Suzuki Jimny launched in Malaysia, RM87k-92k

Suzuki Jimny 0019

Having seen the mini SUV this year at JPJ Putrajaya, DRB-HICOM’s Autofest and very recently on a trailer, the third-gen Suzuki Jimny finally enjoys its official launch in Malaysia. The third-gen has actually been in production for 15 years now, but better late than never, we say!

UPDATE: Prices of the Jimny has been reduced by RM3,400 from its November 2013 launch price. The compact 4X4 now starts from RM81,488 for the manual and RM86,488 for the auto, OTR without insurance.

We get the JB43 variant in JLX trim only, and it’s imported from Japan. Its 1.3 litre M13A DOHC 16-valve four-cylinder petrol engine makes 84 hp at 6,000 rpm and 110 Nm of torque at 4,100 rpm. Five-speed manual and four-speed auto ‘boxes are available.

Equipment includes a radio equipped with CD, MP3 and AUX, two speakers, audio controls on the steering wheel, a reverse sensor, black roof rails and an alarm with immobiliser. Safety kit includes dual airbags plus ABS with EBD and BA.

A part-time 4WD system (no centre diff or viscous coupling) is standard, offering 2WD, 4WD and 4WD-L drive modes that are selectable through buttons on the dashboard. Shifting from 2WD to 4WD can be done at speeds of up to 100 km/h.

Measuring 3,600 mm long, 1,600 mm wide and 1,705 mm tall, the 1,060-kg three-door off-roader sits 190 mm off the ground on a 2,250 mm wheelbase. The front track is 1,355 mm wide; the rear track is 10 mm wider.

Employing a body-on-frame construction, the Suzuki Jimny JB43 features three-link rigid axle-type coil springs front and rear, with a torsion bar stabiliser up front. Front discs and rear drums provide the stopping power, and the wheels are 205/70 R15 jobs (manual gets steel, auto gets five-spoke alloys).

The Suzuki Jimny JB43 is priced, on-the-road including insurance, at RM87,305 (manual) and RM92,435 (auto). Offered is a standard three-year or 100,000-km warranty. Silky Silver Metallic, Superior White, Prime Ever Green and Metallic Quasar Gray body colours are available.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• MycarMylife on Nov 13, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Small bang for big bucks !! Madness in MY

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
    • downsys on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:09 pm

This has a cult following. Not for normal users.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • jun jun on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:31 pm

manyak bitui..aku kalau olang kaya aku talak bili ini keleta punya…manyak buruk lama ma

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Raja Lawak on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:10 am

Beras, gula, ports, IPP, cars…these DRB must be break up it’s monopoly gone bad and crazy!!!

• http://paultan.org/2013/11/13/suzuki-jimny-launch/suzuki-jimny-jb43-081/

I love her lacy bra stripe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • unlike mazda, suzuki has better taste for girls.
      boy, those girls are tasty. i can shag them for sure on the jimny!

• diuniamachaohai on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:09 pm

Celaka, four speed auto gearbox for RM5000+, you mad ke DRB Robbers?

And I have no idea who are they selling this car to. Maybe to Raja Sarawak Taib’s loggers in the forest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • Even the billionaire Taib would think twice before buying this. Anyway, seriously at that price the Jimny going to have one big advantage: its going to be rarer than Ferrari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Kejamnya Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Selagi Syed Mokhtar rasa dia tak cukup kaya, selagi itulah DRB Hicom akan letak harga kereta tinggi gila

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • Sgt Scoop on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:10 pm

For around the same price you can get a pick up truck. I think they Jimny might be an outdated concept.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • Why Do They Even Bother? on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Fully agree! And a 15-year old model? Why would anybody want to buy at that price?

But having said that, I had fun driving the Jimny at project sites during my younger days. Cornering was a bit dangerous though.

• wouldn’t a pickup make more sense at that pricing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • sputjam on Jan 04, 2014 at 6:25 pm

I saw a truck version of Jimny in Thailand and Taiwan. It makes more sense to import these as duties are lower. Fully imported Jimny like this kena 300% import duties so how to challenge trucks which are tax exempted.

• Oh god why………….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • lololololol on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Let see how long before they take it out from Suzuki catalog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Scary price imo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Kancil Fan on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Gila punya pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • seriously? on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:29 pm

This outdated car selling at so expansive price? What is so great abt this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • As sales have already been low, and getting worse , suzuki malaysia looks desperate…This is not India, Mr Suzuki…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • tombyron on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:47 pm

by the looks of the interior equipment this car only worth 40k..so outdated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Black Dog on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:51 pm

In 15 years:

China has sent a few taikonaut to the moon.

We have change 2 PM

Paultan has gone from nothing to the largest motoring website

ETC ETC ETC

Are you kidding me???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • nzain on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:54 pm

better go for the real truck than having this small 1.3 suv…what a shame look at the overpriced upon these car itself doesnt worth ever

• Tg DJ on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Why so expensive ???

• samlook on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:57 pm

the girl are hot, but not the car..sad!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Hate Japanese Car on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Models look hot…but not the car. Real Junk … !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • I thought this is re-launching lol… the design look so aged le my godness i can’t figure out the reason why people will paid so much so this shit…

• So outdated and yet the price way to expensive…. only in bolehland.

• nabill on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:23 pm

luv the simplicity of it…u buy dis car with ur weak heart nt ur mind…i can see alot of buyers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • swifter on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:32 pm

the legend is back….kahkahkah…legend la sgt!!!who want to buy this little crap when you can get Hilux G spec with additional few thousand..!!!still wonder what the Suzuki people think when they come with this price…joke of the year????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • disgusting.. on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:48 pm

The car literally looks as old as the two men launching the car in the picture…

• Saga BeLum Masak on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:54 pm

See… DRB is collecting all the money first… then our G will announce the “Tax reduction” as ‘Promised’ in GE13. Then our “Friendly” DRB will follow suit to ‘Reduce’ the ‘Price’. Finally our DRB keep laughing all the way to the bank….

• motorhead on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:01 pm

It’s import from Japan.. CBU.. Don’t expect it’s cheap.. It’s quite cheap for a CBU car.. Don’t blame Suzuki.. Blame the gov… Anyway.. I like it.. If CKD price may go lower… By 10K… May be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • albag on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:03 pm

thanks but no thanks… i’ll just take those hot chicks

• VW Lover on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:08 pm

I rather buy second hand the same pattern and upgrade it.

• norman on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:10 pm

Pardon me for saying this…even if its RM60k i wouldnt buy it also.Its totally crap for todays standard.

• fast5 on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:16 pm

I will buy IF the package include the chick’s…

• niuhje on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:30 pm

with a price like that… good luck lah you want to sell a lot! Suzuki oh suzuki

• JimmyZai on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Great Deal DRB,u launched this junk almost 16 years after it officially launched to the world by Suzuki! People who had bought this in other countries at the launch must be laughing praising his 16 years old Jimny have super great RV, coz I can sell to Malaysian for 90k like DRB do!

• mobilespeed on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Agree. Overpriced for an outdated car.

And since it’s CBU, maybe DRB wants to help ‘cleaning’ out the Suzuki export yard in Japan.

• classic .. and legend…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Along on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:19 pm

True this thing is overpriced thanks to Malaysian vehicle tax system… Low income Sabahan and Sarawakian will thinking twice before buying this overpriced Jimny… Because that Price can buy Hilux 2.5 STD VNT for RM 87,000…

According to MAA… Japanese CBU for 4×4 are 65% excise + 30% import tax + 10% tax… Means that this Jimny only approx. RM 42,000…

If This Jimny no excise and import tax… This 4×4 will sell like hot cakes in Sabah, Sarawak and Cameron Highlands…

• Along on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:43 pm

Sorry… missing 10% sales tax… Jimny price excluding tax is RM 42,000…

• Cikudu on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:19 pm

Old model look boxy and tougher, new one look sissy..no need to compare the engine..

• i rather call it “lake park bench” instead of “rear seats”. seems can be use as kitchen cutting board.

• crazy on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Almost triple the price of Saga SV…but it doesnt seems to be better than Saga…lololol

• With this cost can get so many options of pickup….if rubber or oil palm estate wouldn’t consider much…though it is one of the legend Japan version of defender…

• Painter on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:53 pm

The car every construction site people will love. Plucky!!

• i am thinking this is version 2013 of nautica’s fate…

• TCkhor on Nov 13, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Seriously the Car is a contender even with the aging 15. However the price is killing off all the hobbyist. Hilux, Ranger, Dmax, Triton, BT5 even Colorado kill Jim off for 4X4 and better pricing n spec. Hicom what are u thinking off? are we a jerk or what?!

• vincent on Nov 14, 2013 at 12:03 am

This kind of junk should only cost Rm10k more than a Kembara. Sorry Suzuki. What’s the point of having the 1.3L on a 4×4?

• DRB Hicom should make it CKD and call it “Hicom Jimny”. In other worlds, this is a cheap and affordable SUV. Simple and 4WD. But in Malaysia, it’s a “novelty” and only those that have alot of money will buy it as leisure or collection cars. That price is over the roof man… Since so expensive, should have bring in the X-adventure Saloman model from Japan and put in rm99k for it la…

• Make it a single cab jimny so can get cheap la… CKD Hicom Jimny…. Maybe can buy….

• Mini4wd on Nov 14, 2013 at 12:23 am

I’m a true lover of mini SUV and I have been eyeing for this Jimny for quite some time. To be honest, I’m very disappointed with the pricing…
    I didn’t expect much equipment/gadgets from this car from the first place, so the things included are OK for me. I just hope that Suzuki M’sia can offer a CKD unit in the region of 60k-65k and I would sell off my Vitara 3-door right away to get this Jimny for real!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • offroader on Jan 26, 2014 at 7:35 pm

I agree. I saw one yesterday and it’s very cute to me. Though it lacks nice accessories and d interior looks very basic but it still appeals to me. But the price is a kill. I am praying for a clearence sales soon..is that possible???

• Fgv will buy it..

• i will trade in my mazda 808 coupe b8 turbo for this..

• Sparcov on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:57 am

I drove this car in Middle east before. It cost roughly RM 60K over there after conversion.

Seriously, there are not much leg room behind the seat. Internally, the car is very cramped and you will feel floating driving this car. Not a car for highway but more like Kei-car type around the town. Is 4wd capable. I tried it on the desert sand dunes and of course lack of power.

Generally, too expensive for this size.

you can get a Toyota Rush with this price.

even the old generation Perodua Kembara are far better compare to this.

• Mahai Jimmy on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:05 am

Alamak, is this the joke of the century? with this pricing they can hardly sell 1 unit per month…waiting for the Ecosport better.

• this car is for:
    a. hobbyist
    b. Hipster
    c. women who wants a small SUV but dont want to invest in a pickup card. plantation company

why so butthurt if the car is not for you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • motorhead on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:17 am

You are right. Well said. Some ppl ve nothing to do but complaining.. Bla bla..

• Sam Loo on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:13 am

This car is stupid. No car better than Toyota vios. Even a 15 years old toyota vios..

• Saga BeLum Masak on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:49 am

I’ll stick to my beloved Lada Niva than this… pricy…

• Kepunden Parang Skeper on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:58 am

Okay so it is for hobbyists/purists as they say, but is it really worth our hard-earned 90k? I’m a sucker for 4WD vehicles and off-roading, but I wouldn’t part with my 90k for this even if money grew on trees!

• carazy on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:00 am

at first glance, it remind me abt mahindra.. hopefully jimny fate not same as mahindra..

• That are reason why many car manufacturer dont want to bring Mini SUV. For standard pickup such as Hilux/Xtrail n bla2 (Commercial car). They are not entitle to paid for excise duty that cost arount 50 to 60% of the value of the car. This mini SUV not under commercial car and must paid for this kind of tax. I go to Suzuki japan website, the price for this car are around RM50k. So, after add on tax and bla2,of cos it will go up like this. Thank again to our goverment. However, this car have it own market. For rich guy who want to go for hunter or or for contractor owner who want to visit his site.

• The price almost similar with new Vios. I rather by this car than buy a thin,unsafety and not also unavailable in Europe/Japan market, Mr VIOS.

• iluvjujuki on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:34 am

I will buy one! Only if they give 5 years guarantee that models like the one in the pics will friend me..

• kereta yang memalukan ownernya. Kemaluan tidak boleh ditandinggi …

• I’m viewing the pretty models’ photo than the car…

• Fahmi on Nov 14, 2013 at 2:16 pm

Better buy second-hand Kembara DVVT. Even Suzuki SX4 is a better buy compared to this…

• Kanina CCB Suzuki on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:38 pm

WT…H..is this “thing” insult the bolehland people’s intelligent? a 15 years old model “new” car for the price like that! There is another Previs aka Estima which is old model and low spec made debut in boleland with very “good” price indeed. Those money sucker start to think that bolehland has becoming bodohland!!Thank you very much our beloved “G”! I rather throw my money to the sea than buying these cars….WT..F.!

• Kepunden Parang Skeper on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:40 pm

better give your money to me rather than throwing it to the sea…hehehe…

• wah, got place to keep balls some more..
    http://paultan.org/2013/11/13/suzuki-jimny-launch/suzuki-jimny-009/
    is it for the show girls to finger while relaxing in the car?

• inibetuigilalahhh on Nov 15, 2013 at 3:21 pm

only have ‘ball’ only can buy this expensive junk..hehehe

• ionlaw on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Am I the one old enough to have driven old sukzku jimny? if yes, listen to me – Don’t Buy if you are not living in the jungle.

The safe driving speed is 60kmph…

• elgringo on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:03 pm

this Jimny in UK is 12500 pounds…. do the maths

• Scoobs on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:13 am

Looks so old lol why does hi com bring this old junk, in japan they got new facelift then price sure makes sense hmm..

• Soohai Suzuki on Nov 15, 2013 at 8:54 am

Undoubtedly the model is absolutely hot…i mean the chicks only, You can ignore those metal craps besides them….

• Girl in blue on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:38 am

Is the girl in white shirt appeared in last year when toyota avanza launched (in blue shirt last time)?? who got her hp no?… ;P

• inibetuigilalahhh on Nov 15, 2013 at 3:17 pm

outdated concept..but for offroader, this car they call it anak gajah…but for that price over 87k …it is gila… it is batter buy old jimny and change with new cabin..plus with some modification for offroad…still can have money in pocket then…

• riantsh on Nov 17, 2013 at 7:46 pm

i bought my sj413 jimny ckd brand new in 2001 rm 48,000 under lion suzuki

• lyas kb on Nov 22, 2013 at 8:27 am

kereta macam niiselayaknya…harga 30k plus jah nyoooo….sapo punya stupid price

• ACHTUNG on Dec 01, 2013 at 8:03 am

if this price including girl with white shirt? the anwer is YES. If no, then only very very stupid people will buy this mini SUV. Nonthing to be proud having this machine. Interior useless.
    Better spend your money on OGAWA or GINTEL..

• pc1118 on Dec 07, 2013 at 10:22 am

hai- Suzuki memang sakit hoi price very high

• CP1118 on Dec 23, 2013 at 10:00 am

hairan betul harga new jimny

• 4x4 user on Feb 15, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Looks interesting but yet to view the actual appearence. Most wanted model required for Sabah & sarawak since road condition is too bad for ordinary saloon cars. However its too expensive because of AP & tax requirements. My try also Ford Troller T4 model.

• Colvin4x4 on Apr 16, 2014 at 4:58 pm

GET A TOYOTA LAND CRUISER….

• Think better buy a truck..

• Langat Udau on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:48 am

How can i purchase a suzuki jimny in miri sarawak. I cant find any suzuki dealer here

• Peter Linggan on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:05 am

Please let me know where the show room I’m interested