LA 2013: Nissan Sentra Nismo Concept has 240 hp

sentra-nismo-la-006

At first glance, the Nissan Sentra Nismo Concept showcased at LA 2013 looks more like a SEMA kind of car than an LA motor show car, but could it be so because Nissan intends to put this car into production rather than have it remain as a tuned-up concept?

The Sentra Nismo Concept has the go to match its looks. Under its hood is a version of Nissan’s 1.6 litre turbo motor, but with its displacement increased to 1.8 litres. The result is output figures of over 240 hp and 325 Nm of torque. Power goes to the front wheels via a six-speed manual and a limited slip differential. The suspension is by Nismo and the brakes are from the 370Z sports car.

Sentra is the US name for the latest Nissan Sylphy, which was launched in Thailand in August 2012 (also called Pulsar in Australia). The bodykit seen here has some similarities with the aerokit on the Nissan Almera Nismo Performance Package, which was launched at KLIMS13, so the Sylphy Nismo that (slowly but surely) will be coming to Malaysia could possibly look like this.

We’re not holding out for a turbocharged stick shift Sylphy, though.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i do like the idea of a fast fwd saloon with lsd, but i dont get the interior, there is alcantara on the pillars and i assume on the roof as well, but they decided to leave the dashboard with crappy plastic? i would happily trade a roof with regular fabric and the dash with alcantara anyday, that’s the first thing people see when they are getting a car. That said, LOVE to see a manual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • sam69 on Nov 22, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Meh…boring..still look ugly ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
  • Launch the normal sylphy here first, then we talk about this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • When will TCM bring in the new sentra/sylphy? That’s the real question!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • motorhead on Nov 22, 2013 at 11:32 pm

Ahh.. A car suit me.. Interior boring? No problem.. I don’t mind on looks.. Performance seems to be enough for aggressive drive.. Keep it simple.. Minimalist.. No need all the gadgets or fancy stuffs..i just want to drive hard.. If it reach here pls put a nice price.. Keep it simple..I don’t mind.. Got air cond & a radio enough already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • ehhh.. same company that produces nissin noodles ahh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Ipoh Mali on Nov 23, 2013 at 9:01 am

TCM is not GLC company.A lot of good products can’t be easily brought in this country .Even if its in its going to be very expensive till not many can afford it.Thats why you see most of its product in this country very uncle and aunty like

• BeemerFreak on Nov 23, 2013 at 9:08 am

Ditto for the people at Nissan for trying. Unlike Toyota which till today has no soul. Dont buy Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • souless on Nov 23, 2013 at 10:59 am

I agree that most main productions of toyota has no soul. You gotta get behind the wheels an 86 or the BRZ before making that statement. Lightweight and balanced chasis with LSD, excellent steering, and most importantly rwd. That makes a genuine sports car which is fun to drive. ;) What makes you think the naturally aspirated 2.0 that makes 200bhp isnt good enough? Then add in a supercharger or a turbocharger with a an experienced tuner, that’ll do the job!

• BLUR SOTONG on Nov 23, 2013 at 12:26 pm

Although the Brz or ft86 is rear wheel driven. It doesn’t come close to the handling of Bimmer rear wheel drive system.
        I had tested both car on the track. The ft 86 has the best handling in the Jdm class.
        But the continental had the upper hand when it comes to the chassis and handling management

• frenzyaustin on Nov 23, 2013 at 3:55 pm

How do you get a BMW on race track? I didn’t see any event for average joe to drive BMW on the track?

• oolalalaa on Nov 23, 2013 at 10:47 am

Front wheel drive? Meh. Out of the question

• PauKaya on Nov 23, 2013 at 11:12 am

we can only dream of this

• souless on Nov 23, 2013 at 11:15 am

First, this sentra is front wheel drive. There is no rear wheel torque. Everything, the engine, gearbox is cramped in front of the car.

Second, guys looking for performance buy something else. The stock sentra has plenty of performance for normal driving, but it doesn’t lend itself to performance tuning. This is already highly tuned and the control system is complex. It’s not something that can be tinkered with without making it worse.

• Jade eye on Nov 23, 2013 at 11:54 am

Like it is going to launch in Boleh Land lah….

• powershot on Nov 23, 2013 at 3:07 pm

why not?

• Oh I’m in love with this car…

• lancerlot on Nov 25, 2013 at 12:13 pm

stick shift good..power..good nuf..ya but like as if thats gonna make its way here..even then its like gona cost a bomb..hey nissan..shut us all up and give us some pleasant surprises for a change..