Hyundai i40 Sedan and Tourer launched in Malaysia – duo priced and positioned above the Sonata

Hyundai i40 Tourer-9

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has launched the Hyundai i40 Sedan and i40 Tourer at the ongoing KLIMS13 show. The i40 is a D-segment entry that will be sold alongside the slightly larger bodied Hyundai Sonata, but the i40 range will be specced and position higher than the Sonata in HSDM’s local range.

Designed for Europe, the i40 follows a more recent interpretation of Hyundai’s ‘Fluidic Sculpture’ design language, and fits perfectly in line with the rest of the brand’s model range. It features the familiar recessed hexagonal grille sported by models such as the Elantra and Veloster, which came after the Sonata YF’s standalone design.

At 4,740 mm long and with a 2,770 mm wheelbase, the i40 Sedan is slightly smaller than the Sonata (length and wheelbase shorter by 50 mm and 25 mm respectively), though both are in the same segment.

Hyundai i40 Sedan-24

Put simply, the Sonata is Hyundai’s ‘midsize’ answer to the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord in America, while the i40 is predominantly marketed in Europe against cars like the VW Passat, Toyota Avensis and Honda Accord Euro, which are all more compact.

It’s still a roomy car though, and the boot of the Sedan can take in 505 litres, plus 20 litres of underfloor space. The wagon-bodied Tourer can hold 553 litres, expandable to 1,719 litres with the rear seats folded. The Tourer’s tailgate is powered, no strength needed to operate.

The i40 launch also sees the Malaysian debut of Hyundai’s 2.0 litre GDI engine. The Koreans (both Hyundai and Kia) were apprehensive about bringing in the naturally-aspirated Gasoline Direct Injection unit due to our country’s lower quality Euro 2 fuel, but it looks like tests have been done and issues, if any, have been resolved.

Hyundai i40 Tourer-19

The ‘Nu’ GDI makes 178 PS and 214 Nm of torque, which is significantly more than the Sonata 2.0’s 162 PS/194 Nm. In fact, 178 PS is similar to what the Theta II 2.4 MPI engine in the Sonata 2.4 makes. As usual, the engine is paired to Hyundai’s own six-speed torque converter automatic gearbox, which is linked to steering paddle shifters here.

Plenty of equipment offered as standard. Outside, 17-inch alloys plus projector HID headlamps with washers and DRLs are standard. You’ll be greeted inside by leather, 10-way powered driver/front passenger seats, panoramic glass roof, smart key with push start, cruise control, Bluetooth, voice recognition, dual-zone auto air con and plenty of buttons on the steering wheel.

The Tourer adds on an audio video navigator (AVN) touch screen set and rear-seat entertainment screens.

Hyundai i40 Tourer-14

Safety wise, there are a total of nine airbags in the five-star Euro NCAP-rated i40 – driver, passenger, driver knee, front and rear side, curtain – plus ESP, VSM, ABS, BA and Hillstart Assist Control.

Available in four colours – Phantom Black, Sleek Silver, Titanium Silver and White Crystal – the Korean-made i40 Sedan is priced at RM159,888 OTR, before the RM4,000 option of AVN + rear-seat entertainment. The Tourer, which has those two as standard, is priced at RM178,888, undercutting the other handsome wagons in its class, the Mazda6 2.5 Touring and Peugeot 508SW.

Buyers of the i40 will get Hyundai’s Leader Card membership with ‘premium services and VIP privileges’ such as concierge service and personalised medical assistance. The Leader Card programme was first introduced with the latest Hyundai Santa Fe.

Hyundai i40 Sedan and Tourer

Hyundai i40 Sedan

Hyundai i40 Tourer

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• the i40 sedan with such a good direct injection engine and specs, has the same price with my camry 2.0G.., i just want to fxxk umw toyota now..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 227 Thumb down 55
    • Nice specs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 43
      • Of course nice,this Kimchi and the upcoming K5 can easily gun down the useless junk camry n accord.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 55
        • Bob_B78 on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Funny. I thought u gonna say VW TSI gonna smoke this car and the rest of accord/camry since u r a VW fan as ur name suggested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 46
        • Everyone praising the korean car,
          still , im seeing more camry n accord on the road.
          hardly see i40 on the road ..
          sigh~~~

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:29 pm

Eventhough I am Toyota No 1 salesman, I am afraid to admit, this kimchi is hundred times better than any junk UMW sells. Yes, by saying this it will affect my sales but facts are facts. Better to buy a car that will save your legs and arms (with VSC) than buy a car with good RV but puts you in “six feet under”. You can have all the RV in the world, what is the use when you kaput?

Like this, I also feel I want to jump boat and join Hyundai Simedarby and sell Kimchi. I have had enough of UMW!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 20
        • Darren on Nov 15, 2013 at 3:56 pm

but boss, Toyota hv very strong brand loyalty in Malaysia. Without any effort, they will walk in to the showroom and buy from you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 49
        • motorhead on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Thx for d info & honesty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • storm on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:23 pm

I never like Sam loo’s comments here but you are here pretend to be Sam loo just makes yourself looks stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
        • Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 12:02 pm

K5 owner that can’t even get a trade in price for the piece of rotten cabbage that has a permanent hailat face

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 28
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:46 pm

People sure come here and say Sam Loo is running scared with this launch. I admit, I am scared. But I am running to Hyundai Simedarby to do sales for kimchi.

I admit, Kimchi has come a long way from 10 years ago. In 10 years, their growth is so much that in 20 years, there will be more Hyundais on the road. Every single my of kakis at UMW know this. We will soon jump boat. We got no choice because we are only salesman. We got no power. It is UMW cheating people. It is UMW charging you so much for a poor safety Toyota. What can we salesman do? We also cari makan. If we tell our boss to put VSC and more airbags, we are fired the next day. So, we just sit here like sitting ducks. We ourselves don’t believe in our own products now and find it hard to lie to customers just to make sales.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 23
        • sutheshkumar87 on Nov 15, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Really? Sam Loo mellowed down? Awwwww. xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • Sam Loo on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Fake Fella

I only deal with used kimchi, as their low trade in value is a great business opportunity.

Need more sorhais to buy them new

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 44
      • Raja Lawak on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Proton boleh mimpi lah to become Hyundai world class car company!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 14
        • BN Cybertrooper on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:16 pm

This Hyundai is so expensive. Has it gone up from the older Sonata? I think we kena con. All over the world, the Sonata is higher than this car. I think Sime Darby pulling a fast one on us. Bring cheaper model but price it higher than Sonata

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 4 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is Hybrid, CKD or CBU. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
        • Sam Loo on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Hyundai is world class when it comes to low resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 48
      • Many of the girl cun-cun maa this yr..from wat i see from latest klims13 pictures

• Sam Loo on Nov 17, 2013 at 9:10 am

His DSG kwai tai oledi, being hooked by Tow Mater to VW SC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • boxy, the reality is that umw has been f**king you all these years without you knowing it. so, it’s not you who f**k them. it’s they f**ked you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 2:30 am

Your 2006 Camry 2.0G will be worth more in a 2014, compared with a i40 purchased now and sold 1 year later.

Food for thought

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 40
    • BoXy,take a step further and look at the quality of these two cars……Hyundai has yet to stand at Toyota level….you may not like to read it, ha ha…accept the fact!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • LivingLong on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:52 am

Wow! I live the day when Proton will rebadge a Hyundai! Lolz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Dayuummm!! thats one fine looking machine..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • sam69 on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:55 am

meh…………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
  • Maserati(Official) on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:57 am

I want that wagon! *Melt*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • yup me too…the wagon looks soo nice/ soo european…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • Maserati on Nov 15, 2013 at 3:00 pm

Not sure who this impostor ‘Maserati official’ fella is, if hes trying to be ‘famous’ for supporting Korean car, thats a pathetic attempt. I have my legion of loyal supporters idolizing my straight talking mentality, knowing whats right and wrong.

No doubt the Koreans look nice (this time), the looks will out date very soon, not to mention the resale value will go down as fast as Sharon Stone’s knickers in Basic Instinct. So buy all the Korean car you want, but don’t come crying when the resale value is 50% in 3 years time, that’s if the car can hold out for so long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 50
    • Sam Loo on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:49 pm

This imposter is the K5 owner that I have showed 3 Hilux to

Tried to sell his rotten cabbage 2 month back, but if he comes back now, I will show him the door with my broomstick.

Waste of time with these sort of beggers. He regretted like hell getting a KIA. If Hyundai, I would have still layan him

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 34
      • Maserati(Official) on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:46 pm

LOL!! On a second thought, you are actually one fun fella. I guess this blog would not shine without your presence. Your insanity towards Toyota is totally idiotic and nonsense that every time you showed up, reading the very first sentence of your comment will bring a smile on my face, knowing the fact that the rest of the sentence will be a total blind bashing, imaginative with the broomstick and begging thing…LOL… my tears. You funny you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
        • I think Sam Loo is not funny, he is the only person in this forum who talk facts. Most of us here are delusionist and talk base on our emotion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 33
  • Going to get bash for this, but I’am in no way a fan of he YF Sonata’s ‘fluidic sculpture’, in my eyes, it looks like a untastefully overdone mess, with too many lines everywhere and lack of consistency between them. the Interior looks like a someone pored acid on it. This I40 is, well, better done than the YF’s, I can’t say I like it, but I do not displease it like the YF. Its cleaner and sharper thou the wheels looked a tad small.[-opinions may differ-]

Being Korean, there are some very good kit list included, sticking out the most is 2.4l+6-speed and a whooping 9 airbags(u don’t get that until u reach Lexus pricing), in a community where numbers tells it all, this is almost unbelievable, well done Hyundai, repentence for therather dissapointing spec Santa Fe……maybe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
    • Fair observation I say but bandwidth bashing is free and fun :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Jimmy on Nov 15, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Good, 9 airbags. The first in this price bracket.

• Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 2:36 am

Please get a new Sonata then. Very good value for money if you don’t mind being looked down by your colleagues, boses see you as untrustworthy, family and relative give you a funny look at family gatherings and most of all, have a permanent hailat face

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
      • Sam Loo,

You have a right to your own opinions, but to insult a Hyundai buyer by saying

“Looked down by our colleagues, boses see you as untrustworthy, family and and relative give you a funny look….. permanent hailat face”

That’s just uncalled for. I’m not sure if you’re really serious with that comment. While you might be able to argue that a Toyota has better quality, their recent offerings are seriously way overpriced in Malaysia. I blame it on UMW. Look at the latest Vios and the Previa as an example. Even the latest Camry isn’t selling as the last generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo on Nov 17, 2013 at 12:30 pm

I drive a Camry coz it has the lowest TCO for D-Segment in Malaysia. Period.

I trade used kimchis because their trade in value is so low now. Recently went into the export market, coz turnover is much higher.

No market for KIA unfortunately

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • ss427 on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:18 pm

Well to my bolehland frens, this is what Hyundai/Kia is all about. Not that the other newer models are no good, but the i40 really shakes VW group and makes the Europeans sit up and respect the Koreans these days.

9 airbags finally… :)
    Danny are those 18″ wheels? The size seems to looks smaller than what we have here in SG… And the wheel design is different too

Alamak you guys got a factory fitted GPS screen… we got a conventional non LCD screen audio console. :( Its still factory fitted though

SG market i40 comes with 225/45 R18 wheels and tire package from the factory.

Great day for my Malaysian friends.:) Go buy one asap and hopefully you guys can make a trip to SG in your i40 soon.

We have a small, but growing group of i40 owners here in SG and they’ve setup a Hyundai i40 club too.

Rem, you need to compare this with Passat wagon, Audi A6 advant wagon and even the Volvo XC60. Those junk Toyotas Avanza, Innovas, Nissan Lavinas need not apply hor.. For the i40 is world apart from these truck/van based van which tries to pass off as a MPV…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 18
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Well, this one will sure shake up the used car market 1 year down the line.

Trade in value will be at around 40% of selling price, or lower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 40
      • Vader on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Forgot to take medicine today? Again?
        Where can we get the 1 year old sportage with RM55k? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 30
      • Heskey on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:28 pm

Ok will wait till next year. By the way what is the trade in value for my current 2008 vios g specs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
      • Sam Loo on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:51 pm

I only deal with used Hyundai. The value is so low now that export to Sri Lanka is really worth the extra mile

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 21
    • Bob_B78 on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:29 pm

If you care to actually read the whole preview, it was mentioned that it is 17″ alloy wheels

• ss427 on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Oh yes I see it now :) Well we’ve got 18″ in SG. But I’m sure some i40 owners will upgrade to forged ultralight 18″ upon delivery. Ultralight wheels will reduce unsprung weight and improves handling.

• tokmoh on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Rather than Volvo XC60, the i40 fits better against V60 or V70/XC70.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 15, 2013 at 8:12 pm

17-inch wheels

• Denaihati on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:21 pm

with full size tyre spare are much better, no worry for long distance travel. also with nine airbags make it so confident driving.

• sudonano on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:34 pm

That tourer. It looks fantastic. The price, is even more fantastic.

I think even now, buying a Sonata is pointless. Get the i40 sedan with nav. I was not a big fan of the Sonata cause of the overly busy lines. This is just nice.

Hyundai have got it right. Now, go improve the Santa Fe and Elantra specs, make it 6 airbags, and we’ll see more people buying the Mother SUV with that insanely good diesel engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 26
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Why buy a new Sonata? Get a used one less than 15 month old. Real value for money if you can find one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 24
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Fake fella. I am the real Sam Loo. Stop using my username. No backbone is it? Go find your own name!

I no more promote Toyota. It is like driving a kereta mayat. No VSC. No 6 airbags. Better to get a kimchi, less RV but at least you live!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 32
    • Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:35 am

I only deal with used Hyundai.

Have to take a break this weekend for school holidays & let my team run the show at the yard.

Dam, I wonder if I will be able to get another 12 month old 20 Sonata’s today at below RM50k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
  • sohai on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Maybe it’s just me, but the rear of the sedan version is kinda hideous. Just get the tourer, its worth the extra money. With that you even get much more storage space.

I just wished that Sime Darby Hyundai could price their cars a little lower. Then surely can tapao UMW and their tin kosong cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • matrxe on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:51 pm

cheers for expensive elantra!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Cheers for Sam, as he will have another tsunami of kimchi sellers 1 year later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
  • mitsushihtzu on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:23 pm

hey look it’s Hyundai, catching up superb fast ! but hey look at our proton ? oh nooo i see nothing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Sathyendran on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Well said!

• Bongcs on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:58 pm

“Does not exists”

• Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:37 am

Hyundai’s are catching up fast on lower and lower trade in value.

As for KIA’s, used car dealers also don’t want to accept trade in anymore. Good luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • Maserati on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Another hopeless Korean car . Look at elantra now, nobody gives a rats arse about it. Goodluck selling this junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 70
    • wait wait wait…

isn’t that no one gives a rats arse about your bs?

always dream about maserati, but only ride kapchai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • jeff wong on Nov 15, 2013 at 3:11 pm

Hopeless one is Potong……….lol

• SamShowedMeThehilux on Nov 15, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Just can’t wait to buy them at 40% or lower and sell them to SL.

Encourage more instinctive buyers to fall into this trap, pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
  • from behind its looks like the facelifted sylphy..

• ss427 on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Bro I seriously do think you need new glasses…the Slyphy one looks like Nissan tried to hard to be hip looking. But the i40 looks so much more natural and stylish

FYI, the i40 was released to the market earlier than the current Bluebird Sylphy. So who copied who… I’ll leave it up to you ba

• huehuehue on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:53 pm

AL LAST!! got 9 airbags! Safetywise i think its one of the well equipped cars in Malaysia.. Hope the veloster turbo get launched and also be as good as its i40s siblings.. cheers!

• guys, any recommendation for me ? this sedan or mazda6 2.0 ?

• kucing on Nov 15, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Mazda 6. But I can hardly see one on the road

• Bob_B78 on Nov 15, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Both cars are equally good and have their own strong points. Choose either one and you will still end up as a winner.

• Jimmy on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Get a Mazda6 2.5 for its active safety equipments.
      Get an i40 for its passive safety equipments.
      Mazda still win because of the brand, sincerely speaking. Taste. Mechanicals.

• honest on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Personally I dont like the dashboard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Wah u guys..belum tgk keta in flesh pun sudah bole komen mcm mcm…paultan tak bole buat!

• 2 months ago i saw the tourer in Brunei, deep blue colour.

i thought it was a new sexy european car, a new Benz or someting, until i got nearer and saw that tilted H…

• abcde on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:10 pm

all looks good..but somehow the price is quite steep. but of course the spec is good.

accord 2.4 is not that far comparing
    worst still, camry..lol..bungkus

• Berann on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:18 pm

At first I thought this is the facelift elantra. Ugly sylphy butt. Good specs but dashboard looks cheap..Hyundai design seems like not lasting especially sonata and elantra. Mazda design more lasting & nicer …Mazda 6, CX-5 and new mazda 3 :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Jimmy on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Mazda6 2.5 is still deal of the year 2013. This i40 is 2nd, still very good for a Hyundai, and is cheaper. The tourer looks good.

• norman on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:23 pm

As usual the specs is overwhelming but in reality?Action speaks louder than words..Nice design/acc etc but pls reduce the price first if you wanna take over Camry/Accord market.I40 in Singapore use by Taxis is the 1.7crdi 120hp/300nm!

• Doesn’t the face look exactly like an Elantra? I prefer the garang Sonata face but this but looks nicer though. Now I have to dig deep into my heart to see if it is willing to let go of the beloved gen8 accord. Somehow I still feel my Accord’s engine sound is smoother than a new Sonata.
    Click like if you think i40 on the road will turn more faces than a Sonata.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • borris on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:15 pm

I couldn’t agree more. The first time I saw the i40 I thought it was the elentra. But this looks really great.

• RoKie on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Nice looking cars & specs. The price, well, one man’s poison is another man’s drink.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Nov 15, 2013 at 5:15 pm

It’s a diesel, the rear lights look like Nissan Sylphy, horrible rims and it’s a Hyundai ! The price is a bit too much. In my opinion, Mazda 6 / Honda Accord is a much better choice in term of value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • furqan on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:10 pm

Where in the world did you get the idea that its a diesel? Just because there’s a D in GDi doesn’t make it a diesel. The rims maybe a bit unpleasant to look at but that’s personal preference. And the touring is cheaper than the Mazda 6 touring and the Peugeot 508 SW GT.
      Please I beg of you to do some research and not speak out of your as*. I’m sorry for the long post but it had to be said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • In terms of looks the Mazda 6 touring definitely takes the cake. However I prefer the more ‘torque-y’ (more expensive) 508SW GT. Its also more economical. But that’s my opinion.
    However the i40 undoubtedly cuts the mustard in value for money.

• meowman on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:07 pm

214NM from a 2.0L diesel? Come on, even Captiva 2L gives out 320NM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 35
    • Paul Tan on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:15 pm

That 2.0 GDI engine is a normally aspirated petrol engine. Not a diesel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Jilbaber on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Get you fact first before commenting..kids nowadays {sigh}

• the D in the GDi stands for DIRECT INJECTION, nit Diesel ..

• Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 2:51 am

Korean Car Manufactures, very much like Korean Car fans and owners are indeed very untrustworthy.

Simply claim and hope that no one will notice and fall into the trap that makes me show them the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
  • tombyron on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:52 pm

meowman is a funnyman..get a life dude

• uncle on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Good spec indeed, i got 2 toyota old camry and old corolla, feel like want to give up adi..
    see the new estima rm270k 4speed old spec engine… better go for odessey. new engine cvt leather seat spec.
    and this i40. is really looking nice, i seems few time in singapore. is a good car for sure.
    Due i cannot afford, hope can see it in malaysia road :D gogogo

• Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 2:50 am

At least, when you sell the Camry or Corolla, used car fella will layan you.

If you bring a KIA, you might as well jump down like the bugger than landed on a Waja.

If you bring a Hyundai, you will be at least be shown the Hilux first out of decency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
      • U can only preach about resale value huh? No other things good about toyo huh? U know so many here sick of ur rv comments nail wanna vomit?
        Who cares about rv after 7 years if ownership where it will be flat rate even compared to other Japanese brands?
        And no way I am going back to toyo after realising a better world out there. So no way I will trade in a non jap car to toyo car dealer who give low trade in price to create false perception of toyo car higher value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
      • Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:40 am

Who cares about RV after 7 or 10 years? Any normal human being.

Obviously, you are also a poor kimchi owner that tried to get rid of the cabbage unsuccesfully

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
        • U know why those that bought toyota always care about rv? Coz they can’t stand owning it for more than 3 years! Kosong features, overpriced, free orchestra concert in the car.
          Sure la they worry rv coz they need to sell it off fast!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
        • Tanahkow on Nov 16, 2013 at 4:01 pm

RV Loo … nobody cares about RV lah … you are still in pre-historic days or what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
        • Sam Loo on Nov 18, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Whoever that does not care about RV can afford more than a Rolls/Bentley

If you are not one of those people, you definitely need to consider RV.

Alternatively, get a used kimchi. They are selling really cheap. When the 1st buyers sell, they would have paid for all the excise/import duties to the govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Definitely you are still living in dinosaur century, also talk about rv.

• gdntsk on Nov 15, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Wow, this is what I call VALUE FOR MONEY! The Camry 2.0 has the potential to be decimated if UMW Toyota Motor does not do something to make the Camry attractive whereas the Mazda 6 2.0 will face a head-on fight with the i40 sedan. The i40 wagon on the other hand will be the cheap + fully loaded alternative among the few choices of D-segment wagons in M’sia.

• i40 and elantra really confusing. looks almost similar

• isnt I40 and Sonata the same model?? pls dont try to rip Malaysians off, many replacement models sold along older models they supposely replaced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Blublibla on Nov 16, 2013 at 6:59 am

No it’s not. Get your facts yight.

• Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 11:58 am

Absolutely not the same model.

RV of Sonata is 50% within 1 year

RV of i40 is 40% within 1 year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
      • jeff wong on Nov 16, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Only ur father will sell to u after one yr……..at 40% …dun talk kok x3….lol..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • To me the car is quite nice. First time see hyundai bring more then 2 airbags in their cars.the only thing is the rims…kinda small and weird loking imho. But im willing to overlook it considering everything is jz so good after seing these pics

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 11:57 am

The question is, how many airbags in kimchis that actually works?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 29
      • Global car on Nov 16, 2013 at 3:51 pm

Hyundai cars are global are with global safety ratings and awards. U thought like toyota selling kosong ancient 4 gears vios here, that even western countries never heard the model about? Show me their global safety yest pls?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
  • Nothing wrong with Korean products like Samsung, kia,Hyundai etc. I will buy any Korean car over a proton or perodua car without second thought. Their low RV is just ppl perception that most ppl think Korean cars are inferior.
    The problem with Korean products are not mechanically or quality but rather the pricing positioning. They priced their product like other bigger players and by doing so they considered themselves a big player as well.
    As for our beloved Toyota , I remembered few yrs back when I shop for a small car, I went into Toyota showroom to chk out the Vios.I bought a Swift instead later that day. What puts me off at the Toyota showroom is the car that costs arm and leg using deskjet printed paper as the meters background. If u compare the both the interiors of Swift and Vios u would know what I meant. Again it is nothing wrong with Toyota products, it is just that they become greedy lately and thought they are at par with their European counter part. A Toyota is a Toyota is a Toyota. By charging premium will not make u a Mercedes , BMW or Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 24
    • Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 1:44 pm

I would encourage you to do so, coz I need more sorhais to feed my kimchi export market.

Within 3 months, you will want to sell your car. You will be trying hard to convince people around you to buy Korean Cars. Within 6-9months, you would have given up and within a year, you will visit my yard and be shown the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 22
      • Talk crap on Nov 16, 2013 at 3:47 pm

stop talking cock la. U and ur rv.
        Also remember u mentioned Korea major service 2-4k. I can proof the service cost is even less than altis as i keep all my receipts to compare.
        I traded in my 9th gen altis(now that is a crap car indeed) for elantra. Have been driving it for 1.5 years. So glad I did and never looked back. Planning to own it another 6 years, and that time u can talk all ur rv u want, it’s going to be flat trade in rate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 26
    • I will choose Proton preve over Kia K3.

• after reading all the comments, i see sam loo is trying really really hard to bring this car down lol..pathetic..very

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 33
    • Yeah he is too hard and making a fool out of himself. Nowadays I go pass the vios Roadshow, all uncle auntie checking only. Younger folks go see a bit, sneers, then move away.
      And u think they are having problem selling vios Bcoz of Roadshow everywhere. Smells desperation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 16, 2013 at 9:25 pm

All Sam does is just to warm all you sorhais out there that you will be shown the Hilux if you choose to buy a kimchi.

Typically, 50% of all new kimchis are sold out to used car dealers within the first 15 months.

He is nice guy just warning you that kimchis really does not have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
  • Nonsense toyota salesman on Nov 17, 2013 at 12:42 am

I used to own the hyundai tucson 2.0 high spec. I trade it for rm 102k to a used car dealer after 24 months. The dealer sold it within 2 weeks to another buyer. I dun understand why the toyota sales man still talk about rv as selling point. For 2 yrs car with around 25 percent depreciation is normal now days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
    • Sam Loo on Nov 17, 2013 at 9:13 am

Dream on. 2 year old Tucson will fetch max RM65k last year but RM50k this year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 22
    • 8 years old Toyota Camry 2.4 still able to get RM54k of rsv.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 22, 2013 at 4:18 pm

I only trade used kimchis, which tends to be more profitable due to the big delta between trade in & selling.

Nevertheless, I am not surprised with the trade in value of the 8 year old Camry.

• I dont understand whey they call korean cars kimchis and dont call japanese cars sushis ?! …calling them kimchis already shows ur picking sides…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 23, 2013 at 10:12 am

Because kimchis are synonamous with Korean Cars = Rotten Cabbages

• See the price,i better buy passat or accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • Marieta on Nov 18, 2013 at 1:53 pm

I think the 6 speed is relatively outdated for Hyundai (and Kia). They should just introduce their self-developed 8 speeder on this one..

• Sam Loo on Nov 18, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Kimchis can have 12 speed auto for all they want, but their cars will not have good RV irregardless of what they do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
  • i40 is it mean “i m 40 years old” low class uncle car…. the design looks no different with elantra. nothing innovative. performance good or bad doesn’t make any different as you cannot feel it in city drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • jensi on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Why do we need the sun roof, our counry is hot enough already, even without the sun roof we need to blust the air-con just to keep the car cool or are the AP holders STUPID enough to import anything that the Koreans wants to dump here,

• Please correct me. I am a Hyundai salesperson. An interested prospect I met at JJ Cheras Selatan wanted to trade in his 5 months old Honda City bought at 87k for Elantra 1.8. Upon checking, the best i got from dealers for his Honda is 62k. Tha rest are 60k and below. Now that’s a 25k depreciation after driving it for 5 months. Is that a good resale value for a Japanese car ?

• Honda city to be frank,its pretty suck car. Thus the depreciation after 5 months.

• stanman (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Yesterday was a hilarious crawl around Glenmarie for D-segment new car for me. It’s so good to be able to pop into the dealerships one after another to get a direct feel for the various options

First up was Hyundai. I have already driven a leased Sonata YF for a year in the US and found it quite a fine car, certainly equal to the Japanese offerings in the same category. The i40 is new to me and the wagon is just the icing.
    Exterior is really good looking, especially with the Tourer, that also avoids some of the headroom issues for passengers in the sedan. It’s prettier than both the Mazda6 wagon and the 508SW for less $$$.
    The interior is even better. The design and execution is just heads and shoulders above the Japanese offerings. The top of the line Camry and Accords are embarrassingly crude in comparison. Mazda and Peugoet are also handily trounced. The only let down are the cheesy rear passenger screens that are just not up to the quality of the rest of the cabin. The rest is class leading and compares well with even VeeDub.

The Camry Nav/entertainment unit is just so cheap and nasty, it’s not even funny. The Accord unit is not much better with a dumb looking knob and no touch screen.

The powertrain is easily as good as the top spec Camry and Accord, with a rather lovely note on full bore (Glenmarie has decidedly useful empty roads)and the suspension soaks up the bumps without being sloppy. My Subaru Forester is much harder and less cosseting. The Camry wallows and the Accord is only a little better. Dynamically the Mazda6 is comparable. Paying a lot more road tax for the ‘segment leaders’ is just dumb.

The i40 was surprisingly good and the Accord was surprisingly crap. The Camry has always been rubbish. I guess if I just looked at cars as basic transport…..I’d buy a Myvi.

• 9 airbags? How often you will you? Come on even with 2 airbags too. You gonna trash your anyway if all 9 airbags explode at once. Airbag doesnt guarantee your safety. How the engineer design the frame and engine plus your driving skill make you out alive.

• intermilan on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Citroen DS5 looks better than the i40 tourer..