Honda introduces three new VTEC TURBO engines

After a brief period of dabbling with a 2.3 litre turbocharged i-VTEC engine in the Acura RDX, Honda has now announced a new range of turbocharged engines under the brand name VTEC TURBO, as part of its Earth Dreams Technology range.

The smallest engine is a turbocharged 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine with variable valve management and direct-injection. Next up the rung is a turbocharged 1.5 litre four-cylinder engine, also with variable valve management and direct-injection. No specific horsepower or torque output has been released for now.

honda-vtec-turbo-20

The most interesting engine is the new turbocharged 2.0 litre four-cylinder direct-injection engine, which will make its debut in the new Honda Civic Type R. Honda says the engine will produce over 280 hp and will be Euro 6 emissions-compliant. No torque figure has been mentioned yet.

Of course, other than the i-VTEC turbo in the RDX, Honda has always made turbocharged 660 cc engines for Japanese domestic market cars such as the Honda N-ONE. Nearly every Japanese manufacturer uses them in their JDM K-cars. But these new engines represent a new family that will go into global models.

Honda may be relatively late to the game compared to European manufacturers but who knows, perhaps they took time to inject some Japanese reliability into this engine family.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• heybadigol on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Don’t expect these to go to mainstream Honda cars yet. Most probably for some sports/sporty model, or Type R model. That 1.5 litre turbo could mean a Jazz/Fit Type R?? Reviewers have already commented the new Jazz (with normally aspirated engines) has pretty good handling for its class. So, this turbo might just make it really fast in a straight line as well.

Anyways, kudos to Honda for finally developing some turbo engines. The Japanese have so far been avoiding turbos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • DrHead on Nov 19, 2013 at 6:33 pm

They follow europeans and proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
      • DrOtak on Nov 20, 2013 at 8:19 am

Honda Turbo – Fuel efficient, no leaking

Proton Turbo – Exactly the opposite

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 24
        • Proton uses BorgWarner KP39.. same with Fiesta ST, Ecoboost engines, VW/Audi TDI..

you drunk ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
          • drdre on Nov 23, 2013 at 10:16 am

It is not about brand of turbo, it is about good integration between turbo, engine and transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • #iEatSamLooForBreakfast on Nov 19, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Who will win? Petronas E01 or New VTEC TURBO Engines..

• Better late than never ey..japanese reliability + turbo engine sounds good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • RyanS on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:42 pm

1.0L 3 cylinder turbocharged engine kind of hot nowadays :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Hey UMW, where is your new Turbo engine? hellow? Still stick on Vti, VVTI Dual VTI…blad blad…. still using Subaru boxer engine? Shame on you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 10
    • underskinned on Nov 19, 2013 at 6:17 pm

It’s Toyota, UMW is the Malaysian distributor that ripped us off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • glaze on Nov 20, 2013 at 6:55 pm

sorry, the 4 speeder cannot take the power of turbo. VVTI just fine..

• shawal on Nov 19, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Accord 1.5 turbo would be nice, 2.0 turbo even better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • jolly_idiot on Nov 19, 2013 at 3:11 pm

Toyota still want NA? Come beat and meet the turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • sam69 on Nov 19, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Toyoita is meant for uncle, only sup9 Sam Loo will like it and show u the Hilux face..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Never heard of the old turbocharged Toyota engines have you? 3S-GTE, 1JZ-GTE and 2JZ-GTE. Their experience with turbocharged engines are way earlier than Honda. In case you din’t know, Toyota is the only Japanese manufacturer that produced a V12 engine before. The 1GZ-FE V12 engine is used by the Toyota Century which it’s variant, Century Royal is being used by the Japanese emperor himself. Don’t just simply judge Toyota without knowing much about what they have achieved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
      • DrHead on Nov 20, 2013 at 1:58 am

Toyota now is the only car with built-in turbo

*sarcasm*

• alldisc on Nov 20, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Ken,

try mention Celica GT4 and the many youngsters will be very much surprised what a car it is.

or Corolla WRC, the world champion in 1999?

• Big CoJones on Nov 21, 2013 at 4:05 pm

and don’t forget toyota supercharged engine…4agze…..(i’m still using it in my Toyota LE…)…hehehe

• To tell the truth, I am a youngster myself. Quite young in fact.

• nobody on Nov 20, 2013 at 1:20 pm

That’s old story.We’re in 2000’s era now.

• lalok on Nov 20, 2013 at 7:16 pm

bro ken,that’s already history bro…
        now we already in 2013, nearly going to 2014, wake up bro…

• Kangkung on Sep 02, 2014 at 2:58 pm

The problems is UMW TOYOTA MALAYSIA.
        They rip off Malaysian toyota variants.

• Hoboy on Nov 19, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Finally my dream gonna come true soon….

• Honda owner said:

we can’t depend n/a onli..we will never found 2000cc with 350bhp without any trust..N/a cant do it..waste research for 50yr..now i found turbo the best solution

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • not really a waste.. without VTEC.. European carmakers will have no idea about putting VVT and turbo together.. there will never be fuel-efficient turbo engines..

even Proton CFE Turbo have CVVT on intake side to get Euro5 FC and emissions..

• frenzyaustin on Nov 19, 2013 at 4:34 pm

1.0-litre engine pumps out a healthy 95kW(127.397HP) of power and 200Nm of torque, likely to find applications across the Japanese car maker’s range of compact passenger cars, including the Honda Jazz, Civic and the forthcoming Honda Jazz-based subcompact SUV.
    The 1.5-litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine will find its way under the bonnets of slightly larger Honda vehicles, given it develops 150kW(201.153) of power and 260Nm of torque.
    Honda has introduced a new eight-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission to replace its ageing five-speed auto and complement its range of continuously variable transmissions (CVT).

Unlike conventional dual-clutch transmissions, Honda’s eight speed DCT employs a torque converter for a smoother shift and a more regular automatic feel at low speeds and take off.
    Source: http://www.caradvice.com.au/260276/honda-unveils-turbocharged-1-0l-1-5l-petrol-engines/
    http://www.caradvice.com.au/260371/honda-eight-speed-dual-clutch-transmission-unveiled/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • If I am not mistaken, Honda would join Ford and Fiat as the few automotive manufecturer to mass-produce a 1.0l engine with more than 100hp, quite a feta indeed.

Now Honda, The CRZ would really need those engine. The CRZ has always been desperately in need of more power with that chassis, and rumour has it that the CRZ will get much needed input from the upcoming Turbo Civic Type-R.

• torque converter (for low speed) + dual-clutch (for high speed) gearbox.. man, this is going to make VW bankrupt with their DSG

• i am damn sure that 1.5 turbo will be used in cr-z.. Fuh..

• azhar on Nov 19, 2013 at 4:57 pm

currently driving a turbo car..once u are in turbo, u will never go back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • ss427 on Nov 19, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Well its a decent effort from Honda with this turbo 2L engine.. But the power o/p is not that class leading hor.
    Hyundai/Kia 2L Theta II GDI Turbo already makes a heady 274hp since >2yrs ago. :D And Hyundai has been fitting the engine in the Sonata and Kia Optima since day one. And it was Euro 5 compliant.
    The only challenge was that the turbo pipings and intercooler will hit the master cyln and steering shaft if its to be installed in RHD cars… hence we can’t get any turbo Sonata/Optima in this part of the world.
    But Hyundai engineers have solve their problems already.. and the new ‘Nu’ enginer series will have LHD/RHD specific pipe routing straight from the factory.
    The Koreans don’t need to use terms eg ‘Type Ah Ler’ ^_^ to shout big performance. In fact, just remove the word Turbo from the bootlid of your Sonata/Optima and no one can tell you’ve a ‘lousy zero RV Korean junk’ which can do century sprint in about 7 secs. LOL

And mind you it was done via a 6AT hor.. no 6MT required

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
    • Maserati on Nov 19, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Then u stick to ur powderful korean junk la.

Till now u duno ar, all those korean car power output on paper is all a con.

In real life driving, feels nothing like driving a turbo car. Besides, korean car handling like crap. All the power but no handling is useless.

Honda engines are really superb!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
      • BeemerFreak on Nov 19, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Eh since when this topic was about u….learn to keep things to your self. Empty vessel really makes most noise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • still a korean

given that jap and korean have the same turbo engine, i will take the jap anyday

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Must be a slow day at the Hyundai or Kia sales centre huh?

[was done via a 6AT hor.. no 6MT required]
      Nah I’ll take the 6 MT, I like to be more involve with the machine than letting it do all the work making me feel like low-Iq Stephen Hawking(no offence stephen)

• Big CoJones on Nov 21, 2013 at 4:10 pm

lol..korean cars??..piece of shit to me bro..lol….i just sent my 20 yrs old toyota le 4agze can tapow those spectra/optima/accent..etc..etc..

• I have driven the Veloster turbo overseas..it’s powerful but feeling, steering feedback and handling not even as good as the Suprima S. Korean cars with sampan handling.. Kia/Hyundai can go home and do more homework with chassis, suspension and steering feel.

even cheap Proton CFE engine is Euro 5..with RaceChip can easily get 170hp, 7 secs 0-100 (cheap CVT) and retain 6-7L/100km FC..

• Finally for Honda, it’s TURBO time….
    The tuners have always have that in the Vtec engines.

Wonder why Toyota that once made turbo engine just stopped and started the N/A engine as an overall. From 4afte, 3sgte, ijzgte,2jzgte even the supercharged engines also.

• saring on Nov 20, 2013 at 2:20 pm

simple… those designers, engineers, managers who made it happen gets big head and starts to become a prick, after some time they got old and guess who is next inline .. the pencil pushers.. the one that got it bad from those old turbo charged pricks… then they decide that those old pricks are wrong.. that people want those 1000 cc cars that goes 5 billion miles per gallon… and then the pencil pushers get successful… with success comes big head.. then they start to become a prick…after some time they got old and guess who is next inline?? the sons of the turbo charged old prick… yes this story is BS but still…. gud story no?

• danedz on Nov 19, 2013 at 5:46 pm

last time they produce honda city turbo in the 80’s.

• gavin on Nov 19, 2013 at 6:00 pm

should utilize air to water intercooler

• norman on Nov 19, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Honda Stream 1.5 Turbo with 140hp/230nm please

• PauKaya on Nov 20, 2013 at 4:29 am

so which kicks in first, turbo or vtec?

• Jap+Kor on Nov 20, 2013 at 11:25 am

Better kicks both, Turbo + Vtec = TurTec.

• Khalid Mohamad on Nov 20, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Wonder when this engine would creep into Malaysian after-market? A lot of transplants would be in the works.

• Hahahahaha on Nov 20, 2013 at 3:58 pm

When are they coming to Malaysia?

• this civic turbo is for JDM or what? Surely Type-R variant will follow next?

• Can’t wait for prangggg + psstttttt

• if you watched the 2015 Type-R teaser.. there’s no more praaaaaaang :(

• stone cold on Nov 21, 2013 at 7:56 pm

Honda finally woke up from their stupid long slumber.This VTEC turbo should be Lightyears more fantastic compared to their useless high reving vtec SHIT of the past.example, civic fd2 type r as it has veryyyyyyy high revs but SHIT horsepower.I test drove one recently.Suspension is Damn Stiff.Can cause backache after long journeys. Pathetic crap car in terms of horsepower compared to example nissan fairlady 350z/370z stock/no mods and nissan GTR R34 and R35.will see how the new vtec turbo performs.One damn thing is for sure= Malaysians will forever WORSHIP the HONDA brand no matter what technology honda put into their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Fantastic comments bro.You are right.once new type r reach malaysia,i can finally sell off my shit fd2 civic type r with poor horsepower performance.FACT=MODIFYING A SHIT NA VTEC IS TOTALLY MEGA WASTE OF MONEY!!!,better spend the money for car servicing.Only Bloody Idiots waste money on fd2 type r modifications.)honda finally woke up indeed!!!VTEC TURBO!!TAts the way it should have been since last time!!

• Jojo kendo on Dec 13, 2013 at 6:49 am

Aaa finally they realize they bound to the European emission, babai k20a, say hello to the turbos, jjj ur rite, Malaysian doesn’t realise tht the type r engine is simply a na engine with high cams, but switchable to standard cams, there’s no godly technology on that one, fuel emissions and efficiency it’s no good on high profile cams

• sir acap on Nov 02, 2014 at 3:48 pm

honda during its time with McLaren in F1 they are on turbo engine right? so if its true, Honda is not new to turbo they just perfecting their NA engine and only then moving on to turbo.