Nissan GT-R Nismo debuts – 600 hp, 7:08 ‘Ring time

Nissan_GT-R_Nismo_001

It’s finally out – the hotly-awaited Nissan GT-R Nismo has been revealed in Japan. It’s big news not because everyone can’t wait to buy one, but because we want to know just how much faster it can be over the standard car, which is plenty fast by anyone’s standard.

For starters, the ultimate GT-R gets a tuned-up 3.8 litre twin-turbo V6 with 600 hp and 652 Nm of torque, with bits and pieces taken from the Nismo’s racing parts bin. New high-flow, large diameter turbochargers improve breathing, while optimised individual ignition timing control for each cylinder and upgraded fuel pump improve combustion.

It’s more than just a power upgrade, of course, as overall performance has also been given a thorough once over through optimised aerodynamics and suspension, to achieve a well-balanced machine that is at home on both the road and track. Nissan also claims that it has done so without compromising refinement.

Nissan_GT-R_Nismo_014

Bespoke springs and Bilstein DampTronic dampers deliver enhanced grip and handling. Three dynamic settings are available: Comfort, Normal and R, for circuit applications. Dunlop rubber developed exclusively for the GT-R Nismo – 255/40 R20 front and 285/35 R20 rear – plus tuned suspension linkages and special anti-roll bars add to the dynamism.

The Nismo has improved chassis rigidity by using adhesive bonding on top of usual spot welding treatments for extra precise response under extreme loads. That’s the benefit of a factory-tuned special – you just can’t get the same treatment from aftermarket shops.

For good measure, a team was sent to set a time at the Nurburgring, and they didn’t disappoint. The GT-R Nismo completed a lap of the Green Hell in 7 minutes 8.679 seconds, making it the fastest volume production car there. That’s a good 10 seconds quicker than a standard GT-R’s best time and more crucially for Nismo, six seconds faster than the Lexus LF-A Nurburgring.

Nissan_GT-R_Nismo_Nurburgring_007

On the outside, a new aerodynamic package generates an extra 100 kg of downforce at 300 km/h compared to the standard car. The front bumper, engine undercover strake and carbon-fibre rear spoiler are functional additions, designed with the latest Computational Fluid Dynamic (CFD) simulation techniques.

Five body colours are available: Brilliant White Pearl, Meteor Flake Pearl Black, Ultimate Metallic Silver and Vibrant Red, and unique to the GT-R Nismo, Dark Matte Grey seen in the pictures here. There’s only one set of wheels to choose from though; black six-spoke alloys inspired by Nissan’s GT500 race car.

Inside, there are sculpted carbon-fibre backed Recaro seats with red highlights, Nismo steering wheel dressed in Alcantara and a carbon-finish instrument cluster. As for the price, expect it to command quite a healthy bump over the standard car. Who’s to say it’s not worth the premium?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• TS.Lim on Nov 20, 2013 at 11:29 am

Is this version of GTR the one to be hit sprint century at 2.0 seconds??

• sam69 on Nov 20, 2013 at 11:30 am

This is something which Sam Loo cant fit his fat ass butt in and will show u the Hilux face!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • BLUR SOTONG on Nov 20, 2013 at 11:42 am

Last breed of the petrol based Godzilla.
    Lets hope the next R-36 devour the Mighty McLaren P1 for breakfast , hybrid Ferrari for lunch and once again it’s nemesis Porsche for dinner .
    May it’s legacy continues …….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Heng Loo on Nov 20, 2013 at 5:25 pm

And let’s hope that at the next 24h race on the ring it will finish better than 150th… :D

• Lane tamer on Nov 20, 2013 at 11:44 am

What is its 0 – 60 mph?

• vee-oh on Nov 20, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Lane tamer really lame

• Lane tamer on Nov 21, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Vee-oh, last time you should listen to your mother to finish school, because you can’t even differentiate between lane and lame. I really pity you. All the best for your life…

• carazy on Nov 20, 2013 at 12:47 pm

BORINGGG!!!.. its been 6 years, with all the updates, tweak here and there..new car pls datsun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
  • motorhead on Nov 20, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Fastest production car on the lap. This car no need modification.. It’s everyday track car.. Can go to work & track anytime.. Uuhh ohh.. Got roof some more & you won’t loose your head easily.. Know what I mean?

• Sohai on Nov 20, 2013 at 1:27 pm

Uncle Tan Chong should bring this car into Bolehland, maybe CKD here? Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • i dont like the car.. i just like the rims.. will consider to buy this rims for my vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • motorhead on Nov 20, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Aiseh.. This kinda rim ada banyaklah in d market.. Made in taiwan..

• dont want the cheap taiwan rims.. want the nismo one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Zapruder on Nov 20, 2013 at 7:05 pm

U use Nismo stuff for Toyota car?
          I’m 100% sure there’s 83% possibility your Vios got Mivec or Type-R stickers on it. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • ........ on Nov 20, 2013 at 8:00 pm

speechless……

• cosmo on Nov 23, 2013 at 11:24 pm

aiya.. i think the rims also cost more than your whole car ady… better save the money buy better car…

• Luqman_HKM on Nov 20, 2013 at 6:08 pm

I’m not gonna be bashing but I’m being honest. GT-R is a respectable car, but now when I look at one, It doesn’t seem to make me like “WOAH, GTR!!!!”. I mean like, GT-R compared to it’s predecessor or it’s rivals, Audi R8 V10 or the Aventador, the GT-R “tak buat kecoh”. I’m sorry, but this is me with a GT-R

• motorhead on Nov 20, 2013 at 7:05 pm

It’s not about you.. GTR really has it’s own reputation..

• wong chee on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Who needs this GTR when my turbo vios can eat this up for breakfast.

• NurburgringDriver on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Who needs your turbo vios when my V8-powered Perodua Viva can smash and smoke your turbo vios into hell?

• Allen Lim Wen Jia on Nov 22, 2013 at 7:56 pm

I am drooling. …..hope can find a sugar daddy to buy one for me.