Hyundai i30 hatchback and Veloster Turbo previewed at KLIMS13, both launching in 2014

IMG_8176

Three new Hyundais were launched at KLIMS13, but the i40 Sedan, i40 Tourer and Tucson Facelift weren’t the only new metal on display at Hyundai-Sime Darby Motor’s booth – they also previewed the i30 and Veloster Turbo.

First seen in late-2011, this i30 five-door hatchback is the second generation carrying the name, replacing a competent but bland car. It competes in the competitive VW Golf and Ford Focus segment in Europe, along with its Kia-badged cee’d cousin and Japanese entrants Honda Civic and Toyota Auris. It is also sold in the US as the Elantra GT.

IMG_8182

The display unit is powered by a 145 PS, 175Nm 1.8 litre ‘Nu’ MPI engine mated to Hyundai’s own six-speed automatic, With a 2.0 GDI version now available (it was launched in Australia in August) and HSDM starting to bring in the naturally-aspirated gasoline direct injection engine with the i40 range, one would think that the i30 will follow suit, but not for now at least.

The CBU imported i30 will come with a panoramic glass roof, smart welcome system, Flex Steer (three steering weights to choose from), a hidden reverse camera and electric parking brake, leather seats, among other things. In terms of safety, it will get 6 airbags and ESP stability control. To be launched in the first quarter of 2014, order books for this model are now open.

hyundai-veloster-turbo-klims13-20

The other ‘coming soon’ car is the Veloster Turbo, the hot version of Hyundai’s unique 2+1 door coupe. The Veloster was launched in Malaysia one year ago with the sole engine choice of a 1.6 litre Gamma D-CVVT engine with 132 PS/158 Nm.

The Veloster Turbo takes things up a few notches with a 1.6 Turbo GDI engine that pushes out 184 PS and 265 Nm from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm. These figures are lower than the 201 hp US-spec car, but more or less equal to the UK-spec car’s 186 PS/265 Nm, which is also shared with our northern neighbour Thailand.

No timeframe or invitation to book, but this one should be coming anytime in 2014 – we’ve already spotted a white example being tested by the JPJ.

GALLERY: Hyundai i30 Hatchback

GALLERY: Hyundai Veloster Turbo

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:27 am

Same old same old boring design…sigh

What happened to the previous i30 collecting dust in warehouse will be repeat in this as well..zzZZ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 63
    • sam69 on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:54 am

but..but…still much more sexy than ugly Vios..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 29
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 21, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Earlier in the year in Sydney, I see many young asians driving this cabbage.

Now towards the end of the year, I see so many oz online ads selling this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 53
      • SamHK on Nov 22, 2013 at 3:08 pm

looks like u r so hardworking on criticizing Kia and Hyundai cars. are u suffering huge sales drop recently?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 22, 2013 at 6:16 pm

I am under great pressure from local dealer in Colombo to ship more Sonatas over.

Sam gave me ultimatum to have 15units more this weekend, with trade in value no more than RM55k for 15mth old or below units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • khairulx19a on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:48 am

for me last gen i30 more attractive eventhough not many people buy it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
    • Raja Lawak on Nov 21, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Suprima also not many people buy it now, seldom see it on the road…maybe not attractive enough…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • if i’m not mistaken this car has cooler box just like kia cerato

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:58 am

This car will have by default a Terengannu number plate TNV ABCD by default

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • Unfortunately it is Hyundai …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
  • Denaihati on Nov 21, 2013 at 12:37 pm

very nice looking and specification for Veloster Turbo, but less attractive when recommended fuel by ron 97.

• well many europe model can use regular ron91 and ron95 for max performance

• ss427 on Nov 21, 2013 at 2:45 pm

The Veloster Turbo can accept 95 octane fuel. In fact we’ve got many Veloster Turbo owners in SG using 95octane fuel for their cars.

The ECU will detect a lower octane number and retard the timing accordingly to prevent pre-detonation.

There will be some loss of power with 95 octane gas. But the engine will work normally and within warranty specs. Don’t worry

• Hyundai seems aggressive, Kia should bring in Ceed Pro GT and Ceed, as well as other European model. Spice up the market abit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 21, 2013 at 6:39 pm

KIA bring in the Ceed?

OMG, KIA vehicles can’t even get a trade in price nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
  • Chow 1 on Nov 21, 2013 at 1:38 pm

Why our motor show like car showrooms?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • ss427 on Nov 21, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Ahh… after so many yrs of waiting, my bolehland friends can finally get to enjoy REAL, top specced Hyundais in your country instead of @@ at SG market Hyundai/Kias whenever we visit your country.

Your i30 is even better specced than ours. Due to silly tax structure, our local agent brought in the base 1.6L Gamma II i30 only… and the aircon controls was fully manual, as compared to full climate controls as shown in your version.

• Top spec korean cars nowadays still handles like cheap sampan though.. I’ll stick to Japanese car or even local Preve and Suprima..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • HASHEMI on Nov 21, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Waiting for the euro 4 diesel fuel. If not mistaken,will be available in 2014 is it?

• D.I.Y on Nov 21, 2013 at 8:13 pm

if some of u guys noticed the Veloster turbo only applicable for RON97 fuel type. Personal went to motorshow seen it on the spect sheet.. really holllyshit

• gdntsk on Nov 21, 2013 at 8:22 pm

I hope this new i30 won’t be a sales failure like how the first gen i30 did 5 years back…..

• Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:06 pm

I want the sales to be successful, so that there will be more sorhais buying them now and selling them off at 50% of a year later, if they are lucky.

Used Kimchi prices are set to drop another 5%-10% in 2014

• Should bring in i20 first, see the sales how.

• Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Please do, need a steady stream of tai lan ngong sorhais to feed my business

• SamTheDaiLanNgong on Nov 22, 2013 at 11:06 pm

Once again, Sam criticize the Korean car. So all Sam could afford is just a Hilux with full load of sand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • yes they’re bringing the nicer i30..hopefully the price’s around 80k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11