Peugeot 408 Griffe upgrade package announced

The Peugeot 408 Griffe was unveiled at KLIMS13. It is based on the 408 Turbo, which is powered by a 163 hp/240 Nm 1.6 litre turbo engine, mated to a six-speed automatic gearbox.

The Griffe package adds on the following options to the 408 Turbo:

• Smoked headlamps
  • 18” Dark Lincancabur alloy wheels
  • Black pack grille
  • Black pack side mirrors
  • Leather seats with red stitching
  • Leather gear knob with red stitching
  • Leather hand brake with red stitching
  • Colour touchscreen head unit with navigation
  • Reverse camera

Price at RM128,888, the 408 Griffe is exactly the same price as the 408 Turbo, but it doesn’t come with five years free servicing. The 408 Griffe package is valued at RM12,000, which is about the same value as the free service, so basically customers can either choose the free service or the Griffe package.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Giraffe?! Wat the heck…?

Owh… i mis-read it… lol….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • zookeeper on Nov 16, 2013 at 9:28 pm

if i buy this car can i get free giraffe so i can be like the guy in hangover3?

• make sure we dont see you on the news as in the movie :) sorry I get off topic but that is still one of the funny part beside the ending credit.

• wan shafiq on Nov 16, 2013 at 9:43 pm

nice.. better than the new civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
    • TheTruthHurts on Nov 17, 2013 at 9:29 am

This is a Peugeot. It has expensive parts, expensive service and bad RV. You cannot compare this with a high resale value car like the Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
      • Tarts on Nov 17, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Sure this car cant compare with civic. it definitely better than civic, term on performance ,quality and safety, if you think you need a high resale value car, your standard will just stay on camry civic, because mers, bmw, vw, pug and more are bad rv and high service charge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • I still cannot understand why visiting a site focusing everything about car…the focus point always on RV. The best way to make sure you money didn’t get badly spend on car….don’t buy any.

• i spend money on car performance and the safety equipments.
          i think this is a decent car, civic, altis no way near this car.
          i own civic and 308 turbo. the driving experience in 308 turbo way much better.

• Kereta on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:07 pm

French cars are very nice to drive. When they are not in the repair shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • What? 5 years free service worth 12k? No wonder Peugeot is famous for expensive parts and labour…

• motorhead on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Malay says.. Kereta manja… But if you ve lot’s of money.. Go ahead.. No problem..

• Red Ranger on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:55 pm

If you look carefully, the specs offered together with the price is considered worth it. It’s a value buy that hardly u can get else where and its a continental brand. If only Pug came with better design for the 408, this car will be selling like hotcakes!

• If I’m not mistaken the 408 was initially planned for China only

• You’re mistaken. It is for countries that have a preference for sedans over hatchback.

• it was started off at China, whether they planned it to be China focus in the beginning, I am not sure.

The same 308 we have or elsewhere is no where to be found at China. Of course you can find the coupe/ SW (expensive since its not China assemble) and 408 version. But the hatchback 308 is not found.

they still selling 307 while last year they introduce 308 as a sedan which I remember correctly….look like 301 selling at emerging market.

• WHAT???? Did my ear has problem the service cost 12k?? Even all the oil I use on my car was motul doesnt cost me 12k for 5years also. I bet they jus either use Mobil or idemitsu…

• logic on Nov 17, 2013 at 12:20 pm

if u service 5 times a year, rm400 per service. that will cost u rm10k already. service in not about changing engine oil only la bro… its not everytime is frist 1000 service

• Chaos on Nov 16, 2013 at 11:51 pm

Great package and price. Seen a lot of 408 on the road lately, so this car will enhance that. Great European product but usually let down by bad salesman and bad aftersales mentality who does not reflect the European brand.

• Ford Power on Nov 16, 2013 at 11:54 pm

Ford Focus have better offer in terms of technology but this Peugeot model is a real good offer to the market. Got to admit their product plan can really take your by surpise sometimes.

Good luck Nasim

• Toman on Nov 17, 2013 at 9:32 am

Ford is another car with poor resale value because of poor parts quality and perceived value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • but the 308 griffe had xenon headlamps.. #wtf #peugeot #fail and they finally have a screen on board #thankgod

• another “sports” package consistting of ONLY cosmestic upgrades, unlike in European and American markets where the suspensions and engines ECU oso changed…wat a rip off

• Ahmadfaris93 on Nov 18, 2013 at 5:21 am

They should have introduced this optional package when the car was new/released so that people have options when buying them earlier.

• vroom vroom on Nov 18, 2013 at 8:04 am

wait for year-end/special occassion clearance discount :p

• Wham bam on Nov 19, 2013 at 10:33 pm

I think this is the year end discount. But then again Peugeot have been crazy with promotion lately.
      They and VW don’t realise that good product just need good convincing. Not crazy promotion for cheap effortless sales.

• What? on Nov 20, 2013 at 11:34 pm

many of those who criticize does not own a pug

• milie on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:06 pm

i own and drive peugeot 406 with D9 facelift and 3.0 v6 engine from 406 coupe halfcut… nice to drive, more care in maintaining but the most important for me it is worth…!!!

• laluan sehala on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:42 pm

perhaps they should give the same treatment to the 2.0 as well.

• abang on Mar 08, 2014 at 8:33 am

Just curious to upgrade my 408 2.0 with touchscreen feature.

• P 408 is best car on the market for the price. Direct compare with Toyota Altis and Mitsubishi Lancer and Ford Focus. beats the lot on all counts by a standing mile.