Porsche Macan SUV unveiled in LA with up to 400 hp

macan0001

Porsche has just unveiled the all-new Macan at the Los Angeles Auto Show. The compact SUV is the sports car maker’s sixth model line in its vastly expanding range, and is claimed to be the most dynamic vehicle in its class. One worthy of the Porsche badge, apparently, while also delivering a high level of comfort and versatility.

The company goes on to say that it’s both an SUV and a sports car. We won’t go quite that far, but it looks like a Porsche, that’s for sure. Its sloping roofline and wraparound bonnet give off a sporty appearance, while the rest of it is as per the bigger Cayenne SUV. A few nods to the 911 and 918 Spyder are also apparent.

Inside, the steering wheel mimics that of the 887 hp hybrid hypercar, while the sloping centre console will be a familiar sight to all current Porsche owners. The three-cowl instrument cluster includes a high-res LED colour display, and the gear selector is mounted high up in the cockpit. Buttons for vital features are all grouped around the gear lever for easy operation.

Macan S

Three variants are available at launch: Macan S, Macan Turbo and Macan S Diesel. The base petrol version gets a brand new 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 engine with 340 hp/460 Nm, and can get to 100 km/h in 5.4 seconds (or 5.2 with the optional Sport Chrono package), and on to a top speed of 253 km/h. It delivers up to 11.4 km per litre too, if you have a light right foot.

Move up a notch, and the Macan Turbo gives you 400 hp/550 Nm from a 3.6 litre V6, which is also twin-turbocharged. It gets to 100 km/h quicker too of course, needing just 4.8 seconds, falling to 4.6 seconds with the Sports Chrono pack. Average fuel consumption suffers a little bit, down to 11.1 km/l, while top speed is up to 264 km/h.

Slowest of the lot is the Macan S Diesel, with just 258 hp/580 Nm from its 3.0 turbodiesel V6. Zero to 100 km/h takes 6.3 seconds (6.1 with Sport Chrono pack), hardly tardy for an SUV, while it can do 16.2 km/l. V-max is set at 229 km/h. Porsche says even the diesel will sound like a sports car, with an acoustically-designed active exhaust flap fitted as standard on all models.

A quick look at Porsche’s official Malaysian website reveals that we will get a detuned Macan S Diesel with 245 hp and 550 Nm – the same outputs with the Cayenne Diesel we have here. Why not the 258 hp turbodiesel? We reckon it’s because the engine uses an advanced Selective Catalytic Reduction (SCR) system, which will have issues with our local, say, unique diesel fuel.

Porsche-Macan-0001

On the outside, you can spot the top-of-the-range Macan Turbo by its distinctive ‘C-blade’ air intakes up front. Round the sides, the so-called sideblades running at the bottom of the doors are painted in body colour in the range-topper, but in Lava Black in lesser variants. The exhaust pipes are different too – round on the Macan S and S Diesel, square on the Turbo.

Standard across the range is the Porsche Traction Management (PTM) active all-wheel drive system, mated to a seven-speed PDK double-clutch transmission. There’s an off-road mode offered as standard too, for those who would be crazy enough to go off the tarmac in their Porsches.

Optional extras include handling-enhancing Porsche Torque Vectoring Plus (PTV Plus) and performance-tuned Sport Chrono package. The latter bundles in Porsche’s Launch Control (hence the quicker acceleration times) and a more extreme setting for the chassis, engine, transmission and exhaust package.

macan0005

There are three chassis variations available on the Macan. The base Macan S and S Diesel get standard steel springs, while the Macan Turbo is upgraded to Porsche Active Suspension Management (PASM) chassis with Comfort, Sport and Sport Plus settings. Optional on all models is air suspension, which adds the ability to adjust the vehicle’s ride height.

Always a Porsche forte, the Macan features a high-performance braking system. Six-piston fixed-calliper front brakes are standard across the range – 350 mm in diameter in the Macan S and S Diesel, and 360 mm in the Macan Turbo. At the rear are 330 mm discs on the two base models, and 356 mm items on the Turbo. Up to 21-inch wheels are available on all variants.

The Macan should make its way to Malaysian shores in due time, but for how much? In other markets, the Porsche Macan S and S Diesel are both priced around 25% less than the V8-powered Cayenne S (which starts at RM700k locally), while the Macan Turbo creeps up on the Cayenne S Hybrid’s price range (RM740k here). Interested?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sudonano on Nov 20, 2013 at 5:29 pm

why does the rear look like the Paceman?

well, at least it really looks like a baby Cayenne from the front.

Cayenne Junior aka Cajun would be better. And Cajun is a pepper too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Hadi74 on Nov 20, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Ladies and gentlemen, now we present to you, VW Macan..oops Porsche Q5….I mean Audi Macan…OK it is a Porsche Macan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
  • This is goin to blow away evoque…looks better more power rides better and for sure handles better…as usual malaysia tax will kill it in no time…welcome edition for malaysians who can afford one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • frenzyaustin on Nov 20, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Performance, Porsche might be better but in trms of looks, sorry, Macan isn’t my cup of tea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • nzain on Nov 20, 2013 at 6:00 pm

hoh luckily doesnt named it MACAI…these suv look nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Black Dog on Nov 20, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Est half million?

This or the cheaper Evoque? Need to check my Swiss bank balance…

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 20, 2013 at 6:04 pm

“That engine uses an advanced Selective Catalytic Reduction (SCR) system, which will have issues with our local, say, unique diesel fuel”

LOL..just say low grade diesel fuel..don’t need to sugarcoat it. ;)

• Fahmi on Nov 20, 2013 at 6:40 pm

I personally think Evoque looks slightly better, but to be fair, Macan looks good as well, it is distinctly Porsche.. Performance and handling Macan should be better, conversely Evoque should handle off road better.. Each have its own strengths, both going to compete seriously well…

• The front looks sporty, but there is something just off with the rear that borderlines ugly in my eyes[-opinions may differ-] They’ ve should have stick a number plate holder there, I’am pretty certain no SUV looks good with an empty bootlid like this.

Not a bad vehicle, so is either sporty & perfect Jerrys or the extremely handsome Evoque.

• kelso on Nov 20, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Launch control on an suv… nice!

• jom, bawa Macan pergi Makan :D

• PauKaya on Nov 20, 2013 at 8:49 pm

kena makan lebih banyak duit untuk beli makan dan macan

• Porsche Makan

• Kepunden Parang Skeper on Nov 20, 2013 at 11:44 pm

do i have to be a macai to own a macan? or do i have to bring a macai to go makan so i can buy a macan? a special edition for india : Porsche Macan Amitabh Bachan

mindless puns aside, this baby looks a thousand times better than its larger sibling… *thumbs up*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • I have a feeling this is going to be close to 400k similar to the Evoque

• Simon Hoh on Nov 21, 2013 at 1:13 am

This is going to be a tough sell against the GLA 45 AMG surely.

• Jinggo on Nov 21, 2013 at 8:53 am

WTH Macan? Please change the name la porsh..

• Hate Japanese Car on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:21 am

I prefer to buy Maria Sharapova not the car ( ;

• surely proton can do better with probably proton belacan!..

• A Cars on Nov 21, 2013 at 4:32 pm

I saw gti steering wheel!!!….what? Oo i c… Same company meh? Forgot lor..

• PauCharSiew on Nov 21, 2013 at 5:27 pm

sharapoorva is getting old

• ScuderiaVincero on Nov 21, 2013 at 6:56 pm

The name sounds as unusual as the Maserati Kubang :P

• I dont think it will be priced at RM400k. At that price, it will kills Evoque(only 4 cyclinders) and Toureg. From RM450k to RM500k would be right as Cayenne S starts at RM550k but I would buy the Macan if they soften the suspension as compared to Cayenne. My old Cayenne S model is bumpy due to the hard suspension.

• Francol on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Anyone know the price???