Ford EcoSport 1.5 Titanium previewed at KLIMS13

Ford EcoSport KLIMS 7

Ford is previewing a number of upcoming vehicles at its stand in KLIMS13, and one of those in the spotlight is the EcoSport – the B-segment SUV isn’t going on sale just yet, but order books have opened for the second-generation model, which sits on a B3 (or if you will, a B2E) platform shared with the sixth-gen B299 Fiesta.

As it stands, the EcoSport is set to enter the Malaysian market by the middle of 2014, with estimated pricing listed at RM98k to RM108k, putting it very close to the Peugeot 2008 in terms of price. The vehicle will debut here in its 1.5 litre Ti-VCT form, with 112 PS at 6,300 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,400 rpm – the Sigma family mill will be paired with a six-speed Powershift dual-clutch auto transmission. Down the road, a 1.0 litre EcoBoost variant should join the lineup.

The display example at the show is a Titanium version, finished in the signature Mars Red, sitting on 16-inch wheels and 205/60 tyres. The show car is actually an Indian market model, but the final product we’ll be getting will be from Thailand, built at the Ford Thailand Manufacturing plant in Rayong.

When it arrives, the EcoSport should feature kit such as Ford SYNC, smart keyless entry and push-start ignition, rear parking sensors and dual front/side curtain airbags (the Titanium version has seven airbags). The EcoSport made its global debut in India as a concept back in 2012, and had its ASEAN premiere earlier this year at the Bangkok International Motor Show.

Read our review of the EcoSport here.

Learn more: ,

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sohai on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Wait for the ecoboost engine variant to be released, period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:52 pm

Ford treats Malaysians like idiots. Where is the 1.0 Ecoboost? For Focus 1.0 Ecoboost is the NO 1 best seller in Europe. But here, pariah Ford, wants you to pay more in road tax and fuel. Ford is Sime Darby GLC. And government wants the rakyat to pay more in road tax and fuel.

Ford, pls have some telur and bring in the 1.0 Ecoboost. The Focus 1.0 Ecoboost has better fuel efficiency than the 2.0 TDCI diesel. But government refuse to bring this engine in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Hey Sam dumb dumb.. the 1.0 been announced, you know nothing of the future road map. Your stinking Toyota has been cheating Malaysians for real, only in this region Camry has no VSC. To cut cost and Toyota has killed many by malfunctioning and Akio chuntoi Toyoda has tried denying and only to apologize when forced with real facts. Puiiii…

• dozy8888 on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:28 pm

Is it the size of Kembara or Toyota Rush LWB?

• Brian on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:30 pm

A very handsome car with a way too expensive price tag =(

• zalendo on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:16 pm

if given choice, sure go for 1.0 ecoboost instead of 1.5ti-vct

• 1.5 NA engine. Yawn.. next..

• AutoConnexxionSuxx on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:47 am

sadly no matter what technology Ford comes up with, as long as AutoConnexxion is in charge in Malaysia, their after sales service is absolutely SHIT..

its been a whole damn month and my car is still in the service centre and they haven’t completed a single job yet.

theres a reason they took down their facebook page cos too many people were airing their grievances there already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • I can buy a brand new Toyota Hilux with high spec. for the price :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Apple to Orange? on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:50 am

At your Hilux price, i can get a Ranger 3.2 MT with 200 PS and 470 NM. My point is: compare apple to apple.

• takNakP1 on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:34 am

How much is the road tax? Will it be something like Toyota Rush RM180, which is pretty unfair. :P

• intermilan on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:04 am

From all the choices of newest B-segment SUVs originating from Europe likes Juke, Captur, 2008 etc… EcoSport has a single big and significant design flaw.

The placement of spare wheel at the rear of the car.

Its fine on a rugged Pajero.. but not so on chic baby SUV who’s supposed to look styled, playful and sporty in urban environment.

This so 80’s design language is a mistake even been ‘philosophically’ admitted by Ford. They said it was designed for emerging market. Yeah right…

No other B-segment SUV spotted the same design as it is deemed as outdated and not suitable for the urban sportiness image that these small SUV should portray.

Its front end design is very handsome but the rear.. its Kembara all over again.. wah lau eh..

• parkhyuns on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Why i love the rear spare tyre. i like how they make it this way. i have under body tyre placement as the spare will get dirty as hell. you cant please anyone but this ecosport design certainly pleases me and many more.

• parkhyuns on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:40 pm

*have = hate ..typo

• Richard on Nov 16, 2013 at 6:55 pm

The attendant whom I spoke to at KLIMS mentioned pricing to be circa RM100k. Waitaminute! Isn’t that the price of a Fiesta ecoboost?

Expect to become available from April 2014

• rafiq on Apr 05, 2014 at 8:39 am

Its been a month now, I called up Sime Darby, Ford division to find out the launching dates of Ford Kuga Titanium. I was put here and there on hold, finally got no positive answer. Any intelligent guess, when is this new version, if at all, coming to Malaysia. I am holding on to my booked Kuga, hoping it would be sson. Anyone please???

• KangKungMan on May 03, 2014 at 10:33 am

Ford can only get sale for this car if price below RM95K … if more then 95K hard to sell … due to size … gearbox stories … etc…

• ItchiiBawah on Sep 27, 2014 at 11:37 am

reading all the comments.. i rather stick to my OFK.. Old Faithful Kembara..

• ItchiiBawah on Sep 27, 2014 at 11:40 am

reading all the -ve comments, I’ll rather stick to my Old Faithful Kembara…