Porsche 911 Turbo S previewed, bookings open

porsche-911-turbo-s 070

Sime Darby Auto Performance held a Malaysian preview recently of the Porsche 911 Turbo S. Flaunting a 28-mm wider rump than the Carrera 4 models, two-tone forged 20-inch wheels with hub locks and full-LED headlamps with four-point DRLs, this is the flagship of the incumbent 991 series.

The 1,680-kg rear-engined sports car’s direct-injected 3.8 litre twin-turbo flat-six sends 560 PS and 750 Nm of twist to all four wheels through a seven-speed PDK twin-clutch ‘box, allowing a 3.1-second century sprint time and a 318 km/h top speed.

In spite of all that grunt, Porsche claims a respectable NEDC fuel consumption figure of 9.7 litres per 100 km. Contributing to this is a start/stop system that activates earlier during coasting to a halt as well as a new thermal management system.

The PTM AWD system, with its electronically-controlled multi-plate coupling, gets a new water cooling function to enable it to feed more torque to the front wheels when needed.

A unique feature is Porsche Adaptive Aerodynamics, which involves a front spoiler that can be extended in three stages and a slotted rear wing that can adjust its height and angle of attack, also in three stages, to either suit the driving situation or the driver’s wishes.

There’s also Porsche Dynamic Chassis Control to keep body roll at bay, and the Sport Chrono Package (dynamic engine mounts, carbon ceramic brakes), which is optional on the 911 Turbo, is fitted as standard on the 911 Turbo S.

Active rear axle steering, comprising two electro-mechanical actuators, allows the rear wheels to vary their steering angle by up to 2.8 degrees in either direction depending on vehicle speed.

Below 50 km/h, the system steers the rear wheels in the opposite direction to the front wheels. This visually shortens the wheelbase by 250 mm and facilitates faster cornering and easier parking.

Above 80 km/h, the rear wheels are steered in the same direction as the front wheels. This virtually lengthens the wheelbase by a whopping 500 mm. Lateral force is built up at the rear axle faster, giving the car more high-speed stability.

The plush but performance-oriented cabin contains 18-way adjustable sports seats with memory and a Bose sound system. Available options include a Burmester sound system, radar-guided cruise control, camera-based road sign recognition and speed limit recognition.

Although bookings are open, the base price for the Porsche 911 Turbo S will be announced at a later date. We’re told the non-S 911 Turbo will not be introduced here, but as that has 40 fewer horses to play with, most potential 911 buyers shouldn’t be too fazed.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Guan Yin Ma on Nov 17, 2013 at 12:49 pm

So, I guess, at least RM 1mil. Without tax should cost 500k. So I Buy 1 free 1 for BN kronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 15
    • What a loser..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
    • malik on Nov 17, 2013 at 8:26 pm

yeah ah beng mau menang saja…

• macaiBN on Nov 17, 2013 at 11:11 pm

dont wory, kroni2 anak2 kroni BN jugak yg beli.never buy proton.hahahah rakyat meleleh air liur.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • antihipokrit on Nov 18, 2013 at 12:45 am

Why dont you just tell Lee Hsien Loong of Singapore to keep those car taxes collected for PAP kronies? You want to talk things are related to politics go to UNKER LIM KIT SIANG’s blog la, not this blog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
      • haha..wanna compare with singapore?..ppl have a good reason to do so since they hav limited land and extremely good public transport?..what bout malaysia?..wanna compare ah?..dun make ppl lol la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • shallow minded moron…obviously brain washed by BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • abuya123 on Nov 18, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Political minded….

• fufuufufufufufufuufufu….
    (the lady, not the car)

• 911 owner on Nov 17, 2013 at 1:56 pm

911 has the worst brake and accelerator paddle position …. due to wheel arch intruding into the footwell… and this new 911 is no better … be careful… or you will be stepping on accelerator instead of the brakes… rear ending the car in front or worst an innocent pedestrian !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • peddle on Nov 18, 2013 at 10:06 am

I have not owned a porsche before, but since this is a sportier variant of a very sporty car, I believe the accelerator is skewed to the left for easier left foot braking during trackdays.

I believe lotus does this to their cars, and so does many sports car makers.

Not sure if its due to the wheel arch or not, hope paultan.org can ask porsche’s technical advisors as I am also curious.

• 997-986 on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:20 am

Are you sure you are not mistaking the nine-eleven for another car, 911owner? I have no such problems

• I believe the confusion is due to your poor foot positioning during driving. Have u ever learnt that our heel should be at stationary position (not lifted from floor) whether we’re accelerating or braking? If you keep your heel on the floor, I don’t think there will be any confusion on those pedals.

• 911 owner already speak up…beware !!!!!!

• AUSNSW on Nov 17, 2013 at 4:26 pm

I saw this car in Los Angeles Porsche centre last summer holiday….But the price is just $190000 TBA…

• Nissan gtr slayer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • gusta on Nov 17, 2013 at 5:31 pm

They should bring in the Turbo and GT3, give more variety, plus they’re cheaper

• PauKaya on Nov 17, 2013 at 7:21 pm

no manual box….mehhh

• malik on Nov 17, 2013 at 8:25 pm

smart kereta Porsche nie mcm gentleman punya kereta. Tspi kenapa selalu amoi jd model..

• sam69 on Nov 18, 2013 at 12:08 pm

This car drive u to heaven quicker than Thor teleportion…

• greenwave on Nov 18, 2013 at 12:12 pm

gender racist.. women is not an art..

• Carson on Nov 18, 2013 at 5:58 pm

I give a like to the black color dressed gal in photo of porsche-911-turbo-s-100.jpg. What do you think?