GALLERY: Honda Civic Type R testing at Tochigi track

Civic_Type_R-4

Honda is putting the final touches to its new Honda Civic Type R hatchback, ahead of the car’s expected launch in 2015. The new Civic Type R will be the first Type R to feature a turbocharged engine, and it will also be the most powerful Civic Type R yet, with an expected output of over 280 hp.

The new Type R will be powered by a new VTEC TURBO 2.0 litre turbocharged direct-injection engine. From Honda’s previous set of teaser images of the new Type R, we’ve observed that the car has a 7,000 rpm redline, which is still on the high side but nothing near to the stratospheric redlines that we’ve been accustomed to with Type R cars.

This engine will be joined by two other smaller engines – a 1.0 litre three-cylinder and a 1.5 litre four-cylinder. We wonder if a tuned up version of the 1.5 litre four-cylinder could make its way into a Honda Jazz Type R. That would certainly be interesting! Many other car makers dabble in B-segment hot-hatches (Renault Clio RS, Peugeot 208 GTi, VW Polo GTI, Ford Fiesta ST), why not Honda?

No news on a new Honda Civic Type R sedan though, it looks like that body has been discontinued.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sam69 on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:42 pm

meh..so ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 61
    • why do i get the impression that my leg will be sliced into half if i brush against the front bumpers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • SamHam67 on Nov 19, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Still better looking than your current ride though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Awesome!!!.
    oso waiting Jazz type R

• This will be an evolution of the Civic, so no longer hight revving VTEC kick in but Turbo thrust now, progressing with time. I am kinda worried as the reason most love Type Rs are because of their responsive nature, the kick from that B16/B18/K20-series engine. Honda have never made a performance car with a Turbo and I m worried weather they can at least replicate the responsiveness that made a Type-R….a Type-R.

Well at least it now has the power, hope for the best and wait for the reviews.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Well, actually, Honda thrived and enjoyed lots of success in F1 back when the engines were turbo-charged. I agreed with you, it is an interesting evolution of the Civic Type-R, I’m looking forward to it!!! :)

• U mean the McLaren chassis with Honda turbo-charged engine? Oh yeahh. The glorious era, plus Ayrton Senna behind the wheel.

• This car was made to compete against Turbo Suprima.. hahaha

• Fredo on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:44 pm

ko biar betul bro……
            b16a pun Suprima belom tentu bole makan… ini pulak 280hp Type R….agak2 lah bro

• Exactly!!! and with Honda officially returning to F1 in 2015 as engine supplier for McLaren…. perhaps we’ll be treated with exciting improvements and ideas for their mass market engines too.

• Critique on Nov 19, 2013 at 4:06 pm

I miss the FD2 Type R :(

• the car will be almost 2 yrs old when it launch….not acceptable for bolehland timeframe limit..outdated they said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • neemfa on Nov 19, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Thank you Honda, thank you.

Never too late to join the forced induction party.

• glad to see Honda joining in the turbo wave. at least they are not like the dinosaur toyota who refuse to budge at all.

• vtec just kicked in yo!

• lol thats way la… if not bunya saja kuat laju tarak lol…..

• pejal on Nov 20, 2013 at 2:51 pm

bunyi saja kuat laju tarak only applies mostly on standard D-series and B16A engines. the owner usually change the exhaust system with the loud ones for that racy feeling. never under estimate honda engines such as B16B’s, B18CR’s and K20AR’s, they can easily smoke a 2.5L cars

• heybadigol on Nov 19, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Big news for Honda lately. With the NSX launch in 2015, the F1 return also in 2015, and announcement of the new turbo production engines. Paultan, did you manage to test drive the CTR in Tochigi, along with the other 2 new turbo engines? Read that they put the 1.5 turbo into a Euro Civic mule. 200hp from a 1.5 litre turbo family hatch sounds like a superb recipe for fun.

• motorhead on Nov 19, 2013 at 8:17 pm

Some people ve nothing else to say but this & that ugly.. Hey.. Why not take a mirror.. & guess what, you are damn ugly too…

• foxtrot on Nov 19, 2013 at 9:03 pm

oh ya, btw it comes with 8 speed dual clutch gearbox LOL
    http://news.u-car.com.tw/21819.html

• epic failed by honda.. my vios turbo can beat this vtec turbo anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 39
    • Meltsh on Nov 20, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Vios? Is that a car?? LOL!

• pejal on Nov 20, 2013 at 3:00 pm

meh? i am interested to race your vios with my 16 year old civic loaded with a standard type r engine :)

• cipan on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:26 am

so you are confident enough with your bolt on turbo in your vios eh? okay challenge accepted. i want to see how far you can go during a race on highway with a type R equipped civic without your engine blew up..haha

• looks like a big fat hamster

• traveller on Nov 19, 2013 at 11:16 pm

i don’t care turbo or wat.. but at least the car should look nicer…. this one no “wow” factor at all!!

• Jesse James on Nov 20, 2013 at 9:45 am

Would this turbocharged VTEC be powerful enough so that its owners won’t have to change the stock exhaust system to the loudliest one they could get to gain a few more HP?

• Fredo on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:49 pm

hahaha… pray hard bro..
      i’d say u will not see a bone stock type R for long after it is launched here lah…
      280hp is only factory restricted power…i bet it can be easily tweaked for more than 300hp…i cant wait!

• Absolutkev86 on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:36 pm

without proper tuning there is no gain from the exhaust. huge loud exhaust can lead to loss of low end….

• Khalid Mohamad on Nov 20, 2013 at 1:36 pm

rear-style design borrowed heavily from the CR-Z, I think

• Fredo on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:51 pm

i find its hard to like the shape of this new Type R…
    perhaps it will grow on me gradually…for now FD2R is still looks better…
    but i like the 2.0L Turbo engine of this one

• Absolutkev86 on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:29 pm

wah, kena smoke again…

btw im loving the design. the wide fenders are so sexy. im not a honda fan but this is kinda cool.