2013 Honda Odyssey launched – RM228k to RM248k

honda-odyssey-klims 1

Honda Malaysia has launched the new 2013 Honda Odyssey in Malaysia – the fifth-generation MPV made its global motor show debut at KLIMS13 a while ago, arriving here just two weeks after its Japanese market debut, and will be available in two variants, a high grade EXV and a standard grade EX.

A 2.4 litre DOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder ‘Earth Dreams’ engine offering 175 PS at 6,200 rpm and 225 Nm at 4,000 rpm powers both versions, and is paired to a CVT gearbox.

As with the JDM versions, the Odyssey measures in at 4,830 mm long and 1,800 mm wide (+20 mm for the EXV). Height is 1,695 mm, while wheelbase is 2,900 mm and kerb weight is 1,820 kg for the EX and 1,855 kg for the EXV.

honda-odyssey-klims 6

Standard equipment across both variants includes cruise control, paddle shifters, a six-speaker audio system with seven-inch electrostatic touch type display, second-row captain seats with Ottoman and LED daytime running lights.

The EXV variant essentially mirrors the JDM Odyssey Absolute in terms of kit and trim. It adds aero front/rear bumpers and front grille, fog lights, auto LED headlights as well as a front sunroof and smart entry with push-start ignition.

The high grade variant also gets front independent and rear auto air-conditioning (the EX makes do with front auto AC and rear vents), an eight-way powered driver’s seat, rear side door sunshades, a sunglasses holder and illuminated vanity mirror, among other things.

Other differentiation points are with the interior trim – the EX has an ivory coloured interior and fabric seats, while the EXV’s cabin is finished in black and the seats are wrapped in leather.

The new Odyssey features sliding rear doors for the first time, and has a higher ceiling, lower floor and more interior room than the previous model thanks to a new ultra-low-floor platform, incorporating a flat and slender fuel tank and a flat rear floor. The rear doorsteps are only 300 mm from the ground, making entry and exit easy.

The second row seats also include footrests and articulated backrests, and the third-row bench is divided into three – each passenger can select their own reclining angle.

MacPherson struts up front and a rear torsion beam replaces the previous generation’s front and rear double wishbones. Both models ride on 17-inch alloys, wrapped with 215/55 series tyres.

Standard safety equipment includes VSA, ABS with EBD and brake assist, hill start assist, Isofix points, front/rear parking sensors and six airbags (dual front and side i-SRS airbags, and side curtain airbags up to the third row). The EXV adds Blind Spot Information with Cross Traffic Monitor (CTA), a multi-view camera system, a multi-angle reverse camera and a smart parking assist system.

The Honda Odyssey is available in four colours – White Orchid Pearl, Super Platinum Metallic, Crystal Black Pearl and the Glamorous Mauve Pearl. Finally, pricing, and the Odyssey EX is priced at RM228,000, while the EXV goes for RM248,000, both on-the-road with insurance. The CBU fully-imported from Japan Odyssey comes with a five-year warranty with unlimited mileage. First deliveries are scheduled to begin in January.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• lembu on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:45 pm

I like this! Kill previa n umw

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 334 Thumb down 3
    • Pinky on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Before they lay eggs!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 2
      • Overpriced Rip Off on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Why Honda Malaysia must launch a car with 16 girls? No logic. What does a car have to do with so many women? Already 1 or 2 is more than enough. Putting 16 women is too much. Seems like Honda Malaysia pimping women?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 116
        • Who cares? Unlike umw using all RM270k,the balance money is used on all this 16 gals. Okay wat ._. .. (i joke man,i joke ._.)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 7
          • Petrolhead on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:51 pm

The Odyssey has definitely dodged some bullets with the presence of Previa, but if it wasn’t UMW that have launched the Previa at RM270k, the Odyssey with a RM228k price tag is still consider to be pricey as compared to other MPVs out there
            Chevrolet Orlando RM118k
            Citroen C4 Picasso RM138k
            Mazda Biante RM145k
            Nissan Serena hybrid RM149k
            Hyundai Starex RM153k
            Honda Stream RM 154k
            Peugeot 5008 RM159k
            Mitsubishi Grandis RM165k
            Mazda 8 RM191k
            Ford S-Max RM193

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 25
          • Korean Fan on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Don’t u see in the previa post, there is only one girl, but exposes more skin that those 16 girls in Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • :Petrolhead
            with the exception of the Biante, Mazda 8 and Serena Hybrid, all the car in your comparison are really not its direct rival or target buyers. This kind of comparison makes Alza and Exora and G.Lavina the bargain of the century. MPVs like the Stream and Grandis are far smaller than the Odyssey and the 5008/S-Max lacks sliding door and a center walkway, and is also more of a car than a proper 7-seat MPV.
            Only the Sharan, 8 and the cheaper Biante.Serena can be compared as they are around the Odyssey size but even than the Mazda is really underspec(it still lacks steering controls) when compared to the Odyssey. Closest competitor with the Odyssey in spec and size is the VW Sharan at RM250k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
          • Rulered on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:15 am

Don’t mix up between midsize MPV and full size MPV. Midsized MPV pricing ranges RM100k – 170k, full sized MPV 180-270k (except Starex), then there are smaller MPVs which is cheaper than 100k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Nah, i think the ones with the Honda showed more skin. That white dress looks shorter ._.

• BN Cybertrooper on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Usually those with 6 kids are the biggest ethnic group. You mean to say they got RM$250k to spend on a car?

So rich ah the bumis now? Like that no need special discounts anymore la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 66
    • Overpriced Rip Off on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:53 pm

This Honda Oddysey int he US cost US$28,825. That is hardly RM90,000. With that price you get a proper V6 engine with 3471 cc to carry this heavy body. It has 248hp and 350 torque.

Now, you are paying RM248, about 3 times more in price for an under powered 2.4 engine. Is that a logical buy?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 29
      • a 3.5 V6 will be a hard sell here…the road tax will be too costly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo so quite… must have been so shell-shocked by this launch that he fainted…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
      • Bro, u mean “QUIET”? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • sam69 on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Sam Loo will show u the Hilux face!!…_||_//-__-\\_||_

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:33 pm

I will show kimchi owners the Hilux and their face will be hailat after 1 millisecond

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:12 pm

Uncle Sam only deals with used Hyundais. Drives a Camry coz its the D-Segment with the lowest TCO in Malaysia, and most reliable too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
      • If like that means,im..ehem..We,are all sick and tired of him saying all cars except Toyota would ‘sui kwan’. So could he just leave this blog alone,and go back to his job and stop promoting sushis ._.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Sam Loo on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:22 pm

You have not been reading right.

Its the Euros that will sui kwan and kwai tai.

Its the kimchis that have very low trade in value. KIA cannot even be traded in nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • honda seems to be going with quantity by sacrificing quality. the picture with the showgirls can attest to that.

• plz G on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:55 pm

malaysia car,house,utility all rise dramatically, now a car price cost Like used times house price, only salary still at same level

• sutrak on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:40 pm

what’s with the battalion of chicks surrounding the vehicle? it’s just giving an impression of quantity without quality. none of them passed the shag test.

• shame_Loo on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Nice car to have. I’ll go with this car if it launch 2 months earlier since it cost almost similar to the Conti car i bought 2 months ago…hai…

• shame_Loo on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:15 pm

Only draw back is the wheel. Should give 225 or 235 width in 18in…

• kong kin on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:46 pm

This will tapau previa completely

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 3
    • Raja Lawak on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Hopefully Proton can rebadge it as new Exora…Exossey….crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
    • Jimmy on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:15 pm

The price is reasonable.
      So, non-luxury large MPV customers, your options are: Sharan, Odyssey, Mazda8.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Jimmy on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Make sure it is not from Tokyo.
        Mazda is from Hiroshima?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
        • Of course Sharan better,this is junk!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
          • this is not junk, the odc is quite a good car but of course ler the sharan is more powerful(our version in Msia 2.0TSI engine is derived from the GTI …looking at 200hp/280nm from very low rev) and save you on road tax (2.0tsi vs 2.4ivtec)

• sam69 on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:49 pm

wow..just wow..so cheap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • dino years on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:49 pm

anyone who picks that estima/previa with a bygone engine and gb over this one deserves to be shot, and that’s before taking into account the 50k price difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • motorhead on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:51 pm

Good. Previa? Puih. Cakap byk x guna.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • chiewwl on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:52 pm

‘local’ Odyssey far better than ‘local’ Previa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Doc73 on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Great price and good safety specs !! Finally a Japanese car worth buying.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
  • theanswer on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:56 pm

take that UMW!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
  • panadoll on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:57 pm

wohooooohooo gj honda, this show that how overpriced kosong spec Toyoita Previa is… LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
  • RavenAii on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Go home Previa, you’re drunk. Odyssey for the win!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
  • frenzyaustin on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Not sure about space compare to Previa, but with that spec, looks and price, it killed Previa instantly.
    Engine: 175PS 225NM vs 170PS 220NM – Odyssey
    Gearbox: CVT vs 4 speed – Odyssey
    Safety: VSA, ABS with EBD and brake assist, hill start assist, Isofix points, and six airbags vs dual airbags, ABS with EBD – Odyssey
    Interior: Leather vs Fabric – Odyssey
    Space: Didn’t has comparison but should be – Previa
    Price: RM248,000 vs RM270k – Odyssey
    Oddysey:5 , Previa: 1
    Honda is also as reliable as Toyota, RV and after sales are on par with each other. Consumers, choose wisely, this comparison is totally one sided and NO reason consider Previa.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 2
    • Fahmi on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Well specced for a Honda, the dashboard looks a bit like the Accord, in a good way… Exterior is not as nice as RB1/RB2 which I regard as the best looking Odyssey ever, but still very nice indeed for a tall MPV compared to low-slung, wagon-like RB1/RB2… Honda is reverting to tall MPV back like the RA1/RA6 generations, it will better suit its target market, families…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • koochai on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:08 pm

Warranty : 5y unlimited vs 3y@100k km – Odyssey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Who said RM248K vs RM270K?
      It is 228K vs 290K(at least, may be more) taking into account of bank interest, insurance, and hidden economy over a period of 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • frenzyaustin on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:33 pm

I took the most expensive variant odyssey compare to cheapest Previa, but turned out no matter how I bias towards Previa, Odyssey shines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Valvetrain: VTEC vs VVT-i – Odyssey

• Sam Loo on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:47 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Wilson on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:01 pm

i have no complain or whatsoever. this car is loaded and damn nice i would say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • frenzyaustin on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Malaysian Books Of Record: Honda was praised 1st time ever for it’s value for money by readers of paultan.org

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • Haha, previa kena tapau… 200 to 240k still have more item than previa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • FT360 on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Seeing as the grey importers wot get their hands on this for another two years, I think this generation odyssey will sell well. Another alternative to shahran(but less power of course). Kudos to Honda for bringing in the odyssey so fast and just two weeks after Japan, making us the first overseas market to get this JDM odyssey

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
  • Are those show girls some shemale?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Wilson on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:18 pm

damn bro, i didnt even notice~

• jeffwhlim on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Most likely sheaves, no wonder so tall. The MPV already 1.7x m. Those chicks looks like 1.92m tall. Even high heels max 12cm higher only.

• maabas on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:15 am

most likely shemale…..yucks….

• jussaying on Nov 19, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Just because they are taller than you that makes them shemales? Try putting on a 5inch heels and see how tall that will make you, go on gv it a try….

• dugong on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:04 pm

This price is much more reasonable (still expensive compared to mazda) than cut throat tin kosong previa which is the same size and segment. And to add the killer blow just compare the spec this odyssey has to empty shell previa. Toyota is a miser when it comes to spec and tech and they expect ppl to pay premium for it. Only fools will continue buying their junk.

On the side note the models are super tall considering the odyssey is 1.7m and they tower a full head over it. So 1.9m (6’3″)?

• Fahmi on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:47 pm

The Mazda8 is aging, last full redesign in 2006/7 so not surprisingly Mazda is priced lower.. This car is better equiped than Mazda8, newer as well, so it is fairly priced by Honda, IMHO..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:27 pm

CBU mazda with 6 airbags and leather seats and sunroof and modern mechanics only command 192K. The Previa should be at Biante price 145K.

• Mpvsupporter on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:16 pm

The look is similar to Mazda 8, seats arrangement are also quite similar. So, Mazda 8 still value for money!

• Leonon on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Only one picture of the rear?

• apamau on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Wow, honda waking up. good move. good car, reasonable price consider malaysia tax. it i don’t already hv a MPV, this is definitely the only best choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • RM245k, to be honest I wasn’t expecting anything less considering its closest competitor, The VW Sharan is around RM250k. Its amazing that this is launch here so soon considering it was hardly a month before when it was globally introduce in Japan, so good job on that HM.

Spcs looks good with all the bells and whistle in safety and comfort ,and design wise its no RB2 , but it is still relativey handsome IMO[-opinions may differ-]. Great alternative to the Sharan. So UMW Toyota….checkmate by your long time rival?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • shawal on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:10 pm

20k diff for exv seems like a nor brainer…,
    50k more for toyota previa pure insanity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • GrandSavrify on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Quite nice, but at this price I will go for Volvo S40.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 35
    • Abi Ibrahim on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:30 pm

What are you smoking? Can I get some of that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Bob_B78 on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:08 pm

S40? Volvo malaysia no longer selling this model. How can you compare a sedan with a MPV?

• Swedish car S40 can smoke this useless junk for whole day!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
        • shame_Loo on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Volve is owned by China firm now……Geely Automobile…So, it’s Chinaman car…..

• frenzyaustin on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:37 pm

No la, 2nd Porsche are better than Volvo la….

• sonyman on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:21 pm

you mean s60 is it?

• AcerMan on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:43 pm

If you buy Volvo, it is like Volvo’s tag line: For Life. Mean you MUST keep it for life. No RV at all.
      :p

• dont mention about the Previa, the grey importer also scare about this New Odyssey. its really a good buy.

• In your face UMW! You can stop importing previa before any shipments even start.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Tapao Previa anytime! Can’t wait to laugh at the people who bought the junk Previa over this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:32 pm

People will look at Previa owners: kolo mee sellers.

• Jimmy on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:35 pm

As example only, as I don’t expect kolo mee sellers to be communicating here, most likely they will not see it. It’s among us.

A portion of them maybe more intelligent than me.

• kamaruddin jenahin on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:26 pm

i postponed to sign my car loan for exora last month to wait for the new odyssey. my expectation was the price between 100k – 120k. now i am soo disappointed that the price way to high for people like me with gross salary RM3,670.45 monthly. thought of ending my l..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 68
    • hondaman on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:34 pm

berdosa to end your life, work harder to buy this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • previa x lover on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:42 pm

what is this – a joke??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Jimmy on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Don’t be too disappointed, many years ago I earned less than you per month.
        Now, to me, X3 and E-class is just so so only.
        You can.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
        • Today u get my salute jimmy, give hope to others who cant afford now. But he will better in future for sure after reading your encouragement.

• Fahmi on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Just buy Exora CFE Standard, it is a good MPV for the price, proper 7 seater as well, better than Alza.. Ukur baju di badan sendiri, don’t be sad bro, many of us earn the same wage as you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • financial_savvy on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:29 pm

No offense, but for someone who earns RM3,670.45 monthly, you should not even consider to buy a car priced above RM100k in the first place. The monthly installment for a RM100k car would probably be about RM1k which makes up about 27% of your monthly salary. Add up the petrol cost of approximately RM500 per month, the total money spent on your car would make up about 40% of your monthly salary. That’s a lot of money spent on a car as a % of monthly salary, no?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
    • No offence but expecting a car bigger than the Honda Stream and price lower than it? The best, most realistic pricing was expecting it to be just a shy under RM200k….RM120k, is abit overly optimistic.

• dontbestupid on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:11 pm

hahaha…
      I guess you were just joking..
      But if your post is damn serious, seriously…I pity u…Just for a damn car, u being so stupid to end your life…

• Lucky you…at least you earn RM3,670.45 monthly. Me, I earn Rm 0 coz I don’t even have a job…(…and life)

• bingo on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:31 pm

The difference of 30k is enough change the demand from the previa to the odyssey.

• thanks to previa, now this odyssey pricing feels cheap. nice timing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Fahmi on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:37 pm

I think Shah Iran (Sharan) on par with this, with good spec and price… Sharan have more power and have continental handling though for most buyers I think Odyssey is quite adequate…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Bob_B78 on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:11 pm

For VW Sharan, you may need to take note for the reliability of their DSG gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Jimmy on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:41 pm

You don’t possess Sharan, do you?
        The major letdown of Sharan is the seats. VW you hear me.

• no worries abt sharan dsg…its using the 6 speed wet clutch DSG which is reliable…..most prob are relating to the 7 speed dry clutch DSG

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Sharan also has very low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • But Sharan can easily smoke the useless junk hilus n odisi anytime with VW’s powerful TSI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
        • Bob_B78 on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Yes. VW is faster but do you really need to drive fast and put others safety at risk? Drive safe dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • Every time just want to smoke others.. how pathetic. This is mpv not hot hatch!

• The Sharan can be called a sleeper MPV, looks so deceiving. the torquey engine is soo effortless even when fully loaded. its not about driving fast but how easily its move the weights even at low rev (1,500-2,500rpm)….just soo effortless. and handling is good if u accidentally overcooked the corners….go test drive it and the odc, the prev odc have good handling too but pity the 2.4ivtec need to be rev to move the weights which kill your FC (honda, pls put a turbo engine! your chasis is good but the ivtec is soo torqueless)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Using an MPV to smoke another MPV?

You need a brain transplant. Potential donors for you might be in Central Philipines

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • Fahmi on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Actually, Hilux is better than both Sharan and Odyssey……… Offroad..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
        • jacksonljs on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:45 pm

And, sapu corner… Personally encounter numbers of gila babi hilux drivers whacking corner plus speeding downhill from Genting (with speed at least 80 km/h, you go near them, they might speed somemore to above 100 km/h).

• Sam Loo on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:24 am

Hilux is meant for you when you trade in your kimchi ….

Oh solly, we don’t accept KIA anymore, only Hyundai

• frenzyaustin on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Sharan is unarguably more driver focused, but Odyssey shouldn’t be too far compare with Sharan in terms of handling, new Earth Dream are ore efficient than the engine we got here. But interior and exterior design, I give Honda the credit as the Sharan looks way too boring and I have a hard time differentiate Sharan and Touran. In Malaysia, we usually get not so Japanese car and the niche real Germans car shines. Now, it’s really Japanese vs Germans compete at their best head to head, toe to toe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • Sam Loo on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:20 pm

TCO wise, the Honda will be much lower, and a lot less headaches and trips to service center as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • thomas on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:44 pm

i LIKE this very much~~
    kill previa GAO GAO~~~haha

• Tonghoi on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:45 pm

If still ppl choose priva then this odyssey I really got nothing to said. Just go and bang ur head on the wall so that it will wake up to see it clearly how to choose.

• pasomalam.com on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:48 pm

walla, what a price that is ! different par to the previa…. oh, wheres biate ?

Wonder it may come in hybrid later though.

• armandd on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:48 pm

So many chicks! (@_@)

• Honda learnt the lesson and work a lot harder to gain trust from their customers.

On the other side… UMW is still…. hmm…

• Jaeger101 on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Previa just got ‘fraped’ big time.

• jflee169 on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:02 pm

A big tight slap to T.Previa by UMW!

• Many brands all aim to kill UMW Toyota. (In fact, UMW Toyota is killing itself too, haha)

• Better than Previa aka Estima

• could it be collaboration with proton have something to do with receiving a JDM model so early on our market ?

jz guessing

• ImRobotMan on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:18 pm

What’s wrong with HONDA? Budget constraint???
    Look at the models and you will know why.

• pirlo on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:19 pm

dear sam loo, please enlighten us why should we choose toyota previa instead of this worthy odyssey?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Jimmy on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:44 pm

RV.
      But,
      Gonna be poor, as the spec is poor, and there is always recond if you plan to buy secondhand.

• Sam Loo on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:17 pm

I would choose the Odyssey as an MPV.

But a used 15 month old K5 at RM65k is also a worthwhile consideration.

I only deal with used kimchis. Using a Camry as its a D-Segment with the lowest TCO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • Fahmi on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Sam Loo, could you please contact me, RM65k for 2011 Kia Optima is very good value for money, can’t even get a base Vios or Preve CFE for the money, I want the car, please… address to your shop/phone number/email pun boleh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
        • kl fella on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:43 pm

yeah man Sam Loo, please offer me a 2011 k5 at RM65k.. i can be contacted anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • shame_Loo on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:11 pm

hahaha, Sam Loo, pls post the used car Ad here, sure a lots of buyer will contact you. We don’t mind to buy those “junk” with bad RV……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:32 am

Dun need to sell my 2 units of K5 that can’t be exported coz Sri Lankans dun want KIA.

Why? Because, it acts as a viral implant for kimchi owners that choose KIA over Hyundai, that even a used car dealer can’t get rid of KIA’s.

That way, the trade in value for KIA’s will nose dive further,making exports to Bangladesh viable.

Anyway, in terms of built quality, Hyundai is definitely better, and in terms of after sales service, Naza sux big time. So good luck to KIA owners

• thedarkside on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:25 pm

hope UMW have shipped in 1000 units of previa to malaysia….only to know now they have to ship it back to japan!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • frenzyaustin on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:46 pm

The Japanese aren’t so stupid to buy Malaysian stripped Estima, they can get theirs at better value. Previa should sell really well to kilang besi buruk.

• jacksonljs on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:50 pm

RM270k Estima = RM48k Myvi SE auto in terms of safety features and 4-speed autobox.

• sudonano on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Toyota Previa. RIP. (14.11.13-14.11.13)

Honda, you deserve a thumbs up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • PauKaya on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:29 pm

what i like about Japanese imports….pearl white paint

• zalendo on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:47 pm

haha its time for honda show off. good for msia market . and all the grey import should drop their price!! its price war now. good for consumer

• motorhead on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Gaji RM3K++ nowdays banyak ke? Cukup ke? Bayar rumah & kids? Malay saying.. Beli baju ukur badan sendiri.. Get real.. Wake up.. Don’t get yourself trap in a financial trap..

• jacksonljs on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:54 pm

There’s another ‘peribahasa’ : Kepala tak besar, jangan pakai topi besar (Don’t wear big hat if you don’t have big head)

• Denaihati on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:49 pm

very nice appearance, luxury and great specification. 5yrs warranty with unlimited mileage is very good.

• jinggo on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:24 pm

Thanks Honda Malaysia! Good job DRB Hicom! Congratulation Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar al-Bukhary!

• everybody got there own taste..but for me..the best looking family mpv is the Toyota Estima/Previa..since 1991 until now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • I agree about ” own taste”. I respect that.
      But I will choose a car not merely based on their look. The performance, the size, and most important, the safety aspect. :)

• Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:43 am

For kimchis, they can have all the airbags installed, but in reality, only the driver’s seat airbag on the steering wheel works, with lots of prayer to God

• azhar on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:37 pm

previa & UMW can go eat shet!!..this is the model malaysian sohuld buy if they want an MPV

• gthang on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:57 pm

patch up with bodykits and this odyssey looks more bling bling

• Kuchai Lama on Nov 15, 2013 at 6:34 am

Not so handsome as RB3, but i will buy this odyssey over toyota spermvia

• howdulow on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Haha! well done honda malaysia! UMW TOYOTA PREVIA never beat this! hope every MPW buyer! dont buy that rubbish toyota previa! look at this!

• Anthony…so that mean the high spec is not the real absolute…just a cosmetic absolute…if i am not mistaken, absolute have an extra power over the normal absolute…right?

• Honeybadger on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:40 pm

The Absolute version for RC1 has direct-injection to the motor that bumps the output to 190PS vs 175PS regular. The older RB1 Absolute 200PS, RB3 Absolute 197PS

• donnyck on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:25 pm

pricing wise much better than new toyota previa/estima

• Earth_Dreamer on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:01 pm

OMFG the blonde (6th from left) is a MAN!!!!!!!!

• As a MPV the seats are not in the optimum configuration.
    4 ppl will fit nicely and comfortably.
    If you have 5 ppl, you always need to let the person slot in to the 3rd row first by adjusting the 2 row seat. There is a small gap in between the 2 ottoman seats which is totally useless, can’t slot ppl in.
    When you have 5 ppl on a rush to get into the car (i.e raining) is going to be a sad case.

• “So the regular Odyssey has 175 PS and 225 Nm of torque at its disposal while the direct-injected Absolute has 190 PS and 237 Nm of torque. Claimed fuel consumption ranges from 11.6 to 14.0 km per litre on the JC08 cycle.”

http://paultan.org/2013/10/31/honda-odyssey-japan/

u can call me selfish, but i really wish honda will bring this odyssey absolute with such higher performance than camry 2.5 engine -.-

• If u are interested in performance, pls note that the Sharan churned out 200ps/5100rpm & Max. Torque 280nm/1700-5000rpm from a smaller 2.0TSI (save on road tax)…more powerful than even the Absolute Odyssey…

• honest on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:16 pm

The dashboard is really beatiful.minimalistic but elegant

• Rugrats on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:32 pm

Disebabkan Previa ni so overpriced than Odyssey and so many people kutuk Previa…..Preve turut menerima tempiasnya.

Ps : Preve > all

• edktr on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:32 am

Brav, 3rd photo from last. Seems dodgy innit?

• Shaey on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:15 am

I’ll wait for today’s government to proof us wrong that they can actually reduce car tax (price) as they promise.

I’ll wait for NAP announcement by mid Jan 2014.

I’ll wait for completion of LRT extensions and MRT.

I’ll wait for the petrol’s subsidy to be abolished.

Then I think everyone can buy their dream car. Surely you all can be patient right? Maximize your saving now to endure the upcoming recession..

Cheers

• lihwoei on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:05 am

oops…there is no completed rear side picture

• honest on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:40 pm

I’m gutted.Such a beauty
    But cant afford it

• best looking MPV. handsome , better pecs and cheaper than junk Previa.

• Sam Loo on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Consider a used Starex. 2 year old unit for under RM40k

• mpv buyer on Nov 17, 2013 at 9:41 pm

can u give me the contact for those 2 year old starex under rm40K…..so far i can only get an older 2005 hyundai trajet at that price.

• The Dashboard Design and 3 captain seat remind me Honda Freed.

• my friend just cancelled his toyota previa booking!! hahahaha

• Iskandar on Nov 17, 2013 at 10:32 am

if you guys remember – the previous time Honda officially sold the previous gen (albeit two generations ago) Odyssey here for RM225k.

• wapapow on Nov 17, 2013 at 6:08 pm

wow. At first i was really excited with the new odyssey. But i’ve been there on friday and the it kind of dissapointed me because comparing to my honda odyssey rb2 which i bought in 2007 in lacks in some thing. The rear row seats fold manually instead of mine electrically by using a switch. It looks a little bit shorter. The inside doesnt looks like it was premium enough with that hard plastic cause i was hoping for a soft touch material. The co driver didnt get electric seat like a 2.4 accord. Although it has some of the most advanced technology such as smart parking assist system, blindspot information and cross trafic monitor. It was not what i was hoping for but still better than a previa. But thats in my opinion. I was really excited when it was launch in japan. I’ve been searching for it all over the internet. Looks great in picture but in reality it dissapointed me. Maybe i should wait for the new accord hybrid if HM wants to sell it in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Sien honda on Nov 20, 2013 at 9:56 pm

honda design all the same shit… insight,civic,city and now this…. so boring with their front design…dissapointed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • bhchiah on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:33 am

Why it is not the latest 2013/2014 Odyssey model? See link
    http://automobiles.honda.com/2013/odyssey/

• please on Nov 27, 2013 at 4:28 pm

When will Kia Carens be launching here in Malaysia?

• Is it ron 95 can use for this new odyssey?

• Why this Honda do not have panorama roof n sunroof as their competitor eg.toyota estima

• smarties on May 30, 2014 at 10:17 am

Great MPV with great value

• lihwoei on Nov 23, 2015 at 5:33 pm

2013?