pm

Pls bring 2.2D skyActiv for MAZDA 3,6 and CX-5 ….thanks.

• kin0512 on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:06 pm

love it!

• If u consider before 2011 CKD Mazda 3 2.0 is rm132k(sedan) rm137(hatchback) and if I’m not mistake is without GPS screen etc. So the 139 for high spec seems ok if is hatchback and sedan maybe another 134k (although is expensive compare other same segment car). If convert to CKD will reduce around 10k the car price should be around 124k(sedan) and 129k(hatchback).

• heybadigol on Nov 13, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Great to see a spare tyre! Rather than a repair kit, a la Mazda6. Strange that the “high” spec doesnt have all the bells and whistles. Cant imagine what the local spec will lose out even further.

Anyways, US reviewers noted the car had soft plastics on top of the dash (which is quite premium for a c segment), but a dated looking headliner (to compensate for the soft plastics). Is that true with this preview model?

• Ahmadfaris93 on Nov 13, 2013 at 11:32 pm

I hope they will bring in the Mazda 3 fully loaded because RM140k is considered quite pricey for this range.

Other than that, it’s bummer that you have to wait a little bit longer for the hatchback. They should bring it in together with the sedan.

• seyed on Nov 13, 2013 at 11:50 pm

After waiting many times oohhh tnx GOD …I WILL BE ONE OF THOSE BOOKING THIS PRETTY NICE MAZDA 3…IM IN LOVE WITH YOU NEW PRETY

• as usual mazda with their boring design.. better buy vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 44
  • someone on Nov 14, 2013 at 12:02 pm

I don see the parking sensors. haha

• Went to see this car just now….. love it!!! Just got the update from sales advisor, the price will be under 130k but 2.0 l engine (the one they display is 2.5 l). Spec / accessory is still not sure. If book now, need to wait until April.

• The car looks amazing. I have placed booking today for the lovely mazda 3. Cant waiitt !

• preview on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:43 pm

I was there during the soft launch. The SA told me they wont bring 2.5 eng. Only 2.0 skyactive and 1.6 not skyactiv eng…. anyhow let see next year what they bringing in.

• riches on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:43 pm

I booked this car for my grown up son driving it to college, plan to buy another one for my daughter next year.

• Rich than riches on Nov 15, 2013 at 6:06 pm

I booked this car 1 for my dad for him to go to kebun and 1 for my mum to go to pasar and 1 for my wife to go for shopping. Total 3 Mazda 3 i booked. Feel great how rich i am..

• kambinganas on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Yeah me too. I booked one for my mistress to go jalan-jalan, plan to get another one for my other mistress next year.

• lookatthesegment on Nov 22, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Simply booked this so that all the emptied milo can easily be collected at all recycling locations near you.

• hanssen on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:58 am

chantique car…lyque it

• Skyunactiv on Nov 21, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Sales person confirmed that from RM139k, it could come down to RM135K (2.0L CKD sedan only) with different cheap LCD, no Mazda Multimedia system, no Bose and not worth it anymore (learned from CX-5). The only value left is the looks of the car. Like most us think, it is priced closely to D-Segment for a Japanese car. The famous Soul Red color is not going to be available and no black color either. Left only white, silver, grey and so. What is this! Bermaz don’t even plan to sell the hatchback version here too whereby if they could have learned the trend, hatchback is what people look for nowadays. The VW Golf Gti is there, the Kia Rio came in, BMW 1 series showed up, Mercedez A Class came by and even the Proton Suprima S is here. Why Bermaz? Why?

• Dear Skyunactiv. Don’t be a sourgrape lah… Always complain. Mazda is sincere to bring in new engine, new gear box with updated safety features. Look at T****a, give four speed auto, no VSC and cost a bomb. If buy car just for 2nd hand value, go for T & H lor. If you are a driving enthusiast, Mazda is a good choice. Good drive and handling, good features, yet you get Japs reliability.

• ihackerz on Nov 23, 2013 at 11:54 pm

Never liked a Mazda but not anymore. Nice design :)

• chichi on Nov 28, 2013 at 2:53 pm

“With no heads up display, iActivsense, joystick, iEloop. Mazda new multimedia system and an LED DRL (as confirmed by SA at 1U)”

this is referring to the CBU unit or the not-even-confirmed-CKD unit?

if it is the CBU then they are really are trying to *for illustration purposes*

• RealTime on Jan 18, 2014 at 11:49 am

I’m actually amazed and skeptical at the same time, at how Mazda have actually pushed the compression ratio further up since the introduction of SkyActive. The Biante has CR of 12:1, the CX-5 and Mazda6 has CR of 13:1. And now the new 3 has CR of 14:1! I’m not a Mazda owner but am wondering will this cause engine knocking on ron95 petrol? Perhaps mazda owners of the new models can share?

Also with such high CR, there is almost zero room for modding. And given the quality of m’sia petrol i can’t help feeling skeptical abt piston and engine related issues when mileage increases.

• Private on May 26, 2014 at 7:48 am

Perhaps gorgeous looking men should be positioned instead to capture the hard earn money of those many many closetted gays ha ha ha ha