EXCLUSIVE: Perodua Buddyz – how big is the boot?

Perodua_Buddyz_Concept_ 012

Whether you like it or not, there are plenty of valid reasons why the Perodua Buddyz Concept sedan looks the way it does – as explained to us by its Chief Designer here. Most important of all is usable space, particularly that in the boot. So the burning question is, just how big is the sedan’s luggage compartment?

Massive. Absolutely massive. As shown to us in an exclusive demonstration at KLIMS13 yesterday, the Buddyz Concept’s impressively tall and deep cargo area can hold an astounding amount of luggage bags. While the absolute volume can’t be disclosed just yet (just know that it’s over 450 litres), the pictures below speak for themselves.

Perodua is known for its compact hatchbacks. As practical as they are when the seats are folded down, there’s always an issue of boot space when you’re travelling full-up, be it for a weekend getaway or for a balik kampung trip. This, then, is the local carmaker’s solution to that problem.

“We understand the needs and requirements of our customers, which is why we’ve decided to design this car from the ground up. Sure, taking an existing design would have been easier, but it wouldn’t meet the customers’ and by extension, our desires. Locals know the local needs best,” said the car’s Chief Designer, Muhamad Zamuren Musa.

Well then, is it any more attractive to you now?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• UGLY!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 9
    • abuya123 on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:49 pm

What do you mean ugly? As long under P2 or Toyota hood, will sell like hot cakes.

Ugly doesn’t matter. Figure sales is matter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 62
      • flat_tire on Nov 19, 2013 at 8:43 pm

so much coverage over this Buddyz thingy.. still doesn’t make it any less ugly than it already is..

• sam69 on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:51 pm

first time i felt the male model is much handsome than the car..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 9
    • Mr. Chief Designer Muhamad Zamuren Musa, you are right that locals know locals best and I do not argue that indeed boot space is one strong deciding factor for many car owners out there. But my local fren, looks is also a strong deciding factor for many owners out there. Seems like you have tipped the scale towards one requirement while heavily penalizing the other. Not sure if I want to call you a chief designer anymore.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
      • kobealex on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:01 pm

2nd that.

Honestly, it still looks freaking ugly. Its even worst in the video. We are talking about building a car without compromise here, and it really could be nominated as the top 3 ugliest car on our local roads with those shapes and proportions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • OMG…Good try P2, better than P1 not able to show any concept car like this…puihh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • Vader on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:49 pm

So call chief designer, if you really want improve yourself by listen to the customer, let you know that this car design is suck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • The almera is the def. of ugly but that didn’t stop people from buying it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Low Budget on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:51 pm

Yes, Almera is ugly but compare to this Perodua, the Almera suddenly seems beautiful!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
      • Almera is ugly but at least a big family of five can fit in the back nicely and it has the most rear legroom of its class, which accounts for its bulbous looks,
        also the almera isnt ugly to the point everyone wants to take a brick and throw at it, unlike this.

• thanks to this buddyz, the almera sales will be boosted. looks is relative.

also, the name is as crappy as the looks. i would have fired whoever came up with that stupid name.

• Nihonjin on Nov 19, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Target buyer = Doraemon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • don’t insult doraemon. he can pull out something better from his pocket than this nasty looking thing.

• Malaysia boleh, boleh design the world most ugly car and awarded 2014 world most ugly car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 4
  • Guan Yin Ma on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:30 pm

Please tell me this is just a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • motorhead on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Perodua.. Put it into production.. ASAP. . & take my money.. Make sure Android built in… & wifi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 36
  • motorhead on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Please make sure the rear seats can fold flat like myvi.. So I can put my bikes, rc planes, fishing rods etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • Y would P2 think that big boot is attractive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • motorhead on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Buddyz hatchback also welcomed.. Can ve full access from the back…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • powershot on Nov 19, 2013 at 9:27 pm

you already have the myvi. why reinventing the wheel? the car was developed based on myvi anyway

• guilt79 on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:40 pm

This is the second uglist car I ever seen this year…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • P2 want space??? Take a square box and put wheels and engine in …..walah… a car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • POJISAN on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:46 pm

SUGLY!….

• kabal on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Out of topic a bit, check out Dr. Mahathir’s blog on malaysian auto industry posted yesterday.

http://chedet.cc/blog/.

if najib take dr.m words, bye bye low car price..

• _xXx_ on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:59 pm

so big boot for f? How many of u here doing pasar mlm???

• With that amount of luggage in the boot, I am pretty sure the car is going to tip over..

• maelambung on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Let see the competition between p1 n p2..p1 will produce Gsc in 2014 to beat Myvi…while P2 will produce Buddyz to beat Saga..

• policeman on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Dear Perodua,
    We know about the boot size. It can fit 56 durians. David Arumugam demonstrated it 5 years ago.

Backside shape copy Proton, boot size demonstration also want to copy Proton. Copycat.

Price can copy Proton ah? Must pay royalties to Daihatsu right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • imran on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Wow canggihnya.. how to look through the side mirror?”

• bootboot on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:21 pm

wow, after living for more than 30 years only now i know a sedan car got boot space! thanks perodua for telling me this.

• christan on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:25 pm

a bigger boot? seriously how often do you need a big boot for such sedan size?

• why the front looks like a cat? and the back… looks like the inner part of a toaster. the interior like some yacht boat, trying to be rolls royce. the side, just plain ugly.

p.s. i may not know how to design, but i know what beauty is, just like many don’t know how to cook but knows what is good food. sorry p2, this model is beyond fugly

• mr jem on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:27 pm

What on earth is the P2 designer is thinking about? Walauwehhhh. Ada ka org yg ckp cantek maaa?

• Wayangkulit on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Wa so many comments from Malaysian “car enthusiast”
    The loud mouthed 1% that thinks their views represents the 99% of the markets real buyers.

Unfortunately these loud mouthed 1% fails to understand that a concept/pre production model will often look differently from the real production model
    Most of the time concept models exhibited are a proof of concept and to tell potential buyers that they are having a WIP (work in progress) model that they might produce in the near future.
    Of course some of these models exhibited may never go into production due to various factors eg business decision, changed market demands, government policy and etc.

If these so called “car enthusiast” were to get a gripe on reality, they’ll realized that real car buyers in Malaysia values boot space. Persona sales figure vs Gen2
    Also real buyers value 4 door vs 2 doors

And Perodua/Toyota is a company that sell cars to the mass market and not enthusiast market like Ferrari, Lamborghini, Porsche and etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • But usually, concepts are damn a lot prettier than the resultant production car. Just browse around for any concept car pics. Even Proton knows this (Tuah concept is definitely better looking than Preve).

Is this a Perodua reverse psychology tactic? So that we will appreciate the production model because it is prettier than the concept, even though it is still uglier than almera?

• Actually Tuah was never Preve’s prototype. Preve is designed first by Proton Design+Italdesign Guigiaro, years before Tuah. But Proton Design decided to modify it further into Tuah while Preve production model is still developed in secrecy.

We can assume Tuah design is the upcoming Preve facelift. Would be awesome if it’s true.

• Roy Mustang on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:33 pm

I doubt the bonnet can close with those luggage..

• rigid on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:48 pm

oh..come on folks..its just concept only.majority of the concept cars is not 100% similar what theyll put into production. for me, its more dissapointing case when the real production car is uglier then the concept.my 2 cents folks..my 2 cents..but from my pov, IT IS a ugly concept car..hope P2 designer read paultan.lol

• budlee on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:52 pm

I remember the designers of Proton Blm giving the same or similarish reason when designing the car

• Concerned about practicality and functionality doesn’t mean we have to live with an ugly looking car. Car design is all about everything. Car is a soul to most of the driver.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 19, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Practicality, utility and design are not mutually exclusive items. Wonder why this designer seems to think so.

Apparently it is possible to design something more ugly than the Almera. I think one has to try really really hard to achieve it.

I still don’t understand our fascination with sedans.

Its like trying one hardest to fit a square peg into a round hole.
      Its so much easier to design a good looking wagon based on a tall and narrow hatchback than it is a sedan.

The old Volvo 850/V70s were beautiful in its squarish simplicity. The 156 Sportwagon, the SAAB 93 SportCombi are arguably even more pretty than its sedan counterparts.

• so this is how they promote their product…? bigger boot means better…
    that soooo Malaysian… haha…

• theanswer on Nov 19, 2013 at 5:15 pm

malaysian.
      when ppl ask for opinion regarding myvi and saga..ppl suggest saga is better because of bigger boot space. now perodua comes with boot..”oh no need boot space”. lembu btol.

• Ermmmm!! what should i say about this car.. Perodua Buddyz Concept..Change Concept PLSSSSS!!!

• I never feel so ashamed by perodua until now. i mean, what the freak is this shit? i dont see even a slight passion of car-making here. perodua, DO YOU EVEN TRYING???

• azhar on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:04 pm

safety is much more important than boot space laa weyyy

• prothree on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Super huge boot!! Means no space for spare tire… inflation kit with out pot hole ridden roads especially at kampung area…. good luck

• Too many negative, how the chief said that they listen to customer voice?? as consumer I don’t want ugly car. Interior quiet decent but exterior proportion is rubbish.

• Tomatoman on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:17 pm

It is not ugly. Its merely a design that a designer or an artistic fellow would appreciate. Or at least it would generally excepted in future. I do however like the spacious and classy design of the interior. Doesn’t look cheap at all. But nevermind the look for a moment.Lets consider the Fuel saving factor, the performance and importantly the safety features. Car with this type of ‘techy’ look should also come at least with package that Suprima S providing. I don’t mean to compare but u get what i mean.

• Derick on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Come with 4 speed paddle shift with cam pro engine xD

• skypirate on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:24 pm

judging on the amount of myvi, saga, vios and almera on our road, it’s sufficient to say that malaysians don’t care about exterior of cars. just price it cheap, and they will buy.

• mosar on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:25 pm

if u need that much space..why dont buy a MPV? or a van? or a lorry? since this designer put it in a way that it is the only requirement in creating the car..this car is offensively ugly..seriously, is the designer are high or have eye problems or what?

• fuzikawa on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Pity local boys, being cursed even at trying. Not even at a point of really producing the car yet.
    Grow up please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Engineer on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:47 pm

2 technical questions: (1) Has the petrol tank been moved to the bottom of the rear seats? (2) What are the suspension changes to offset for the weight distribution?

• Another concern about MYVI car for me is rather uncomfortable rear seat for long distance travel.

Is this being look upon in this Buddyz concept sedan?

• jolly_idiot on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Talk so much. Will this car be in production? Cakap banyak but end up no production.

• Final design will be more fugly.

• Dreagon on Nov 19, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Perodua, U are desigining a car that looks like a proton, that’s ugly.

Perodua, majority stake is under Japan company,
    a japanese design with local touch,we would prefer it that way.

• i will suggest Toyota to stop supply engine to this company, this totally rubbish outlook.

• Designer View on Nov 19, 2013 at 3:38 pm

What is the concept behind this car? Since is a concept car, should have some reason to define the design. If boot is the main concern, then this is the wrong shape/design/ okay wrong design direction. Okay it’s just a concept car, nothing will be produce.

• Remember I saw this somewhere…. Oh ya, my friend’s father funeral. They burned 1 for him.

• looks so much like Volkswagen design

• Please stop trying so hard to point out the features to back up that ugly design. The features are not going to help much. I am not buying it (literally).

• ohreally on Nov 19, 2013 at 4:27 pm

MACAM YES

• baggio ooi on Nov 19, 2013 at 5:02 pm

one of the ugliest car in this century

• wow so much space in the boot. now people can place not only 1 dead body but 3 or 4 dead bodies in the boot.

• Brian on Nov 19, 2013 at 5:17 pm

One word to describe this

YUCK!!!

• The ugliest car.. yeeee…

• Ken Wong on Nov 19, 2013 at 5:23 pm

The car is not ugly BUT for the black coloured rear. Just leave it the same colour as the rest of the body and it won’t look so bad. I don’t know where the designer kept his eyes and brain when he painted the rear as it is painted right now. It’s pretty BAD looking now. Repaint it! Repaint the rear!

• Apa la punya design..out of proportion.

• Purposely make it ugly to get enough attention. Good job P2

• seriously.. what is cheap pelodua trying to do? want to be in the same league with vios?

• darkermarker on Nov 19, 2013 at 10:02 pm

my eyes so painful after seeing the car…..

please…….please burn the car…..

• dugong on Nov 20, 2013 at 12:18 am

Too much report on an epic failure!

• jtshin on Nov 20, 2013 at 5:53 am

car modders can install 3 15″ subs in the boot~

• tokmoh on Nov 20, 2013 at 9:03 am

If anyone wants a myvi with big boot, just get alza. Fold the 3rd row, it’s effectively a wagon. Will definitely be more spacious than this.

• I actually like this one. It’s different, and looks futuristic. Ugly/nice is subjective, so to me, it’s nice. I’m just wondering how the side mirrors work..

• RayRam on Nov 20, 2013 at 9:42 pm

This car macam budak sekolah menengah buat last minutes kejar due for klims… Hahaha … This chief deaigner posing for syok sendiri!! Ugly car meh!

• Charlie on Nov 21, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Malaysia is such a sad country. the car looks sad. The trunk is of old design. for new design, the section where the cover connects are moved to outside of the trunk to give more space.

go google mazda3 trunk.

• Those designer are spy from P1. P1 purposely sent them to P2 to design the ugly model. Once launch P2 sales sure will drop then P1 can regain No 1 status again. This is P1 business strategy.

• jessie on Nov 28, 2013 at 6:44 pm

its really look weird

• NonMalaysian on Dec 01, 2013 at 9:10 am

I am not Malaysian but being honest this is a joke… I pity Malaysian people because they have to be ridiculed just because of some irresponsible designers.Why they don’t give people to design car and best car look will go into production … they don’t need cartoonist … thanks.

• nakbeliviva on Jun 17, 2014 at 5:16 pm

adui.. so buruk.
    buruk seburuk buruknya

viva elite dah cantik, myvi se 1.5 dah comel.
    kenapa nk memalukan perodua dengan design macam ni.adui…buruknyerrr. nyammmpahhhh aku