Perodua GMA Space previews new Viva interior

perodua-gma-space-klims 141

Perodua’s focal display at KLIMS13 may be the Global Model Sedan (GMS) Buddyz concept, a design study exploring the potential of going down the four-door sedan path, but there are equally interesting items on show at the automaker’s stand at the event.

The GMA Space (Global Model A Segment Space) looks unassuming enough, being a doorless shell showcasing an interior package presented in a monotone scheme. Don’t let the approach fool you though, because this one essentially previews the Viva replacement model‘s interior.

The company touts the study’s form as one providing ample luggage and cabin room, and based on sight alone, the volumetric scope looks much improved over that in the Viva. The dashboard line flow is kind of intriguing too – think Daihatsu Ayla and you’ll see some familiar elements and design cues.

perodua-gma-space-klims 150

So, does this mean that the VRM will be based on the Ayla (and Toyota Agya) and not the Mira e:S? The scope of the concept’s cabin seems to suggest so. We’ve seen what an approximation of what the VRM will look like if it’s indeed the Ayla that provides the donor design – Theophilus Chin rendered the VRM last month, using the Agya as the basis.

The successor to the Viva is set to be launched in the late third quarter of 2014, and will feature an aluminium engine. It’ll be built at Perodua’s new factory, which is located adjacent to its existing plant in Sungai Choh, north of Rawang. The facility is scheduled to become operational next October.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Raja Lawak on Nov 15, 2013 at 8:45 am

Good job Perodua! Fuel efficient cars is the only average Malaysians need for daily use, not a faulty power window crap car with 9KM/Liter engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 103
    • it’s 9L/100km, and BTW, it’s not even true. you can easily get 6-7L/100km.

Screw this, I’ll go for more safety and performance.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
      • qwerty on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:27 am

I think he meant the Saga’s fuel consumption (non-official figures) but hey, why must we bash something else? Can’t we just be focusing on the subject here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • viva,worst car i have ever driven,
        noisy engine, fc not that great(my myvi & altis is better!)
        worst of all, the price $

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Only thing i wish for this car is to have a more solid body structure ._.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Dato' Jack on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:02 am

fuel efficient alone not enough… perodua need to think more on safety.. build more safer rigid cabin zone… add more airbags.. set maximum limit for the car (maybe max 110KMP) .. this VAVI car owner they drove like crazy, though the’re driving super car.. when crash tercampak keluar kereta..ayoyo amma pudicit yillek..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 0
    • imran on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:50 am

Little Different in fuel consumption but their product itself is not cheap. u can get a sedan with more space & a lot better safety at cheaper price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • pirlo on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:51 am

good FC for viva and myvi due to the body weight. lighter means less fuel consumed. the BSFC for K3-VE and 3SZ engine alone are not that attractive enough.
      how to have less weight from vehicle? too many like dropping out the accessories and features, thinner sheet metal, smaller tyre size and so on.

• Perodua cars are not really fuel efficient considering their small size and small capacity engines. Yet, there are still people associating small cc=fuel economy.

• Perodua cars are not really fuel efficient considering their small size and small capacity engines. Yet, there are still people associating small cc=fuel economy. Myvi can go down to 9km/l or worse too depending on how you drive.

• the special one on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:34 pm

You crab perodua supporter. Don’t comment if you have no money buy car. Better you continue take a bus wherever you wanto to go.

• benzs on Nov 15, 2013 at 8:51 am

Better move by local brand compare to P1 which did not participate. That is truly let down by P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
  • Dato' Jack on Nov 15, 2013 at 8:57 am

UGLY YET OUT DATED… better go for next year lunch Proton compact..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 16
    • Nenek Jack on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:54 am

Still wanna fool yourself in buying a Proton! facepalm.gif

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
      • Dato' Jack on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:12 pm

which part as consumer we are fooling our self by buying proton product? feel free to elaborate my dear..

• Why do Perodua need to come out will all this space studies? Didn’t Daihatsu/Toyota have do it for them and they just change the bumper?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
  • Hellooo…..viva is so scarry la kalau accident sure no parah punya……yes its cheap to run but safety wise very x10 poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Chris on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:21 am

Plan to replace my viva with a big bike. 10x fun, just as safe, just as cheap to run. Huhuhuhu.

• Wateva PERODUA did, i am ok! KILL proton fast, dont let they lay eggs! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 68
    • To be honest, I’ve never been able to understand where and how did you come out with the phrase “before they lay eggs”.

I’m puzzled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • fren, the eggs already laid. the chick also came out already. you know who the father is? Proton. you know who the mother is? you and me. We have been fu*ked by Proton so many times over the years that chicks has already turned to chicken. don’t even talk about eggs pls.

• anakjatijohor on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Tak ada otak punya orang….Proton also Malaysia car…Support Malaysia Produk laa…tak kira apa brand…Proton or Perodua…..ada duit semua boleh cerita brand apa mahu beli…Terima Kasih yang support Malaysia produk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Did they just sprayed the interior with a can of white paint from hardware shop?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Why? do u spray ur car with spray can kaa?? Ooo..no wonder la ur car looks ugly lol…hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Keep it up Perodua..thumbs up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Alteration of man with a knowledge of the screwdriver, pls come out more realistic technical improvement to ur car.it seems ur concept that lack of ideas just copy & paste

• cbu king on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:35 am

A crap still will be crap forever…

• farghmee on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:56 am

my review:
    1. nice 2pcs of teh tarik hook.
    2. generous 2 back seat pockets.

my suggestions:
    1. shift the gear to steering column.
    -spacious cabin impression.
    2. 60:40 folding rear seat.
    -much better than 100 folding as shown.
    3. + telescopic steering.
    -ergonomic.
    4. redesign the dashboard.
    – the current design of curve at the center “cramp”.
    – lower a bit further down the center aircond vents to give better front view to the driver.

• sudonano on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:03 am

Well, the interior looks way more refined than the existing Viva. But I can’t help to not say that it is the same as the Ayla/Ayga with a new radio head unit and new steering wheel. Even the air con controller is the same!

Having said that, in the rear 3/4 shot, you can see the left tail light. And that is interesting, in the sense that is seems to be going in the same style of the Myvi with the sculpted out back hatch. But again, that is somewhat similar to the Ayla/Ayga too, unless Perodua is going down the LED route, like the Alza and Myvi, from the top of the hatch to the middle of the hatch. I’d not be surprised if that is true, since LED rear lights are now cheaper (even the SV Saga has it), and it could give Perodua a family design language, just like the Myvi and Alza.

But no point on having good design. They’d have to bump up QC and safety too. malaysians are more aware of these 2 aspects now.

• take out all the fancy lighting and you are left with a shitty boring interior like the old one.

• typical on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:20 am

man, another lazy, lack of inspiration, and ideas….
    these designers should be shameful of themself… copy and paste and just apply white coating… just typical… are they still in primary/secondary school project?

• pedal on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:49 am

Why is the brake pedal is bigger than the throttle pedal? Normally the throttle pedal is bigger than the brake pedal so that it just need a subtle pressure on the throttle to make the car move. If the throttle pedal is smaller, sure your right feet cramped during traffic jam, cannot rest your feet on the pedal.
    Or they have reverse it that the throttle pedal is on the left and the brake pedal on the right??? :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • The throttle pedal has always been smaller than the brake pedal for all cars.
      That’s for safety reason.

• I think Perodua has the proper way to showcase what they can do in near future….. despite the quality issues…. they have make use ‘foreign’ tech to build cars for our people…. well we can use Korean made phones, and to use Japanese tech pain in the ass is it?? think about it…. Perodua is doing a fairly good job…

honestly we cant compare Perodua with Proton…. both diff car makers, diff concepts…. unless if Perodua announces to make Inspira rivaling 4 door saloon, then its game on.

and yeah i really wish can do my Degree and join Proton to soup up some bad ass rides…..i mean in proper logical way,…..

• YRV Turbo on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:04 am

Why the accelerate pedal is short while the brake is long? should it vice versa

• thedarkside on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:08 am

hope the new viva will cost less 35K with a new 22km/l engine. i would buy one for sure for everyday drive to work. But will wait for proton city car 1st for comparison. Proton really not that bad lah kawan…i currently own exora bold cfe for 2 years…so far no problem for me including the power window. its been a great buy so far for me and my family.

• The Undertaker on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:12 pm

My only comment is, the interior looks quite outdated
    and old fashion…Well why still using dial controls for the climate control? and there is no LCD temperature that display the climate settings of the a/c……My other suggestion is, to include hand grip on the door armrest (Like what the current MYVI have… and it would be better……The design of the seat also looks quite dated…The position of the cigarette ligher/ DC outlet is awkward(Spoils the design).. I would suggest hide that under the front armrest…By getting rid of that, it would allocate more space for the storage area below the Center console/CD player Most cars did that today…..

Anyway I a looking forward to see the next design update…

• mr_em on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:36 pm

oh dear… are we not already in 2013?? 2014 is already around the corner…

why am i seeing plastics that look like it is from the 1990s?… Difference shape and size only, different location for dials, switches and knobs etc… but not much else is different… same old cheap plastics for a not so cheap car…

• no name on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:05 pm

it’s gonna be a good fight between new viva and P2-30 next year….

• nzain on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:14 pm

yes it can be most fuel saver car but pls dont act like u’re driving bmw on the road…look pathetic lorrr…viva’s durability body part like a crap

• How to Prepare Concept Car for Motor Show:
    a) Get a Daihatsu Ayla and strip the wheels
    b) Tukar steering logo to Perodua
    c) Celup dalam cat putih and dried accordingly
    d) Install Ah Bengs LED strips
    e) Done! :D

• Mehh?? Wak lu… :)

• Proton Accord on Nov 16, 2013 at 2:48 am

Same goes to proton lancer, proton accord and citroen tiara just chnage the steering and the logo….much easier transformation compared to perodua car.

• Say Who? on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:32 pm

I think what Proton did is more clever… so you call “REBADGE” the rebadge je la hahaha… not like Perodua… change this change that…but do they think about safety? did their parent company teach them about safety Mr Proton Accord?

• I think the interior design is too painful to think so just copy from Myvi…

• shame_Loo on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:02 pm

Come on….perodua sucks so much money from the rakyat but only can produce this kind of junk……shut it down, pls….

• wahedenator on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:04 pm

new interior? looks like Myvi to me

• the special one on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:35 pm

Only fools and poor guy will buy perodua and proton.go take a bus or walk

• Say Who? on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:37 pm

can you elaborate more about your statement that “take a bus or walk” rather than be fool for buying Perodua or Proton Mr Professor Spoon fed?

• the dash designed by daihatsu looks good here.

• bastardMustard on Nov 18, 2013 at 1:33 am

why most of us go for malaysian car? we have no choices btw if import brands such as honda without the killing taxes,everyone go for honda why need to get those crap with thin metal,lousy quality and expensive price,pls gives us a premium quality for premium price that we pay for..