2014 Volkswagen Polo Hatchback previewed at KLIMS13 – CKD, 1.6 MPI, 6sp auto, launch in 2014

VW Polo Hatchback CKD-31

The 2014 Volkswagen Polo Hatchback is being previewed at KLIMS13. The model is locally-assembled at DRB-Hicom’s Pekan plant alongside the 2014 Volkswagen Polo Sedan that was introduced last month. VW assembly in Malaysia started with the Passat back in March 2012, making this the third VW to be CKDed.

We’ve seen this one coming. Last month, an unknown variant of the Polo hatchback was spotted at JPJ Putrajaya, before reports from India confirmed the export of CKD kits from Volkswagen India to Malaysia. Dr Zeno Kerschbaumer, Volkswagen Group Malaysia’s MD, hinted as much at the recent launch of the CKD Polo Sedan.

The CKD Polo hatch is powered by the same engine that moves its sedan sister, a 1.6 litre MPI engine with 105 PS at 5,250 rpm and 153 Nm at 3,800 rpm. The naturally-aspirated four-pot is mated to a six-speed torque converter automatic transmission, which has Tiptronic mode. The 1,020 kg car does 0-100 km/h in 11.1 seconds, while top speed is 184 km/h. Combined fuel consumption is 6.3 litres per 100 km.

VW Polo Hatchback CKD-22

Looks wise, the CKD Polo loses the TSI’s distinctive L-shaped tail lamp elements, and the headlamp housings are silver instead of black. Like the latest Polo Sedan, there’s a ‘Volkswagen’ badge on the bottom left of the tailgate. The rear bumper shape is slightly different too, and this car has signal lamps on the fenders. The 15-inch ‘Riverside’ wheels are wrapped with 185/60 Apollo tyres from India on the show car.

Inside, the cabin is similar to the 2014 Polo Sedan’s, with the RCD 320 radio (USB, SD Card, iPod, AUX-in, Bluetooth, four speakers) and Climatronic automatic single-zone air-con.

The baby VW also has cruise control, auto up/down for all windows, leather for the steering/gear knob/hand brake lever, ‘Livon’ fabric seats, multi-function display, tilt and telescopic steering wheel and a chrome package. The latter includes chrome bits on the radio and light switch, AC panel and vents and steering wheel, among other places.

VW Polo Hatchback CKD-27

Safety wise, the Polo hatch comes with dual-airbags, ABS, brake assist, ISOFIX child seat anchors and four-point rear parking sensors. Intelligent Crash Response System (ICRS) automatically unlocks your doors and turns on the hazard lights in the event of an accident.

The cars shown at KLIMS13 (one red, one white) are similar to those that will go on sale in Malaysia early next year. The 2014 Polo Sedan is priced at RM85,888 on-the-road without insurance, and this similarly-specced Polo hatch should be in the ballpark. How does an RM85k Polo hatch sound to you?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Meh~ No power.. Cushion, no turbo, looks like Preve better~ Anytime can sapu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 62
    • ah chan on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:29 pm

suprima better, got turbo and handling by lotus emblem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 38
      • Overpriced Rip Off on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:18 pm

No VSC? Without that feature, the most important feature, its like driving a kereta mayat. Sorry lah, my family life is more important.

Lagipun with all the negative feedback in their facebook page, I’d rather go for a Korean or Japanese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 10
        • fpser on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:24 pm

When Cerato was out, they said, “So expensive.”

When Preve was out, they said, “So expensive.”

When Suprima was out, they said, “So expensive.”

When new Altis/Corolla was out, they said, “So expensive.”

When Mazda3 was out, they said, “So expensive.”

Got money, then buy. If no money, go back to the cheapest option available. After all it’s not bad what.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 10
          • Overpriced Rip Off on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Only a fool will be happy to be cheated. Most clever people even got money want good value for money deal. Only a real bodoh will say “Got money then buy”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 65
          • When you look for value buy, then you have not enough money but pretend to be clever.
            When you say others are fool, you in fact is a fool also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:04 pm

Everybody in Malaysia knows VW is kaki break down. That day at the market, one asoh selling fish tell me, “Ah Loo, itu Lolkslagen manyak bleakdown. Tow tluck manyak sukat sama Lokslagen”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
        • Dr.Abu bin Mohd isa on Oct 11, 2015 at 9:08 am

WW is for ada class dan pelajaram tinggi tinggi punya orang muda…nak safety beli hai luck atau 1 ton loli.

• BN Cybertrooper on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Name only German but breakdown all the time. Pay so much but get problem after problem. Well known in auto circles that VW is one big time problematic car.

• Petrolhead on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:33 pm

RM85k? Suprima S may seem to be a better buy but at least no DSG and looks better than its sister Polo Sedan. Either way college girls love it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
      • mitsushihtzu on Nov 18, 2013 at 2:27 pm

u must be joking right?
        proton and its quality. RM 85k and all u get is milo tin not worth not worth. both proton n vw is a no no

• Raja Lawak on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Very true…better let Proton rebadge it as new Savvy…RM40K kosong spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • yup.. perhaps DRB can deal with VW and take only the body minus engine and DSG.. use campro turbo and sell it for RM40K+..

• Aaron on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:01 pm

The price declined from 115k to 85k, a full 30k. However the ESP was forfeited, no more side airbags, tail lamp was no longer the distinctive L shape, no TSI, no DSG, much lesser torque with higher combined fuel consumption. Personally I don’t think the 30k price declination is worth it. Anyone with me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 8
    • flat_tire on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:48 pm

yeah sure.. ofcoz can sapu punya maa.. when this vw polo is in parking mode that is..

• Polo Saga on Nov 14, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Are u kidding me? Aged engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • Jimmy on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:36 pm

VGM: degrading safety specs with each generation, becoming more arrogant and greedy like toyomal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • frenzyaustin on Nov 14, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Expect it to priced under 80K to compete with Jazz, but kinda expensive. It has 4 airbags but what about ESC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • iluvw on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:07 pm

2 only

• frenzyaustin on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Wait, what??!!! OMG!
        No ESC and 2 airbags and charged 85K? Fiesta anytime anyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • sudonano on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:33 pm

At this point, it feels like this Polo would be sold just on brand alone, nothing more. Considering the Fiesta 1.5 is cheaper, and has more stuff like keyless-GO, auto light/wiper, ESC, it seems that the Polo 1.6 would end up being a failed attempt imo by VW.

Carry on folks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • saputo on Dec 24, 2013 at 4:08 pm

stupido vw exterior designs much better fiesta is for girls looks gay.fiesta doesnt have esp.polos interior much better too more room in polo.fiesta is garbage

• klims on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:01 pm

No side airbags that the sedan have?

• vee-oh on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:05 pm

now can compete with Fiesta & Rio lor..not bad at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • jibby on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:41 pm

i’d rather take rio than polo / fiesta. fiesta downgrade engine & airbags but price increase & no ESC/VSC. polo ckd only 2 airbags. also no ESC/VSC. rio is more value for money & loaded with full spec safety features. mind u that it will still have all the full spec safety features even it’s getting CKDed (like forte). rio 73.8k only mehh.. got 5stars ancap & 5stars euro ncap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • sepul on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Dude, the new fiesta got esc. Only downgrade besides the engine is airbag count, from 7 to 2. Honestly my personal choice is rio or 208 over this polo.

• iluvvw on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:06 pm

So what happen to the ‘old’ polo?

• Old Polo still rocks and way better.. award winning TSI engine and comes with 4 airbags + ESP…

TSI and TDI are true VW DNA… Still proud of my Polo TSI..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • The Polo TSI has 6 airbags.

Mine hasn’t given me much problems. Could be that I always put it in N when it’s not moving (That’s what a VW salesman told me).

I love the way I can sprint around other cars.

But I feel that fuel consumption has gone up a bit after two software upgrades by VW SC.

• farghmee on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:13 pm

kalaulah 60k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • tHe^CuLpRit on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Hatchback is RM89k w/out insurance. It’s not bad actually but anyone looking for better tech and spec might look at the 208 or Fiesta Ecoboost.

The Kia Rio and Honda Jazz is also some RM10k-RM13k cheaper.

• motorhead on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:24 pm

85K for a CKD is reasonable… Tiptronic is fun.. Interval service will be 15,000km.. Naturally-aspire engine ve it’s own advantages in long run.. Lesser risk of failure.. Good choice for my 4th car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
  • Tishaban on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:26 pm

I had hoped that VW Malaysia would maintain a minimum safety standard across the line and break the mold providing stability control and six airbags for all their cars. Unfortunately they didn’t. Shame on you VW Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • sam69 on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:29 pm

this car sure can sapu vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
    • Yes for the whole day

• mitsushihtzu on Nov 18, 2013 at 2:35 pm

sapu vios sure can but talking about reliability,
        sorry toyota can sapu VW AUDI BMW FORD PEUGEOT.

• I just wonder why CKD unit just can’t be CBU spec? Why must down grade the Spec??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • azhar on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:36 pm

85k for polo hatch??..i’ll pass..75k is much more realistic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Roy Mustang on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:36 pm

I was like ‘mehhh’ when i see “The 1,020 kg car does 0-100 km/h in 11.1 seconds, while top speed is 184 km/h.”

-___-“

• TSIsack on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:26 pm

This is like older proton but newer one don’t play-play, put racechip already can do below 8 secs, lol

• take out the cruise control and put in more airbags pls

• frenzyaustin on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:00 pm

ESC are more important than extra airbags. Pre-crash safety > Post-crash safety.

• intermilan on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:05 pm

A direct rival to 208 5-door selling for RM86K OTR with insurance. RM83.5K OTR without insurance.
    Also compete with fiesta, rio etc.

208 seems to be better equipped than this Polo.
    120 bhp vs. 105 bhp
    160Nm vs. 153Nm of torque.
    6 airbags vs. only 2 airbags.
    Colour touchscreen vs. monochrome MF display
    Dual-zone vs. single-zone auto air cond
    16″ vs. 15″ alloy wheels
    50L vs. 45L fuel tank
    190kmh vs. 184kmh top speed
    10.7s vs. 11.1s for acceleration 0-100km/h
    auto vs. manual headlight & wiper
    centre armrest vs. none
    6-way vs. 4-way adjustable for front seats
    semi-bucket vs. normal front seats

polo edged better only in 2 areas:
    6-speed vs. 4-speed gearbox
    fuel consumption @ 6.3 vs. 6.7 L per 100km

Since both is CKD.. price-wise, Polo should be much cheaper than 208… how about less by RM5K due to all the above? Sound fair?

That’s puts it at RM81K OTR with insurance or RM78.5K OTR without insurance.

But since CKD Polo Sedan goes for RM86K OTR without insurance, its quite hard to see how CKD Polo h/b could be sold for RM7.5K cheaper than the sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • frenzyaustin on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:35 pm

And 208 looks much better inside out, it needs a manual, 4-speed is too yesterday.

• intermilan on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:01 pm

For manual 208, its covered by the overpriced ckd 208 gti. Its obvious that here in Msia, any manual Peugeot = performance model. No point selling low spec Peugeot. Will only attract problem.

And yes, the normal 208 should have been offered with 6-speed auto. At least that will prevent any negative perception on 4-speeder that most of us have. However, the 4-speeder auto in 208 isnt that bad.. Just.. it could be ‘better’ if it come with 6-speed gbox.

• lamanblog on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:55 am

Owned 208 4-speed but nothing wrong with that, feeling like normal. cruising highway at it’s best, clocked over 195km/h. If compared to this Polo and even the old Polo, 208 does better. (have experience using Golf TSI before, same handling feel).

• Its German vs French.. Ergonomics vs Flambouyant… else where, VW are pricier than Peugeot… But still VW out sale Peugeot …

PSA is still struggling financially..

• Generally Sedan Car is always CHEAPER than Hatchback model.

• intermilan on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:08 pm

one last thing…. quite crucial..

the 208 got traction control (a.k.a. ESP/ESC/TC) but this baby Polo don’t.

• Totti tutti on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Yup 208 is a way better choice. Hopefully Malaysian will realised.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:17 pm

The 1.6MPI engine was engineered for low-end torque and the six-speed torque converter auto will definitely have lower running costs and higher reliability than DSG although it is less “fun” and less efficient.

The engine + gearbox combo is meant for driveability, reliability and low maintenance. Not everyone’s aiming to be a boy-racer or F1 wannabe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • your opinion – comparing to vios, city and rio engine+gearbox combination, which is the more reliable? less maintenance cost?

then we have the winner of B-seg

• johnjjj on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:21 pm

nextttttttt….

• VWMalaysia knew about TSI and DSG problem, now they come up with obselete engine but I dun think the sales can be up positively. In a longer run VW will suffer

• Obsolete engine? This engine is just same like the NORMAL engine which Vios & City running. Please go study what is TSI & DSG7 before comments.

• Myvi 1.5 and neo can compete with it in terms of speed. No tsi

• jamal on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:34 pm

please myvi potential buyer better get this. tired of looking at myvi already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • sutheshkumar87 on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:55 pm

I know VW is sane enough not to sell their cars with 2 airbags. Hicom, wtf are you doing?

• AUSNSW on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:19 pm

The Volkswagen group still don’t want to design a new polo….Lame…

• rather get an second hand CBU polo instead of New unit CKD~~~~ my own opinion

• saw this car at ldp today during rush hour in the rain without plate.. looks a bit ‘ tonggek ‘ than the previous model.
    or maybe just to my eyes.

• The Kia Rio is a better option in this price category…

• RajaKing on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:23 pm

no matter how many thumbs down this model will get, you will see it plenty otr i tell you..

• nabill on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:40 pm

this car is a step smaller than vios city duo….bt who wd have thought a vw wil be sold at his ‘competitve’ price? wel done i must say…u buy this car the image and probably the reliabilty , it never sold for design or flair….

bt i honestly think the size is close to saga flx rather than vios/city….

• Have u ever sit in Suzuki Swift? Or Mini? Haha… Many Malaysian are still choose in SIZE.

• 2 airbags? No ESC? Please people, at least buy the sedan version with 4 airbags, though it still lacks the ESC.

• Ayam disappointed with the safety specs. Ahh well. Looks like DRB-HICOM wants to hold their own. But if enough Msians complain, they will give more safety kit like the Prevé, which has 6 airbags starting this November.

People power ftw !

• Dual Airbags? Are u kidding VW?

• nowadays you cannot buy expensive car anymore… roberry are everywhere …. if they rob u either your car lost or your life… hahahhaha

• RoKie on Nov 15, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Nahhh. Pass. Still over-priced.

• PauKaya on Nov 16, 2013 at 7:34 pm

to solve DSG problem. just give us a manual.

• lowman on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Y ppl compare vw and proton? Price wise for proton and quality? Proton resale value? 0.

• kamil on Nov 18, 2013 at 2:32 pm

i have entered the cabin at the KLIMS yesterday, in my opinion, to the very least, it feels fairly premium.. ok la, not that bad esp when compared to the other japanese brand!

• Having back from Delhi, I see this car plenty on the roads…like mushrooms. c’mon VW ths is Malaysia not India, we wish for better VW cars!

• Yup! All the while VWM only bring-in high spec VW cars, but this 2 polo 1.6 are really disappointed.

• matjava on Nov 20, 2013 at 12:24 pm

What do you think Polo HB 1.6L vs Swift Sport 1.6L too?

• Jonah on Dec 05, 2013 at 10:30 am

With all the comments above, some arguement involving Preve is a better buy than Polo may seem tense. No doubt Preve is a better car, same price, turbo equipped and you get a c-class rather than A-class Polo. Proton has even less breakdown compared to VW globally. But if i have to choose what to drive in Malaysia between these two, i’ll pick the Polo. Leaving in Malaysia its all about image despite anything else. Sigh

• Michael Eng on Jul 10, 2014 at 6:38 pm

this rubbish so expensive? CRAZY

• New Balance 999 Mujer on Oct 08, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Serahkan saja kepada Allah. 15 minit lagi azan Maghrib akan berkemundang. Bulan depan saya kena masuk hospital balik, Tak tahu nak kata apa. “korang rase hari ni mak cik dema(dewan makan) masak ape eh? masih tiada seorang cikgu yang jaga,Malam itu, yeke?”aku mempelawa Husrizal kerana aku tahu ibu bapanya tiada di rumah. Medal yang diperolehinya daripada pertandingan bola keranjang peringkat negeri.
    New Balance 999 Mujer http://xiroi-vins.com/es_hgnb-baratas107.asp?new-balance-999-mujer