Ford Fiesta ST shown at KLIMS13 – arrives in 2014

Ford Fiesta ST KLIMS 27

The Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost isn’t the only new B299 variant making its way here next year – 2014 will also see the introduction of the Fiesta ST performance hatchback in Malaysia. Ahead of its arrival, an example at KLIMS13 is offering a preview of what to expect.

The three-door ST (there’s a five-door ST version as well, but only for the US market) is powered by a 1.6 litre EcoBoost petrol unit offering 182 PS at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm at 4,200 rpm, mated to a six-speed manual transmission.

Performance numbers include a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 6.9 seconds and a 224 km/h top speed, while the combined fuel consumption is rated at 5.9 litres per 100 km.

Tech bits of note include a specially-modified front steering knuckle, adapted rear twist-beam with increased roll-stiffness, unique front and rear spring and damper settings as well as Torque Vectoring Control (eTVC) and three-mode AdvanceTrac ESC, offering a choice of full system intervention, wide-slip mode with limited intervention and full ESC off.

The ST at KLIMS13, finished in the model’s signature Molten Orange shade, features a two-tone grey scheme for its seats (as seen in the Australian-market example), somewhat more sedate than that seen on the global launch car. Pricing hasn’t been fixed, but an estimated price of RM150k to RM155k is being bandied at the moment.

It’ll be interesting to see if the final selling price can take the ST close to the RM140k Peugeot 208 GTi – the VW Polo GTI would complete an intriguing trinity of options for B-segment pocket rocket shoppers. Check out what the Fiesta ST looks like on the move here, and with a chap named Ken Block behind the wheel.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• quottro on Nov 17, 2013 at 12:48 pm

bro, i think the 0-100km/h sprint is 6.9 secs not 5.9 :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • mondofan on Nov 17, 2013 at 7:45 pm

It’s so cheap, prolly RM150k! Come on people this is it! Your dream comes true, powerful car at very affordable price. It’s very suitable for ladies too because it’s small like Myvi.

• I agree, it’s competitive price because while it’s power are the most powerful, it’s price is so damn cheap.

• yankeepapa on Nov 17, 2013 at 9:16 pm

in UK the Fiesta ST is about &2000 cheaper (RM10k+) than the 308GTi. With our taxes the Fiesta ST should therefore be much more cheaper than the 308GTi unless the importers are very greedy. The ST should be a RM120k car.

• Shame, my previous junkie wira evo already reached 5s. No thanks, I have 500whp car now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
        • Dc6- Ha ha sure, I bet your wira evo also looks and smell like skunk – we want style, grace and elegance not a piece of metal crap looking like Godzilla!

• skunk ugly is ok when it is super skunk ugly like a volvo 850R wagon. haha

• intermilan on Nov 18, 2013 at 4:33 pm

its 208GTi… not 308gti.

• sutrak on Nov 17, 2013 at 11:46 pm

the white ass gets my vote.
      http://paultan.org/2013/11/17/ford-fiesta-st-klims13-arrives-2014/ford-fiesta-st-klims-1/

• If about 120-130k, can run in ron95 And…. gov’s puskakom 5 year check car whatsoever failed~

I would like a blue one,with black blue seats,Thanks!!!
    Ka-Ching! $$

• Aaron on Nov 17, 2013 at 12:55 pm

The Fiesta ST finally reached the Malaysian market! It will be very interesting to see the VW Polo GTI, Peugeot 208GTI and this Fiesta ST to compete head to head in the Malaysian Market. Great thing is stick shift is available for this beast! Another great option for stick shift kaki.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • heel-and-toe on Nov 17, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Just about to make this car as my first purchase when I hear about it to be arrived here. Perfect for me. But then the price…. In the UK, this ST is just like Neo R3 here where college grads could buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • in the uk..budak sekolah can buy iphone 5s for 550 pound…here RM2399 even i cannot afford it..not fair rite

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • Then go UK buy the iphone la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
      • i keep on hearing this malay kid compare phone to car , BORING ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
        • Who u call a kid…I’m next yr will be 30++ n Im not zombie…I’m realistic not idealistic…

• junaidi on Nov 19, 2013 at 10:31 am

30++ using transformers logo for his/her avatar.

• Weirdest comment in a car blog ever lol.

550GBP = RM2600. hey guess what, over here in EU and UK even middle income family won’t even bother to buy one even if they can afford one. Living cost here is F-ing expensive and electronic gadgets are not “keperluan asas”.

You think ppl can buy everything if they live in overseas ka? Ukur baju sendiri, stop dreaming and face the reality la. Get a life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • sindiran.

• lol..im just making sarcastic comment…people here keep comparing salary RM2k here and salary with usd2k, sgd2k and pound sterling 2k…apple to apple they said

• kzmngok on Apr 18, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Apa yang apple to apple nya. Orang compare kereta, kau compare phone. Kau naik phone ke pergi kerja dengan transformers?

• where is a UK schoolboy going to get 550 quid? haha!
        seling drugs?
        shoplifting?

• ScuderiaVincero on Nov 17, 2013 at 5:02 pm

I’d like to see college grads try that. Insurance will be through the roof.

• High risk on Nov 17, 2013 at 6:41 pm

Yet, you don’t see all college grads driving around in hot hatches like VW GTi or even warm ones like the ST. The insurance fees imposed on them(considered high risk age group) will be too high that they are dissuaded to own one and drive around in ‘garden variety’ Polos and Fiestas instead.

• Wont even look at it because running costs will be very, very expensive (insurance, engine tax, emissions tax, road tax, high fuel price, freaking expensive service blablabla…)

It’s better to buy old cheap DIY-able small cars (below 1.2L) here in EU.

• Peter Lim on Nov 17, 2013 at 1:18 pm

Love the orange colour look cheerful yet sporty

Overall the car is nice but the interior look kind a cheap especially the seat. The interior should be more refine for the price begins RM150k. If the price is around RM130k it will sell like a hot cake that could compete with Mazda 3 hatchback for Malaysia market.

• 5.9 secs to 100? Looks like a typo to me. Should be 6.9 secs

• fiestaporn on Nov 17, 2013 at 1:30 pm

price needs to be rm120k max. Also need auto climate control for cars above rm100k..

• MH Lim on Nov 17, 2013 at 1:38 pm

If you can actually drive a manual, 5.9s else 6.9s.

• Jason Wong on Nov 17, 2013 at 2:13 pm

The fiesta ST doesnt go faster than the 208 GTI in a century sprint. Its a typo

• hattasan on Nov 17, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Nice bumper

• motorhead on Nov 17, 2013 at 2:49 pm

I wouldn’t mind to spend 150K for this performance.. Thx Ford.. You give us some option…Higher middle income’s sports car.. Slightly big boys toys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • levinboy on Nov 17, 2013 at 2:57 pm

150k very expensive.. if that i’d rather go for new mazda3… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Bob_B78 on Nov 17, 2013 at 8:25 pm

Mazda 3 performance is no where near Ford Fiesta ST. What you want is Mazda MPS, but that will be 180K++. Better buy Peugeot 208 GTI. Cheaper and really fast also.

• Vivafiesta on Feb 09, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Ford is doing a great job putting out this little guy in the big boys market. What squeezes us to pay more than its worth is our gov tax to blame.

• Looking at Ford aftersales, i rather go for 208 gti. At least pug have more service centers and parts availability is better.

Don’t believe, try dealing with autoconnexion. Not only vommit blood, shit also can come out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • motorhead on Nov 17, 2013 at 4:16 pm

I ve to agree with you.. Went to 1 of their service centre.. Normal service ok.. But if accident or bad damage.. It ll be a nightmare.. Suma kena tggu order barang mari. Ve to drive a ford very carefully.

• The Fiesta ST built in Germany plant rite?

• Honestly bummed. As much as I love this car, the realistic side of me is saying that the 208 GTi is a much better buy. Just praying that the official price will be below or the same as the 208 GTi.

• Watch any review from the UK,the Fiesta ST is cheaper than the 208GTi there ._.

• donnyck on Nov 17, 2013 at 4:00 pm

i come in here to see butthurt lazy auto people asking for auto version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Save the manuals on Nov 17, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Some people just want the show of driving a performance car but don’t want the ‘hassle’ of shifting gears themselves especially in traffic jams.
      Some probably never driven a manual since getting their licenses and already forgot/too ham-fisted to drive a stick shift, so auto is actually a safer choice for them and other road users.

• akula on Nov 17, 2013 at 8:19 pm

it is fun to drive manual. But, if you get an experience like me, stuck in jams at Bukit Tinggi (up hill), Karak Highway during balik kampong raya time, you will know how hard it is. My left leg got crammed pressing the clutch, and at the same time my left hand need to operate hand brake many times to drive my car up the hill. I see lots of manual car got smoke come out from the engine and need to park at roadside because they only playing with the clutch. If you got an experience like me, you will REGRET it…
      * sorry, for bad English..hihi :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • amirad on Nov 20, 2013 at 8:10 am

Experienced that before. That’s why the 6 speed manual and dsg is for early sunday morning drive along twisty roads where you have the roads all to yourself. Now where in the world can you find that. For the KL and balik kampung traffic jams, you need the 4 speed auto. This is where the toyota shines.

• Fiesta st is supposed to be cheaper than 208 gti. Better buy a big car with 150k price.

Only in boleh land st is more exp than gti!

Other countries st is cheaper than gti.

Sime Darby n their stupid pricing!

• ST Boy on Nov 17, 2013 at 8:28 pm

shifting gears is much more market in the global now..

• sam69 on Nov 18, 2013 at 9:36 am

Ford 1 VW 0

• CWKen on Nov 18, 2013 at 11:36 am

SDAC can’t be blamed entirely. 208GTi is brought in by Naza. They got “lubang” to price their cars cheaper ma ;) VW Polo GTi has their price revised after some and it was a big jump

• Cwken- I know what your trying to imply by saying ” got lubang”, it’s a matter of making more or less money. Don’t tell me companies like Tan Chong etc don’t make lubang too,…

• CWKen on Nov 22, 2013 at 12:07 pm

I shall refrain from making further comment so as to not be deemed as raising racial issues.

As for the making less money part, I believe it’ll be a significant reduction of profits to offset the lack of “lubang” pricing that it’ll be not feasible anymore to bring this car in.

I guess my target of owning this car is likely to go up in smoke. sadness.

• brian on Nov 18, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Why is the player still in normal Fiesta’s?? I have not seen such audio player in any country’s ST.. It should be Sony.
    No LED day lamp for Msia version? OMG
    No Cruise control again? OMG
    No digital aircon zone agian? OMG
    Luckily is projector head lamp.
    Luckily the rim is in grey color.
    Hope the exact Msia version have a better package than this sample in KLIM.. If the price is going to be more expensive than the GTIs and with this exact spec we see in KLIM.. then I have to say bye to my long waited ST :(

• brian on Nov 18, 2013 at 12:30 pm

And, hope the overboost feature is a standard equipment for Msia spec..

• interesting fact that this car shares the same BorgWarner KP39 turbocharger with the Proton Preve/Suprima. Only difference is this one is twin-scroll, Preve is single-scroll (boost come a bit later).

It would be convenient if can ask Proton SC for cheap (temporary or even permanent) turbocharger if this one rosak on the track, or if the lousy Sime Darby AutoConnexion service centre took months to wait for spareparts.

loooool

• trolol on Nov 19, 2013 at 8:43 pm

208gti is ckd n fiesta st is cbu..thats why 208gti cheaper?

• kobealex on Nov 20, 2013 at 12:28 am

That’s what the SA at the event said. The Fiesta ST will be CBU and no chance for a CKD… having sat in it,the interior really feels nowhere near a 150k car. Yes its gonna be a cracking car to drive but the sane side of me says its a pass…

Its supposed to be CHEAP (cheaper than the 208gti) AND FUN.

• Ferox on Dec 06, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Article indicates that the UK 3 door version will be coming. I was hoping we will get the 5 door. After owning a Satria in the early days, it was a PITA to get passengers in and out – I don’t understand the appeal of the 3 door.

• Iskandar on May 12, 2014 at 8:55 pm

Prices in the UK vs here:
    Fiesta ST £18,245 / RM ??
    VW Polo GTI £18,340 / RM155k
    Peugeot 208 GTi – £18,900 / RM140k
    Renault Clio RS200 £19,995 / RM173k

• Iskandar on May 12, 2014 at 9:20 pm

What is interesting is that Ford displayed a right hand drive version of the Ford Fiesta ST with 5 doors in the recently concluded 2014 Bangkok International Motor Show. This is news as there is no 5-door Fiesta ST in the Europe (either LHD or RHD).