Perodua Buddyz sedan tweaked by Theophilus Chin

Buddyz front 3_4

The original Perodua Buddyz – front view

Buddyz-front-3_4
Modified Perodua Buddyz – front view

Perodua’s sales success could potentially be even bigger if they had a sedan in the model range. It would certainly steal some sales from the likes of the Vios and Almera. We know it and they know it too, which is why they came up with a sedan concept in the first place. The long awaited first view at what could potentially be Perodua’s first sedan finally happened at KLIMS13.

When we first saw the Perodua Buddyz concept, we had mixed reactions towards it to say the least. It did not look like a car that was designed as a sedan from ground up – it ended up looking more like a Myvi notchback, similiar to how Maruti Suzuki created a Suzuki Swift Dzire sedan out of a Suzuki Swift. And then there was the Nissan Latio sedan as well, and who can forget the second-generation Honda City.

These hatchback-turned-sedan things don’t always look the best because they have odd-looking rooflines, especially if the hatch that they were crafted out from was a tall roof type of hatch.

Buddyz back 3_4

The original Perodua Buddyz – rear view

Buddyz-back-3_4
Modified Perodua Buddyz – rear view

So we wondered if the Buddyz could look better if it did not have the typical tall roof of Perodua’s other cars. Theophilus Chin created these modified images within a few hours last night, and we think it kinda looks better now, although still very much concept car-ish.

Theophilus Chin is no stranger to the subject of a Perodua sedan – earlier this year his fake Perodua Jaguh sedan brochures went viral around the internet. That particular Perodua sedan was based on the entry-level Toyota Etios sedan, and despite it being a hoax we all thought that would be the most natural way for Perodua to create a sedan, since the Etios was an entry-level car targeted at markets such as India and Southeast Asia.

What do you think, should Perodua proceed with the Buddyz concept or create a more traditional looking sedan? Let us know in the comments below. Live gallery, video and report from KLIMS13 here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Look like saga…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Raja Lawak on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:34 am

That’s why Proton cannot sleep well now…this new Perodua sedan if given OK production is a death sentence to Proton lah Ha Ha Ha Ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 52
      • bacang on Nov 16, 2013 at 12:17 pm

lawaknya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
        • from my point of view,
          looks weird, its like one of those cherry or other chinese small sedan. bluerghh

• TheOne on Nov 18, 2013 at 2:17 pm

2nd Q2014 will be a nightmare for Perodua cos Proton will comeout with something… beware!!! hahaha

• Designer View on Nov 19, 2013 at 3:43 pm

I should be honest, I think saga looks better, no?

• Bob_b78 on Nov 16, 2013 at 9:58 am

Front have design cues from VW. But back is out of proportioned IMHO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • PassingBy on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:17 am

no matter how u try to modify the whole design, the whole thing is just wrong. not even nice looking from scratch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
    • Agreed.. the design of the body need to change..
      and the door looks kinda weird in proportion.

• dewaSemut on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:21 am

lampu belakang tiru Proton Tuah concept

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • Oh Boy….
    U just simply deleted those so called futuristic blue light,and u call that as….

Aisyh. =.= It’s quite obvious that this car came from MAIWEEE~
    low down the buttock,add an extra buttock, a little bit to do with roofline,interior,bla bla bla.

And u just…deleted the damn blue light and post on here. (-__-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Hunhun on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:54 am

Then show us your design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • VoidDance on Nov 16, 2013 at 11:14 am

You clearly do not have eyes for design. There a few modification from the original if you look close enough.

• Please don’t put this on Malaysian road. We have enough dugongs on the road already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • anti body kit on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:45 am

perodua should not follow proton to make own car and end up losing money and car full of problems. just stick to daihatsu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Cbu King on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:52 am

I still wont buy it bcz for sure tin milo and always tin milo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Hunhun on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:52 am

Huh..what the name..clone of prof.klumps?

• mitsushihtzu on Nov 16, 2013 at 11:19 am

oh boy ! look at that cute lil box..oh wait ! it’s a PERODUA *facepalm

• I can see vw golf in the front, Suzuki swift pillars, latio back pillar and overall piece of shi…

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 16, 2013 at 11:35 am

Theo’s car no door handles? If i humbly suggest i would make the side mirrors bigger and remove the horizontal slits to make it look more production-ish.

• Souya on Nov 16, 2013 at 2:06 pm

lol. Keyless and handlelessseses auto doors maybe?. looking back at the car. Doors too big?, roof too high?. Idk still looks weird after rendering tho. Maybe it should have ct200h-ish back.

• Perodua has made a smart move by developing a sedan but… NO! The proportions are similar to that of a Saga and yes, the rear lights do remind me of the Proton Tuah concept. The front end looks sharp though, but there are design cues from the Golf GTi MK7. Anyway, it would be great to have this on production in future, as it will definitely kill off most of Saga’s sales and the Attrage. The Vios and the Almera will not be threatened I guess…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Hanif on Nov 16, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Perasan atau x, bentuk lampu belakang mcm preve. Org perodua memang hanya tau copy produk org lain je ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • may be the design is same like etios design… but try look at the new Corolla LE eco 2014…the front and back is like redesign from it and put some local ideas.

• suzuki on Nov 16, 2013 at 8:57 pm

look like Suzuki Swift sedan la…
      90% truly same like Suzuki Swift Sedan…
      Oh my Perodua what are they doing… This car is not what gen Y dream la… To ugly… Bezza Concept is better than this…

• Brayokmok on Nov 16, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Sleepy frog….

• Penje on Nov 16, 2013 at 12:30 pm

Belakang mcm kereta Buffalo Franklin dlm GTA5

• Apa susah… just slap a butt to myvi and perodua will have their first sedan… sure damn ugly like maruti suzuki swift sedan (which this concept really remind me of that)…

• Although is futuristic car but this is way too much using aerodynamic design to appeal at the front looks. I am sure this market wont survive last long due to ugliness and performance.

• Kang lye chee on Nov 16, 2013 at 2:21 pm

i like the design..y so different this time? Normally my opinion abt things as same as others.

• albag on Nov 16, 2013 at 3:15 pm

if it remains affordable, fuel efficient, practical… i wouldn’t mind to get it… after all choosing perodua is mainly for budget conscious… if keep talking about POWER la, LOOKS la.. then better shut up and save more money to buy other luxury branded cars lor…

• daszvf on Nov 16, 2013 at 4:08 pm

front like golf, behind like proton tuah concept, golf-preve?

• Whynot on Nov 16, 2013 at 4:22 pm

The exterior profiles doesn’t look lasting. Why abandon curve profile design? Square and rectangular design are better for SUV or 4 wheel drive humbeee! But is obsoleting on sedans!

• KillBox1Alpha on Nov 16, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Why is he even wasting time with this ?

• Perodua should have hired Theophilus Chin in the first place. This guy is the Michelangelo of cars designs

• THE design by produa is nicer.. It is unconventional design, theo works make the car look sleaker but sleaker is not produa’s identity.. If it is done properly it can beat suzuki swift in term of look at least..

• motorhead on Nov 17, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Yes, you got it right. Sleek is not Perodua identify. Want sleek car, get a sports car. Perodua’s mostly family cars. That’s why they sell..proton?? No identity dy. Rojak identity.

• norman on Nov 16, 2013 at 7:28 pm

So hope it doesnt share the same fate as the Bezza ok,Prove me wrong

• Savvy88 on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Proton make hatckback = failed.
    Perodua make sedan = failed.

but lets put our bet at upcoming proton compact car. hope they can make perodua salesman tak senang duduk.

• motorhead on Nov 16, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Actually I like the frog concept.. Why not? Beetle once called kereta katak.. It survives till today.. Proceed P2.. I understand maximize passenger concept… Not easy to maximize space at the same time make it look good. I ll be the 1st Buddy’s buyer.

• not good design…take time to people acaptable with this design..

• steve on Nov 17, 2013 at 12:31 am

The front looks Ok but the rear is fugly……

• Ha Gnih on Nov 17, 2013 at 8:47 am

OMG !!!!! No !!! Hell NO !!!

• The ease of driving the old Myvi is because it has large side mirrors, it allows me to clearly see when overtaking. The small mirrors on this concept puts me off, it should be made like the ones on the old Myvi. The boot should jut out more for a balance look.

• produafanclub on Nov 17, 2013 at 2:21 pm

I rather like produa engine engineering compare to proton, quite smooth and also easy to handling and maintaining.

• pirlo on Nov 18, 2013 at 2:55 pm

what P2 engine engineering can you share with us? compared to P1.

• Err…it’s ugly.

• Line17 on Nov 18, 2013 at 8:54 am

What can you all expect from 1st timer sedan manufacturer? some sort of porsche-like?
    for me the design is OK, front and rear is OK…its hood a bit more curvy maybe nicer. if 1st try is like this, 2nd try surely be better, overall i’m proud of Perodua

• bleem on Nov 18, 2013 at 2:59 pm

If perodua is going to produce sedan, I wish it looks better than this dugong-ish look.

• hafidah on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:10 am

i think it nice. usually perodua design a small car but this car just suit me

• I find the design not an eye sore like Almera, Mitsubishi Attrage and even the latest Vios. If the actual production does not deviate much frm the concept, it should freshen up the view of Malaysian road. I really don’t get it, it is like the Japanese brands try to compete with who can have the ugliest design on the road in Asian countries. It is not that they have no capability for good looking models like they have in European and American soil. I even thought seriously to champion “Boycott Toyota” website for taking Asian market for granted. Shame on you Toyota for dissapointing me, your loyal fan since 35 years.