New gen Honda City Hybrid to launch in Spring 2014

2014 Honda City India-8

Honda will be unveiling a next generation Honda City Hybrid next year. This was revealed in a speech by Sho Minekawa, Managing Officer and Chief Operating Officer for Regional Sales Operations for Honda at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show. The City Hybrid will come after the unveiling of the regular engined Honda City by the end of this month in India.

UPDATE: The fourth-gen Honda City has been officially revealed – click here for the report and pics.

The new Honda City will be available with both a regular combustion engine as well as a hybrid powertrain. This would be the City’s natural progression as every other Honda B-segment car based on the same platform as the new City now has a hybrid version – the new Honda Fit/Jazz, the Fit Shuttle, the Honda Freed and most recently the Honda Vezel B-segment SUV.

This new B-segment sedan will be a new entrant for the Japanese market and is set to debut in Spring 2013. That would be sometime in Q2 2014. Honda previously sold the second-generation City as the Fit Aria in Japan, but the third generation currently on sale in Malaysia was never launched. The new Honda City will be launched exclusively with a hybrid engine in Japan.

Honda’s strategy for Japan is for every sedan model to be exclusively available with a hybrid powertrain. This is true for the current generation Accord. However, while this model is confirmed for the Asia Pacific market and will be launched in that region before Japan, some markets will get the hybrid version and others would only get the normal combustion engine car.

If Honda Malaysia moves to launch a Honda City Hybrid in Malaysia, we think the Honda Insight could be discontinued as the two cars seem like they overlap in the same segment.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• jolly_idiot on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Pity those who bought the insight. City hybrid will take over them easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 70
    • Vader on Nov 22, 2013 at 9:36 am

Why need to pity? Technology move fast and we can’t always wait for new model. iPhone 5s launch then pity iPhone 5 owners, S4 launch then pity S3 owners , prfff…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 236 Thumb down 6
    • Carnoisseur on Nov 22, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Yeah , why pity? I have the Insight and my wife the Jazz Hybrid . I like mine better and she likes hers better . I have m y reasons and she has hers too .Her reason is that the Jazz is a cute car . I dont want to drive a cute car , I want a car that was designed as hybrid kammback .Both has its own qualities .Enough said ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 8
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 22, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Only need to pity those dai sei kimchi owners that buys them brand new

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
  • carlies on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 120
    • BLT Club on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Hang bawak BM kah? Naik saga flx, downpayment 10%, loan 9 tahun nak bising. Bole blah la dik, main jauh2.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 11
    • Meimei on Nov 22, 2013 at 12:06 am

So where is your kampung champion hybrid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
    • please la dont be too arrogant. if you think u r rich, u should buy honda’s factory. see u are afford or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Carnoisseur on Nov 22, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Do you own a Honda or driven one before ? Maybe the toy is in your little mind . I have one and think its a great car to run around . I also have a Beemer 6 series as a different type of fun car . So in comparison to the two types of cars , I know what im talking about .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
  • Denaihati on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:32 pm

in term of popularity in malaysia honda city more than honda insight. i believe new city hybrid will coming to malaysia with price of insight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
  • teamsleepnine on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:34 pm

lol,,,what car is that??vezel?like vaseline?..honda trying to be hip,exquisite and to be seen in …lol…not…evoque it is not…lolololol!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 59
    • skatax on Nov 22, 2013 at 1:02 am

ok lah better than buddyz which sounds more like a new pre-paid plan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 3
  • ViosHybrid on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Gosh… I m waiting to see a Vios Hybrid :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 47
    • meng meng on Nov 22, 2013 at 12:44 am

Wait lo~~ng long.
      I think after kim chi launch hybrid baru ada vios hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • ViosHybrid on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:38 pm

Hahaha… I m waiting to see a Vios Hybrid :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
  • Sam Loo on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:04 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 34
    • sam69 on Nov 22, 2013 at 9:22 am

As long as it’s kimchi..Sam Loo will show u the Hilux face!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • SamLowRVToyola on Nov 23, 2013 at 5:20 am

please grab your low RV toyota cum lexus hailat bolster and go back to your cramped vios to sleep… dog

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 23, 2013 at 10:23 am

How did it feel when Selayang Auto City chased you out with a broomstick?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • seilo on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:31 pm

no money buy don’t talk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 23, 2013 at 10:29 am

Actually, if no money, can consider a used kimchi.

Very dai mai

• What ,with the new gen hybrid powertrain? the 1.5l I-VTEC DOCH with the 160Nm elctric motor mated to a 7-speed gearbox? Where Do I Sign Up. Well not sure about reliability, but it should solve one of the problems I have with the City; Among them are the torque-less grunt around city and an Auto with a loooong gearing set-up, you have to keep it revving noisily in S-mode to get the power out.

Hopefully they will ironed out that notorious NVH as well. Well hoping they do launch the hybrid here, but honestly the normal 1.5l VTEC DOCH dosen’t sound half bad, and I have no qualms with Honda’s 5-speed auto, the DOCH should smoother out the harsh engine noise that many dosen’t like with the car. Now I just have to wait for the styling, I am not expecting a looker, but something has to at least on par with the Sungless wearing Mecha it is now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Bro,

Spelling error. “This was revaeled….”, should be revealed.

It’s very cost effective for Honda to fully utilize the B-segment platform and come up with variety of categories like the Jazz hatchback, City sedan, Freed MPV and now the Vezel SUV. As for Proton, what we lack now is the SUV version of Exora/Preve/Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • sudonano on Nov 22, 2013 at 6:55 am

I highly doubt they’d ditch the Insight if the City Hybrid makes it here. Reason being that the Insight gives a hatch option with more boot space than the Jazz

• iluvhonla on Nov 22, 2013 at 9:06 am

Should insight has a petrol only engine? You want to buy?

• gOOsh on Nov 22, 2013 at 9:59 am

front looks dh macam star wars army larr… :)

• yeoh thiam gim on Nov 22, 2013 at 11:57 am

Pls give the money tq.

• Michael on Nov 22, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Insight and City-hybrid might look all most the same, but Insight is hatchback! and looks more sporty. I have been regulary at Honda showroom and most of the time they do not promote Insight and Honda Malaysia also does not give enough show unit as well (Honda Malaysia also not really promoting Insight!). Maybe the margin/incentive from Insight is not attractive as compare to other models. Other comments please

• Carl Wong on Nov 24, 2013 at 1:23 am

Ya I don’t find any show units in their showrooms any more………..
      Anyway I’m a proud & happy owner of my 2013 Insight Hybrid Facelift :)…….!!!

• joseph on Nov 22, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Honda the power of dream and green.

• Price gonna be same as Insight, I’d rather get the CBU one.

• my lexus ct-200 can easily tapau this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
  • Temmy on Nov 22, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Price? 95k?
    Non hybrid how much?

• RoKie on Nov 23, 2013 at 10:51 am

And comes with only 2 airbags here ? *Sigh*

• frggle on Nov 24, 2013 at 4:04 pm

This is Honda lor, it’s safer than any protons, even if it didn’t get 5 stars in Australia NCAP like 5 star suprima S

*sarcasm*

• Calvin Alastair on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:58 pm

New City’s rims are ugly….

• Personally I feel the drive quality and built of the insight is way better then the city, possibly because the city is locally assembled and the insight is complete cbu from Japan. So,for the price you get a better built car in the insight…Just my 2 cents…

• No more excise duty exemption, F U BN!